Has the Fianna Fail leopard really changed its spots?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭space_man

Fianna Fail's ethos will always be to do whatever it takes to win votes and get/stay in power, no matter how detrimental it is to the country.

Free stuff for everyone and let the other crowd be unpopular for trying to sort out the mess.

i remember during the collapse, all Cowen was concerned about and all he was bleating on about was "the pearty, the pearty, the pearty".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,631 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

space_man wrote: »
    i remember during the collapse, all Cowen was concerned about and all he was bleating on about was "the pearty, the pearty, the pearty".

As I recall that was all he was good at.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Grimreaper666

galwayrush wrote: »
    4000 of them in one place all weekend, a small enough bomb would be enough.

There's never a terrorist around when you need one...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

FF will always be around because there will always be greedy, lazy, dishonest people to join up. It's high time we closed down the old boys club for good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

There's never a terrorist around when you need one...........

Thinking about , biological weapons would be the way to go, no point destroying a perfectly good building.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

galwayrush wrote: »
    Thinking about , biological weapons would be the way to go, no point destroying a perfectly good building.

That would be too fast, need to make them suffer. I'm thinking re enactments of the movie Saw 1-18.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

I find it very hard to take Michael Martin seriously. Tonight he was waffling on about the state of the health service.

He was the Minister of Health who created the bureaucratic monster that is the HSE.

He was also a righthand man of Bertie during his 13 years as Taoiseach. Always held a senior ministry.

His sudden road to Damascus conversion doesn't wash with me. He's a poster boy for the worst excesses of the 'Celtic Tiger'.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,824 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

You could say that Fine Gael and Labour have taken FFs spots off them and made them even bigger now.

FG and Labour are an even bigger shower of gombeens and are only there to protect their fat pay cheques and pensions and and keep certain bank chiefs happy and in power.

Cant wait to see Gilmore taken down off his high horse podium and run out of it by his own party.

That day is fast approaching Mr Gilmore

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Sergeant wrote: »
    I find it very hard to take Michael Martin seriously. Tonight he was waffling on about the state of the health service.

He was the Minister of Health who created the bureaucratic monster that is the HSE.

He was also a righthand man of Bertie during his 13 years as Taoiseach. Always held a senior ministry.

His sudden road to Damascus conversion doesn't wash with me. He's a poster boy for the worst excesses of the 'Celtic Tiger'.

Micheal was happy as long as he got the odd pat on the head!

paddy147 wrote: »
    You could say that Fine Gael and Labour have taken FFs spots off them and made them even bigger now.

FG and Labour are an even bigger shower of gombeens and are only there to protect their fat pay cheques and pensions and and keep certain bank chiefs happy and in power.

Cant wait to see Gilmore taken down off his high horse podium and run out of it by his own party.

Nah. The current Government are severely hamstrung by the decisions and agreements made by the last shower. I cannot see how social democrats like Gilmore and Burton are making the decisions they are making out of some desire to cause pain. The country has no money. We have to make cuts to get out of it. Sad but true.

FF are engaging in the type of ridiculous populism that SF were spouting out a couple of weeks ago. It's easy see through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

In fairness to them, what do you expect them to do? They took over a heap of s**t economy, with the damage already done by FF.

The one thing I would say they are guilty of and are definitely paying for now, especially Labour, is 'promising' too much.

Labour's current unpopularity is their own fault. Realistically they were never going to be the largest party in the new government, and their campaign manager should have realised that and told them to ease off on the "Labour's way" etc bs.

An extremely poor election strategy is the reason they find themselves so unpopular today, not necessarily their decision making, imo.

nummnutts wrote: »
    In fairness to them, what do you expect them to do? They took over a heap of s**t economy, with the damage already done by FF.

The one thing I would say they are guilty of and are definitely paying for now, especially Labour, is 'promising' too much.

Labour's current unpopularity is their own fault. Realistically they were never going to be the largest party in the new government, and their campaign manager should have realised that and told them to ease off on the "Labour's way" etc bs.

An extremely poor election strategy is the reason they find themselves so unpopular today, not necessarily their decision making, imo.

They (Fg and labour) both told pack after pack of blatant lies to get into power.

They then rubbed our noses in it,and still do to this day.:eek::rolleyes::mad:

Just a sample of the lies.........

We will burn the bondholders

We will tackle the banks head on

We will cap pay salaries of high end people and bank chiefs

We will cut costly quangos and we will not hire extra advisory people that are not needed

We wont target the poor and needy

We wont target the disabled.

I could go on here...but you get the point now I presume.:)

indeed.
    when in sales i was always advised to "under-promise & over-deliver". eg you might say to a client that it will take you 3 weeks to organise something, knowing that you will actually get it in 2. Then when you deliver in 2 weeks, your client thinks your fantastic!
    Lab & FG did the exact opposite, and now their clients are cheesed off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,487 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

They (Fg and labour) both told pack after pack of blatant lies to get into power.

We will cut costly quangos and we will not hire extra advisory people that are not needed

Do you understand how a coalition government actually works?

I do.

I voted for FG,as I actually thought they were serious about what they were prommising.

They clearly had no intentions of keeping prommises.

And they still tell packs of lies and then continue fcuk over the people in the mean time.

Fine Gael and Labour are jointly doing it.

Look at how they are treating all the banks and big bankers with the golden pillow and fat pay cheques,while the banks fcuk people over with even more mortgage rate increases.

The banks and elite rich are well protected while the middle and lower class people of Ireland are savaged by FG/Labour.

Your point being?

They ALL do it. Every party in every country in the world engages in this sort of electoral activity. That is politics. It's a dirty dirty game.

It's up to you (the voter) to believe/not believe what they say, and vote accordingly on your best instincts/knowledge. It will never change. It's much greater than a systematic issue.

But to think that what you're trying to tell me is that the party who got us into this mess are better than the parties currently in government? Give me a break.

Just watching/listening to the FFers trying to distance themselves from the 'old' pre 2011 FF party makes me sick. They're led by a clown who was an integral part of the party throughout the late 90's and 2000's. Yet, if you were to believe him you'd think he had nothing to do with it.

Shower of clueless 'out for themselves' gob****es. Always have been, always will be.

I take it you have an Ard Fheis to be up for in the morning, so I'll bid you a good night.

Or pragmatism.

Your point being?

They ALL do it. Every party in every country in the world engages in this sort of electoral activity. That is politics. It's a dirty dirty game.

It's up to you (the voter) to believe/not believe what they say, and vote accordingly on your best instincts/knowledge. It will never change. It's much greater than a systematic issue.

But to think that what you're trying to tell me is that the party who got us into this mess are better than the parties currently in government? Give me a break.

Just watching/listening to the FFers trying to distance themselves from the 'old' pre 2011 FF party makes me sick. They're led by a clown who was an integral part of the party throughout the late 90's and 2000's. Yet, if you were to believe him you'd think he had nothing to do with it.

Shower of clueless 'out for themselves' gob****es. Always have been, always will be.

I take it you have an Ard Fheis to be up for in the morning, so I'll bid you a good night.

Good choice of words to describe Kenny,Gilmore and the rest of the FG/Labour muppets.

Actually I have a back garden bench to paint in the morning (weather permitting) and then off out to meet my girlfriend for some lunch.

Night night so.:D

Good choice of words to describe Kenny,Gilmore and the rest of the FG/Labour muppets.

Actually I have a back garden bench to paint in the morning (weather permitting) and then off out to meet my girlfriend for some lunch.

Night night so.:D

Good comeback.

Thanks.
    Take it easy,enjoy the rest of your night.:)

Thanks.
    Take it easy,enjoy the rest of your night.:)

I'll do my best. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

In fairness, it's a good choice to describe virtually every affiliated politician in the country. If not the whole world. Probably the voters as well.

But hey, that's democracy for you. Or maybe humanity.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

In fairness, it's a good choice to describe virtually every affiliated politician in the country. If not the whole world. Probably the voters as well.

But hey, that's democracy for you. Or maybe humanity.

As I said, it's more than a systematic issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,268 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

I was surprised to read the thread title, have Fianna Fail actually done anything to suggest they have changed?

They haven't made any apology for what they did as far as I'm aware, no new measures to stamp out corruption in the party etc.?

Some of the old guard either retired or weren't re-elected, which is good.
    Although as other posters have mentioned, as long as Martin is leader, nobody would believe they've changed anyways.

I think most people can accept the fact that in any large organisation you're going to get a few rotten apples, it's the party's acceptance of this and attempts to cover up that grates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,955 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

No is the answer to the question. FF remains a political party that is populist and corrupt to the core. They are populated by lying, conniving, scheming, arrogant individuals who believe that inheriting their father's seat and permanently keeping it is their God-given right.

If you look at the past 40 years of politics in this country, FF have squandered the good times and driven the economy into the ground leaving FG/Labour the thankless task of picking up the pieces.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Does anyone think the likes of these gombeens can change:

"Hey ma,look at me,Im on the TV"......:pac::pac::pac:

Yer man standing to the far front left of the screen looks fairly smashed drunk....:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Proof that the answer is still no (at least with some individuals)...

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/ff-senator-without-the-right-to-life-you-have-no-school-592671.html

I was surprised to read the thread title, have Fianna Fail actually done anything to suggest they have changed?

They haven't made any apology for what they did as far as I'm aware, no new measures to stamp out corruption in the party etc.?

Some of the old guard either retired or weren't re-elected, which is good.
    Although as other posters have mentioned, as long as Martin is leader, nobody would believe they've changed anyways.

I think most people can accept the fact that in any large organisation you're going to get a few rotten apples, it's the party's acceptance of this and attempts to cover up that grates.

i raised the question as it is their Ardfheis/Love in this weekend, and Micheal is desperate to rebrand/relaunch the pearty, but these awkward court cases and allegations just keep cropping up.
    Why do the gardaí keep pursuing them?
    how inconsiderate!:mad:

space_man wrote: »
    i raised the question as it is their Ardfheis/Love in this weekend, and Micheal is desperate to rebrand/relaunch the pearty, but these awkward court cases and allegations just keep cropping up.
    Why do the gardaí keep pursuing them?
    how inconsiderate!:mad:

This is it. The best thing FF could do now would be to distacne themselves from members accused of corruption and let the law run its course, publicly condemning them if found guilty. Rebranding, or any sort of change, can never be done until this happens.