Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭adne

Timmaay wrote: »
    Yep, and that drop of rain we got over the last few days has really seen the grass growth rocket off, I'm eyeing up afew more paddocks on the grazing block to close off for silage, will take the pressure off bigtime and put me back on track for next winters supply.

Drop!!! U were not in the west the past few days so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

whelan1 wrote: »
    we got a text from ifa yesterday to say there was hay available, got another today to say there was none , it will be next week... try telling that to the cattle......
    And if you want some of the french hay, you'd need to have it ordered somewhere

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Not meaning to stray away from the enjoyable topic of fodder shortage but tick season has kicked off here. I swear those little bulbous squidgy b@stards go straight for me. Does anyone know of anything (for humans!) that would keep them away?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

icsa here today,so a farm walk is been organised for the 25th of may, come see the good the bad and the ugly, it would be great to put faces with names on here,if the other half likes shopping ,farm is only 3 miles from city center.

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Not meaning to stray away from the enjoyable topic of fodder shortage but tick season has kicked off here. I swear those little bulbous squidgy b@stards go straight for me. Does anyone know of anything (for humans!) that would keep them away?
    shave you legs and put on plenty vasalene i find it works for me:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

leg wax wrote: »
    icsa here today,so a farm walk is been organised for the 25th of may, come see the good the bad and the ugly, it would be great to put faces with names on here,if the other half likes shopping ,farm is only 3 miles from city center.
    I would say your from Cork cause its usually only those guys that reckon theres only one city in Ireland but i know better. llet us know the times and directions and id say you will get a lot of site seers. Fair play Leg wax its the one farm i mad to get a nose around.

1chippy wrote: »
    I would say your from Cork cause its usually only those guys that reckon theres only one city in Ireland but i know better. llet us know the times and directions and id say you will get a lot of site seers. Fair play Leg wax its the one farm i mad to get a nose around.
    nothing special here as spring calves are very normal ,ps let your nose at home.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

I was gonna say wear trousers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

Mixed breed bull sale in Ennis today. Lot of lims. Prices very flat, to say the least.

Nice son of Wilodge Cerberus unsold at €1850.
    Many bulls sold less than that.

Bizzum wrote: »
    I was gonna say wear trousers!

Lol. I don't exactly swan around the fields in a mini skirt:pac:
    And definitely won't if I join ye visiting Legwax!

Short of using a flea/tick collar as a bracelet I'm stumped!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Last cow calved today. We were calving for 13 weeks but only bred for 12 some heifers before their time. Lots of activity on the ai front at the moment so hope we can repeat next year. We only calved 10 in thlat 2.5 weeks so 10 weeks would probably do the job??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Breeding season should be in blocks of 3 weeks. A 10 week season gives 33% of your cows 4 chances to go in calf, the rest get only 3 chances!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

Might take you up on that ;)
    Let us know times?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,910 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Maybe they like the tats??:D

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

Shave? letting your name down there. I thought you were the waxing sort. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

It's a god awful morning here. Blowing heavy rain with calves humped up to the ditches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Timmaay wrote: »
    Quick question here, have maybe 10/15 fr bullocks and beef animals in total, most of them born last summer/autumn, have them on good grass at the minute, and about 1/2 kg of nuts. Should I keep feeding them on for the summer, or let them graze away on grass alone?

Keep 'em lit. Leave in the nuts and you should have left on the nuts on the poor cattle too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

waitin for the cows come in, the only good thing is they come in themselves:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

You should get them to organise shuttle buses from Carriganore. One lot going to you and the other into town. Great day had by all:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

If I start saving now I should be able to afford enough diesel to drive the landcruiser down :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 833 ✭✭✭ABlur

Showers falling here that would'nt look out of place in november! Weather is fckd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

ABlur wrote: »
    Showers falling here that would'nt look out of place in november! Weather is fckd.
    see thats the problem , the showers that where falling last "summer" and now are not like showers we are used to, they are downpours... youngest lads party is today, for safety wwe booked in a playcentre, too much pressure to chance the weather being good to have a bouncy castle etc at home

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Are the lads from 'Da Comic' invited? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

just back from setting up the strip wires for the weekend, ground conditions are deterioting rapidly :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭wesleysniper38

Lord above its a wild day round here. Gale force winds with showers of rain mixed with hail that would take the paint off a gate.
    Silage ground was manured 7 weeks ago now and I have a whole 6" of grass to show for it. Wondering whether its going to need a top up if a bit of growth finally comes..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Spent yesterday drinking like a 21 year old, woke up this am realising 21 was a long long time ago,:( walking around today feeling sorry for me self and trying to find a job I could actually do,
    Post wedding shin dig tonight tempted:D

2 bales silage left, fields saturated, think will have to invest in under soil heating, gusts of wind and rain and hail, is it actually may

hugo29 wrote: »
    Spent yesterday drinking like a 21 year old, woke up this am realising 21 was a long long time ago,:( walking around today feeling sorry for me self and trying to find a job I could actually do,
    Post wedding shin dig tonight tempted:D

Go! Relive your youth :P

Ah now I'm still the right side of 40 ( just about)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

hugo29 wrote: »
    Ah now I'm still the right side of 40 ( just about)
    its ok kovu Murr said you could go :D