If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Has anything genuinely creepy or unnerving ever happened to you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

last night about 2am i was standing in the garden having a smoke. the front garden is tiny so the footpath is only about 5 ft from the hall door. all of a sudden i got this feeling over me that i shouldnt be there and something was telling me to go inside straight away. i did and locked the door and went upstairs. i looked out the window and there was 2 blokes standing in the garden looking in the kitchen window
    thank god i followed my feelings and didnt hang around, it freaked me out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭kilkenny12

I think most of us who hace lived in the country have experienced close call chases :P

I remember camping in a feild with a couple of friends when we were 15 .. We decided to create a fire in a barrell. The night went anyway, at about 1 in the morming we saw a car drive stop outside the feild, turn off the the lights and hear doors opening and closing. By the sound of the footsteps there was two people.

We grabbed our bags, left the tents and ran. We managed to reach of the lads farm. Then we noticed we were short one person. One of my friends didn't follow the group and decided to hide in the ditch at the edge of the feild. He was whispering down the phone. He sounds shaken and was sobbing. He described how the the men (friend said they looked like 2 men in their 40s) burning the tents and going ape****e looking for us. They hungaround for 45 minutes and eventually left. The lad who stayed in the ditch said he had never seen two men look so aggressive and menacing. The weird thing is, we knew the owner of the, had gotten permission and all. God only knowd what would have happened if our friend was caught.

So ye were talkin to your friend on the phone for 45 mins or what? Why didnt ye send someone down for him like? Poor lad..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

. Chatting away and the call of nature beckoned. Couldn't be rude and stop her mid chat, so i stood at her kitchen sink while she finished her chat

what the f***k?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,256 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

wallyMe wrote: »
    I used to go drinking when I was 15 or 16 on weekends with friends in a old factory in the middle of no-where, Think it was built in the 1800's. It was fun exploring the old factory and going roaming around it with torches and candles and had a nice gas heater as well left there. We Well we thought it was. We first started using it in November for the Winter. The factory is not near any houses, took an hour to walk through he fields to get there(so our parents wouldn't see us with the rake of cans). Anyway we got on grand the first two or three times there but something was always strange about the place, could hear doors banging, strange noises near us, sounds of a hammer, engine noises and some spots were freezing compared to others, even though it was the same room. We really didn't take much notice of it at the time just laughed it off as didn't want to be softy but we were all actually ****ting it.

Anyway another time we went back we could hear girls crying and then laughing and then them roaring crying , this wouldn't be possible, factory was in middle of no-where. It was not people riding, was not someone getting hurt, if you would have hearing it you would know that it was very very strange. It freaked me and my friends out.

After two weeks we got the courage to back there and see what would happen. Nothing for the first hour, then all of sudden the girls laughing, then roaring crying . We decided to stick it out thinking it was one of our older brothers playing a tape recorder. By God we wish we left then. All of a sudden the biggest gush of Wind came inside the factory, it was like a tornado, knocked every can we had over and we were all frozen to the spot, wallets half way across the room, every bit of rubbish blown to the opposite end of the room. We were all frozen with fear. A big black thing like a dust cloud like thing then appeared something like this and started travelling around the room and flying past our heads. It stopped then straight in front of one of my mates heads and we all legged it out of their. We were never so scared in our lives. We all went home and I couldn't sleep for a week. Never found out the explanation but I said it to my father about the place and he said he heard similar stories about the place and not to go back, remember getting grounded for it after saying it to him. He rang the council to get the place properly boarded which it now is.

Never went back to the place, Me and friends still talk about it constantly. Scariest thing that happened in me and my friends lives!

Where is this factory?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭murraykil

last night about 2am i was standing in the garden having a smoke. the front garden is tiny so the footpath is only about 5 ft from the hall door. all of a sudden i got this feeling over me that i shouldnt be there and something was telling me to go inside straight away. i did and locked the door and went upstairs. i looked out the window and there was 2 blokes standing in the garden looking in the kitchen window

Even I'm freaked by this! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,979 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

ElusiveDon wrote: »
    Okay, here's my creepiest moment...(16 btw so haven't had that many)
    Last Halloween I was hanging around with a group of friends in my local village. We weren't up to anything, just walking around and some harmless messing. Suddenly, we came across this kind of alcove, I think it was an old well or something and we saw the outlines of a few young men smoking inside. We could hear them talking so we stood listening in the dark for a few seconds. Then, my best friend decides to, for the craic, make a few stupid noises. None of us were expecting it and we just stood there, waiting for a few seconds. The men had stopped talking and I couldn't for the life of me see their shapes anymore. Suddenly three men burst out at us. We all legged it down the road ( this is in the country btw) and we could hear the three men giving chase and shouting. I was near the back of our group and so I just followed my friend when he hopped into a random field. We all ran to the bushes and lay down, hoping the shadows would hide us...

I was beginning to think that the men were only messing and had chased us a short distance just to scare us when the trio suddenly hopped into the same field. They must have been closer than we thought. Now, we were all as scared as **** and one of my friends was sobbing softly. We could see them but they couldn't see us with the shadows of the bushes. That was, until one of the guys pulled a bloody pocket torch from his pocket. I almost lost it there and then and I stood up to make a run for it rather than being trapped with the ditch. My friend grabbed me and told me to wait - the men went over to the wrong side of the field and began searching meticulously all the way down. When they were far enough away, we made a massive run for it and they heard us, only now the guy had a torchlight turned on and we could see where he was coming from. We had a good lead and we pegged it up the road and into my friend's uncle's yard which was the other direction from the village. His uncle was away but he let himself in with the hidden key and we watched the three men pass up the road from his pitch dark living room. We rang his dad who rang the guards but nothing ever happened. That night, we were so scared that we didn't turn on a single light in his uncles house.

It has been a great topic of discussion over the last year but we were scared out of our wits that night. I've never experienced anything quite as bad in my entire life. I shudder today to think of why they wanted to find us so bad....

Sounds like you really were elusive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Were they at the window while you were smoking and you didn't see them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭ONeill2013

what exactly were you smoking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 beefstew

I've never told anyone this story before, it happened a long time ago now.

I was 10 years old and my older sister was killed in a tragic accident, she was in her late teens so as you can imagine it was particularly sad with her being so young. Anyway we waked her at our family home and the place was absolutely full of people coming and going for days. Now I can't remember was it the day of her funeral or not but it was around then anyway, but i went to the bathroom and when i was walking out I noticed a ring on the floor right where the door was. I knew straight away it was my sisters who had died ring and to be honest i remember being kind creeped out by it so I gave it to another sister of mine who just burst into tears when I gave it to her, I said nothing and just walked away.

Now there was only one bathroom in the house and you can imagine with so many people around somebody would of seen it before me, and it was left right at the door where it was so obvious to be seen.

I've thought about it for years and always thought my dead sister left it there for me as a way of saying everything was ok or someting because we were all struggling badly with what happened. I regret to this day not putting it in my pocket and keeping it.

By the way I am not into all this paranormal stuff or whatever you want to call it but I do believe something happened that day and its nearly 20 years since it happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭armaghbhoy

One night about 2 years ago, I got out of the car with my brother and was walking into my house with a chinese takeaway. I noticed a little girl walking up the path towards me. She looked about 7 or 8. As she got a tiny bit closer, she said in a really mature and smart voice..''Excuse me Sir, is that for me?'' As soon as she opened her mouth to say the first word, I felt very frightened and I automatically sensed that something wasn't right. I then sort of mumbled enough so she could hear, and I said ''no''. Just as I said no, a little boy came running and hid behind the car. I stopped close to my front door looking to see what he was going to do. Then he ran out and was thinking wether he should jump over my fence or not. At this point, I said to my brother, ''open the door, theres something wrong with them.'' The whole time I got the feeling that these kids were not normal kids. The way the girl spoke was also not normal.

I've heard similiar stories about kids known as the black eyed kids, and they try to get into peoples houses etc, my story sort of matches apart from the fact that I actually didn't see their eyes to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

No,but should I encounter anything I will be sure to let the good people of AH know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

armaghbhoy wrote: »
    One night about 2 years ago, I got out of the car with my brother and was walking into my house with a chinese takeaway. I noticed a little girl walking up the path towards me. She looked about 7 or 8. As she got a tiny bit closer, she said in a really mature and smart voice..''Excuse me Sir, is that for me?'' As soon as she opened her mouth to say the first word, I felt very frightened and I automatically sensed that something wasn't right. I then sort of mumbled enough so she could hear, and I said ''no''. Just as I said no, a little boy came running and hid behind the car. I stopped close to my front door looking to see what he was going to do. Then he ran out and was thinking wether he should jump over my fence or not. At this point, I said to my brother, ''open the door, theres something wrong with them.'' The whole time I got the feeling that these kids were not normal kids. The way the girl spoke was also not normal.

I've heard similiar stories about kids known as the black eyed kids, and they try to get into peoples houses etc, my story sort of matches apart from the fact that I actually didn't see their eyes to be honest.

Just read a weeks worth of posts to catch up and that's the first to leave me shivering with goosebumps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Smidge wrote: »
    Were they at the window while you were smoking and you didn't see them?

no, the house is back to front so the kitchen window is right beside me when i stand at the door
    ONeill2013 wrote: »
    what exactly were you smoking?

benson and hedges

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Chabals Beard

kilkenny12 wrote: »
    So ye were talkin to your friend on the phone for 45 mins or what? Why didnt ye send someone down for him like? Poor lad..

Two of the other lads went down and hung around in one of the other feilds. They planned on getting to our friend in the ditch but it was a bright night, our friend was lucky, he had hidden in dense enough ditch so he was basically invisable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

Three things:

1) People have been writing about getting stuck in fields; here's a poem about this (the traditional way of getting out, by the way, is to sit down, turn your waistcoat or jacket inside out and put it back on, back-to-front, then pull a thrawneen (wisp of grass) from the east of you and one from the west of you (ie one from in front, one from behind), and stand up holding them, and you'll walk straight to the gate):

The Hungry Grass
    by Donagh MacDonagh

Crossing the shallow holdings high above sea
    Where few birds nest, the luckless foot may pass
    From the bright safety of experience
    Into the terror of the hungry grass.

Here in a year when poison from the air
    First withered in despair the growth of spring
    Some skull-faced wretch whom nettle could not save
    Crept on four bones to his last scattering,

Crept, and the shrivelled heart which drove his thought
    Towards platters brought in hospitality
    Burst as the wizened eyes measured the miles
    Like dizzy walls forbidding him the city.

Little the earth reclaimed from that poor body
    And yet remembering him the place has grown
    Bewitched and the thin grass he nourishes
    Racks with his famine, sucks marrow from the bone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭Burdock

Three things:

1) People have been ...............

That's one thing :/

2: My father was an actor. Six years after he died, the company where I was working collapsed. In the middle of the chaos I went home and lay down and turned on the TV, and an old film came on, with him in it, and immediately he turned and looked out of the screen and said: "It'll be all right."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Three things:

1) People have been writing about getting stuck in fields; here's a poem about this (the traditional way of getting out, by the way, is to sit down, turn your waistcoat or jacket inside out and put it back on, back-to-front, then pull a thrawneen (wisp of grass) from the east of you and one from the west of you (ie one from in front, one from behind), and stand up holding them, and you'll walk straight to the gate):

Sorry, What?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 747 ✭✭✭Belle E. Flops

Sorry, What?

It's an old country thing I think. I used always hear about Jack O the Lantern who would cause you to get lost in a woods or bog and that the only way to find your way out would be to turn your jacket inside out.
    Never heard about picking the grass though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Sorry, What?

There was a post about it way back in the thread. I heard stories about it before, people in a field with a fort and not been able to find the gate out. The only way you could get out was if you turned your coat inside out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Sorry, What?

I think it's in reference to the 'stray sod' or a will o' the wisp. As mentioned above, a way that travellers would get lost in a field and wander around trying to find a way out, regardless of the fact that they'd pass the exit numerous times.

Found this on Wikipedia
    'A will-o'-the-wisp (Jack the Lantern) or ignis fatuus are atmospheric ghost lights seen by travellers at night, especially over bogs, swamps or marshes. It resembles a flickering lamp and is said to recede if approached, drawing travellers from the safe paths.'

I remember being told about my granddad walking through a woods he knew very well and would have travelled through fairly often, but one evening when he was sure he was going East he was actually going West. It took him ages to get out. I must ask and see if he did turn his coat inside out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

No but the thing I'm confused by is, do you guys believe this??

I don't.
    But I still like the stories.

In Ireland it's called the Hungry Grass; you get trapped in a field, can't find your way out (there were about 16 or so posts relating stories of this in the first 40 pages of this thread). It is variously blamed on the Good People, there being a lios or ancient hawthorn tree in the field, there having been a slaughter by Cromwell or another of our earlier tourists, or - most commonly in the last century - on the 1845-50 Famine; either it was a mass grave of Famine dead, or a number of people had starved to death in that field.

Anyway, as described by the various posters is what is supposed to happen: you go in, can't find the gate, and start going around and around the wall, with a growing and terrible hunger raging in you that can't be satisfied, and if you're lucky someone sees you when daylight comes, still circling the field, glassy-eyed and in a fugue. It's been known to kill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

I was babysitting before and me and the kid were playing with walkie talkies. The kid wandered off down the house giving me instructions. So we were nattering away when suddenly on my walkie talkie something came like some sort of a radio signal and a bunch of other kids came through on it. I tried to communicate with the kids by asking questions like 'hello, who's this?', 'where are you from?' but I don't think they heard me. They weren't talking either. They were laughing and giggling. I thought I was imagining things but the father of the kid heard it too. It never happened again after this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

no, the house is back to front so the kitchen window is right beside me when i stand at the door

benson and hedges

So they were right beside you all along while you were smoking and you just didn't see them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

There is a nice pool to fish in one of the rivers I fish regularly. One of the local anglers told me one night that he was the only local that fishes the pool after dark as the rest of the lads believe the pool to be haunted. There was a family with young children who used live near the river washed away in a freak flood decades ago. I didnt take much stock in the story but one night I went up to fish said pool after dark. Was fishing away, standing halfway down the pool in waders when I heard a little girl laugh from the opposite bank. The hairs stood on the back of my neck and I took off fairly lively. Haven't gone up there since :o

Another story is from my cousin. I had an uncle that died when I was 10. He died a young man from lung cancer. My cousin, his daughter, is married now with kids. When her eldest child was small he used always tell her about the man that came into his bedroom at night and sat at the end of the bed smiling. She didnt take much notice in the story and took it as a childs imagination until one day she put up a newly framed picture of her late father on the mantlepiece. Her son pointed up to it and said thats the man that comes into my room at night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,006 ✭✭✭Ann22

armaghbhoy wrote: »

Now that's a well scary story:eek:. What is it about kids that makes them extra deliciously creepy additons to ghost stories:)?

No but the thing I'm confused by is, do you guys believe this??

Ah well now, the usual Irish answer to that question is "Of course I don't. But that doesn't mean they're not true!'