What is the best way to make a friend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,401 ✭✭✭lukesmom

I'm guessing mid 20's

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 75 ✭✭Jack Lumber

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,610 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

26, according to prev thread.

i'm guessing 48 myself

How old are you Tom for Christs sake!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

19/20

• Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Tom_Cruise

Tom this has nothing to do with your user name BTW. Have you looked into local drama classes or amature theatre groups. You'll have a great time and meet loads of good folk. How old are you Tom?

Mid Twenties. Ive never given drama any thought but im pretty sure id be terrible at it anyway.

lukesmom wrote: »
    I'm guessing mid 20's
    cheater!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

12?? Just going by thread title .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭7ofBrian

Don't be a cnut :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 75 ✭✭Jack Lumber

Get yourself a girlfriend.

Or BF if you're that way inclined.

ArtSmart wrote: »
    cheater!

You got me!

Mariasofia wrote: »
    12?? Just going by thread title .
    now, now Maria/sofia.

so, you do have pics then?

hmmmm

how to make friends....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Tom_Cruise wrote: »
    Mid Twenties. Ive never given drama any thought but im pretty sure id be terrible at it anyway.

What activities have you tried to get out and about and in with a shout?

Do you work? Do you live in a city or the sticks?

Jayus Tom you won't know if you don't try. Lots of people who do it are terrible but do it as an interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,495 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Start a new sport

lukesmom wrote: »
    You got me!
    easy tiger

(working on Maria at the mo, if that doesn't pan out, I will. (get you))

now, now Maria/sofia.

so, you do have pics then?

hmmmm

how to make friends....

Yes plenty of pics...

And plenty of friends ....nuff said ;)

Yes plenty of pics...

And plenty of friends ....nuff said ;)
    Tom, I hope you're taking all this in....

Sorry Tom. You seem to have started an unintentional flirting episode here. You aren't a loser after all. Perhaps you could be the founder of a new dating agency.

yeah.

you could be the onlooker.

yeah.

you could be the onlooker.

If you're into that kinda thing;))))

If??

If??

Was talking bout Tom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ferrigan101

Surely http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2056901245/1#p ost83631175

Just turn up and lurk a bit..... It'll be just like boards, but in real life.

I've heard the mods bring the actual ban sticks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 225 ✭✭QBE

I would like to have a friend, someone to talk to and hang around with. I don't know how to go about this though. Anyone have any suggestions? I have looked into different clubs to join but im not good at anything especially sports. How do you make a friend?

join the plumbing forum. there all about making friends. im enemy no 1, cos I am not a friend maker. other than that. best of luck in your search.

however, I am married with 3 sons, after me ma + da died I lost me best friends. But my 3 sons and wife are my friends now. hope that helps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

How old are you Tom?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Do a course. Join a walking club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

Socialise, (but not in the pub nightclub scene). Be nice. Care about the people you are with. People will want to be your friend.

Just be yourself. If people like you then you have made new friends .... If people don't get back to me for step 2;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 225 ✭✭QBE

tom. do you really need a friend? sometimes its more hazel. the best friendship you will ever have. is your parents and your own wife and children.

its company you may be looking for and mixing it up with friendship. you will know a good friend when you find one. you have one in your parents. you just dont realised it yet.

so its company you need . get down the gym or join a sports team. you will find company there for socialising ect and hopefilly a friend. like what you have got already. but don't realise it.

choose your friends wisely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

I would like to have a friend, someone to talk to and hang around with. I don't know how to go about this though. Anyone have any suggestions? I have looked into different clubs to join but im not good at anything especially sports. How do you make a friend?

Ok Tom, normally I wouldn't bother with your threads in AH as tbh they would be far more suited in the Personal Issues forum, but you want to know how to make friends? Here's how-

(This is a copy and paste of a text I sent to a mate of mine earlier, edited to remove names)

Ok so I just left the apartment with <my son> (we were heading down to the park) and yknow the way I live down by the river and people are taking their own lives jumping off the bridge? Well I was walking and seen this guy and I knew what he was thinking so I walked over kinda like I knew him and held out my hand to shake his, and luckily enough I had taken him by surprise, caught him off guard, so he instinctively held out his hand to shake mine, which he wouldn't have done if I'd been all cagey and shìt, yknow? So I was talking to him anyway like and he was telling me his name was <name removed> and he just wanted to jump in the river, he was homeless and he didn't have anyone, and we chatted for a while anyway and he was talking to <my son> (I know this is gonna sound awful but I wanted him to realise for himself that he could make people smile, that people DO care about him, and that he still cared about people), so we chatted for a bit anyway and I told him I knew some people that'd help him, brought him to the Garda station and the lads in <name removed> they're amazing, honestly, they took him to the hospital and one of them after called me to tell me they'd arranged hostel accommodation for him and that he was sorted and stuff...

(my friend asked did he mind going to the Garda station, to which I replied with this next text)

By that stage we were like the best of friends kinda thing and I'd made him feel like I really and truly didn't want him to give up, I gave him my card like and told him he could call me any time, let me know how he's getting on, yknow? He was in good form and we were laughing and joking and he was "giving me advice" about how to look after <my son> and stuff, yknow, I made it like I was hanging on his every word kinda thing and even if only for that few minutes it was enough to take his mind off taking his own life, yknow, he felt like he had something to give, that somebody valued his opinion, yknow? Same with my other homeless friend <name removed>, I met him the other day and really all they want is to know somebody gives a shìt, yknow? It didn't take a whole lot out of my day to make somebody feel like somebody was interested in them and that somebody actually genuinely did care about them...

It's that easy Tom, you want to make friends, just walk up to the nearest person that looks like they too could do with a friend, and go from there!