Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The "Today I did something to my car" thread

• Moderators Posts: 12,424 ✭✭✭✭Black_Knight

*Round 2:
    Booked in with George Dalton to get cruise control fitted next weekend. Ive missed it since selling the A3.

[size=-2]*First time down to him we spotted VW gave him the wrong stalks :([/size]

• Moderators Posts: 12,424 ✭✭✭✭Black_Knight

advertsfox wrote: »
    put on the Heko wind deflectors, work great at cruising speeds esp. with the current winds.
    On both sides or just the drivers side? First pic doesnt show em on the passenger side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭advertsfox

On both sides or just the drivers side? First pic doesnt show em on the passenger side.
    Both sides man, first picture doesn't even have them but the second picture does ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,813 ✭✭✭rizzee

advertsfox wrote: »
    Finally fitted me new plates from Eire Plates, the red Fiat badge (such a big difference) new 16 SMD interior LED (old one went strobing oddly) and immediately put on the Heko wind deflectors, work great at cruising speeds esp. with the current winds.

Tyres and alloys to come shortly since I also sorted the wheel arches, missing two small plastic pieces too so must pick then up.

Great job with the badges makes such a difference! You only live 5 mins from me haha i'll keep an eye out this evening.. deliveries :pac:

Went to Red Power today then couldn't fit an induction kit or air filter cause the air inlet hole is far too small :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭dh0011

got my car tracked today 4 wheel alignment - made some difference as it was a long way out. Even the gear changes are smoother now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

I got a new clutch 3 piece kit installed today. Car feels better for it, but can still hear a faint juddering but not half as bad as it was. I still reakon it's flywheel related. It's enough to annoy me so I have to get it sorted. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

dgt wrote: »
    I did plan to crack out the welder and make some adapters, alas I nearly lost the will to live trying to find the manifold. I can't find it

Perseverance pays off.... I found the f*cker :cool:
    Image622.jpg

EGR will be blanked.... I've cleaned the EGR itself rather well though :D

Not big enough yet.... Needs it's hole widened.... :pac::pac::pac:
    Image624.jpg

Out with this
    Image625.jpg

And the K750 made very short work of cutting to size :D
    Image626.jpg

Pikey aligned
    Image627.jpg

The Makita just wasn't going to cut it.... Out with this brute
    Image628.jpg

Getting there....
    Image629.jpg

And for a bleary eyed idiot high on burning metal and oil fumes, it's pretty much spot on on both ends.... ;) Need to make the holes bigger for extra movement!
    Image630.jpg

And that'll prob be me for a while.... Feckin exams....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,282 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Got rid of bulbs. LED strip instead. :D

253342.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

joujoujou wrote: »
    Got rid of bulbs. LED strip instead. :D

MG]

genius. I really like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Looks like you tried to make your reg into a QR code :pac:

Was thinking static myself :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,921 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Looks like you tried to make your reg into a QR code :pac:

Never mind that, German style plate on a Corolla....for shame!! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Ronnie Beck

It's polish, ye dope;)

Nah, FE font on Irl plates.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

It's polish, ye dope;)

LOL!!! :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Picked up a replacement passenger side rear light from the breakers for my car. The lense was cracked (since before I bought it) and needed to be done before the NCT. Not bad for 30quid considering a new OEM one is 120. :)

9hpfRF4.jpg
    Cracked lense

lPqBg6C.jpg
    Replacement

GwtSemm.jpg
    Obligatory fuppin' tiny access panel to remove the light

JPrlzcM.jpg
    Yay!

sIvjhgT.jpg
    ...and we have a new lens. Same colour, just the day light changed.

In the process I ended up dropping the wrench in the body. Something that I was trying ever so hard not to do. I can see it but can't get to it. Need to see if it's magnetic, perhaps I can pick it out with a magnet on a string. :confused:

rizzee wrote: »
    Great job with the badges makes such a difference! You only live 5 mins from me haha i'll keep an eye out this evening.. deliveries :pac:

Went to Red Power today then couldn't fit a induction kit or air filter cause the air inlet hole is far too small :/

Haha good man :) You'll need a custom pipe or an square K&N filter to go into the airbox itself, four screws to pop it out and back in (eBay is your friend).

PS: Halle-f*cking-lujah I've sorted the rattle noise at last and you will NEVER guess what was causing it? Well it wasn't the arches, CV joints, loose plastics or bolts, loose manifold heat shield, loose exhaust, engine mount or air intake...

It was the fecking dipstick!?!

Car was lift up while looking at the exhaust and while checking all engine bay fixtures, my mechanic moved the dipstick and it was like a spoon in a tin. Whatever way the port is sized, when put in say pointing east / west it rattles but north / south - pure quiet! Literally amazed at something so simple could be the cause of it. It caused noise to only get worse as the acceleration increased and turning left or right at slow speeds.

Thank you Fiat for another cheap fix :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

cena wrote: »
    I removed all the tar from my mothers car using wd 40.

Use white spirit, works much, much better than WD40, and I've tried everything, petrol, WD40 and even paint thinner (no it did not thin my paint). Nothing came close in effectiveness. With WD40 you might as well lick it off, it would be easier.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

As for myself, had a look under the bonnet to find that blasted coolant leak that means I have to top up with 2 liters twice a day. Nothing. No obvious leak, nothing wet, no oil in the water, no water in the oil, no smoke of any description, no puddle in my drive, no cracked hoses, nothing.
    Found a fuel leak though on one of the diesel return lines.:mad:
    That is now a shuddering clutch, a great, whacking dent in the right rear, a noisy wheel bearing, a coolant leak a fuel leak and a wobbly alloy. And no money to fix them all, so I'll just have to keep on driving as the car slowly disintegrates around me.

rizzee wrote: »
    Went to Red Power today then couldn't fit an induction kit or air filter cause the air inlet hole is far too small :/

Custom made all the way ;)
    As for myself, had a look under the bonnet to find that blasted coolant leak that means I have to top up with 2 liters twice a day. Nothing. No obvious leak, nothing wet, no oil in the water, no water in the oil, no smoke of any description, no puddle in my drive, no cracked hoses, nothing.
    Found a fuel leak though on one of the diesel return lines.:mad:
    That is now a shuddering clutch, a great, whacking dent in the right rear, a noisy wheel bearing, a coolant leak a fuel leak and a wobbly alloy. And no money to fix them all, so I'll just have to keep on driving as the car slowly disintegrates around me.

Be grand as long as the wheels keep going round.... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,147 ✭✭✭✭cena

Use white spirit, works much, much better than WD40, and I've tried everything, petrol, WD40 and even paint thinner (no it did not thin my paint). Nothing came close in effectiveness. With WD40 you might as well lick it off, it would be easier.

I found the wd 40 was much better. Done in no time

Unregistered Users

Yet another bulb-to-led transformation. ;)

Really bright. :D

253454.jpg

253455.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Today got something I have wanted for many years at this stage and I'm still in college! More about that further down the page.... Managed to source a few parts for the car that had been bugging me for a while.

The rear fans onto the backseats have these two vents in between the seats. The have these revolving valves things to open and close them. Long story short they had been broken for ages and was annoying me. On the left is the before and the right is the after. Much better IMO.

dscf8699w.jpg

Next managed to finally source clear indicators for free which made the deal even sweeter. I always thought I'd hate them but they look really well and were a doddle to fit on.

Before

dscf8701ta.jpg

After

dscf8702copy.jpg

Finally I managed to get this

dscf8704q.jpg

dscf8705copy.jpg

Limerick Man you guessed it. A Original Momo Alfa Leather interior with doorcards included etc. It's grey and is from a 1999 car but it's in seriously good condition. Drivers bolster has some wear but the rest of it really is excellent and they are so comfortable. Best purchase and I got 'em for a steal as well.

Overall delighted tbh, they really are as good as they look in the pics. :D

Unregistered Users

I love your fireplace. ^^

Non elec rears.... Easier to install! :p

Similar pose you have those seats in.... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

joujoujou wrote: »
    I love your fireplace. ^^

There's one in each room in the hosue but only three downstairs are used, looks the part though!
    Non elec rears.... Easier to install! :p

Similar pose you have those seats in.... :pac:

Yeah was thinking the non electric ones would be a blessing in disguise! What think ye anyway? Bargain or what!?! :D

166man wrote: »
    There's one in each room in the hosue but only three downstairs are used, looks the part though!

Yeah was thinking the non electric ones would be a blessing in disguise! What think ye anyway? Bargain or what!?! :D

Damn you I only have 4 fireplaces here :pac:

Elec windows not overly difficult to retrofit but extra work tearing apart reg assys and looms....! Bargain indeedy! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Get onto cleancar and order some gliptone cleaner and some conditioner too. Would work wonders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Damn you I only have 4 fireplaces here :pac:

Elec windows not overly difficult to retrofit but extra work tearing apart reg assys and looms....! Bargain indeedy! :cool:

Look at all you's with yer fancy fireplaces! :pac:

I don't even have one :(

Good bargain with the seats though :D