They're Digging Up Grafton Street

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Can't have Dublin spending money they generated on improving the city and increasing tourism,that's for bogger TD's to decide.

Athlone could use an international airport!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭marwelie

Badly needed, tiles broken, loose stones, half of the street subsided, and it stinks in places where people have thrown up. As a wheelchair user, the smoother the ride the better. Now if they would only consider removing the cobbles from outside Trinity College my lifes work would be done ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭LaVail

theres a few potholes down this way....can ye fix em like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

bodies is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Can't have Dublin spending money they generated on improving the city and increasing tourism,that's for bogger TD's to decide.

Athlone could use an international airport!

For the Chinese Trade Centre?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭AnarchistKen

Doesn't matter what kind of paving they put down the paviours when put down will be covered in scummers chewing gum within a month

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

bnt wrote: »
    I just read the article - should have done so earlier. The works are expected to take 18 months, including two summers and the whole Christmas season this year.

O RLY? :confused:
    Eh... This summer, then Christmas, then next summer. That's all within 18 months!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

Doesn't matter what kind of paving they put down the paviours when put down will be covered in scummers chewing gum within a month

Wouldn't surprise me if this campaign didn't just fail,

but have the reverse effect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Any man who fixes the road gets my vote.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Bogota

Sorry but I've walked down Grafton on a rainy day and its a ****in death trap.

Secondly, did someone just say this would take 18 months? Throw out whatever Irish cowboys got that contract and employ some Eastern European and Russian workers. They'll do it for half the price in a quarter of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

Many of the pavements around the city centre, board walk are absolutely manky. They should be routinely power hosed.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Bogota wrote: »
    Secondly, did someone just say this would take 18 months? Throw out whatever Irish cowboys got that contract and employ some Eastern European and Russian workers. They'll do it for half the price in a quarter of the time.
    +1. Eighteen months?? W.T.F. Bear in mind this is a public works so you can be sure to add to that and whatever budget they're suggesting. And don't be too shocked when it's all finished that another agency will need to dig a section of it up. We've got serious previous regarding all of the above. Shít look at farce that was the Luas. The Aussies built a three thousand kilometer railway with scores of bridges and millions of sleepers through one of the harshest environments on the planet for the same price and did so ahead of schedule. Enough said. We're a country run and organised by utter gobshítes and we all suffer for it.

Eighteen months is a ridiculously long timeframe to repave a street FFS. Eighteen months to watch workers breastfeeding shovels while gazing blankly into a hole no doubt. How can the Japanese rebuild whole motorways and infrastructure within months after a bloody tsunami and we take daft amounts of time to finish far less daunting tasks(and overspend while we're at it)?

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,915 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Pavements are a lot like life partners - lay them right the first time and you can walk all over them for years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭slavetothegrind

18 months my hole, why not work round the clock in shifts?

dont think anyone lives on grafton street?

Oh and FFS ban chewing gum altogether or only allow rapidly disintegrating constituents.

And we need cigarette police, 100 euro onthe spot for dirty filthy cigarette dropping morons, that must be 60% of smokers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,030 ✭✭✭Amalgam

I can't remember where I read it, but I think there were concerns about the new stone choice. The surface might be a liability to the Council when it is raining. Slipping etc.

Unless the new surface is maintained, it'll look like ****, soon enough. Pink.. on that street, yeah..

Nothing new here, remember when the city got brushed metal traffic light poles that highlighted dirt and wear very quickly, or the fact that, in turning O'Connell Street (Dublin) into a brazzer's mantlepiece, no one had bothered to budget for sight impaired accessible pedestrian crossings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

I would have cemented the whole road and imprinted a brick pattern above it,they will make a hames of this project just wait and see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭hfallada

It is the main shopping street for Dublin despite what people say. The council collects ridiculous amounts of rates on the street and gives the retailers nothing back. It looks pretty ****ty to tourist particularity when its raining and to have to avoid all the large pools of water on the streets as it doesnt drain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

They should take up all them horrible cobbles around the Temple Bar while they are at it.

As for Grafton St, they should get Paddy Dotherty in for the weekend and tarmac it from top to bottom. Money saved everyone happy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,476 ✭✭✭markpb

I guess the reason for the 18 month schedule is because all the shops must be accessible all the time, emergency service vehicles must always be able to use the street, some space must be left for delivery trucks and a few shoppers must be able to, you know, shop otherwise the street will be pretty but the shops will have gone out of business (Red Luas line construction?). It's not the widest street in the world - anyone who claims it could be done in a few weeks while achieving all that is talking through their ass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

A rate reduction would be more helpful to the Dublin city economy rather than bullsh1t vanity projects like this

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

They should just throw some decking down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,476 ✭✭✭markpb

A rate reduction would be more helpful to the Dublin city economy rather than bullsh1t vanity projects like this

Really? The project will cost a lot of money, a big chuck of which will go to people living and spending on Dublin. The project will renew Grafton st and make it less run down, somethign that is important considering the colossal contribution the Gafton st area makes to both the local and national economy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭aaabbbb

Bambi wrote: »
    Will it be that poxy smooth granite that the corpo seem to think is so suitable for a country where it rains every day?

Think it is , similar to the pavement on O'Connell st. Tis great craic walking down there in a pair of uggs after a good aul afternoon rain shower , I'm surprised how I haven't ended up in James' yet with a broken wrist !

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

aaabbbb wrote: »
    , I'm surprised how I haven't ended up in James' yet with a broken wrist !

stop walking with your hands ya show off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

img}we did a greatjob kiling the hellbeast

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,226 ✭✭✭Solair

Cork City Council used pink and grey stone in a lot of the repaving work done around Patrick's Street and it looks quite nice. (Shame about the ugly lights they inflicted on it tho)

However, if its a similar standard of paving it will look great on Grafton St. too.

Grafton St is really starting to look worn out and the bricks are starting to become a trip hazard. I don't think it was done to a particularly high standard in the 80s to begin with.

There's a fair bit of bad paving around Dublin though. I think the maintenance regime needs a bit if improvement.

That being said, if you ever want to see really bad paving : visit our illustrious EU capital, Brussels, sometime and wear ankle supports! I've never encountered worse paving anywhere in the developed world!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,060 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Grafton St is a death trap? Jaysus, I've walked down it plenty of times and haven't died yet, let alone fall over

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,226 ✭✭✭Solair

Grafton St is a death trap? Jaysus, I've walked down it plenty of times and haven't died yet, let alone fall over

Becoming a trip hazard doesn't equate to "death trap"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭T4RGET

what i find funnier is that they're starting this during the summer time, continuing it for 3 months, essentially summer months which I'm only logically guessing is the busiest time for the shops with a lot of people being off school, work and college. Good job :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

bnt wrote: »
    OK, thought about them, after having to walk past them most nights in the last year, and have come to a conclusion: they should all just shut up and go away. I've never heard one that was worth the noise pollution they cause. Silence would be preferable.
    Well, aren't you delightful?