Munster Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,014 ✭✭✭jacothelad

matTNT wrote: »
    decisions wrote: »
    Why poach Olding when JJ could be the brilliant at 12?/QUOTE]

Olding is like Madigan in that he can play anywhere in the backline. JJ is deployed at 12, play Olding outside him :D

I know it would be very difficult to poach Olding but there are 3-4 decent centres in Ulster (if you count Trimble as one). They have room to move on one and Munster should try and take what they can get. Any of those Ulster centres Marshall/Olding/Cave/Trimble would start for Munster at this point.

Actually Ulster's centre roster is made up of Wallace, Marshall, Olding, Farrell, Cave, Payne13 /15, Bowe 14/13 and Allen. (Of course we also had Spence)
    Wallace is near the end of his career.
    Olding is a very good 10 - plays there for 'Belfast 'Quins.
    Allen has been used more as a wing.
    Farrell has potential only as he has been injured.
    Trimble is no longer a centre.
    So not as well stocked as a casual glance might imply.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

SO is magic in the making. There is no way Ulster would let him go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

not to mention Zebo (but criminally underused).

Zebo spent all of the second half wandering around the Leinster side of the ruck, I think he was a bit lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Chabals Beard

Brian wrote: »
    Zebo spent all of the second half wandering around the Leinster side of the ruck, I think he was a bit lost.

Or just looking for work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Brian wrote: »

The missus was going mad at it, thinking he was upto something! :D

Maybe he just wanted to see what it was like to be on the winning side #zebotoleinster #tranferrevelations :pac:

.ak wrote: »
    The missus was going mad at it, thinking he was upto something! :D

Maybe he just wanted to see what it was like to be on the winning side #zebotoleinster #tranferrevelations :pac:

If ye touch Zebo, by great Oden's raven I will implode.

I thought it was hilarious when every was chanting "Zebo" after the scrap with Kearney, he was living it up :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,190 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

Must say as good a prospect as Zebo is , not really warming to him on the pitch, constantly either hand bagging last night or else moaning at the ref, cheerleading the crowd too. Think he may be believing his own hype a little too much.

Mightn't bother most and not a huge deal but winds me up a little I must say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 351 ✭✭matTNT

P.Walnuts wrote: »
    Must say as good a prospect as Zebo is , not really warming to him on the pitch, constantly either hand bagging last night or else moaning at the ref, cheerleading the crowd too. Think he may be believing his own hype a little too much.

Very effective in the six nations and when I saw him grab his hattrick against Stade Francais, he was by far Munster's most effective back. He'd make most sides in the world I reckon in the form he's in (bar Wales or New Zealand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Swan Curry

He's a young lad with a massive amount of hype around him,it would be hard for anyone to not let that go to their head (not that I think it has,I think he's always kept his mind on the game unless provoked).If he gets too full of himself,I'm sure someone will take him to one side and tell him to cop on,but I don't see that happening in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭trouttrout

I like the way Zebo struts around the field. Rather that than him swan diving over the try-line

To be fair to Zebo, he was driven last night, and he was pumped up, he certainly picked a battle with Kearney but his tackle in the 2nd half showed he could walk the walk .. He is a character.. Reminds me of ROG , you either love him or hate him, and quite a few people love him judging by the chants of his name in thomand and in cardiff..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Hypocritical opinions for Zebo compared to someone like Ashton.

Quelle surprise.

If he was wearing a shirt with a rose on it as opposed to a shamrock the back would be torn off him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Lelantos

Oh he's long past being a prospect, he's the real.deal & his performances continuously back it up. Acknowledging the crowd & interacting with them is actually a good thing, nobody wants a team of 15 automatons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

I don't think Zebo is a love/hate figure but with more publicity and success will come more begrudging attitudes. He's a likable figure and plays the game with great enthusiasm but if he does showboat the vultures will be circling. It's the nature of it, particularly in Irish sports. We will sit there, knives sharpened, waiting for him to mess up so we can laugh. I hope he continues to play with a smile on his face and hammers in the tries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Buer wrote: »
    I don't think Zebo is a love/hate figure but with more publicity and success will come more begrudging attitudes. He's a likable figure and plays the game with great enthusiasm but if he does showboat the vultures will be circling. It's the nature of it, particularly in Irish sports. We will sit there, knives sharpened, waiting for him to mess up so we can laugh. I hope he continues to play with a smile on his face and hammers in the tries.

I haven't seen anyone begrudging him yet to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭jamiedav2011

Buer wrote: »

Completely agree, I love Zebo's zest for the game.

However, it is funny to see the same people who vilify Heaslip for headphones/showboating/tweeting/moustaches fawning over him!

Life would be dull if players were all John Hayes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qw9oX-kZ_9k

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭shuffol

Any word on DOC, with POC looking likely to be cited it'd be a massive blow if he were to miss the Clermont game too.

Teferi wrote: »
    Hypocritical opinions for Zebo compared to someone like Ashton.

Quelle surprise.

If he was wearing a shirt with a rose on it as opposed to a shamrock the back would be torn off him.

I actually don't think it is hypocitical

Ashton is a nasty piece of work, dirty player. Zebo ain't

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

trouttrout wrote: »
    I actually don't think it is hypocitical

Ashton is a nasty piece of work, dirty player. Zebo ain't

Examples?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,668 ✭✭✭Mahatma Geansai

Completely agree, I love Zebo's zest for the game.

However, it is funny to see the same people who vilify Heaslip for headphones/showboating/tweeting/moustaches fawning over him!

People tend to be more endearing towards showboating and the like when a player's form warrants it. That's the biggest distance between both players. Zebo;s only a young lad too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,014 ✭✭✭jacothelad

danthefan wrote: »
    Examples?
    Head butting Tuilagi's fist...repeatedly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Ashton isn't a dirty player. He has been involved in handbags in the past on a few occasions but he, in my memory, has never hit anyone a cheap shot or anything dirty. Loads of players get involved in niggle. Zebo was at it himself yesterday, nothing wrong with it once it doesn't go beyond.

Ashton got himself on the scoresheet again today. He's hitting form just at the right moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

danthefan wrote: »
    Examples?

A four week ban for tacking Alesana Tuilagi by the hair wasn't great now.

(But I agree, serious double standards going on)

in retrospect that was harsh, Ashton isn't a Delon Armitage and I remember applauding him for asking Zebo if he was ok when he was walking off after being injured in the six nations

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

After that, you shall be consigned to the ignore list.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭athtrasna

shuffol wrote: »
    Any word on DOC, with POC looking likely to be cited it'd be a massive blow if he were to miss the Clermont game too.

Injury update due tomorrow. Have been watching all day but no news.

Dave Kearney has tweeted that he's feeling much better today. Really hope Paulie isn't cited and if he is that he isn't banned. There was no intent, no malice and he has no form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

athtrasna wrote: »
    Really hope Paulie isn't cited and if he is that he isn't banned. There was no intent, no malice and he has no form.

All things that are taken into account in deciding the suspension (if any), not whether or not he should be cited.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭athtrasna

All things that are taken into account in deciding the suspension (if any), not whether or not he should be cited.

Those comments were in relation to a ban.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,072 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

If he does get cited what are the timings involved? I'd be thinking the citing has to be in by lunch time Tuesday to have a review by the end of the week. Munster could then appeal the decision to free him up to play in the semi-final, bit risky cause that'd probably mean he'd miss the final, but he could get to play in the semi even if he's banned