Most annoying mispronunciation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

well I meant it for the people that mean couldn't.

I've never heard someone say "I could care less" for something that they actually still could care less for >.>

You're probably right, come to think of it, I've never heard anyone say 'I could care less', perhaps you misheard them, or maybe I'm mishearing them say 'I couldn't care less' when in fact they're really saying 'I could care less, which of course, is just plain wrong, I don't know why anyone would say 'I could care less' when what they mean is 'I couldn't care less', though I'd imagine the n't would be quite easy to miss if one weren't concentrating hard enough, or indeed, caring more rather than less about what someone is actually saying, more or less.
    I'm tired now.
    Good luck to you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭poppyvally

Medal = meryl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,510 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

Don't know if they've been mentioned but I hate hearing "dunkey" instead of donkey, "lurry" instead of lorry and ChicaRgo instead of Chicago. AARRGHHHH!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,509 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Don't know if they've been mentioned but I hate hearing "dunkey" instead of donkey, "lurry" instead of lorry and ChicaRgo instead of Chicago. AARRGHHHH!

Munkey instead of monkey. English is a funny language.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,307 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

De rigeur instead of de rigueur. I hate that.

Oh, woe is me. :o

I shoulda checked...

9959 wrote: »
    You're probably right, come to think of it, I've never heard anyone say 'I could care less', perhaps you misheard them, or maybe I'm mishearing them say 'I couldn't care less' when in fact they're really saying 'I could care less, which of course, is just plain wrong, I don't know why anyone would say 'I could care less' when what they mean is 'I couldn't care less', though I'd imagine the n't would be quite easy to miss if one weren't concentrating hard enough, or indeed, caring more rather than less about what someone is actually saying, more or less.
    I'm tired now.
    Good luck to you!

I've seen it on boards. It really is bizarre. Hear it a lot too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭Planemo

Yanks saying alumin-um instead of alumin-ium.
    And labtop :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭garancafan

Pherekydes wrote: »
    I shoulda checked...
    Tut, tut. Should be I should of...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

Watching Star Track.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

garancafan wrote: »
    Tut, tut. Should be I should of...
    Should have. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭MrCreosote

Planemo wrote: »
    Yanks saying alumin-um instead of alumin-ium.

Both are correct and acceptable names.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

I'm tired now.
    Good luck to you!

I could care less is an Americanism. Aloominum is the American pronunciation of aluminium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,965 ✭✭✭Shane732

Pacific when the word is clearly specific.

This is the most annoying thing in the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭genuine leather

A friend of mine loves "rubbub" tart. So funny when he says it,
    The annoying ones(and words) for me have to be.....abs..sol..lootely and rii..dick...ulus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

I'm tired now.
    Good luck to you!

Maybe it's just the people I'm around, but I've heard it plenty. And more, seen it written that way. Which is worse, imo. If you're writing it wrong, you're definitely going to say it wrong.
    I could care less is an Americanism.
    It's still incorrect.

_____

Another thing thats annoying, not mispronunciation but.. Is the use of foreign language when english has the equivalent and would suffice. Like, "au contraire" instead of "on the contrary". I know it's perfectly acceptable but still annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭cazzzzz

Can't say I get this one. :confused:

Is that not just a phonetical spelling as they are both said the same??
    :confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,195 ✭✭✭donegal_man

According to a US colleague "I could care less" is a contraction of "as if I could care less". I don't know if that's accurate but it sounds plausible.
    The story of "aluminium or aluminum" is recounted here http://www.worldwidewords.org/articles/aluminium.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,228 ✭✭✭✭bnt

studiorat wrote: »
    Watching Star Track.
    That's a funny one, since "trek" didn't start out as an English word. It's Dutch, on which Afrikaans is based, and came in to English after the Afrikaners embarked on the Groot Trek ("Big Pull") in the 1830s to escape the British influence in South Africa. "Trek" was the right word, since there was a lot of arduous pulling of wagons over mountains. The good news is that the American pronunciation of "Trek" is pretty close to the Afrikaans: a short clipped "trehk", like "check", rather than "track".

In its pure form, fascism is the sum total of all irrational reactions of the average human character.

― Wilhelm Reich

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭LittleBook

ruthloss wrote: »
    I also hate the 'do be' and the 'does be' brigade.
    That comes from translating Irish to English. I kinda like it, it's unique to Ireland.

Me too. I also like: "I'm right, amn't I?" but not as much as I like "I'm not wrong, amn't I not?" :)
    I actually think it is grand. Of course, one could also use words like "acceptable" or "legitimate," and the joke in The Simpsons was that "cromulent" was not a standard word, being only used in Springfield.

Oh cr@p, it's probably been mentioned already but you've reminded me of people who pronounce "acceptable" as "asseptable" like your one from Supernanny. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭jme2010

Three. Thirty.

English person: "Its free pounds and fir-eey free pence."

No!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭garancafan

Should have. ;)

Yes. Better like that. Should have been I should of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭fondue

Don't know if it's a mispronunciation but the way Nevin Maguire says restaurant drives me crazy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,548 ✭✭✭✭Alun

fondue wrote: »
    Don't know if it's a mispronunciation but the way Nevin Maguire says restaurant drives me crazy!
    Is it like Gordon Ramsay says it on his Kitchen Nightmares TV show, i.e. "rest-ruhnt"? Pisses me off big time .. the word has 3 syllables not 2!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭fondue

Alun wrote: »
    Is it like Gordon Ramsay says it on his Kitchen Nightmares TV show, i.e. "rest-ruhnt"? Pisses me off big time .. the word has 3 syllables not 2!

It's exactly like that! Sometimes I watch his program just so I can hear him say it, I love to hate it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Voltex

Booke..instead of Book
    Cooke...instead of Cook
    Crips...instead of Crisps
    Schewel...instead of School
    Runnin, Swimmin, Walkin...it only take a "G" to say it correctly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭SugarCoat

The pronounciation of "H" as "Eaaaccch", "Tube" as "Tooooooooob" and "Tuesday" as "Too-esday" sound as bad as scraping nails on a blackboard to me...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

Haven't read through other 571 posts but heard someone on news today sat ulti...maaaaah tum bugged the ****e out of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭LiamMc

I'm sure it's mentioned already:

Deaf'nite-ly was common in my schooldays but now rhymes with Keira Knightly. So maybe more acceptable.

Pronouncing Cockney Rhyming Slang but using the second rhyming word only ala Only fools and horses. (It's 'Dog' not 'Bone' for Telephone). That's why it's considered a code/language/not accessible.

Believing Cockney Rhyming Slang is Dublinese.

Forced Dublinese. Stereotype is whiny i-pitched load wimmin or bravado blokes 'pal'. Easy Job, anyone can do it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭kingofslaves

Not single words, but whole sentances get me.

1) Out of there I thought I'd never get - I nearly wet myself the first time I heard my ex say that !
    2) Come here til I tell ya/I'll take me hand off to ya
    3) Are ye right there folks, please?! (said at the end of the night to people hanging on with drinks)
    4) saying sorry instead of excuse me
    5) my leg is reefing itchy
    6) another one my ex used to use oh me back, jack - who the feck is jack ?

But the thing that really bugs me is pronouncing R as OAR Like Oar T É, or that hair place H. OAR. B. OAR. Mind you I've been here 7 years now and I'm correcting my new g/f pronouncing Howth properly ! She's English as well and says it as it's spelt lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭FlawedGenius

igorant or igronant