If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Bizzum wrote: »
    Its a sickener alright. I suppose all of us on here can identify with it. What I see with our cows is that like you say above, it can be the really good big thick cows that can give the most trouble. They just seem sometimes to produce a bear of a calf, whereas a plain enough cow to the same bull will never put such power into a calf. We would identify cows like that and keep them away from the CH bull and use AI on them.
    Anyway I'm rambling. Sickening an all as it is, you still have your good cow standing.

Yeah i still have her, she well rattled though... i got 2 x oral calcium and other minerals into her and 3x days antibiotics.

Getting all jumpy now, the last 5 will be the most watched 5 sucklers in ireland, 2 x LGL and 2 x ADX and another gone 293 to same lim stockbull :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

lovely morning... first morning i didnt have to wear my body warmer in ages

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Cow with Tetney this am. She is getting 7 kgs nuts but was bulling last evening probably ate none. We got her in time as she went down in yard.

Be vigilant with in season cows

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭Bactidiaryl

delaval wrote: »
    Cow with Tetney this am. She is getting 7 kgs nuts but was bulling last evening probably ate none. We got her in time as she went down in yard.

Higher blood flow when bulling increases the risk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

whelan1 wrote: »

that the dunnes stores one, great yokes for 15 euro, sorry i didnt get a few

Bizzum wrote: »
    No. Not for a week or so yet. And even if you do worry, it wont change the situation.

i have a cow scanned with twins now gone 293 days and not a bit sign of the dear

inspection over, all 100% :D phew

• Closed Accounts Posts: 516 ✭✭✭TEAT SQUEEZER

did you just give her a bottle of mag s.c. or have you any other tricks of the trade.. i would give a bottle of calcium i.v. too ... have heard of lads adding 10-15 mls of the mag solution to the calcium bottle for an instant shot to the system...
    how much mag can you give iv? is it ok to give it mixed with the calcium? saw a suckler die instantly years ago when my da gave her a bottle of mag iv when she had tetany

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Fook sake, whelan you jinxed me!

That calf is back scutching with here back legs at her belly again this morning. Also a bit scourey after she sucked. Would this be the liquid paraffin we used the other morn just coming through now?:confused:

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Fook sake, whelan you jinxed me!

That calf is back scutching with here back legs at her belly again this morning. Also a bit scourey after she sucked. Would this be the liquid paraffin we used the other morn just coming through now?:confused:
    is the dung oily? did you get the vet after? might need a relaxant or something, could be a twist or something in the gut

We had the vet with her before and she got a relaxant and a couple of other shots. He said it wasn't a twist if she's sucking and passing dung so I guess it's gonna be a keep an eye on her job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Ugh fook, talking about tetany reminds me that I got to check the pump again, got afew barrels of minerals to add to the water afew weeks back, waiting for the grass which next came ha. We always have problems with pumps here. I had the pump changed for an reconditioned one last year, but it didn't last too long either. I don't know if its the hard water or what, costs too much to fix considering how short a length of time the pump seems to last before giving problems again.

Might just get a brand new one, anyone know whos the cheapest for them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

have the dozer finished doing the roadways a beast of a yoke!

how much mag can you give iv? is it ok to give it mixed with the calcium? saw a suckler die instantly years ago when my da gave her a bottle of mag iv when she had tetany

Under no circumstances do you give mag in vein.

I had a big Limo bull years ago too big for old crate and my father gave 30 cc in vein slept like baby while we did foot. I would never do it

have seen the vet mix some mag in with the calcium, just wondering how much is not fatal iykwim, i wouldnt do it tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Bodacious wrote: »
    Thank you Just Do It,

Calved a good few in my time and never saw anything as big.. never would have thought that this could happen with a lim sire, our worst cow a AAX FR X CH little mousy butt of a cow has calved this lad unassisted and what id call a good wide lump of a 3rd calver produces this thing :mad: my father and i had a job to pull him along the ground yet alone out of a cow, she stood no chance

By the sounds of it then it's just bad luck. You'd expect one of your best cows to spit him out. You could well have been there and tried a pull that might n't have worked out either. Can't change it now anyway. Does heil to get it off your chest though.

We had the vet with her before and she got a relaxant and a couple of other shots. He said it wasn't a twist if she's sucking and passing dung so I guess it's gonna be a keep an eye on her job.

Natural yougart. After the upset and medication her normal bacteria are disrupted. The natural yougart helps settle things.

Anyone else feel they spend too much time on boards? Since I got the smartphone it's just too easy to spend your day "having a quick look" :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

just do it wrote: »
    Anyone else feel they spend too much time on boards? Since I got the smartphone it's just too easy to spend your day "having a quick look" :rolleyes:

Yep, Its sunny out now and im sitting on my arse looking at the lab top. Theres plenty more constructive things I could be doing.

what like milking with the doll on the going out with a farmer thread, great pic:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

kevthegaff wrote: »
    have the dozer finished doing the roadways a beast of a yoke!

They are some fun to drive, not so much fun when the diesel truck has to fill them and the money is coming out of your own pocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Used to routinely drug up the beef bulls with mag if they got a bit excited. It was like they are all on dope and chilling after a few hours

just do it wrote: »
    Natural yougart. After the upset and medication her normal bacteria are disrupted. The natural yougart helps settle things.

Afraid I'm all out of that until tomorrow.

Would chocolate mousse do?:p
    I have 4 pots of that....well.....three and 1/2..

Afraid I'm all out of that until tomorrow.

Would chocolate mousse do?:p
    I have 4 pots of that....well.....three and 1/2..

milk of magnessia or similar

We do have that. I'll give it to her now as we've to give another dull calf tonavet in a few mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭dar31

have seen the vet mix some mag in with the calcium, just wondering how much is not fatal iykwim, i wouldnt do it tbh

have seen vets use a bottle of mag in the vein to put down cows, if they didnt have appropriate drugs to hand

700kg cow would start to fade after 1/3 of a bottle

just a few things the inspector wanted today,could help a few of ye out...
    labels on drugs
    make sure you have prescriptions to match these
    disenfection points
    rat bait points
    make sure you have the right withdrawal period in you drugs remedies
    sick bay
    knackery records

• Closed Accounts Posts: 378 ✭✭Catphish

It started out a fine morning all right, I do love a start like that. The sun disappeared for a bit but we'd it again in the evening. It puts ye in great form :)
    I really have to stop jumping in at the last page reading, I thought you were talking about yourself, was going to tell you stay away from it or you'll be in the bathroom all night :D