Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dash cam saves your ass (no Roundabout stuff please :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭blahblah06

Ah I reckon he was just a foreign lad. Had a girl in his passenger seat aswell.
    I'm going to ring traffic watch tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,414 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

Now thats a scary situation...what an a$$hole no matter what you did or didnt do...it wasnt that close a miss for that crazy reaction by him....
    blahblah06 wrote: »
    Ive just had a shocking experience with a driver getting out of his car and trying to open my own car door..

Video on way

Basically, went into the left lane didn't see him indicate until last minute car pillar was blocking. stopped allowed him out.

He stuck his fingers up at me which u can see then jammed on his brakes and got out of his car then attempted to open my car

Excuse the language and yes I did pull out in front of the mondeo but I wasn't waiting around and u can hear me apologise.

what do use think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭mawk

I think he must have broken down and he was in a hurry. You being a taxi, he needed a lift.

What was he on?!

The reg is hard to make out in the video, but I think this is it.

https://www.motorcheck.ie/free-car-check/06ke1438/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

Jaysus what a nut job! Sometimes I think some people just drive around looking for confrontation!

Did you happen to get any free gym passes from yer wan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭blahblah06

Ye that was the reg.

LOL chilly I tried. Have her number anyway as a witness and if I need a discount of membership I'm sure she would oblige lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭eqwjewoiujqorj

Another review from Techmoan.

808 # 18 DR32 Dash Cam.

Great video quality - day, night and inside, and even sound - you can even hear the indicators.

Very easy to read number plates.

One con is the size of the mount - not very discreet.

About 80 euro inc delivery, loads of links on Techmoan's blog

UNTOUCHED DOWNLOADABLE CLIPS HERE

Test footage starts at 9.13
    Inside car park: 10.05
    Night time (Town): 11.34
    Night time (Lit road) 11.56
    Twilight : 12.33
    Sound: 12.06

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭gutteruu

blahblah06 wrote: »
    Ive just had a shocking experience with a driver getting out of his car and trying to open my own car door..

Fair play. I would have made him my new bonnet ornament!

Here's a bit from yesterday. Idiot gaurds drove all the way from where I met them in Drogheda to Dublin in overtaking lane at 70mph. (sorry about bad quality)

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,283 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Two more for the archives..

Impatient Golf Driver. In fairness, this stretch of road drives me nuts too.

Salmon Cycling.

More idiots from last week whilst we are at it! Good job I don't trust anyone to use lanes properly. The black micra with the ould one stayed going and just about missed me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭lovelyhurler

Re: the first guy - apart for the slight cut off, what else did he do wrong?
    Oh, and BTW, you were in the incorrect lane for your exit.;)

Re: the first guy - apart for the slight cut off, what else did he do wrong?

Oh here we go again. I changed the lane I used to always use, to suit the official way the RSA teach Irish drivers. Legally I am correct although I do agree we should use the other lane, but theres been and epic amount of discussion on this already.

And apart from crossing lanes twice ? I could have driven up beside him like normal and would have got my front smashed going onto roundabout and side smashed whilst on it. Its only because I know Irish drivers are idiots, I always hold back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Maybe I'm missing local knowledge, but second exit, the left lane is correct.

j&r_roundabouts_straight-ahead.jpg

It's third exit or greater, your in the righthand lane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 982 ✭✭✭barney 20v

Not being bad here but you seemed to me to be going a bit fast for such a built up area... in theory you should have been going slow enough to react and stop before the old woman in the black micra.

I agree, probably a little too fast.

A lot of people said it on here, but it wasn't until I bought one of these camera's that I realise they make you look like you are bombing it. They completely throw things out of perspective with the lens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭BohsCeltic

squod wrote: »
    I use the holder on the sun visor to hold a pocket DVR. Passenger side like.

Good thinking, i have the witness app for the iphone and got a mount from vodafone but it vibrates really badly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 421 ✭✭smilgy

Thought this was interesting, cyclist at 0:57 getting pulled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭skibum

smilgy wrote: »

Is this your video, what camera are you using?
    Great quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 421 ✭✭smilgy

skibum wrote: »
    Is this your video, what camera are you using?
    Great quality.

Its just my phone in a phone holder with a dashcam app.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭miller50841

smilgy wrote: »

My guess would be he ran the red light at Roebuk rd. junction as they all do he was just an unlucky 1 that done it on the cops.

Good enough for him as I am sick of them doing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

What goes through people tiny little minds when they are driving?

100kph, pulls in with about a meter at most between me and them so I brake gently(as its a motorway), then they start braking because they never saw the slower car in the lane ahead so I have to overtake them again as we are now down to less then 70kph with traffic closing behind.

You'd wonder how far down the list of things they are concentrating on is driving?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,312 ✭✭✭rameire

the aftermath of a car crash on the M9 today at 5pm

🌞 3.8kwp, 🌞 Clonee, Dub.🌞

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭cats.life

What goes through people tiny little minds when they are driving?

100kph, pulls in with about a meter at most between me and them so I brake gently(as its a motorway), then they start braking because they never saw the slower car in the lane ahead so I have to overtake them again as we are now down to less then 70kph with traffic closing behind.

You'd wonder how far down the list of things they are concentrating on is driving?:rolleyes:
    my hubbie gets that when he is driving his truck everday ,they over take then slow down :mad:why do that?:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

ironclaw wrote: »
    Maybe I'm missing local knowledge, but second exit, the left lane is correct.

http://www.rulesoftheroad.ie/images/j&r_roundabouts_straight-ahead.jpg

It's third exit or greater, your in the righthand lane.
    nope, the number of exits isn't relevant. unless otherwise directed by road markings, signs or the garda, where there are 2 lanes entering a roundabout, the left hand lane should be used up to and including any exit that would be equiv. to going straight on if the roundabout wasn't there.

it's usually referred to as the 12 o'clock rule, but unfortunately, there was (and to some extent still is) a lot of ambiguity in the irish RotR and it appears that half of irish drivers were taught to count their exits and the other half were taught the 12 o'clock rule.

you can find dozens of threads on here (and one with a poll which came out at almost a 50/50 split on the vote) and elsewhere showing the confusion, but the official response directly from the RSA was that the 12 o'clock rule is the official correct way to navigate roundabouts, unless otherwise directed by signage/markings/garda.

but the whole thing has been done to death though, so we probably shouldn't go any further off topic. i'm sure someone will be disagreeing with me before too long, but before you do, feel free to have a read through the below thread, or just skip to the last couple of posts to save yourself some time. ;)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056163797&page=48

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

vibe666 wrote: »
    where there are 2 lanes entering a roundabout, the left hand lane should be used up to and including any exit that would be equiv. to going straight on if the roundabout wasn't there.

Can you quote an official source for that rule?

From the official rules:

Making a left turn: Signal left and approach in the left-hand lane.

Going straight ahead: Approach in the left-hand lane but do not signal yet. Signal left after you have passed the exit before the one you want.

Taking any later exits: Signal right and approach in the right-hand lane. Keep to the right on the roundabout until you need to change lanes to exit the roundabout.

There's absolutely no ambiguity. First exit, left lane. Straight on, left lane. Anything else after the straight, right lane.

And in your video, by definition, your in the wrong lane.

Its funny that there is absolutely no mention of the clock on the Rules of the Road. I suppose instructors have to make it simple for some :rolleyes:

Find me a major, two lane, un-sign posted, unmarked roundabout where more than one exit occurs within the 180 degree's from when you enter (Not including the straight on) They are exceptionally rare and either way, the rules are clearly defined. The only place the 'counting rule' fall down is if there is more than two exits before the straight on.

ironclaw wrote: »
    C
    Find me a major, two lane, un-sign posted, unmarked roundabout where more than one exit occurs within the 180 degree's from when you enter (Not including the straight on) They are exceptionally rare and either way, the rules are clearly defined. The only place the 'counting rule' fall down is if there is more than two exits before the straight on.

irishdrivers.jpg

This one is N6 turn off for Tullamore. There are loads of them all over the country!

http://goo.gl/maps/HGxuJ

http://goo.gl/maps/GJJZX

2 more within a few hundreds yards of each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

Did one of them Hibernian ignition courses a few years back and yer man insisted that it was the "12 o clock rule" that should be used in all roundabouts unless it's signed otherwise.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Al Capwned wrote: »
    Did one of them Hibernian ignition courses a few years back and yer man insisted that it was the "12 o clock rule" that should be used in all roundabouts unless it's signed otherwise.

The guy obviously did his homework, top of the class that man!
    It's so simple, is the exit you're taking before or after dead ahead? Boom, sorted, no ambiguity.

The guy obviously did his homework, top of the class that man!
    It's so simple, is the exit you're taking before or after dead ahead? Boom, sorted, no ambiguity.

If only. In the example in the post above yours lane 'A' serves 3 exits, lane 'B' serves only 1. If there is no signpost or you can't see across the roundabout it also doesn't work. System makes no sense but we will go with if it means everyone knows what the hell is going on.

Its crazy to think half the country were taught one way and the rest a different way without either group knowing that 50% of the traffic beside them is in the wrong lane. Road "Safety" Authority my hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭BohsCeltic

They changed a lane in blanchardstown SC at the roundabout beside the liberty building, left lane is for 1st exit and the right lane for 2nd and 3rd exit. Kind of defeats the purpose of showing them adds telling you what is the correct way to pass through a roundabout