Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

reilig wrote: »
    Don't do it unless they are bulls suitable for export!
    Sold BB, CH and LIM this week and had to sign export forms for them going to Tunisia!

Kept the weinlings for grass at home for another few weeks yet.

It was a depressing sight. Anything not fit for export was very poor. 300kg limousin bulls for grass making €580 to €640. Heifers the same.

There was so much stuff on here last year about the profit from bucket fed calves. One lad had 10 out this week. CH, LIM and BB's. All were 10 to 12 months old. All were 280kg to 340kg. He has no grass and no fodder and had to sell them. Averaged €1.70 per kg. He paid up to €400 for some of these calves. That was a price gain of €178 for his best calf.

Such a disgust!!!

What grass is the question? Too late anyway have 16 here waiting, they are in good order enough, hope I sell most of them anyway, they're bullocks and heifers, mainly bullocks though, them 300kg lim bulls for €580 must of been hungry looking were they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

simx wrote: »
    them 300kg lim bulls for €580 must of been hungry looking were they?

Not 1 bit. What I saw was 6 month old limousin bulls that looked like they had ate a lot of creep. People were just offloading because they had to.

Could be different in your part of the country!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Not 1 bit. What I saw was 6 month old limousin bulls that looked like they had ate a lot of creep. People were just offloading because they had to.

Could be different in your part of the country!

around here that weight bullocks making 450>550 + kg for any ones with good potential, id be in south east area? What part of country is that? Mart?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

D

There was so much stuff on here last year about the profit from bucket fed calves. One lad had 10 out this week. CH, LIM and BB's. All were 10 to 12 months old. All were 280kg to 340kg. He has no grass and no fodder and had to sell them. Averaged €1.70 per kg. He paid up to €400 for some of these calves. That was a price gain of €178 for his best calf.

Such a disgust!!!

where were these cheep animals when I was buying on monday :mad:

390kg fr - €660
    420kg bb - €850

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Disaster of a day yesterday. Heifer across the fence yesterday morning.
    Punchered the back wheel of the tractor when I ran over a section of old pin harrow :mad:

Monday was worse.

went to Carnaross because I finished work early. Rang haullier to bring them home but he had left,

looking for somebody else to take them and ran into neighbour who said I could borrow his jeep and trailer whne he took his two loads home.

Picked up jeep that evening nad went to the mart. Jumped out to find the cattle and they were mixed up with another batch. Had to seperate them and then went back to jeep to reverse into the loading bay.

Blasted thing wouldnt start!

I was parked across 3 of the 5 bays and had lads giving out crap to me (luckily this has 9.30 at night and most cattle were loaded at this stage)

Called a lad who lives a couple miles down the road and we were poke ing a nd proding but no luck. Eventually had to just tow it out of the way and abandon it for the night. got home after midnight.

up the next mornibg with another mans jeep and swapped the trailer over and brought the cattle home. went to close the ramp and the sheep ramp kept popping up. spent another half hour messing with that.

Landed in work at 12.30. Luckily they were understanding

simx wrote: »
    around here that weight bullocks making 450>550 + kg for any ones with good potential, id be in south east area? What part of country is that? Mart?

North West. Mohill on Wednesday night.
    Bucket fed weinlings were seen in Ballymahon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Whats the going rate for to have someone go some small amanedments and repairs to RSJ on a hayshed? Say per hour labour only?

Also anyone any prices for standing a hayshed (3 bay with lean) 45 x 40ft
    Its already down. Labour only

in other words ill supply concrete, bolts, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Have not got away yet, last cow that has 20 days with her, went calving at 11 o clock, went to last notch on jack with cow down in gate, such a monster, thank god she did not go calving while I was away or would have been a dear wedding, now "where's me suit" I'm off :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

Such a disgust!!!

we sold our bucket fed calves in March

HEX heifers avg €780 males €830 FR males €760 average age was 13 months
    have some late ones still left going to grass next week (in shed since Sep :o )

met a mate of mine in co op a few days and he says

"Mol you told me 12 years ago there was no money in suckling... you were fecking right, the only ones that think there is are the fellows with a fancy job to jack it up "

If I ever give up dairying I would go the calf to beef route with fr bulls, , certainly not suckling , I done that long to build up my SFP and have no intention of returning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Cul de sac while driving a artic?, not a problem: https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=260760887369757

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

Was just thinking..
    We were planning to band some bull calves tomorrow... but with the heavy showers and cooler nights in the forecast would we be better leave off for a week or two?? The weather is bad enough without stressing them too much on top of it..

jomoloney wrote: »
    we sold our bucket fed calves in March

HEX heifers avg €780 males €830 FR males €760 average age was 13 months
    have some late ones still left going to grass next week (in shed since Sep :o )

met a mate of mine in co op a few days and he says

"Mol you told me 12 years ago there was no money in suckling... you were fecking right, the only ones that think there is are the fellows with a fancy job to jack it up "

If I ever give up dairying I would go the calf to beef route with fr bulls, , certainly not suckling , I done that long to build up my SFP and have no intention of returning

400kg limousin heifers (suckled) were not making €760 average this week.
    What sort of weights were yours above?

I agree that there is no money in suckling, but a lot of people lost big on bucket feeding calves over the last 12 months too.

Why would anyone go with the calf to beef route with FR Bulls when they can be bought as weinlings for €1.50 per kg. Let someone else lose money getting them to that stage!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

400kg limousin heifers (suckled) were not making €760 average this week.
    What sort of weights were yours above?

I agree that there is no money in suckling, but a lot of people lost big on bucket feeding calves over the last 12 months too.

Why would anyone go with the calf to beef route with FR Bulls when they can be bought as weinlings for €1.50 per kg. Let someone else lose money getting them to that stage!

There not bought every year for pittance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

Such a disgust!!!

Tough for him but probably a story to be repeated right through this year given the outrageous prices thrown around for sucks last spring, what about the calves that were sold for €500+, where are they now ??..

Its a loss but better a small loss now than god knows what if he has neither grass or fodder.. Maybe more lads should be taking the same position, or should have done 6 weeks ago..

Personally... I'd rather keep a suck for 12 months and loose €100 than have kept a suckler for the same 12 months and lost the same ammount.. If you sell the weanling from the suckler, the damn cow is still at home expecting to eat grass !

bbam wrote: »
    Personally... I'd rather keep a suck for 12 months and loose €100 than have kept a suckler for the same 12 months and lost the same ammount.. If you sell the weanling from the suckler, the damn cow is still at home expecting to eat grass !

As I said before many times, if you are selling a weinling from a suckler at 8 - 10 months old, you need to be getting north of €900 (av. Bulls + Heifers) to be in profit. Anything less and you'd be financially better to keep no cattle, write cheques from your SFP payment and send them in christmas cards to beef finishers across the country.

Yet 80% of suckler farmers are still producing weinlings for the below €900 per head market. I wonder will the impact of the weather in the last 12 month change any attitudes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

As I said before many times, if you are selling a weinling from a suckler at 8 - 10 months old, you need to be getting north of €900 (av. Bulls + Heifers) to be in profit. Anything less and you'd be financially better to keep no cattle, write cheques from your SFP payment and send them in christmas cards to beef finishers across the country.

I will send you on my address so:D, I can forward on your gift along with a few bob more to my Merchant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭DaNiEl1994

out of interest there lads, have any of ye worked with the joystick wrappers? and if so what movements control what? eg. left and right, arm? up and down, table? button, start stop cycle ? thanks in advance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

DaNiEl1994 wrote: »
    out of interest there lads, have any of ye worked with the joystick wrappers? and if so what movements control what? eg. left and right, arm? up and down, table? button, start stop cycle ? thanks in advance

Left is to turn table putting on wrap, right is turn table other way, Left while holding red button lets arm down, right while holding red button puts arm up, push it forward to tip off bale, rocker switch to the right to catch plastic and to the left to let go. Thats for a mchale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭DaNiEl1994

Left is to turn table putting on wrap, right is turn table other way, Left while holding red button lets arm down, right while holding red button puts arm up, push it forward to tip off bale, rocker switch to the right to catch plastic and to the left to let go. Thats for a mchale.

thanks, why would you want it to turn other way? is rocker switch just below red button?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

thanks, why would you want it to turn other way? is rocker switch just below red button?
    Ya as far as i can remember, sometimes you will let the table spin too far when your setting it up for tipping and you will need to readjust before you can tip it off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 IPFree

out of interest there lads, have any of ye worked with the joystick wrappers?e

Would one of them be like one of them prophylactic's?...:D

Anyone call the Dep of Ag helpline re fodder shortage?
    I called this morning and had inspector out just now. He saw that I have 4 bales and a lot of cattle housed and approved me for Eur350 funding - enough to keep my cattle fed till wednesday next - he told me - when grass will be growing and ground dry around here ;)

Here's hoping!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

I called this morning and had inspector out just now. He saw that I have 4 bales and a lot of cattle housed and approved me for Eur350 funding - enough to keep my cattle fed till wednesday next - he told me - when grass will be growing and ground dry around here ;)

Here's hoping!

They really do have that calendar farming down to a fine art lol. Did you ask him why the dept hadn't put out a memo telling us all about next Wednesday ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

Here's hoping!
    Thought that was for hardship cases....ie no money and no fodder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭dzer2

Let out the last of the cattle here today PHEW

Good grass have about 3 weeks grass on the pastures and fert spread where the cows have being. Took a walk through the silage ground there are 2 fields that will be cut before the end of the month if it stays dry the others are at least 5 weeks away. Heres hoping for a reasonable bit of weather over the next month. Time to pull out the baler.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

lovely evening here:)

whelan1 wrote: »
    lovely evening here:)

Yep, and that drop of rain we got over the last few days has really seen the grass growth rocket off, I'm eyeing up afew more paddocks on the grazing block to close off for silage, will take the pressure off bigtime and put me back on track for next winters supply.

Quick question here, have maybe 10/15 fr bullocks and beef animals in total, most of them born last summer/autumn, have them on good grass at the minute, and about 1/2 kg of nuts. Should I keep feeding them on for the summer, or let them graze away on grass alone?

rancher wrote: »
    Thought that was for hardship cases....ie no money and no fodder

Well the IFA called me this morning and told me that I should be applying for it. They also called all of my neighbours who are IFA members.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

we got a text from ifa yesterday to say there was hay available, got another today to say there was none , it will be next week... try telling that to the cattle......