Another victim of violent Republicanism...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Madd Finn

Seachmall wrote: »
    Don't know who that is, but I think it's the same Joe Lynch who runs this website (complete speculation).

One of the guys pictured in the gallery on this site is Rose Lynch's da. He is clearly the same guy whose face was on RTE News last night coming out of the court after his charming daughter was banged up for life.

Nice man.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

lads please be specific do ye mean:
    old collins and dev IRA the old IRA
    OIRA
    PIRA both emerged after the battle of the bogside
    CIRA split from provos in the 80s
    RIRA split from provos in the 90s
    Óghlaigh na hÉireann the new kid on the block
    RCIRA whoever they are

Sorry, I meant the People's Front of Judea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

was watching the news and the father/husband of this ridiculous murderer was outside the courts with some young lad calling out Toicfaigh ar la while wearing... a liverpool football club tracksuit.

Does anyone try to explain that to these people? Little bit of hope for the country dies everytime i see these people, the country is riddled with really embarrassing idiots.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 189 ✭✭Bergkamp 10

Oddly enough Republicans can support English football teams, many dont support Celtic despite the stereotype, I've heard of a few Rangers fans. Bobby Sands was a massive Aston Villa fan.

Although I wouldnt call these scum republicans so its irrelevant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Leftist wrote: »
    was watching the news and the father/husband of this ridiculous murderer was outside the courts with some young lad calling out Toicfaigh ar la while wearing... a liverpool football club tracksuit.

Does anyone try to explain that to these people? Little bit of hope for the country dies everytime i see these people, the country is riddled with really embarrassing idiots.

*sigh.....

Do you think that Republicanism generally is based on a loathing of all things British?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,963 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Seems like people desperately want the details of this story to be something they're not. It would be nice if the media were very clear and accurate in their reporting of such things - you might say it's their duty / function.

I can understand the 'scumbags killing scumbags, good' type of reaction to such stories. All the same, these people tend to leave behind partners, kids, parents, etc - however dispicable they are themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

lads please be specific do ye mean:
    old collins and dev IRA the old IRA
    OIRA
    PIRA both emerged after the battle of the bogside
    CIRA split from provos in the 80s
    RIRA split from provos in the 90s
    Óghlaigh na hÉireann the new kid on the block
    RCIRA whoever they are

The IRA in any guise = the scourge of this island for far too long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Carry wrote: »
    Really.

I've read in the OP that a middle-aged woman, not any person, did what ever she did for what reasons ever.
    It's not about ageism, it's about the mindset behind a political and/or criminal matter, where gender and age shouldn't matter.

Murder is murder, and it doesn't matter if it is a woman or a man or what age they are.

And yes, I did read the news about this case.

They're called details.

Otherwise every news story would read "someone did something".

Nodin wrote: »
    *sigh.....

Do you think that Republicanism generally is based on a loathing of all things British?

*sigh

you think people from england want someone supporting their local team when they also support people who put bombs in public places and target their state and citizens as legitimate target?

''I'm a republican and I support the armed struggle against britain, but first I want to watch their football on tv''

and we are talking about those that support violence btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

you think people from england want someone supporting their local team when they also support people who put bombs in public places and target their state and citizens as legitimate target?

Does it matter what they want?

Should I not be allowed to watch Iran's female beach volleyball league because Iranians don't like me?

Does it matter what they want?

Should I not be allowed to watch Iran's female beach volleyball league because Iranians don't like me?

No, what should stop you is your support for terrorist action against iran.

jesus. Are you for real?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

*sigh.....

Only the Irish form;-)

No, what should stop you is your support for terrorist action against iran.

jesus. Are you for real?

But... but that's not the point you made...

nitpicking rubbish, both points are relevant.

The central point here is that someone
    a) supports the murder of english civilians
    b) enjoys their football clubs

You technically CAN do both, what's stopping you?

self respect.
    consistancy.
    intelligence.

If you don't care that these 'legitimate targets' of murder don't want you involved in their culture then you lack all three of the above.

It's not nitpicking when it's refuting the exact point made and neither points are relevant.

A) is incorrect.

A) should be "Supports the reunification of Ireland by any means necessary including the murder of English civilians.

Note the distinct lack of hating anything English or English affiliated.

Even terrorists enjoy a nice cuppa y'know.
    If you don't care that these 'legitimate targets' of murder don't want you involved in their culture then you lack all three of the above.
    Pfft.

It's not nitpicking when it's refuting the exact point made and neither points are relevant.

A) is incorrect.

A) should be "Supports the reunification of Ireland by any means necessary including the murder of English civilians.

Note the distinct lack of hating anything English or English affiliated.

Even terrorists enjoy a nice cuppa y'know.

that is disgusting and pathetic. I am embarrassed there are people like you left.

I don't support the reunification of Ireland by any means other than diplomatic, and even then I couldn't be bothered either way.

If you don't have a point don't resort to making baseless assumptions.

I don't support the reunification of Ireland by any means other than diplomatic, and even then I couldn't be bothered either way.

If you don't have a point don't resort to making baseless assumptions.

yep, yet you're legitimising the hypocrisy of supporting english culture yet murdering civies so their government might give up a state where they are welcome by a majority. :D

absolute lime green bog logic.

yep, yet you're legitimising the hypocrisy of supporting english culture yet murdering civies so their government might give up a state where they are welcome by a majority. :D
    I'm not legitimising the hypocrisy because the hypocrisy doesn't exist.
    It's actually fairly clear cut logic which, granted, can be difficult to achieve when you're too busy demonising and rationalising.

You've plenty of reasons not to like the IRA, why you'd make one up is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

lol.. what orifice are you pulling that one out of?
    There is significant support in Great Britain for Ireland to reunify as a political entity. A poll conducted by ICM for The Guardian in 2001 revealed that 26% of Britons supported Northern Ireland remaining a part of the UK, while 41% supported a united Ireland.

The British Social Attitudes Survey in 2007 found 32.25% supported Northern Ireland remaining part of the UK, and 40.16% supported Irish reunification.

The poll has been run 19 times between 1983 and 2007, with each result being in favour of Irish unity. The highest support came in 1994 with 59.36% of the respondents supporting Irish reunification, while 24.09% supported Northern Ireland remaining in the UK.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/United_Ireland#In_Great_Britain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

http://mustardseedblog.com/2013/04/11/black-prop-the-irish-media-and-the-ira/

It’s been all over the news recently that fifty-year-old “assassin” Rose Lynch shot and killed 39-year-old father of two David Darcy in Dublin in the name of the Continuity Irish Republican Army on behalf of the revolutionary Republican movement. Media have been reporting that her and her father, Joe, are also members of Republican Sinn Fein out in Limerick.

The problem with these reports, however, is that they aren’t true.

Rose cannot be said to be a volunteer for the IRA nor can Joe be said to be a member of Republican Sinn Fein. Much of the misreporting on Rose, and in general the dissident revolutionary Republican movement, can be chalked up to the general state of sordid and poor reporting in the mainstream media in England and Ireland and can also be traced historically to the start of the Irish fight for independence back in 1916.

For example: back in the war of independence in the early 1920s the British media propagated a “blood oath” from the IRA that had been completely fabricated to scare the British public and the Scots-Irish in Ireland. This exact same blood oath was propagated by a popular British tabloid at one point during the early 1970s. Other instances of black prop was when British backed underground militias bombed a water pipeline in Northern Ireland for the purpose of blaming the Provisional IRA. MI5 would also involve itself with criminal gangs within Northern Ireland by using guns and money and then style their criminal actions as actual actions of the IRA.

Part of the black prop being spun by the military started early off during the Troubles in the Lisburn press office in Ulster where Lt. Col. Tugwell headed a covert propaganda/media unit which relied on their own spin and on the IRD (an MI6 operation that originally started in 1948 to ferment fake anti-communist black prop). One concrete example of their work was when a UVF paramilitary bombing of an Irish pub was spun by their covert office in order to put the blame on Provisional IRA.

These are but just a few examples.

Rose and Joe have no actual connections to any legitimate revolutionary Republican movement but the media keeps propagating this criminal drug running gang from Limerick who style themselves as the “IRA.” Numerous times the media have connected the actions of a small criminal gang with the actions of the IRA and of Republican Sinn Fein despite numerous instances of Republican Sinn Fein trying to correct the narrative.

During the 1916 Easter commemorations Republican Sinn Fein stated:

We note that the title of Republican Sinn Féin has been misappropriated from it by a tiny splinter group in Limerick. Politicians and a hostile media have given credence to this action by highlighting its misdeeds and then placing the blame on the true Republican Movement. We take advantage of this occasion to clear the air and assert once more Republican Sinn Féins integrity and good name.

Back in October 2012 they also stated:

Over the past two years Republican Sinn Fein have been directs targets of such activity. A Limerick-led group have attempted to steal our identity and good name in order to cloak their criminal activities. This particular gang meet the criteria of the classic black operations or ‘black ops’ engaged by the State forces whereby a shadow grouping is set up which is a perversion of everything that the legitimate revolutionary movement represents. The purpose of these bogus groupings is to sow confusion, lower moral and discredit the genuine revolutionary movement.

And, most recently, in response to the media that continues to ignore the realities on the ground and who continue to spout the black prop of the government, Republican Sinn Fein made their point clear:

Some of todays newspapers (April 10) carried reports that Joe Lynch, Limerick, father of Rose Lynch, is a member of Republican Sinn Féin. Neither Joe Lynch or his daughter are members of Republican Sinn Fein, nor have they been since April 2010 when they were expelled. He is part of a group usurping the name of Republican Sinn Féin to cover their nefarious activities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

self respect.
    consistancy.
    intelligence.

No logic or consistency would be involved. It's a silly, stupid remark based on the odd notion that republicanism is based on hatred of all things British.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭Pinewoo

Thread title should be modified to "Another victim of violent idiots", tired of these fools using Republicanism as an excuse to justify murder, beatings, racketeering, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Norwesterner

self respect.
    consistancy.
    intelligence.

I don't know a single Republican who supports the murder of English civilians.
    Per capita Loyalists/British agents killed more people in the 26 Counties than the IRA killed in England.
    Specifically, because they were determined to keep civilian casualties to a minimum.

Several of the IRA's main players were English born citizens.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,352 ✭✭✭gallag

I don't know a single Republican who supports the murder of English civilians.
    Per capita Loyalists/British agents killed more people in the 26 Counties than the IRA killed in England.
    Specifically, because they were determined to keep civilian casualties to a minimum.

Several of the IRA's main players were English born citizens.

Yet they killed more civilians than any other group, I know you will argue they had a lower percentage of civilian kills but that is only because they were the only group to prolifically target the security forces, if the other groups all killed a pile of police, army and prision guards they would also have a lower percentage of civilian kills but that would hardly make it better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Norwesterner

gallag wrote: »
    Yet they killed more civilians than any other group, I know you will argue they had a lower percentage of civilian kills but that is only because they were the only group to prolifically target the security forces, if the other groups all killed a pile of police, army and prision guards they would also have a lower percentage of civilian kills but that would hardly make it better.
    That doesn't equate to stating "Irish Republicans support the murder of English citizens"when it's clear they patently didn't.
    Otherwise, there'd be no warnings and the death toll would've been in the tens of thousands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Just read this today, what a patethic excuse for a man

http://m.limerickleader.ie/news/leader-local/limerick-father-of-assassin-is-proud-of-killer-daughter-1-4990577
    Joe Lynch, 72, the Republican Sinn Fein leader from Ballinacurra Weston, said he is standing by his daughter, whom he remains as proud of today as the day she was born. Speaking to the Limerick Leader after the sentence was handed down, he said: “I’m proud of my daughter, she’s a Republican. She had Republican principles going in to the court, and she didn’t leave them behind. My daughter has no remorse. She has done nothing wrong to have remorse. She’s a Republican, and a Republican does the duty of a Republican, but there’s no father who wants to see his daughter going to prison.”

A ****ing grade A idiot if I ever saw one.

gallag wrote: »
    Yet they killed more civilians than any other group, I know you will argue they had a lower percentage of civilian kills but that is only because they were the only group to prolifically target the security forces, if the other groups all killed a pile of police, army and prision guards they would also have a lower percentage of civilian kills but that would hardly make it better

So your saying the other groups deliberately targeted civilians but that's not as bad as the IRA killing them because they weren't targeting them?

I must be picking it up wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

No logic or consistency would be involved. It's a silly, stupid remark based on the odd notion that republicanism is based on hatred of all things British.

If someone burnt a tricolour and constantly referred to it as a terrorist's scarf, would you consider them anti Irish?

DarkJager wrote: »
    Just read this today, what a patethic excuse for a man

http://m.limerickleader.ie/news/leader-local/limerick-father-of-assassin-is-proud-of-killer-daughter-1-4990577

A ****ing grade A idiot if I ever saw one.

Read the link I left in the previous page,these are not in any group,they have been expelled years ago,their refered to as the limerick Loonies.