Garda drives ambulance/injured child to hospital

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

gctest50 wrote: »
    Yep, keeping up with those iPhone updates is rough :

http://goo.gl/shK6R

You'll have to explain that one to me. have no idea why you think it is relevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭RustyNut

As far as I know you require a c licence to drive an ambulance because of the extra weight (I could be wrong), if that's correct then the Garda mightn't have the relevant licence and could leave the state in line for a whopper of a lawsuit if there was an accident. I have never driven one and would imagine it is completely different to driving a squad car. Fair play to him though

Gardai don't need a licence of any class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,497 ✭✭✭✭ted1

kraggy wrote: »
    Oh fúck right off.

The story here is the devastating cuts taking place across government services all around the country.

But you go right ahead and have a go at public sector workers if that gives you a little thrill.
    Well if a staff member went home sick it's not due to lack of funding just poor planning. Perhaps the real issue is the number if sick days taking by public servants.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

RustyNut wrote: »

Yeah but i guarentee they don't have a licence to kill like me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭blindside88

I wasn't aware of that. So can a Garda hop in and drive an articulated truck or a 1000cc motorbike having never driven one before? Doesn't sound very clever

I'm sure general health and safety would come in here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭confuseddotcom

Jaysus talk about bitter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Catkins407

In general u do need a c licence to drive an ambulance but don't think it applies to Gardai . He stepped in and did it and credit is due to him and the paramedic who was out on his own. Innocent question here. If someone called in sick would they try to get cover and call someone else in? The Garda should never have had to do this. There should have been proper staffing on the ambulance . Whether that is down to cutbacks or absenteeism we don't really know do we?
    Scary stuff for the rest of us who may need an ambulance someday. Frontline services do need support and proper resources in order to get on with their jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

I wasn't aware of that. So can a Garda hop in and drive an articulated truck or a 1000cc motorbike having never driven one before? Doesn't sound very clever

It not like they are forced to drive something they cant, I'm sure the Garda involved in this story felt he was more than comfortable/competent to drive the ambulance. There was plenty of other Guards there to drive he didn't. Road traffic rules can be ignored by a Garda if its deemed necessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭RustyNut

That's the way it is, and a good job in this case.
    ted1 wrote: »
    I'm sure general health and safety would come in here.

I hope so.

Senna wrote: »
    It not like they are forced to drive something they cant, I'm sure the Garda involved in this story felt he was more than comfortable/competent to drive the ambulance. There was plenty of other Guards there to drive he didn't. Road traffic rules can be ignored by a Garda if its deemed necessary.[/

Gardai have their own pretty large vans and such they have to drive anyway. It's not like all they drive are squad cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭blindside88

Senna wrote: »
    It not like they are forced to drive something they cant, I'm sure the Garda involved in this story felt he was more than comfortable/competent to drive the ambulance. There was plenty of other Guards there to drive he didn't. Road traffic rules can be ignored by a Garda if its deemed necessary.

I appreciate that he felt comfortable driving it and fair play to him for doing it. But did he have any experience in driving something like that before. An ambulance is not like a car. Also if a Garda felt confident and felt it was necessary could he/she drive an articulated truck with no experience. It just seems like an absolutely ridiculous system. By the way I don't dispute that he did the right thing but I do think it leaves the state open to serious law suits.

• Administrators Posts: 56,576 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

They are making the wrong cuts in the public sector.

They need to get rid of the suits, not paramedics or guards or emergency services front line staff in general.

The pointless upper and middle managers, administrators etc should be the ones seeing the cuts first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

Of course no questioning as to why absenteeism levels are high among paramedics though - more fun to pretend it's all down to just pulling sickies.
    The anti public sector folks could be glad of paramedics when their bitterness eats them up so much that their physical health is ruined.

awec wrote: »
    They are making the wrong cuts in the public sector.

They need to get rid of the suits, not paramedics or guards or emergency services front line staff in general.

The pointless upper and middle managers, administrators etc should be the ones seeing the cuts first.
    I know if a chef who works with 6 other chefs in a hospital each chef has there own manager who signs of the menu , literally that's all they do . She says they facebook and play games all day and that the managers are not trained to sign off menus as Chefs would be . So no need for them, these are the people who need to go

Madam_X wrote: »
    Of course no questioning as to why absenteeism levels are high among paramedics though - more fun for the to pretend it's all down to just pulling sickies.
    The anti public sector folks could be glad of paramedics when their bitterness eats them up so much that their physical health is ruined.

Excellent point. I know some paramedics. They are geniuses at emergency medicine . Especially the advanced paramedics. They are all lunatics though. I mean that in a nice way. They honestly see some of the most appalling and harrowing things on roads and in the course of their duty. I don't even want to begin to think about it. They burn out and they have huge stress levels a lot of the time.

Of course no questioning as to why absenteeism levels are high among paramedics though - more fun to pretend it's all down to just pulling sickies.

Really wish people would knock this "anti public sector" overly emotive crap on the head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

awec wrote: »
    Really wish people would knock this "anti public sector" overly emotive crap on the head.
    You don't see the unjustified vitriol from a lot of people towards the public sector? I don't work in the public sector btw and I agree it's justified towards some clerical staff, but there are people who jump at every opportunity to have a go at the whole lot of them and it looks like pure resentfulness, nothing else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Well if a staff member went home sick it's not due to lack of funding just poor planning. Perhaps the real issue is the number if sick days taking by public servants.

Perhaps the real issue is that there weren't enough staff on if the safety of the public is put at risk because ONE member of staff had to home sick. Perhaps this is because of lack of staff in that region.

Anyway, my original anger was directed at the poster who suggested the Garda would claim a litany of expenses/compensatory sums for driving the ambulance when that clearly isn't the issue at hand.

What would have happened had there been a bigger incident involving more injuried parties?

kraggy wrote: »
    Perhaps the real issue is that there weren't enough staff on if the safety of the public is put at risk because ONE member of staff had to home sick. Perhaps this is because of lack of staff in that region.

Anyway, my original anger was directed at the poster who suggested the Garda would claim a litany of expenses/compensatory sums for driving the ambulance when that clearly isn't the issue at hand.

What would have happened had there been a bigger incident involving more injuried parties?

You can't have a crew of a thousand ambulances readyvjustvin case the **** hits the fan, no matter how many you accidents you cater for there is the possibility if needing more

You don't see the unjustified vitriol from a lot of people towards the public sector? I don't work in the public sector btw and I agree it's justified towards some clerical staff, but there are people who jump at every opportunity to have a go at the whole lot of them and it looks like pure resentfulness, nothing else.

A lot of it is justified, that's the problem. I despise the fact that my salary is getting looted by Revenue every month to prop that mess up.

I would love to see the entire thing made more efficient, and that should not mean cuts to front line emergency services. But that takes balls, such as having the guts to stand up to those fcuking unions. More balls than any of our current crop of politicians have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

As far as I know you require a c licence to drive an ambulance because of the extra weight (I could be wrong), if that's correct then the Garda mightn't have the relevant licence and could leave the state in line for a whopper of a lawsuit if there was an accident. I have never driven one and would imagine it is completely different to driving a squad car. Fair play to him though
    I drove a decommissioned ambulance once. It was a bit like driving a van. Which is a bit like driving a car. Which is a bit like driving a squad car. I'm sure most guards would manage just fine. Its not like he was asked to step up and land a space shuttle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I know if a chef who works with 6 other chefs in a hospital each chef has there own manager who signs of the menu , literally that's all they do . She says they facebook and play games all day and that the managers are not trained to sign off menus as Chefs would be . So no need for them, these are the people who need to go
    I know exactly what you mean! I have a friend who's granny's next door neighbour is a HSC manager who's job is to go around Tallaght hospital checking all the chairs for wobbly legs. If he finds any he makes a note in a paid-for-by-taxpayers notebook, but is not required to follow up and make sure the feckin' chairs are de-wobbled! As if that's not bad enough, they've another fella who only does tables!

Sure its no wonder the country's in a state!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭SB2013

Are people actually complaining about the number of sick days taken by people whose job it is to work with sick people? Do they not see the connection?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Cedrus

SB2013 wrote: »
    Are people actually complaining about the number of sick days taken by people whose job it is to work with sick people? Do they not see the connection?

Are you being serious???

That's a shop stewards strawman if ever I saw one, the HSE and the Dept of Health have identified absenteeism as a serious problem over a number of years, it is far in excess of any industry norms and while of course there will be a proportion of occupational illnesses, the excessive figures cannot be directly attributed to the sick people. As I recall, the highest absenteeism rates are not even in the direct healthcare professions but the support roles such as e.g. drivers and porters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Before March of 2013 the allowanable number of extra days uncertified that you could " take" -uncertified -for " illness" was 9 - for many people that's almost half their annual leave. 40% extra -for free, no questions asked. So I would imagine that the absent ism recorded is BEYOND that figure.

UCC - figures " allowable" for paid sick leave run into HUNDREDS of days per annum; all fully paid for -by the taxpayer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Whole thing is a non story, four,yes four ambulances with 7 paramedics were dispatched to the scene.
    From the same report:
    “Exceptional and rare occasions do occur whereby two or more paramedics/advanced paramedics or in some cases, a sole responder, are required to treat a patient in an emergency ambulance.

“In these exceptional and rare circumstances, members of the emergency services on the scene, including An Garda Síochána, where capable of doing so, are authorised by the HSE to drive national ambulance service vehicles.”

It was a one off incident, get over it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

Huge amount of ignorance in this thread.

I said it before, but I think if you actually knew, just how understaffed the ambulance service in this country is, and just how many ambulances are available for YOUR COUNTY, and YOUR CITY, you would be VERY concerned.

I'm nearly willing to bet that was all of meath's on duty ambulances, and even at that I bet one ambulance was brought from another county or Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Whole thing is a non story, four,yes four ambulances with 7 paramedics were dispatched to the scene.
    From the same report:
    “Exceptional and rare occasions do occur whereby two or more paramedics/advanced paramedics or in some cases, a sole responder, are required to treat a patient in an emergency ambulance.

“In these exceptional and rare circumstances, members of the emergency services on the scene, including An Garda Síochána, where capable of doing so, are authorised by the HSE to drive national ambulance service vehicles.”

It was a one off incident, get over it.

I would say it's an exceptional story if 4 ambulances attend the scene and they put a child in one ambulance with only a driver. Can they not divide 4 people and 4 paramedics between 3 ambulances..... wait my maths could be shít here.

On the exceptional story side, I remember I drove to a party one night and got so shítfaced I had to take a bus home. Since I never drove a bus before I was quite chuffed I got home in one piece.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

Has anybody mentioned that the ambulance service is used by medical card holders (NOT ALL OF COURSE) as a free taxi ride to and from hospitals.