Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cyclists on a Backroad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭MajesticDonkey

I was thinking more like you typical wheel-barrow wheel.
    http://images-en.busytrade.com/163537700/Wheelbarrow-Wheel.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,447 ✭✭✭✭endacl

In my opinion, it's easier to pass one cyclist in front of another than two beside each other
    Stellar insight! Extending the logic, its harder to pass a bajillion cyclists riding abreast, than none at all? So........ everyone should leave their bike at home and stay out of your way? Coz its your road, like?

I was thinking more like you typical wheel-barrow wheel.
    http://images-en.busytrade.com/163537700/Wheelbarrow-Wheel.jpg
    Ah gowanouttadat! There's folks on here who'd say those make sense...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

so what you are saying is that if you take 2 tyres both with the same rolling circumference. but you had 1 thw was 7 or 8 mm wide ...and the second was 45mm wide there would be no difference in grip. if the 2 were put on the same bike and brought up to the same wheel...if the brakes are applied on both the stopping distance will be the same?
    Pretty much assuming that both tires have the same tire pressure and that both are slicks (though wider tires generally aren't, slick tires give greater traction), a wide and a narrow tire has the same contact area. A wide tire is flattened over its width whereas a narrow tire has a slimmer but longer contact area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭jimd2

endacl wrote: »
    9th, 10th, 11th and 12th of August. Just a heads up so you don't need to get your knickers in a twist again this year.

You're welcome. Don't mention it.

good example of the attitude I was pointing out.

And dont worry I wasnt thanking you (and I note no one else did either!)

jimd2 wrote: »
    good example of the attitude I was pointing out.

And dont worry I wasnt thanking you (and I note no one else did either!)
    In fairness, a major whinge of yours on that other thread was that you didn't know about the event. That it hadn't been publicised enough. Just thought you'd appreciate some dates to stick in your diary.

I wouldn't expect thanks from anybody else. The info was personalised to you.

Anyway. You're welcome, don't mention it etc...

See you in August. I'll be the annoying one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭onimpulse

Here we have motorists complaining about cyclists on the road in their way...

In the cycling forum we have cyclists complaining about pedestrians in the cycle lanes in their way...

We all share the roads. Deal with it or stay at home where it won't annoy you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,739 ✭✭✭✭kylith

There was a bunch of these fluorescent forktards in my village last weekend, cycled onto the footpath and blocked all 15 or 20 feet of it while a couple of their kind went in to get whatever idiots consume. My 19 month old tried to avoid them by going out onto the road, I'd a good mind to demonstrate the domino effect on them. When done, they proceeded along the footpath to a junction rather than directly onto the road.

They're just buffoons when you get right down to it. Without mirrors, apparently.
    Did you, at any point, say 'Excuse me folks, but you're blocking the path'?

Drives me right up the wall; people giving out about others blocking paths or not giving up bus seats, but who never bothered to do anything about it at the time.

kylith wrote: »

Drives me right up the wall; people giving out about others blocking paths or not giving up bus seats, but who never bothered to do anything about it at the time.
    I'd imagine he was in too much of a rush to get home and tell the internet...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

I've one from UCD if it's any use to you?

Those Stillorgan Polytechnic degrees are not much use to anybody:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭El Inho

onimpulse wrote: »
    Here we have motorists complaining about cyclists on the road in their way...

In the cycling forum we have cyclists complaining about pedestrians in the cycle lanes in their way...

We all share the roads. Deal with it or stay at home where it won't annoy you.

personally find it quite interesting that I didn't make this post in the motorist section deliberately hoping to find a middle ground. Post in motoring its biased and cycling its biased. In AH there was no slant in favour towards one camp or the other. Over 600 posts later, the argument/debate might not be top notch, but still it goes to show there are very strong opinions on this.

kylith wrote: »

If someone has to be told they are being a bellend in order to stop being a acting like a bellend, then you are actually worse than the aforementioned ignorant bellend.

That isn't even my opinion on cyclists. That is one of the most basic rules of being polite. So you think an elderly lady should have to ask a big massive thug looking guy to move out of a seat? Thats a good one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭Chemical Burn

I hate when cyclists cycle in bus lanes when there is a perfectly acceptable cycle track beside it :( holding up everyone :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Kurtosis

I hate when cyclists cycle in bus lanes when there is a perfectly acceptable cycle track beside it :( holding up everyone :(

Odds are that if it's not being used, it's not "perfectly acceptable".

Unfortunately cycle tracks in Ireland are rarely perfect and nearly always sh1te.

penguin88 wrote: »
    Odds are that if it's not being used, it's not "perfectly acceptable".

i think going by the reaction in this thread, a lot of people feel that cyclists don't use perfectly good cycle lanes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,413 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

El Spearo wrote: »
    i think going by the reaction in this thread, a lot of people feel that cyclists don't use perfectly good cycle lanes.

If they cycled on these perfectly good cycle lanes then they would soon change their minds

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭opti0nal

Last time I saw a 'perfectly good' cycle lane, it was in France. It was the width of a car lane.

Today, in Dublin, I did see an 'almost adequate' cycle lane: it had a perfectly good Mercedes parked on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭Grandpa Hassan

I hate it when the buses stop and hold up all the cyclists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Technoprisoner, I have just the bike for you. I give you the Surly Moonlander

https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcR1GB2qsw3I86vsCNYKt_40x22UZWM7sf1pW6rn4J1JW1NTlPV25Q

I'm not going any deeper into the argument than to say that in no way are the width of road bike tires a problem. Stopping distances on roadbikes are pretty formidable, mostly because they are so light and easy to stop. Grip is simply not an issue in towns and cities either.

I'm not sure how all cyclists using that monster-truck above would solve anything.

The glory of Dublin's cycle lanes.......sure we're the envy of the rest of Europe.

They're a great place to store stuff.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

I think we could benefit from having a "cycling license" + insurance(low cost). for cyclists who use the roads.

I have seen TOO many skip road signs, cross roads in the most absurd/dangerous way, not know how to use round abouts( although drivers can be ridiculous when it comes to that too.)

And as for cycle lanes, the majority I've seen ARE the bus lanes. And then drivers park on them. (I always go to cops with photo and license plate number when I see this, happens often enough).
    Also, many cycle lanes are only on one side of the road. >.<

I think cycling two abreast shouldn't be stopped but that larger groups should. Like if there's 12 in a group , they should split into 6, with a nice size gap between them, or even 4, so it's like overtaking a car.

___
    Drivers also, shouldn't expect cyclists to move into ditches and the likes. On back roads I always cycle about a foot and half/2 feet from side of road. This allows me to move in for those cars that fly past a little too close & to force them to slow down a lil as they overtake.. (you might say they wouldn't drive close if I was in closer to the edge, but they do, I once had to push right in to the bushes to miss getting whacked by a mirror, another time, the handle bars actually hit the side of a car.Ftards.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭Daniogroove

Got stuck behind a groups of about 50 of them yesterday, crawled the guts of 10km in a huge traffic line going around 30kmph because the road was too narrow and windy to pass them out

:mad:

by any chance were they doing the "cycle against suicide"? whats the big rush anyway.. people get way too stressed

I can't be the only person whose head is absolutely melted by the sheer quantity of people in clothes which are far too tight, with tortoises on their head taking up the roads of Ireland on their bikes...

I have nothing against cycling. Its a fantastic form of transport, but these people are taking up room, and are an accident waiting to happen. When cycling for fitness instead of practicality can you not please bring your bikes to a main road where there is space?[/QUOTE

I'm a cyclist, there is two side to that coin. Way more traffic and impatient drivers on the main roads. Back roads don't have either of these problems. If we were on the main road you would probably be the first person to say that we're slowing up traffic and getting in your way

I think we could benefit from having a "cycling license" + insurance(low cost). for cyclists who use the roads.

I have seen TOO many skip road signs, cross roads in the most absurd/dangerous way, not know how to use round abouts( although drivers can be ridiculous when it comes to that too.)

And as for cycle lanes, the majority I've seen ARE the bus lanes. And then drivers park on them. (I always go to cops with photo and license plate number when I see this, happens often enough).

I think cycling two abreast shouldn't be stopped but that larger groups should. Like if there's 12 in a group , they should split into 6, with a nice size gap between them, or even 4, so it's like overtaking a car.

___
    Drivers also, shouldn't expect cyclists to move into ditches and the likes. On back roads I always cycle about a foot and half/2 feet from side of road. This allows me to move in for those cars that fly past a little too close & to force them to slow down a lil as they overtake.. (you might say they wouldn't drive close if I was in closer to the edge, but they do, I once had to push right in to the bushes to miss getting whacked by a mirror, another time, the handle bars actually hit the side of a car.Ftards.)

not sure about the insurance or the license. This would discourage people from getting on a bike. But in saying that, there was talk of the possibility of bringing in on the spot fines for sign skipping etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭CollardGreens

Just give em a good ol bump, tie the carcus to the hood/roof of the car with some big rope.

De limb, dress in foil with an apple in it's mouth and broil for about 20 minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭opti0nal

not sure about the insurance or the license. ... But in saying that, there was talk of the possibility of bringing in on the spot fines for sign skipping etc
    Not sure if this will work. Drivers have licences and are subject to a range of fines. Despite this, most drivers break the law quite frequently, especially when they think they will not be caught. Some even subscribe to services that tip them off about the location of speed traps.

Anyway, why bother with expending resources pursuing cyclists? Their safety record is vastly better than that of motorists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,739 ✭✭✭✭kylith

If someone has to be told they are being a bellend in order to stop being a acting like a bellend, then you are actually worse than the aforementioned ignorant bellend.

That isn't even my opinion on cyclists. That is one of the most basic rules of being polite. So you think an elderly lady should have to ask a big massive thug looking guy to move out of a seat? Thats a good one.

I'm sorry, could you clarify this? Maybe it's because I'm just out of bed, but you seem to be saying that asking someone to make way would make me the asshole. Is that what you're saying?

I'm ok then, I usually just stick to the paths:D

You've kind of undermined your own point - drivers are licensed and they still do idiotic things - it's enforcement that keeps things relatively organised on the road for the motorist, therefore licensing cyclists won't do anything except create a bureaucratic nightmare, but better enforcement would help greatly. In that regard the application of fixed penalty notices to cyclists who ignore the rules of the road can't come quick enough - I reckon that it'll sort a lot out, assuming the Guards use them.

The law requiring cyclists to use cycle lanes went out last October - cyclists are not obliged to use cycle lanes, but you find if there is a decent, reasonably well maintained cycle lane it gets used - the problem is they are very few and far between in Ireland.

___

The safety of one road user (or category of road user) shouldn't be compromised for the convenience of another - the laws are fine as they are, people just need to cop on.