"Microsoft" Scam Calls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Haven't got a call myself yet but there's tons of threads on the scams, in AH and Computer forums. Not sure if someone actually have been scammed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3 Chrome Crusader

"I am calling about your windows computer"

Yeah?

"Your windows computer"

FUck off <insert racial slur> !

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,622 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

"I am calling about your windows computer"

Yeah?

"Your windows computer"

FUck off <insert racial slur> !

That'll show them.

biko wrote: »
    Haven't got a call myself yet but there's tons of threads on the scams, in AH and Computer forums. Not sure if someone actually have been scammed.
    One of my neighbours got as far as loading the "help page" before realising it was a scam as the page asked for her pin, she dropped the call, but the malware* was already uploaded & running.

I cleaned up her PC and she cancelled her card

* I think it was a botnet app

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭Freddy Smelly

MurdyWurdy wrote: »
    Used to live in NZ and got them every few weeks. Never had one in Ireland. I can only presume that as we are not in the phone book here, but we were in NZ that's where they're getting the numbers from. I used to just hang up on them.

they dont use phonebooks to find your number... they use autodiallers that just randomly dial numbers until they get an answer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭theblueirish

they dont use phonebooks to find your number... they use autodiallers that just randomly dial numbers until they get an answer

I think they use eircomphonebook as when they called me they asked for my wife, this is the only thing thats in her name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 channro

Friend of my mother gave them control of his pc and they also produced a map of his closest western union so he could pay for a few years subscription to software that would keep his laptop protected. I get farmed out to fix it up and he tells me the laptop has been running red hot for a full day. Reinstalled windows and got him to change all his passwords. You'd be surprised how many older people get robbed by these clowns.

I think they use eircomphonebook as when they called me they asked for my wife, this is the only thing thats in her name.

they dont use phonebooks... a few of their "call centres" in india were raided and there they (the cops) found autodialers. no phonebooks.

they have since moved out of india and are mostly operating out of eastern european countries and some north african countries now,

they generally prefer to ask for bill holder or females cos they are often easier to dupe into giving credit card info than males typically are.

getting an old lady to hand over credit card info is what they prey on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

Foxhound38 wrote: »

This is quite good towards the end when the guy has the scammer caught by the balls. He's a security professional who essentially let the guy do what he was going to do right up to the point at which he was being asked to pay money.

When your man catches him out, the scammer gets a bit... agitated

1 hour and 22 minutes!? Thanks but no thanks...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

Start talking to them in Irish and they hang up fast enough.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

I had one of these calls a few years back....cheeky fecker wanted remote access to my PC!, let him have it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭theblueirish

they dont use phonebooks... a few of their "call centres" in india were raided and there they (the cops) found autodialers. no phonebooks.

they have since moved out of india and are mostly operating out of eastern european countries and some north african countries now,

they generally prefer to ask for bill holder or females cos they are often easier to dupe into giving credit card info than males typically are.

They asked for her by her first name (which is Irish) I told them I was her and they didn't know any better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Go along with them for a minute, but speak really quietly. They will turn up the volume on their headsets. Then you hit them with the full blast whistle. Or just scream really loudly if you don't have one. Deafen the f*ckers.

They have rung us three times in the last week. It can't just be autodialers. That's too much of a coincidence. They have to have an eircom directory or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,610 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Yeah used to have them call pretty regularly, havent heard from them in a while though. Usually i just ended up strining them along pretending i was follwing their instructions, or id say i have a mac so its impossible to have a windows error or that im on linux etc.
    One time though after getting 2 calls a day for about 4 days i got pretty pissed with them and told the guy to go fuck himself and a few more expletives and then hung up. He called back 3 times to be pissy with me about being rude and how he was just doing his job, still didnt let up on the abuse but I eventually realised he honestly believed he was working for microsoft.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 17,597 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Think they are definitely upping the volume of calls... I've had 2 in the last month..

I've had 2 or 3 calls before but there was maybe 9 months or a year between them..

The last call had a caller ID of 00000000000

It's always the same " Hello Sir , I'm calling from the Windows Support about a problem we have detected on your machine"

Eh... No your not!

Kirby wrote: »
    They have rung us three times in the last week. It can't just be autodialers. That's too much of a coincidence. They have to have an eircom directory or something.

yes they are... once the autodialer gets a connection your number is pushed into a database of numbers that work.

they can find your number so easily then

you can tell if there is a delay from when you first answer the phone to when you hear a voice on the other end.

autodialer randomly dials your number - > you answer -> your number gets pushed into a database - > scammer sees a live connection on his phone software on his pc and picks up the call -> scammer then tries to scam you. - > you hang up .

your number is now known as a working number and is kept on their database.

another agent then sees your number on the database and tries again to scam you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭problemchimp

Keep them talking and string them along for as long as you can. The more time you spend with them, the less time they have to scam somebody else. I managed to get a bloke to actually sing for me if I did what he told me, then told him I had a Commodore 64 and the poor fuucker nearly cried.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,610 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Oooh just thought of a great one, gonna tell the next one that im amish and the only technology we are allowed use is a phone, see how that goes down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Just had 4 calls this morning :mad:

The last fella got the brunt of my anger, I literally screamed at him to f**k offfffff and stop ringing my phone.

I think they were all trained in the John Wayne school of English!
    Every sentence ended in "Maaam"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,226 ✭✭✭Solair

Just pretend your a voicemail system / IVR.

Keep saying "To continue, please enter your user ID"
    "Your user ID is not valid!"
    "Please try again"
    "I'm sorry! You appear to be having difficulty! Please hold the line while we connect you to an operator....."

Then answer in a very corporate manner.

They think you're a machine, log the number as an IVR (interactive voice response) and never call back.

Other options are answer the phone in a language other than English and get increasingly angry the more they speak at you in English.

Or :

"Good Afternoon - Fraud investigation line? How may I help you? "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭keng66

I got about 5 calls from them over 3 days last year. The last call was from a woman, Indian I presume, so I start talking dirty to her, asked her if she had ever been with a white man and did she take it up the gary glitter, she soon hung up.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,107 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

They're annoying certainly, but not potentially dangerous unless as someone said an naive older person might go along with it.

I use them to vent abuse at as well, its very therapeutic, some of the supervisors would make a docker blush though!

I told them I didnt own a computer, but if they wanted to send me an email Id pick it up on my calculator. Easily confused bless them.

Or get a good quality referees whistle.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

mconigol wrote: »
    1 hour and 22 minutes!? Thanks but no thanks...

Yeah, no need to watch the full thing, just the last few minutes where he tells him he's an IT security professional himself and the scam has been caught out. The scammer starts trying to argue with him, it is quite good in fairness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

Larbre34 wrote: »
    They're annoying certainly, but not potentially dangerous unless as someone said an naive older person might go along with it.

I use them to vent abuse at as well, its very therapeutic, some of the supervisors would make a docker blush though!

I told them I didnt own a computer, but if they wanted to send me an email Id pick it up on my calculator. Easily confused bless them.

Or get a good quality referees whistle.........

The supervisors do get really ratty at times. I got a call from one of them a few weeks ago, strung them along for a while, got bored, asked him where he was calling me from. "Microsoft in Stillorgan" he said after a pause, trying to mask the heavy Indian accent. "No you're not, you're calling me from a call centre in India and you are a scam artist" says I, and hung up on the ****er.

A few seconds later the phone rings again and some Indian woman supervisor is on the line demanding to know why I hung up. I explained that I don't intend on giving access to my computer or money to scam artists, at which point she started roaring absolute abuse down the phone at me, while saying they are not scammers. I let it go on for a few minutes, before asking her (when she let me get a word in) whether she really believed this pitch is salvagable at this point, at which point she told me to fook off and hung up. Bizzare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I keep reading the thread as Microsoft Sam Calls

"OMG, Stephen Hawking rang me and said I had a virus!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭whitelightrider

Had about 4 missed calls from these twits last week. Just waiting for one of them to call when Im there and see what they have to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 DrArse

If I ever get my hands on one of these people I'm gonna burst them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭pcardin

getting an old lady to hand over credit card info is what they prey on

yeah right! :rolleyes: A typical EE equals evil nonsense bs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,226 ✭✭✭Solair

They really need to be tackled by Interpol or something. They're just skirting international boundaries and abusing cheap VoIP calls.

The only way this can be tackled really is for telecommunications companies to crack down on it by cutting the companies that are hosting them off and refusing to accept calls from them.

It would cause enough disruption to suddenly make them pay attention and boot the scammers off their networks.

The phone companies are all too quick to just wash their hands of it and say there's nothing they can do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭playedalive

VinLieger wrote: »
    Yeah used to have them call pretty regularly, havent heard from them in a while though. Usually i just ended up strining them along pretending i was follwing their instructions, or id say i have a mac so its impossible to have a windows error or that im on linux etc.
    One time though after getting 2 calls a day for about 4 days i got pretty pissed with them and told the guy to go fuck himself and a few more expletives and then hung up. He called back 3 times to be pissy with me about being rude and how he was just doing his job, still didnt let up on the abuse but I eventually realised he honestly believed he was working for microsoft.

Yeah I've cursed down the phone at them as well. It just makes them still bother you with calls.

I know somebody (a man) who tried to flirt with the guy on the phone. After a couple of words of what he would 'do to him', the guy became a tad homophobic and hung up. ;)