Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Adding an AUX in and iPhone charging to a 2007 Peugeot 207

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭jumbone

Just a clarification on the fuse question

An iPhone 5 charger is rated at 2.1 amp draw but I'm not sure how to calculate the draw of the transformer I linked. A few stats:

Input 12v obviously
    Output 5v +/- 2.5% max 3 amp ( the phone draws 2.1)
    Transformer is 96% efficient
    Power rating 15W

The fuse is a 30 amp fuse but I couldn't find any info on the current required by the lighter. Would it be safe to say that there is enough headroom to allow simultaneous use of the lighter and charger (extremely unlikely!) an if not would it result in a blown fuse or the lighter not getting as hot/taking longer to pop.

The car isn't mine so I've not had a chance to check but is there by any chance a 12v accessory outlet in the back that could make life easier for me?

I'm open to suggestions on all components (I chose the cheapest mainly) but I prefer scotchloks to cutting and soldering the loom. Also the lightning to 30 pin connector can be gotten cheaper but i require one with a DAC as apple no longer support line level audio output from the lightning dock connector.

I posted in the DIY section about getting aux enabled on the rd4 and was referred to an owners forum where a few lads had cables and software but I'm wondering is it cheeky to sign up and ask straight away and also what would be fair to offer someone for the activation. Afaik it takes a few mins but I don't want to seem ungrateful.

Are there any 207 owners here with an opinion on where the best place for connections would be. The options I have identified are glovebox (not a big fan), storage area around mfd, cubby under head unit, centre console or else a windscreen/vent/ Brodit proclip (v. expensive) mount

Alternatively I could just hardwire a charger and think about Bluetooth.

Could any of ye recommend a Bluetooth solution sub fifty pound that supports auto switching and a2dp for music or even Bluetooth hands free and auto mute that connects by aux that would allow a y splitter to be plugged in for music? I wouldn't mind answering on the phone as long as it rings either through speakers or on the phone and auto switches when answered. Basically no calls missed cos the Bluetooth module rings but aux isn't selected on the head unit.

Sorry for not being sure what I want but I want to do this a surprise for my gf and can't ask her preferences. All she ever expressed was a vague desire to listen to her iPhone music in the car. An FM transmitter currently languishes unused in the glovebox because it never worked well apparently (it predates me) and she is yet to use the cheap Bluetooth headset I gave her( that was mainly meant for FaceTime/Skype use to be fair)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭245

We had a 207 with aux-in in the glovebox. It was too far away from the driver to be handy and the standard 3.5mm jack cable was a little too thick to close the glovebox against without forcing it a bit. There's a cubby hole below the radio that will unclip and can be pulled straight out. You could drill a hole in the back of it and run aux-in through there. I don't think that USB connection is possible with the standard head unit (I could be wrong) so I think that you'll need a separate power source.

Parrot bluetooth gets good reviews. Not cheap but if you get a solution that's not right, it won't be used.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/251188814613

This will be providing the power desperate to the head unit. I'm not expecting and USB functionality from the rd4. Just phone charging from this USB port I'm adding.

FYI Peugeot and Citroen offer a "USB box" that looks like your glovebox aux with a USB port that shows song titles in screen on the mfd as well as stalk control. This extra costs over €100 and is basically on oem Denison gateway

Would this be better suited in the DIY forum?

Bump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭God Father

I have a Peugeot 207 with RD4 Radio.

I added an Xcarlink for my iPhone which plugs into the CD changer port in the back of the radio.

I had to activate the port with Peugeot Planet.

I have it coming through the cubby hole and it connects to and charges my iphone and I can control the music through the stalk by the wheel.

There is a iPhone/iPod and Aux jack version and a USB+SD card version.

http://xcarlink.co.uk/home.php?cat=14

The xcarlink looks decent but it's expensive. What do you think of any of the options above. I'm not fussed about titles on screen and as long as the volume can be controlled by the stalk it'll be grand

With budget in mind I would get this as you said http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/130884204005 and then just use a regular phone/usb charger in the cig lighter port and just unplug the charger when the cig lighter is to be used. That is assuming a splitter won't work which it might.

Don't forget though PP will be needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭lway

God Father wrote: »
    With budget in mind I would get this as you said http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/130884204005 and then just use a regular phone/usb charger in the cig lighter port and just unplug the charger when the cig lighter is to be used. That is assuming a splitter won't work which it might.

Don't forget though PP will be needed.

I have the above cable installed in my 407, the only thing to note is that the volume has to be almost up to the top on the radio and iPod to get decent sound out of it. This seems to be pretty common on these type of cable connectors.

As God Father says, I had to use PP to activate the Aux in on the radio.

lway wrote: »
    I have the above cable installed in my 407, the only thing to note is that the volume has to be almost up to the top on the radio and iPod to get decent sound out of it. This seems to be pretty common on these type of cable connectors.

As God Father says, I had to use PP to activate the Aux in on the radio.

This genuine Peugeot part might have a better result. http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/270905728413?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭lway

God Father wrote: »

Hard to tell due to a lack of pictures in the ad, but this is a cable from the back of the radio to a 3 port input box you can mount in the glovebox ?

I might look into this and perhaps mounting it in the ashtray instead of glovebox if it doesn't suffer from the same volume issue.

OP, if you're handy with the soldering I came across a DIY version of that cable but ended up buying the thing myself. http://roeeb.blogspot.com/2010/10/diy-add-auxiliary-port-to-blaupunkt-rd4.html

lway wrote: »
    Hard to tell due to a lack of pictures in the ad, but this is a cable from the back of the radio to a 3 port input box you can mount in the glovebox ?

I might look into this and perhaps mounting it in the ashtray instead of glovebox if it doesn't suffer from the same volume issue.

OP, if you're handy with the soldering I came across a DIY version of that cable but ended up buying the thing myself. http://roeeb.blogspot.com/2010/10/diy-add-auxiliary-port-to-blaupunkt-rd4.html

Here's a better look: http://peugeot-207-3dr.sgpetch.co.uk/pages/accessories/detail/model=245/category=ROOT-extras/accessory=MP3+Auxilliary+Input+Cable/id=7532