Neighbour etiquette

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

I feel your pain - the ignorance of some
    People is overwhelming. Try knocking & explaining & being reasonable first . If neither are parking in their own driveway chances are they are ignorant & have been behaving like this all their lifes.

Do you know the landlord? If not ask some other neighbour if they have their details & contact the landlord. & start making complaints to them. Ask them to address it. No landlord wants hassle - people ringing & complaining. The time to stop it is now otherwise it will become an ongoing nightmare.

:(

Are you serious? Really?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭le la rat

Try saying what you said here only to them in person maybe they don't realise the hassle they are causing to you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

People is overwhelming
    they probably aren't even aware there's a problem.
    ....an ongoing nightmare.
    Mrs Limerick's husband "has to make more of an effort insted of going straight back like he used to."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Head to your local town, find a skanger and give him a score to stand outside your house for an hour or two holding a screwdriver.

No sane person is going to park beside him! Clearly he's threatening the paintwork

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

Catphish wrote: »

They won't put any of the cars in the garden though. Would it really be that much of a hassle to use their drive way? It's an easily rectified problem so long as it is put politely.

The only one who has a problem is the OP's husband.
    People is overwhelming. Try knocking & explaining & being reasonable first . If neither are parking in their own driveway chances are they are ignorant & have been behaving like this all their lifes.

Do you know the landlord? If not ask some other neighbour if they have their details & contact the landlord. & start making complaints to them. Ask them to address it. No landlord wants hassle - people ringing & complaining. The time to stop it is now otherwise it will become an ongoing nightmare.

:(

You cannot be serious.
    They might own the house for one thing and secondly it's not a crime to park outside your house. You really think any landlord is going to care about the neighbours across the street complaining about his tenants parking outside their own house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

My parents live on a road with a school on it, and around the corner from Beaumont Hospital which meant the gate was constantly blocked with people picking up their kids, or employees too cheap to pay the parking fees in the hospital. If you have kids a game of football between them and your husband where to ball 'accidentally' hits off the car a few times is a decent deterrent.

The time to stop it is now otherwise it will become an ongoing nightmare.
    The horror!

If only somebody would think of the children.

Sometimes, I walk down the street...

and other people try to use the street too...

and I have to, well, slightly alter my course in order to get by them. Sometimes I have to walk a whole three inches away from my usual path. It's so upsetting. I just don't understand how people can be so ignorant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Knock on the door and talk to them? Is that not obvious?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭Schnitzel Muncher

OP, how narrow is the road? Why can't your husband reverse into the driveway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭hyperborean

Maybe they found a hidden safe and have lost all reason?

• Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 17,009 Mod ✭✭✭✭Toots

Training neighbours to park in their drives is like training a puppy to pee outside. In the same way as you eventually move the puppy's pee newspaper to the back door for them to pee on, what you need to do is hire a forklift, then in the dead of night move their cars back into their driveway.

Persistence is key here, keep at it and they'll eventually learn to park in the drive. If they're a bit slow on the uptake, you could try waiting outside your house and if they park there, whack them on the nose with a rolled up newspaper or spray them with a water gun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭mewe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Scruffles

The horror!

If only somebody would think of the children.

Sometimes, I walk down the street...

and other people try to use the street too...

and I have to, well, slightly alter my course in order to get by them. Sometimes I have to walk a whole three inches away from my usual path. It's so upsetting. I just don't understand how people can be so ignorant.
    try that in a manual wheelchair as their over the edge parking makes the difference between being able to access some paths and not,up at mine its full of path edge parking,makes some busy roads completely inacesible.

@toots.
    am personaly more a supporter of electric shock collars,zap em when theyre misbehaving,waste of a good newspaper tbf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Toshi101

leave an "anonymous" note on their car stating you are the citys hero in the face of injustice and that this spits in the face of society. for added effect leave some kind of hero logo like a Z or a bat keyed into their car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭hju6

Have a 4.30am party Sunday, Monday mornings, invite everybody except your Nieghbours,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

I have to say OP, I have seen the "empty driveway" but cars parked outside phenomenon.
    It can be tormenting to residents and is best dealt with in a direct fashion asap.

As they say op....
    "Better set your stall out quick":D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

have you tried shouting at them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭Freddy Smelly

Keep sending them envelopes of poo, hopefully they will move after a while

if you choose this option DONT use your own poo or poo from any of family or pets.... poo can be dna tested.

send the poo from one of your other awkward neighbour's pets that way it sets off the awkward neighbours into a **** storm of an arguement while you take a back seat and enjoy the show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Take off and nuke their house from orbit

They are idiots not to use their driveway that's for sure with no respect for their cars. I would love to be able to put my car on the drive so that other idiot drivers are not putting dents on it but me having a permit and my house mate being too lazy to get one means I'm always on the street. These clowns are then making it worse by parking in a place that could very well result in their cars getting hit.

You should just go over and tell them to cop on, your husband should really be reversing into the driveway anyway regardless it's a much more sensible way to park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

If this thread was started back in the celtic tiger era, the OP would have been told by now to 'STFU, because you are only renting'.

I still can't fathom why they don't park in the driveway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Do they have wedding rings?
    Are they living in sin? :eek:

Call up the parish priest and hunt these hussies out of your peaceful cul de sac!

Scruffles wrote: »
    try that in a manual wheelchair as their over the edge parking makes the difference between being able to access some paths and not,up at mine its full of path edge parking,makes some busy roads completely inacesible.

Em, no.

Both the OP's situation and my sarcastic fake situation have nothing to do with inaccessibility. That's why the OP's problem is so ridiculous.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

**** there heads up altogether, park your cars in there driveway.

If they ask what are you doing, say there isn't enough room to get into your own driveway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

back in the days when I had neighbours the tool next door used to park his pride and joy halfway across my drive, blocking me in. I asked him to give it up, but he just laughed and said I was being uptight. I smiled and left.

Next morning, 6.30am - I was blocked in as usual. Bummer. I slapped the yoke I was driving into reverse and drove out of the driveway, "unfortunately" giving his car an awful battering in the process and driving it halfway across the road. Oops.

Yup, the auld insurance premium took a bit of a hike for a couple of years but I could never avoid having a bit of a chuckle when I was writing out the cheque for it. The neighbours never really warmed to me after that.. My missus said I should be more careful when reversing in future, which is always good advice, in fairness. Karma being the b1tch she is, someone reversed into my car two days after I got it fixed up, in the Tesco carpark and drove off. I still reckon it was that bloody neighbour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Go and talk to them!