Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

whelan1 wrote: »
    its ok kovu Murr said you could go :D

But he has to bring back curry chips for the childer :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    But he has to bring back curry chips for the childer :p

Whelan1 have you a spare bib and high chair, curry chips are dangerous and messy for kids :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

high chair and bib days long gone here thank god, was listening to 20 screaming 5 year olds for 2 hours today, the talk was about boobies and pants:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

high chair and bib days long gone here thank god, was listening to 20 screaming 5 year olds for 2 hours today, the talk was about boobies and pants:eek:

A conversation about boobs, how does one of them go:D

hugo29 wrote: »
    i can tell you when i was 5 i didnt know a fraction of what these guys know, i was getting an education today:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

A lot differently than the ones at Glanbia do :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Ah now I'm still the right side of 40 ( just about)

You and me both;)

me too, am on the countdown though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

Heifer bulling there AI man said he be out tomorrow, will she do till then

quadboy wrote: »
    ai 6-24 hours from start of standing heat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

quadboy wrote: »
    Not a bother we only ai OAD. How are you getting on with heifers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

First one this morning and second one now, seriously misjudged the timing tho as we put scratch cards on them week and a hlf ago and they have one field eaten altho I can put the ones bulled in a field across the road and I can also bring a shot of em in behind the house so it should be ok, the first one was in the crush this morning and she jumped out over the wall back into field and trying to get them back into the yard was impossible. When I go out on my own I just open the gate and a good few will come in on their own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

having a beer at home off to bed, farming is a tough game!

Heading for June and stove still inviting:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

delaval wrote: »
    Not a bother we only ai OAD. How are you getting on with heifers?

Any drop in conception rates?

just do it wrote: »
    Any drop in conception rates?
    No effect we also havn't thawed a straw for about 10 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

feckin 10 day forecast is crap:(

kevthegaff wrote: »
    feckin 10 day forecast is crap:(
    It will be easy to buy diesel to mow the silage if this continues. Cold wet morning here more like Nov with leaves on trees:(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Stop lads its rotten out here this morn aswell . A day to stretch out on the couch and watch tv .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

3 or 4 days ago I thought we had plenty of grass ahead of the cattle, and have a lot of silage ground closed off. With the weather of the last few days and what is forecast over the next 5 days, I could retract that. Cattle are walking as much grass into the ground as they are eating. The topper won't be greased at all this year I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

3 or 4 days ago I thought we had plenty of grass ahead of the cattle, and have a lot of silage ground closed off. With the weather of the last few days and what is forecast over the next 5 days, I could retract that. Cattle are walking as much grass into the ground as they are eating. The topper won't be greased at all this year I think.
    Soil temp 9degrees here so growth has virtually stopped...scary stuff

Its not too cold here thank god , just wet but growth is here in fairness .

spoke too soon on the calf death front, went out last night to check cows for heats, saw a 3 day old bb bull calf flat out with big swollen belly, put a flutter valve needle in him and let out the gas, gave him liquid parafin also, was dead this morning, was very annoyed as i only fed the calves yesterday evening - some one else milked- specifically asked was this calf up drinking the cow was told he was. He was lying in same spot as i left him yesterday morning, not a hope he was up as he couldnt stand... anyways thats 300 euro gone, also calf vet injected on friday for pnuemonia was also dead this morning, thought it was getting better last night and to top that off the weather is ****e

Timmaay wrote: »
    Quick question here, have maybe 10/15 fr bullocks and beef animals in total, most of them born last summer/autumn, have them on good grass at the minute, and about 1/2 kg of nuts. Should I keep feeding them on for the summer, or let them graze away on grass alone?
    being serious here, will you make any money on the friesians, how much have they cost you and what will it cost to have them fit for sale, feck all trade for them in the mart, best time to get rid of friesians is 10 days old!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Similar thing last Saturday here. Went to see stock on an out farm and a 10 week old bb heifer dead as a snot. Have been in bad form all week over it, but this morning we have the sisters four kids here with our two and the Craic in the house is mighty. Really gave me a lift.

are bb finnicky or something, think this fella must have had a blockage or something

Another four kids in the house and it gave you a lift ???:D I have another two here for you that will put you over the moon altogether !
    They will be out playing in puddles soon to get rid of some of their built up energy .

are bb finnicky or something, think this fella must have had a blockage or something
    In our place Ive noticed the blues are always the first to get snotty , sick or hurt themselves bulling .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

lashing rain all morning,

had a cow showing bad tetany spasms

another with bloat

bull decides he wants to leave home and goes walkabout on the public road

all sorted now,

except the rain :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

yes i would think that they are easly lead to deaths door:mad:,prevention is your only chance, since doing all calves for all strains of pnuemonia
    that i can the bottles of nuflor marbox and finadyne have not moved.but as soon as i said it wait ..............wait.................,:mad:,