Girlfriend's bike vandalized last night...

• 02-05-2013 08:28AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭

her new bike that she only got a few weeks ago just got destroyed during the night, and they even managed to steal the saddle. we live in a very quiet area, it was in the same place that her old bike had always been left and nothing ever happened to that one, loads of other people leave their bikes around and we've never seen anything like this happen.

guards couldn't do anything, most likely some drunken idiot or idiots came a long and did a dance on it for whatever enjoyment they might get out of destroying someone's only transport.

I'm gutted. and I know how bad she feels right now, so my stomach is in knots because of this, I just feel sick :(

dunno what can come of this thread, not really looking for any advice or anything, I guess I just wanted the vent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Links234 wrote: »
    and they even managed to steal the saddle.

there was a thread about this a few days ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

so.... shes not going for the ride?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

there was a thread about this a few days ago
    got a link?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Sh*t thing to happen, some cock suckers out there.

Its a beautiful day out, take her for a walk, lunch in the sun, hug her, tell her you love her & pamper her..

And tomorrow you can talk about buying a new bike for her, but whatever you do don't let the mindless stupid bastards get you down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Give her something else to ride OP.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

People are scumbags. Had a bike stolen on me a couple of years back and it was a real kick in the balls, Gardai didn't want to know and got pissed and aggressive with me when I kept following it up - two visits to the station and three phone calls in a three week spell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Sh*t thing to happen, some cock suckers out there.

Its a beautiful day out, take her for a walk, lunch in the sun, hug her, tell her you love her & pamper her..

And tomorrow you can talk about buying a new bike for her, but whatever you do don't let the mindless stupid bastards get you down.

Someone hacked your account Makk?

What happened to head ripped off style advise lol?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

SamHall wrote: »

Loved up on E i would say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭SunnyDub1

Sober or very drunk either way - what a stupid unnecessary mean thing to do :mad:

Scumbags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

SamHall wrote: »

lol the OP sounds genuinely gutted. No point in worsening it with anger.

When sh*t like that happens to me it makes me stronger and more positive for myself, not angry towards people I'll never see or catch... Now if I caught them thats a whole different matter :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Not a hell of a lot you can do from this except learn from where to you can't leave a bike anymore, try not to let it get the both of ye down too much. Treat her today to cheer her up.

Get a donut, donuts cheer everyone up................well, would cheer me up................if I was sad at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

got a link?

I believe this is the thread SEPT is referring to-

Auld feckin' saddle sniffers back in the day

You can't leave anything alone any more OP, if it's not nailed down some entitled little shit will make off with it. Had it happen to me there a while back-

My bike was robbed from outside my apartment where it was chain locked the rail. I gave the gardai in the CCTV I'd obtained from the management company, heard nothing back from the gardai since.

A few weeks ago then (I work in a rough area of the city), I happened by a couple of lads taking bikes apart and putting bits and pieces together out of the bikes they'd "obtained". I couldn't prove anything, but I wouldn't have been far off as to what they were up to tbh.

It's unlikely the gardai will do anything in this particular case as it's such a common occurrence and pretty untraceable, but I have been known to be wrong. Is there any chance the area was covered by CCTV?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

So many bikes get damaged/stolen. Do what Makikomi says and never leave the new one outside. I only leave mine inside at home and in a secure carpark and work, and even then i worry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I came home from work last Monday and found my front door wide open. After doing the appropriate ninja-style entry into the house I discovered the burglar had long gone taking my GF's laptop, iPad as well as the contents of my money box and a brand new pair of runners. The junkie b*tch had pulled out all of our drawers and rooted around in our posessions, casually firing things on the floor as she went along.

While the monetary value (and work data saved) of these items was of course a slap in the face, by far and away the worst was the notion of some tramp in our bedroom picking over our stuff. We moved in last month and have made a big effort in doing up the place only to have some smack-head come in and violate it so she can get money to give to another f*cking scumbag for drugs. The notion of some arsehole flipping through family photos etc on our computer is maddening. While it's my fourth time having a break in, it's never happened to her before and she's understandably shaken.

However, as Makikomi said, getting raging will help nobody. You can start the "what if I..." train of thought or "If I got my hands on them..." but it will lead to nothing only frustration and anger and it won't make you feel better at all. It's a sunny day, make the effort to do something nice and move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Is your girlfriend a boy or a girl?

mod:
    banned.

thanks everyone

I know there's nothing we can do, nobody to catch and honestly the thoughts of "if I got my hands on them" never even entered into my mind, I wouldn't know what to do with them if I got them and it'd only be worse for myself.

I think I'll just do what I do best and cook her a nice dinner she'll really like

You know when people say there's no such thing as a stupid question? people are wrong
    Kold wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

You know when people say there's no such thing as a stupid question? people are wrong

you didn't answer the question though... :pac:

Sorry to hear about the bike. Happened me before too, its ****e :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 joehig

losers... out on a wed night vandalising working peoples property... probaly the highlight of their week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

Here's a video to make you feel better. It's some ar$eholes gettting stung, trying to sell on a stolen bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Get a new lock, something that will prevent the bike from being able to fall down.
    Some drunk eejit knocks it over and the next person will see it on the ground and jump on it.

If the bike isn't on the ground it's less likely someone will mess with it. Oh and get a bolt/nut for the saddle, none of that quicklock stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,302 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Kold wrote: »

Guess! You can take a 50/50 or phone-a-friend.

Or do both...

I've had a bike stolen from my back garden, so I feel for your GF, OP.

biko wrote: »
    Get a new lock, something that will prevent the bike from being able to fall down.
    Some drunk eejit knocks it over and the next person will see it on the ground and jump on it.

If the bike isn't on the ground it's less likely someone will mess with it. Oh and get a bolt/nut for the saddle, none of that quicklock stuff.

it was chained up against the railings outside our house and didn't fall down at all. it was still upright in the morning, like someone was giving it an almighty kick again and again, bent the wheel all out of shape, wrecked the gears and otherwise really went to town on it. and it wasn't just someone knocking it over as they went past, they had to come in the gate into the property to do this.

sorry, I know I said someone "did a dance on it" in the OP, but wasn't really thinking and it was more a turn of phrase than a description of what happened. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,426 ✭✭✭mattser

FTA69 wrote: »
    I came home from work last Monday and found my front door wide open. After doing the appropriate ninja-style entry into the house I discovered the burglar had long gone taking my GF's laptop, iPad as well as the contents of my money box and a brand new pair of runners. The junkie b*tch had pulled out all of our drawers and rooted around in our posessions, casually firing things on the floor as she went along.

While the monetary value (and work data saved) of these items was of course a slap in the face, by far and away the worst was the notion of some tramp in our bedroom picking over our stuff. We moved in last month and have made a big effort in doing up the place only to have some smack-head come in and violate it so she can get money to give to another f*cking scumbag for drugs. The notion of some arsehole flipping through family photos etc on our computer is maddening. While it's my fourth time having a break in, it's never happened to her before and she's understandably shaken.

However, as Makikomi said, getting raging will help nobody. You can start the "what if I..." train of thought or "If I got my hands on them..." but it will lead to nothing only frustration and anger and it won't make you feel better at all. It's a sunny day, make the effort to do something nice and move on.

How do you know it was a female ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

The only thing you can do is to start bringing it into your house, a bike parked outside will invite trouble, unfortunately.

I think you can insure a bike, but I don't know who with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

I know how she feels, I had a brand new bike 3 days before it was stolen from a private gated car park. :mad:
    Since then I drag my new, new bike up a flight of stairs and onto my apartment balcony each night.

If it is any conciliation, you should be able to change the wheels and the gears, so at least it isn't a complete write off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

mattser wrote: »
    How do you know it was a female ?

Cops dusted for prints and matched it to a notorious burglar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

Just get her one of these saddles, it'll cheer her right up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

Like Mak said,go out,do something a bit special,give her your attention and time,so even when she tjinks of the negativity of the bike being stolen,there is also the side note of the wonderful day you had together. Though it may seem stupid saying it straight away,but it is a possession,and the memory of you being there for support through sh!tty times will last a lot longer.

I wish I could spend the day with her, but she's in work until later