Aintree Grand National 2013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Got Ballybriggs at 25/1 with Boyles and done Harry The Viking and Becauseicouldnotsee also :o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 425 ✭✭Dreamertime

Sam Twiston Davies sounds Irish :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭Garzorico

Chicago Grey win

Soll e/w
    Oscar Time e/w

I love this race

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

was in ladbrokes in arklow about an hour ago doing my bets for the day, a fella beside me put 2500 e/w on chicago grey

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Some poor farrier about to cop an earful after that race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Ap McCoy reckons Joncol has a great chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭Cart

Good spot lapin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

As someone who doesn't really know what he is doing...Colbert Station or Join Together?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Overthelast

spiralism wrote: »
    As someone who doesn't really know what he is doing...Colbert Station or Join Together?

Split your stake, do both ew.

I'm enjoying C4's coverage. Less trips down nostalgia lane in the build up that the BBC used to overdose on. (And none of that annoying theme music playing in the background all day).

Although yer man asked a ridiculous question there a few minutes ago.

"What makes a horse win a race"?

Well I don't know about you lads, but in my experience if he crosses the finish line ahead of all the others, that usually does the trick !

9/4 about Solwhit looks like the value bet of the day now with hindsight.

I'm sorry I didn't have a cut. Especially after backing him 3 weeks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,354 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

Lapin wrote: »

I threw away a bet slip for a tenner on him, could just see another longshot bombing passed him like the the other favourites. hindsight is a great thing...

My bets for today:

3.25 - Cantalow 6/1 EW
    4.15 - Chicago 11/1 EW
    4.15 - Soll 40/1 EW

already lost with Dodging Bullets... I think retirement is calling for Ruby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,475 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

I’m going for 2 more min bets on the national, in the hope that I can have a winner and not have to look at Alex Fergusson in the winners Enclosure. I’ve been struggling to come up with anything but Auroras Encore might just be well handicapped on his very good 2nd in the Scottish version last year. He has a good few poor runs on softer ground since but is down to a lower mark that that run and if he can get back to form in similar conditions 100/1 with 5 places looks great value.

I’m also going with a small bet on a bit of class in Quel Esprit. Even though he has fallen a few times in general he is a very good jumper and conditions might just suit him today. He has had very little racing this year, and although he does look as good as he was he is still only 9 and there could well be a big race in him. Hes worth the risk of a small bet at 50/1

1 Point EW 100/1 Auroras Encore 5 Places Bet365 and others
    1/2 Point EW 50/1 Quel Esprit 5 places Bet365

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

I threw away a bet slip for a tenner on him, could just see another longshot bombing passed him like the the other favourites. hindsight is a great thing...

What.
    already lost with Dodging Bullets... I think retirement is calling for Ruby.

Seriously what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭skeleton_boy

Rare Bob and Balthazar King both e/w

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Mick Fitz is one gas man :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Joncol is huge!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Lennonist

That's a daft price for Seabass, 7's for the Aintree National?. I'm on Colbert Station e/w

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Massive Punt on Imperial Commamder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Put three e/w bets on The Rainbow Hunter, Always Waining and Quiscover Fontaine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

Lapin wrote: »

Value of the day,it was value of the year and I invested big time.Should have been 1/1 in a worse race than Cheltenham.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Betfair down again.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Alpha Dog 1

Quell esperit for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,228 ✭✭✭✭bnt

3 5 7 fences, no fallers..!

edit: half way, only a couple of fallers, none serious ...

In its pure form, fascism is the sum total of all irrational reactions of the average human character.

― Wilhelm Reich

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,228 ✭✭✭✭bnt

aidankkk wrote: »
    I’m going for 2 more min bets on the national, in the hope that I can have a winner and not have to look at Alex Fergusson in the winners Enclosure. I’ve been struggling to come up with anything but Auroras Encore might just be well handicapped on his very good 2nd in the Scottish version last year. He has a good few poor runs on softer ground since but is down to a lower mark that that run and if he can get back to form in similar conditions 100/1 with 5 places looks great value.

Well spotted!

In its pure form, fascism is the sum total of all irrational reactions of the average human character.

― Wilhelm Reich

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭elefant

I’m also going with a small bet on a bit of class in Quel Esprit. Even though he has fallen a few times in general he is a very good jumper and conditions might just suit him today. He has had very little racing this year, and although he does look as good as he was he is still only 9 and there could well be a big race in him. Hes worth the risk of a small bet at 50/1

You sir, are a legend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,135 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

Pos Dist Horse Trainer Age Weight Jockey SP
    1st 35 Auroras Encore (IRE) Mrs S J Smith 11 10-3 Ryan Mania 66/1
    2nd 9 18 Cappa Bleu (IRE) Evan Williams 11 10-11 t Paul Moloney 12/1
    3rd nk 10 Teaforthree (IRE) Miss R Curtis 9 11-3 Nick Scholfield 10/1
    opened 12/1
    4th 19 Oscar Time (IRE) M M Lynch 12 10-11 Mr S Waley-Cohen 66/1
    5th 28 Rare Bob (IRE) D T Hughes 11 10-6 B J Cooper 16/1
    6th swing bill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,475 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D BOOOOOOOOOMMMMMMMMM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Alpha Dog 1

Great stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Well done Aidan lad, super picking.