Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Clermont vs Munster buildup thread **read post one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭CGD

Clermont by 1-10
    Bookies as most logical observers see this as a convincing win for Clermont. Hard to argue if you review each sides season to date. Munster as usual will not lie down and their history suggests that it would be foolish to bet against them.

As a Leinster fan I would love to see Munster win but my head is telling me that Clermont will win by 8-12 points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

Clermont by 1-10
    Is the Clermont Toulouse game on tv anywhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 peadardeb

Munster by 1-10
    can't find it anywhere, but as of 1/2 time Clermont seem to be running amock. 25-3 with missed kicks from Delany and Parra

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭Taco Corp

Quint2010 wrote: »
    Is the Clermont Toulouse game on tv anywhere?
    TV5. Sky 799 upc 825

peadardeb wrote: »
    can't find but as of 1/2 time Clermont seem to be running amock. 25-3 with missed kicks from Delany and Parra

Sky channel 799 - TV5

Clermont playing total rugby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Munster by more than 10
    They are handy alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Munster won't be able to live with intensity like Clermont showed in the first half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,204 ✭✭✭✭phog

Sounds like Clermont were top of their game, should we send our A Squad and blood them for next season?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

Clermont by 1-10
    Munster won't be able to live with intensity like Clermont showed in the first half.

Never mind Munster, there are very few teams; club, provincial or international who could live with Clermont when they are purring. But Munster have bugger all to lose and everything to gain form next weekend, so while every rational fibre in my body says we are going to get a shellacking....I'm curiously not without hope. We talk about miracle matches, but basically next weekend in france Munster need the fecking Resurrection and the second coming combined to win. Long may they continue making an absolute eejit out of me though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Munster by more than 10
    toomevara wrote: »
    Never mind Munster, there are very few teams; club, provincial or international who could live with Clermont when they are purring. But Munster have bugger all to lose and everything to gain form next weekend, so while every rational fibre in my body says we are going to get a shellacking....I'm curiously not without hope. We talk about miracle matches, but basically next weekend in france Munster need the fecking Resurrection and the second coming combined to win. Long may they continue making an absolute eejit out of me though...

Amen to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

phog wrote: »
    Sounds like Clermont were top of their game, should we send our A Squad and blood them for next season?

Nah the As are busy. Send the u20s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Nah the As are busy. Send the u20s and John Hayes

Yes I agree with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

phog wrote: »

Can't see anything but a Clermont win but if there is a team that can beat them through pure force of will it's a Munster team with POC playing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

Clermont by 1-10
    I'd agree with Munster being the weakest province of Leinster Munster ulster at the moment. You can't base your argument on a one off game at the Stoop. They've lost 3 of 4 to Leinster ulster this year only beating the Ulster seconds at home. They are MILES behind the other two in the Rabo. There group wasn't as easy as some are saying but they still had arguably the worst team in the comp in Edinburgh and still probably wouldn't have gone through had it not been for a fairly unjustified red card and the Racing Metro second team. The only reason Leinster did not get through was they had the best team in Europe by a mile in the group. Leinster ulster contested the final last year (when ulster won in thomond on the way).
    It's just a cycle we've seen glimpses of the future for Munster. Ulster have a good crop at the moment as do Leinster. It's about time seen as Munster were easily top dogs for about ten years before Leinster overtook them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,388 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Munster by more than 10
    Bit of context on todays win by Clermont.

They won well, but realistically, what were they up against?

A team that got knocked out in their first game in the Amlin.

Heiniken Cup is a step above that, and Munster will show that.

We already beat the number 1 seed, time for the number 2 seed to fall.

;) :P :pac:

Realistically, we will have to make the game really tight, and try and limit the ball that gets out to the wings.

We are quite solid I feel up the middle, with Downey and Laulala being strong in the tackle, so we need to force them into that channel.

Set pieces will be vital! If we can't gain parity in the scrums and dominate their lineout, we could be in for a long day. Then again, we could be in for a long day regardless.

Would like Howlett to be there, for his leadership and experience.

If the backrow play as well as they did vs Harlequins then it'll make it really difficult for Clermont to play their expansive game.

Final factor will be the crowd. Two of the best groups of supporters in Europe coming head to head. Luckily its out of the Stade Marcel Michelin, but it remains to be seen if Munster fans will be able to travel in their usual numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭matthew8

Clermont by 1-10
    Don't dismiss Toulouse based on a result in a competition they openly didn't care about. That team was absolutely stacked with quality.

Munster by more than 10
    matthew8 wrote: »
    Don't dismiss Toulouse based on a result in a competition they openly didn't care about. That team was absolutely stacked with quality.
    Sorry was completely taking the piss, no real rugby fan could dismiss Toulouse at any time!

Any team with Nyanga, Picamoles, McAllister, Burgess etc. is a good team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭jamiedav2011

DDC1990 wrote: »

If the backrow play as well as they did vs Harlequins then it'll make it really difficult for Clermont to play their expansive game.

I don't necessarily agree with this, or this type of thinking. Munster will need to both raise their performance from Quins, and also make it more consistent over the 80 mins.

Quins backrow, along with most of their units, realistically, wouldn't be in the top 5 in Europe. Clermont have 4/5/6 absolute monsters, who won't be bullied in the same manner, and similarly, have far better and bigger players than Quins in most areas.

Gonna be a huge game for POM, TOD and Coughlan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭trouttrout

Our backrow are certainly capable of causing problems for anyside, see the Leinster game for example of how we can do it to top class sides

Causing problems won't be enough though. Just can't see us winning this

Munster by more than 10
    I don't necessarily agree with this, or this type of thinking. Munster will need to both raise their performance from Quins, and also make it more consistent over the 80 mins.

Quins backrow, along with most of their units, realistically, wouldn't be in the top 5 in Europe. Clermont have 4/5/6 absolute monsters, who won't be bullied in the same manner, and similarly, have far better and bigger players than Quins in most areas.

Gonna be a huge game for POM, TOD and Coughlan.
    Robshaw, Easter, Fa'asavalu are no slouches.

There wouldn't be a huge difference between them and the backrow Clermont had out today.

Bonnaire, Chouly, Vosloo.

Munster are not going to beat them in the backs.

We need to make it all about the forwards, Donnacha Ryan and POC vs Cudmore and Hines is another area that we can exploit.

If we let Parra get quick ball then its game over. Rougerie, Fofana, Sivivatu, Byrne and Nalaga will destroy us.

But go back to the old style of play, kick the corners and contest the lineouts. Scrap for the ball on the ground. Come up hard in midfield.

We could make a game of it.

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Robshaw, Easter, Fa'asavalu are no slouches.

There wouldn't be a huge difference between them and the backrow Clermont had out today.

Bonnaire, Chouly, Vosloo.

Munster are not going to beat them in the backs.

We need to make it all about the forwards, Donnacha Ryan and POC vs Cudmore and Hines is another area that we can exploit.

If we let Parra get quick ball then its game over. Rougerie, Fofana, Sivivatu, Byrne and Nalaga will destroy us.

But go back to the old style of play, kick the corners and contest the lineouts. Scrap for the ball on the ground. Come up hard in midfield.

We could make a game of it.

Jaysus I couldn't disagree more with that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭trouttrout

Jaysus I couldn't disagree more with that!

There isn't much between Bonnaire and Robshaw. Same with Chouly and Easter imo (although I'd say the two Clermont lads edge it)

Don't really know enough about the two 6's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Bonnaire has Robshaws number, all day long.

trouttrout wrote: »
    There isn't much between Bonnaire and Robshaw. Same with Chouly and Easter imo (although I'd say the two Clermont lads edge it)

Don't really know enough about the two 6's

Ah Bonnaire is better than Robshaw.

Nothing even remotely close about the other two. Vosloo demolished Toulouse today.

Chouly is one of the best 8s in the comp. Easter is not.

Plus they've Bardy, Lapandry, Audebert, Vermulen etc as options!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭For Paws

Munster by 1-10
    .ak wrote: »

Ring, ring, ring, ring, ring

Hello, Robshaw residence ?

Chris ?, c'est moi, Julien.

Oy Jules, howsithangin?

Quoi ? , Sacre Bleu !

Er, I meant, how are you. Nice of you to call (pause)
    Looking forward to having your head ****ed in by PO'C ?

(Sound of 'phone being firmly hung up)

Hello, hello .... Jules, you still there mate ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

The difference with the Quins back row is that Easter and Fa'asavalu are well into their thirties and Quins have little depth. Clermont rotate their players and have the likes of Lapandry and Bardy who are excellent options rotating in and out.

Easter was a great player but has a lot of miles and is almost 35. Chouly is an absolutely class act and can mix up his game very nicely. Vermeulen has also allowed him to he rested sufficiently throughout the season. Vosloo is one of these guys that was underrated in his country and has made a big career for himself like Shawn Sowerby. A lot of Clermont fans consider him the heartbeat of their backrow.

It needs to be factored in that Clermont have two locks who are rucking machines. POC and Ryan aren't slouches at the breakdown but Hines and Cudmore solely occupy themselves with smashing rucks all day long and are both class at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

.ak wrote: »

Absolutely. One of the best forwards in world rugby over the past decade and an awesome line out worker.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,067 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

I think the ref is going to have a massive impact on the game next week, imvho there's a massive difference in the ref'ing of the breakdown in the Rabo and in the Top 15, if Clermont get nice quick ball they will run up a cricket score against us, but I can see us choking the life out of them.

With red tinted glasses on, I can see our lineout getting the upper hand, this will be a great opportunity for Ryan to step up, PoC will be a marked man and it could open up for Ryan to dominate.

Looking at the lines, I think Clermont have a strong front row, we've a better second row, back row is just about even (just). In the backs, Murray is almost like an extra back row and should keep his opposite number on their toes, this is RoG's competition, our line out will be vital and RoG will need to find the corners, and more importantly don't give the the opportunity counter attack quickly. We'll need another monster performance from Downey and Casey next week, the back 3 is interesting, if Earls and Dougie come back we'll have great cover.

I think the 1 place we could struggle is impact subs, Clermont's bench is a lot lot strong, with that in mind I think it's vital that DoC is fit for next week, having him coming on with 20 minutes to go could be vital.

Clareman wrote: »
    I think the ref is going to have a massive impact on the game next week, imvho there's a massive difference in the ref'ing of the breakdown in the Rabo and in the Top 15, if Clermont get nice quick ball they will run up a cricket score against us, but I can see us choking the life out of them.

With red tinted glasses on, I can see our lineout getting the upper hand, this will be a great opportunity for Ryan to step up, PoC will be a marked man and it could open up for Ryan to dominate.

Looking at the lines, I think Clermont have a strong front row, we've a better second row, back row is just about even (just). In the backs, Murray is almost like an extra back row and should keep his opposite number on their toes, this is RoG's competition, our line out will be vital and RoG will need to find the corners, and more importantly don't give the the opportunity counter attack quickly. We'll need another monster performance from Downey and Casey next week, the back 3 is interesting, if Earls and Dougie come back we'll have great cover.

I think the 1 place we could struggle is impact subs, Clermont's bench is a lot lot strong, with that in mind I think it's vital that DoC is fit for next week, having him coming on with 20 minutes to go could be vital.

Ah come on now, the back row isn't even remotely even! Munster's BR have done well in the past few weeks, but jaysus, have people not been watching Clermont this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

I have nightmares of Vosloo at night. He's an absolute beast. And his hair is so good you wonder if he's actually some sort of demon Prince. I don't know how he didn't get MoTM in the Quarter Final. Add Bonnaire to him, couple that with Hines and Cudmore, and you've got 4 world class operators that'll destroy and torment rucks all day.

The key to the game will be Munster keeping their cool and their patience. Just like in the Quins game, conditioning won it for the Irish side. If they can keep it tight for 60 minutes and not let Clermont get under their skin they might be able to up the physical battle in the last quarter. If there's 9 points in with 20 to go I wouldn't bet against Munster winning the game.