Celtic FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014/15 Mod Warning post #6011

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Tough day at the office that. Faded big time in extra time, shockingly so. Subs worked well today, but we really need to work on our defence. Izzy and Ambrose poor overall. Ledley, Stokes and Commons did well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Lennonist

Lucky to win that. Lenny needs to cop on and get the finger out about some of his selections. Stokes should be playing ahead of Hooper. Charlie Mulgrew doesn't have to start every game.

Looking forward to the Final v Hibs, Hampden will be green and white. Hibs might fancy their chances if Lenny doesn't shake things up a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,919 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Great result even if it was a poor performance. Keeps our season going till the last game now which is great.

Players need a bolloxing for their attitude, Hooper especially for me offers nothing, he can't be arsed even running for the ball. I'll be glad to see him gone in the summer. Stokes may not be as good a player but on the pitch he does far more for the team.

Probably on my own here but Daly could be a decent signing as backup for us, good finisher even better attitude

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Well folks, we're on the cusp of the league and in the cup final - what's your thoughts on the season at this point?

I've mixed feelings about it, delighted we've got the league almost wrapped up and that we're in the final, but there's been some negatives also. The league should have been won weeks ago, and we're going to end up with a pretty low points total. Some of our home league performances have been poor. 69 points from 33 games is not good enough in the SPL, more like a points tally from Celtic of the nineties. Obviously the lack of Rangers in the league is the cause of some complacency, but frankly that is no excuse and I would expect the league to be wrapped up much earlier next season.

Some players have shone imo, Ledley is a standout, Watt, Forster, Wanyama (early season), Matthews, Forrest at times and some others. Others have disappointed - Izzy, Hooper (later season), Ambrose, Miku, Lassad, Kayal. I don't think we're going to get anything near what we would have thought for Hooper, even 6 months ago - his head has definitely been elsewhere the last few months, and I'll be happy to have him replaced at this stage. There's a few players that, once Europe was over, seemed to have taken the foot off the gas a bit.

On the plus side, the CL campaign was great and earned us a fortune. At least we don't have major money worries at the moment, which even in itself is an achievement. Would have liked to have done better v Juve especially at home, to have a better crack at the last 8, but I think we had reached our peak by then. But at least there's some great moments to remember, the best of which was Watt's goal to make it 2-0 v Barca at that point. Makes supporting the team all the worthwhile for those moments.

I think we have an extra qualifying round for the CL next season, but hopefully we can get through those. The key will be how we replace the likes of Vic and Hooper, we'll need to find similar players as they were both key for us in Europe. The groups of the CL are worth so much to us, it would be a big blow not to qualify.

Who would you not like to lose? For me, I'd like to hold on to Ledley, Samaras, Forster, Lustig, Stokes, Commons, Matthews and Brown anyway. Undecided on Mulgrew, does well sometimes and frustrates the hell out of me other times. Would need to see more of Rogic to decide also. The rest, well I wouldn't be too upset if they went - except Vic, but he'll be gone anyway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭BhoscaCapall

Too shteamed to read the above but do we need any more proof that Stokes should start? Hooper can **** off to whatever pish EPL teams he wants to be a star at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭eire4

No question Stokes need to be offered a new contract by Celtic. At the very least he is a proven goalscorer at the SPL level and given his age there is plenty more to come. I hope he gets a nice long 4 year deal and would like to see it done before the Cup Final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭lubo_moravcik

I'd personally like to see the back of Kayal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

This season had its ups and down like most

UCL football was great, but there is alot to work on. Preparation and attitude with some games were dreadful and its something Lennon needs to work on. Less of the players running to the media telling us how professional they are when we can all see different on the pitch. Its a case of if you have to remind people that you are professional then you probably arent.

I think its between Commons and Samaras for POTY with and notable mention for Mr. Consistent, Joe Ledley.

The bulk of the squad are worth keeping

Miku is obviously going, McCourt needs to go aswell. Murphy will be out of contract, same with Rogne and Bangura hopefully will either arrive back in form or gets flogged. Hooper can go, doesnt seem interested anymore and just keeping himself injury free for his summer move. I'd keep Stokes pending a full medical. We dont need another Scott Brown imo

The rest depends on the offers made for them

A left back is a priority also, we need someone that has a good understanding with Kelvin Wilson. Ambrose is hit and miss and Mulgrew can be a speed bump at times. Need a left winger too, a speed merchant. Obviously if Hooper goes, another striker is needed and I pray it isnt Kevin fúcking Doyle!! :pac:

Bangura... I wasn't long forgetting about him! Was it him who was mouthing off about the Premiership before he'd even kicked a ball for Celtic? That went well eh?

PauloMN wrote: »
    Bangura... I wasn't long forgetting about him! Was it him who was mouthing off about the Premiership before he'd even kicked a ball for Celtic? That went well eh?

Same attitude as Miku and a dozen other idiots that came up to Scotland to stretch their legs and went home with the proverbial tail between them although I do think he was unlucky with injury and the subsequent lack of games/loss of form.

Still would like him to do well for us and move onto the EPL for a tidy profit although its unlikely to happen. If Edson Braafheid can have a shocking 6 month spell with us and still get gametime in a World Cup Final, I wont give up on him!! :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

PauloMN wrote: »

scored 7 in 5 for elfsborg according to wiki :eek:

also says we got a million for a year's loan

Kelvin Wilson is my POTS, definitely the most improved player this season.

I'd personally like to see the back of Kayal

Not me. I think he is a very good player. With all the games we play we need a squad of players and Kayal is a very valuable player. Plus there is the question of will Wanyama be staying. I am not saying Kayal is as good as Wanyama. He isn't. But he is a good player proven at the SPL level and is somebody whom I could see playing alongside the likes of Joe Ledley, Scott Brown, Gerorgias Samaras and Anthony Stokes who could be at Celtic long term wise as core players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Lennonist wrote: »

Looking forward to the Final v Hibs, Hampden will be green and white. Hibs might fancy their chances if Lenny doesn't shake things up a bit.

Fenlon may well have to do the same thing.

We cannot afford to be as slow in the first 30 minutes like we did against Falkirk or ye will hammer us.

If Hibs are to win we need to score first.

Otherwise we may have repeat of last year.

The good thing for us is we will be underdogs and have actually played well against the better teams this season although Form has dipped in past 3 months which is worry. I suppose cup is all about the day.

Will be interesting.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Carroller

How will tickets be thrown out for the cup? Season ticket holders first id imagine but what about after that?

We cannot afford to be as slow in the first 30 minutes like we did against Falkirk or ye will hammer us.

If Hibs are to win we need to score first.

Otherwise we may have repeat of last year.
    Not conceding in the first half should be your main focus. The longer games stay 0-0 the tenser it gets for Celtic and the more frustrated we get. Obviously Sunday panned out fairly mad in the end but the early goal certainly opened things up.

Could be in for a high scoring game with our circus of a back 4 but strength going forward.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

anyone think bangura could come good for us

donfers wrote: »
    anyone think bangura could come good for us
    No. Some people said he didn't get enough of a chance but it wasn't even about that. Strikers often need full games to score but it wasn't his lack of goals that made me think he was mince, it was his lack of ability. No first touch, poor awareness, inability to dribble, can't find the target. Pretty much no redeeming qualities at all.

Lassad hasn't had much more game time but has at least shown a bit of ability, and Miku looks like he could be decent if he didn't think he was too good for the SPL.

eire4 wrote: »
    Not me. I think he is a very good player. With all the games we play we need a squad of players and Kayal is a very valuable player. Plus there is the question of will Wanyama be staying. I am not saying Kayal is as good as Wanyama. He isn't. But he is a good player proven at the SPL level and is somebody whom I could see playing alongside the likes of Joe Ledley, Scott Brown, Gerorgias Samaras and Anthony Stokes who could be at Celtic long term wise as core players.

Each to their own mate, to me he's a reckless fool who runs about in a wee world of his own. He was brought on on Sunday to steady the ship, and also in the knowledge that if he was booked he'd miss the final. Within three minutes he threw himself into a tackle that was only ever going to produce a card.
    I remember his debut at home to Utrecht and thought he was going to be a cracker, he's never loved Upto it (for me anyway) and if he hasn't done so in that time then I don't know when he ever will

Each to their own mate, to me he's a reckless fool who runs about in a wee world of his own. He was brought on on Sunday to steady the ship, and also in the knowledge that if he was booked he'd miss the final. Within three minutes he threw himself into a tackle that was only ever going to produce a card.
    I remember his debut at home to Utrecht and thought he was going to be a cracker, he's never loved Upto it (for me anyway) and if he hasn't done so in that time then I don't know when he ever will

According to media reports, himself and Wanyama had to be told after the game that they would miss the next cup game. It could be a case of the players not wanting to know and the Celtic management not telling players until after the fact so it doesnt bear on their performance but at the end of the day, its the responsibility of the management to remind the players of things like this if they want them to avoid bookings. They didnt and Kayal ended up getting booked.

There was a reason he was offered a new contract after his first season and he was having a cracker of a season the following year until he broke his ankle tbh, hasnt been the same since.

Jeez you'd think a professional footballer would know when he's on a suspension. Such eejits.

Is there any chance Brown would be back for the final? If not then I'm sure Lennon won't mind putting Mulgrew in centre mid with Ledley. Be grand!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Lennonist

Jeez you'd think a professional footballer would know when he's on a suspension. Such eejits.

Is there any chance Brown would be back for the final? If not then I'm sure Lennon won't mind putting Mulgrew in centre mid with Ledley. Be grand!

He'd be better with Ambrose in midfield and Mulgrew at center half I reckon (Mulgrew should always play in defense or not all I reckon).

He can play 4-4-2 v Hibs and just try to outscore them because the defense is a bit ropey right now and holding midfielders like Brown, Wanyama and Kayal will be unavailable. Play Hooper and Stokes with Samaras on the left and Commons on the right and score a rake of goals. 6-3.

Lennonist wrote: »
    He'd be better with Ambrose in midfield and Mulgrew at center half I reckon (Mulgrew should always play in defense or not all I reckon).
    I agree, but Lennon won't!
    Play Hooper and Stokes with Samaras on the left and Commons on the right and score a rake of goals. 6-3
    I'd go with Forrest and Commons on the wings. Thought Samaras was dreadful when he came on against Utd, no energy at all and he was fresh on against boys who'd played over 100 mins.

As you say each to his own. For me we need a core of proven SPL winners at the heart of our team and Kayal is that type of player. He is never going to be leaving Celtic for a richer club near the top of one of the rich leagues like say a Wanyama type. Celtic is the top destination for players like Kayal. I would also say Brown was pretty reckless at times during his early Celtic years and has matured over the years. Kayal is still only 24 so there is plenty of time for him to grow and mature as a player and I for one hope he will be doing that at Celtic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Kayal has been on the slide for a while now. Injury and poor form have really hampered his progress. Crazy when you consider he could have been sold for a very decent amount of cash when his reputation was solid after his first season.
    If he is in the hoops next season hopefully he can rediscover some of his form, as there is definitely a player there imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭bit of a bogey

ColeTrain wrote: »
    Kayal has been on the slide for a while now. Injury and poor form have really hampered his progress. Crazy when you consider he could have been sold for a very decent amount of cash when his reputation was solid after his first season.
    If he is in the hoops next season hopefully he can rediscover some of his form, as there is definitely a player there imo.

I agree. With Wanyama likely to move on, Kayal can get a bit of consistency into his game. He gives it his all and at the moment I just think that he tries too hard and is desperate to make an impression. Once he establishes himself as a regular first team player, i think we'll see a more composed and controlling player who still puts himself about.

Shouldn't he be an established first team player after 3 years?
    Kayal reminds me of when I was a wee lad out playing with a ball, I'd imagine myself as a great Celtic player and have the commentary going on in my head, even when I put in a crazy diving tackle or took a shot from 25 yards that sailed over the bar I'd still hear the fans shouting and screaming my name as someone they adore and love and the commentators talk about my desire and passion. Turns out I was nowhere near as good as I imagined myself to be in my own wee world, and to me the same goes for wee Beram.
    I remember him smashing his wrist in the highlands the night we bottled it and threw away the league, and the tackle elbows put in on him that gubbed his foot/ankle as I was literally standing yards from both when they happened and being gutted as I seen him as giving his all. I want to like him the way I like Big Victor and Kris Commons (both players who came in after him?) but as time goes on I become more frustrated with him.
    One more thing on this, I'd love absolutely nothing more than for the wee ****e to prove me wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

I want to like him the way I like Big Victor and Kris Commons (both players who came in after him?) but as time goes on I become more frustrated with him.

Both came after him, Kris 6 months later and Victor 12 months after but he has lost well over half a season from the two injuries combined.

No doubt he has struggled to regain he's form since the second injury but I think its a bit premature to write the guy off, he was becoming a real star before that injury and was even captain at the time if I remember correctly.

Vincent Lunny scrapes the bottom of the barrel clean. Desperate stuff from the SFA

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/22205941

Celtic manager Neil Lennon will serve a three-match touchline suspension after being found guilty of misconduct at a Scottish FA tribunal.
    No sanction was issued for the breach of disciplinary rule 203 but a suspended three match-ban from last season was triggered.

Yer not guilty but here's a ban anyways!!

Unreal pettiness from the SFA because he correctly criticized an incompetent referee.

At the end of the day the joke is on the SFA because they've made a complete embarrassment out of themselves over the past god knows how long and the last team they want to see win the league is once again strolling to the title. Get it righ up yiz, Lennon can laugh at ye from the stands :D