If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

was registering calves last night, have an aa cow that calved in august 2011, june 2012 and april 2013:D great for the herd calving interval, pity she's 12 year old and this is her last calf, she left 10 calves....Normally use agfood to do movement permits as theres no room for error, but a guy was buying a bull and he has a restricted herd and thought it would be handier to just fax a permit... only problem was he wrote his herd number down wrong! Think i will only use agfood from now on , had to make a load of calls to dept and bandon, before , i rang the farmer and he told me the number was wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

I see the chances of any meaningful warming in temperatures is dwindling each time the forecast is updated.. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

bbam wrote: »
    I see the chances of any meaningful warming in temperatures is dwindling each time the forecast is updated.. :mad:

will you say nothing if you have nothing good to say :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

a b****x i was hoping to do some long overdue spraying monday, now it forecasting rain:mad:

whelan1 wrote: »
    was registering calves last night, have an aa cow that calved in august 2011, june 2012 and april 2013:D great for the herd calving interval, pity she's 12 year old and this is her last calf, she left 10 calves....Normally use agfood to do movement permits as theres no room for error, but a guy was buying a bull and he has a restricted herd and thought it would be handier to just fax a permit... only problem was he wrote his herd number down wrong! Think i will only use agfood from now on , had to make a load of calls to dept and bandon, before , i rang the farmer and he told me the number was wrong

did you ever get around to calling mullinahone for me:D i left a message with them 3 days ago:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

hugo29 wrote: »
    did you ever get around to calling mullinahone for me:D i left a message with them 3 days ago:mad:

if anyone still has Whelans number from the last episode:D:D, pass it on and we can leave voice mails quoting her number

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

black old day here, wind howling at back door

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,298 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

dont come back married whatever ya do, riga is it ya said, theres a nice bar there cant remember the name, lots of breeding stock

There is a bar called the sky bar on top of one of the hotels there. Its 26 stories up so you can see the whole city great spot! Was there with a macra gang a few years ago. Some craic!:D

http://www.skylinebar.lv/

maybe try ringing them again, in fairness if you leave your nember they normally ring back, only problem is you normally dont have the tag or credit card details to hand when they do.... was talking to a rare one in bandon this morning, i had phone on loudspeaker and my dad was laughing at what she was saying, rang back 5 minutes later and got a lovely lady:o

There is a bar called the sky bar on top of one of the hotels there. Its 26 stories up so you can see the whole city great spot! Was there with a macra gang a few years ago. Some craic!:D

http://www.skylinebar.lv/

oh you get a good view of what the city has to offer in this other bar as well and plenty of craic;)

maybe try ringing them again, in fairness if you leave your nember they normally ring back, only problem is you normally dont have the tag or credit card details to hand when they do.... was talking to a rare one in bandon this morning, i had phone on loudspeaker and my dad was laughing at what she was saying, rang back 5 minutes later and got a lovely lady:o

hey whelan1 i wonder did the doll in bandon put the phone down and say the same about you:D

i left my number 3 days ago

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Is the turrets syndrome giving you bother again?:D

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote: »
    Is the turrets syndrome giving you bother again?:D
    nope, she didnt understand what the problem was, i explained nicely giving the error reference number , she was going on about bed and breakfast which had nothing to do with what i was asking, so i said i would ring dept, waited 5 minutes and rang back got a woman who knew what i was on about and sorted the problem

its a bank holiday this weekend, last time we had a bank holiday this thread went into meltdown on the saturday night:D

was thinking of that earlier , other parents at the school where saying thank god its a bank holiday weekend and where talking of their plans.... does it annoy ye that ye are tied down to the farm? sometimes its a handy excuse to get out of going to things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

was thinking of that earlier , other parents at the school where saying thank god its a bank holiday weekend and where talking of their plans.... does it annoy ye that ye are tied down to the farm? sometimes its a handy excuse to get out of going to things
    Often find even if ya do get the relief fellow in whatever bank holiday it is its the one weekend something goes haywire

People like to talk..
    If your focused, milk early and maybe late that evening you'd probably squeeze in more family stuff than those who talk about doing lots of stuff..

Bad weather is the problem... but you could be up the M1, into the NAC aquazone for a few hours, grab some lunch in their snack bar and home to milk while the ones round the school gate are talking about stuff !!

If the weather permits on Monday we plan to throw the bikes on the car and head to the Pheonix Park, maybe a picnic if the weather holds out..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭dzer2

People like to talk..
    If your focused, milk early and maybe late that evening you'd probably squeeze in more family stuff than those who talk about doing lots of stuff..

Bad weather is the problem... but you could be up the M1, into the NAC aquazone for a few hours, grab some lunch in their snack bar and home to milk while the ones round the school gate are talking about stuff !!

If the weather permits on Monday we plan to throw the bikes on the car and head to the Pheonix Park, maybe a picnic if the weather holds out..

hey bbam try and get into the zoo when your there,

dzer2 wrote: »

Was there about a month ago.. Its a brilliant day out, we make the zoo trip every year :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Yeh I'm trying to find a local chap, and give them afew hours on the farm and get them in the parlour eventually to do some relief milking. have afew 1/2 interested, who would know their stuff in fairness (sons of either a dairy farmer or livestock at the least). Just been too busy to get around to it properly, summertime when the milking is easier is certainly the time to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Don't go near the place on a bank holiday particularly if the weather is good. The crowds are crazy! It'd much more enjoyable if it's quieter

cows are grazing some of silage ground, have it split with tape.... lad came this morning to spray pre emergence spray, got a text off him just as cows had left yard not to let them up that way... fecking scatter action, they went everywhere... they thought they where in heaven with all the grass, anyways got them back ... i am so not fit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

cows are grazing some of silage ground, have it split with tape.... lad came this morning to spray pre emergence spray, got a text off him just as cows had left yard not to let them up that way... fecking scatter action, they went everywhere... they thought they where in heaven with all the grass, anyways got them back ... i am so not fit

A (wo)mans' best friend

Cattle test today at 2'... I see the big black clouds just queueing up to keep us cool and moist throughout..:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

Was there about a month ago.. Its a brilliant day out, we make the zoo trip every year :D

First thing in the morning is the best time to go there as the animals are hungry and active .
    Nothin worse than trying to see them when their lying off with a full belly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

just do it wrote: »
    Don't go near the place on a bank holiday particularly if the weather is good. The crowds are crazy! It'd much more enjoyable if it's quieter

What ever day ya go, be there before the place opens, that way you're always ahead of the crowds so get to see and enjoy what you went there for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Split my lip open on a gate yesterday, look like I got a wallop in the nose today :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Split my lip open on a gate yesterday, look like I got a wallop in the nose today :(

Must be the weather..

I got a cut and a black eye from a piece of poly pipe springing back at me yesterday. Everyone thinks the Mrs hit me again....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Tickets got for Meat Loaf. Should be great craic :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

just do it wrote: »
    Tickets got for Meat Loaf. Should be great craic :D

I would do anything for.......silage!