Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rangers FC On Field Gossip & Rumour Thread 2017 Mod Note in OP(Updated 14/08)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭BhoscaCapall

Ah yes the BBC that did a documentary and lo and behold it was proved to be full of mistakes and lies as a subsequent Independent commission and tribunal found
    The independent commission that found you guilty on 12 of 14 charges, innocent on one and "guilty but too pish to have an advantage" on the other?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭blahfckingblah

craig whyte doesn't do walking away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭Broxi_Bear_Eire

The independent commission that found you guilty on 12 of 14 charges, innocent on one and "guilty but too pish to have an advantage" on the other?

Ah yes I love this you can spin it anyway you like the simple fact is we were found not guilty of any serious wrongdoing. We were fined for a breach of rules regarding appropriate paperwork. We still have all our titles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭Broxi_Bear_Eire

Charles Green Statement. Seems fair enough

CHARLES GREEN, Chief Executive of Rangers Football Club, said: “Once again Craig Whyte has made serious allegations against the people who have committed themselves to rebuilding a Scottish institution which, almost single-handedly, he dragged towards the brink of oblivion.

“That he, after all he did to damage Rangers and the Club’s vast and loyal support, should attempt to denigrate those who stepped in to pick up the pieces and begin what will be a huge restructuring of the Club at all levels is deeply disappointing but predictable.
    “It is also regrettable that one minute the media is lining up to blacken his name and the next they are allowing him a soapbox. But no matter how many newspapers or TV channels welcome him in, the fact is Mr Whyte will not be allowed to succeed.
    "We all need to be absolutely clear on what is happening. These are distorted and malicious allegations coming from a man who is completely discredited and now under police investigation.
    “I am happy, as is Imran Ahmad, to become the subject of any investigations and we are more than willing to answer any and all questions about our conduct while communicating with Mr Whyte in attempts to take ownership of his shares in the Club.
    “So, of course there were discussions and agreements with regard to his shares and debenture release. There has never been any attempt to deny or disguise that and I told supporters that when I addressed them during Q and A sessions.
    “However, it must be stressed that no matter what Mr Whyte believes there was never any possibility of him being involved with us in the ownership of this Club. And there was most certainly never any intention to pay him anything.
    “But let’s deal with Mr Whyte’s delusional view of what actually happened by addressing one fantasy at a time:
    “He claims I was his front man. He could not be more wrong. With 8%, I am the major shareholder in Rangers FC and I have no tie in of any kind with Mr Whyte. He was never going to become an associate and never will. He has no right to any claim on Rangers FC, it’s shares or assets.
    “It is alleged there is a letter which agrees Mr Whyte and a business partner of his, Aidan Earley, would have a majority shareholding in Sevco 5088. If there is it wasn’t signed or endorsed by me. Perhaps Mr Whyte would be good enough to send me a copy.
    “Yes, Mr Whyte was told what he wanted to hear but there was never any likelihood of him becoming involved again. And remember, this was even before any of us were aware that the SFA had deemed him an unfit person to return to Scottish football.
    “In a discussion with Mr Whyte, who taped some conversations, I am alleged to have said: ‘You are Sevco, that’s what we are saying.
    “This is correct but at that point I had signed a resignation letter and a stock transfer form because it was decided that a Scottish company should buy a Scottish institution. Sevco 5088 wasn’t required.
    “I was not going to allow this man anywhere near this Club again. That was my view from the beginning and it was also Imran Ahmad’s view.
    “Imran was saying what he had to say to keep Mr Whyte onside because we believed Rangers could be rescued from a CVA and so it was vital to get his shares. All of the parties who tried to buy the Club before us also had the same problem and they’d have made promises in order to get those shares.
    “Mr Whyte may have allowed himself to believe he could be part of a new regime but we always knew there could be no way back for him. How could there be after all that he’d done?
    “He said he wanted to invest and Imran said: ‘Okay, fine. We need to come up with something like £6m each.’
    “But there was never any possibility of him coming up with that kind of money. Imran knew that. I knew that but we went about the business of raising the cash.
    “He was supposed to pay £25,000 for legal fees to the lawyers who would deal with the transfer of shares but his cheque bounced. Imran felt he had to keep him going down the road of giving over his shares so he was told if he had the money he could still deposit it.
    “But the money wasn’t wanted in any accounts dealing with this business so he was given another one. But of course the £6m didn’t materialise and neither did £1m or even half of that.
    “However, just more than £137,000 was deposited later and although way short of what he said he had, we were stunned and have tried to give it back to him. But no matter how hard we try to do that he won’t accept receipt of it.
    “This money has never been touched. It has never been used and it is not required. We don’t want it, don’t need it and Mr Whyte is perfectly well aware of that.
    “So, let’s look at what has happened. Mr Whyte wanted to be part of our group and wanted to invest £6m, which of course we would never have taken but instead he went from that to demanding £1m in perpetuity from us plus six seats in the Directors’ Box and six in the Members’ area.
    “This was demanded in return from him giving us his shares. He was told in no uncertain terms that this was ludicrous and since then he has continued to try to derail our work at Ibrox which includes massive redevelopment plans.
    “Rangers FC will become bigger than ever while Mr Whyte, hopefully will diminish. After all, this is someone, who just prior to the proposed CVA circular being posted, greenmailed the consortium for his £1m in perpetuity before agreeing to sign a stock transfer form.
    “He has not invested a penny in Rangers FC.
    “Also, he has made spurious claims before and these were shown to the company lawyers. They were rejected completely.
    “We cannot understand why Mr Whyte keeps going to the media rather than the court. He has threatened to take Duff & Phelps to court, the SFA to court and now Charles Green and Imran Ahmad. We suggest he gets on with it.
    “If he wants to go to court we would be delighted to see him there. It is a shame Mr Whyte keeps trying to destabilise the Club he very nearly destroyed.
    “It is also a great pity the media outlets continue to give him platforms.’
    Charles Green statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭bobmalooka

That statement is a mess, basically admitting what whyte claims but he had his fingers crossed behind his back.

Everyone involved is gonna end up with mud on their face

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭Lonesome Boatman

http://www.mobypicture.com/user/spacegirlgail/view/15075741

Green calling Whyte a 'google eye' live on SSN :pac:

bobmalooka wrote: »
    That statement is a mess, basically admitting what whyte claims but he had his fingers crossed behind his back.

Everyone involved is gonna end up with mud on their face

If he said that to get Whyte on board what;s to say he doesn't say things to fleece the rangers fans :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,946 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

754566822.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

£5 bet, not bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

Ahahahaha.

It's a feeding frenzy!
    We know what happened when they done that before?
    HMRC lost, and Lord Nimmo happened.

Next thing we know, the anonymous blogger will be setting his site up again....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Eirebear wrote: »
    Ahahahaha.

It's a feeding frenzy!
    We know what happened when they done that before?
    HMRC lost, and Lord Nimmo happened.

Next thing we know, the anonymous blogger will be setting his site up again....

The tax case isnt over :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Madam

I can't see what the fuss is about - Rangers will brave this storm in a teacup! Green is a businessman pure and simple (albeit a dodgy one), that he dealt with White in such a way is indicative that their cut from the same cloth! I'm sure there are many fans who feel the same way about him.

Me? I wouldn't trust him as far as I could throw him:(

Jelle1880 wrote: »
    £5 bet, not bad.

and free snowballs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Madam

and free snowballs

For throwing at Mr Green maybe?

T2aGz03.jpg

CHARLES GREEN reckons that his Rangers players want to PUNCH him — and he couldn’t care less.

In the midst of a bombshell week at Ibrox as he admitted shafting disgraced former owner Craig Whyte to gain control of the fallen Glasgow giants Green opened his heart to The Scottish Sun.

He knows his outburst slating Ally McCoist’s side has made him unpopular in the dressing room but there’s not a shred of regret on that score.

The Gers chief executive stressed: “A few weeks ago I made a statement that a few people were aghast about when I said that it’s the worst Rangers team there’s ever been.

“I saw pundits on TV saying ‘The Chief Exec shouldn’t say that’. Why shouldn’t you say it? Is it true? If it’s true, say it.

“If I felt that I could forecast so well, I’d start buying lottery tickets because the next day’s result against Annan PROVED it.

“The players? I suspect there is an element of ‘can I kick him’ or ‘can I punch him’.

“I suppose if we had a game of five a side there’d be a few of them would give me some heavy tackles.

“I think I’d need to find some of my old speed to get away from them.

“Look, I don’t think the manager was happy about it. I don’t think the players were happy about it.

“But I actually don’t say things to make people happy and I don’t say things to make people sad.

“I say ’em because it’s factually correct and I say it because I believe it.”

Green is bidding to adapt to life in a bitterly divided city where he is left bemused by the role religion still plays in our football.

The Gers supremo holds no truck with any of it, though, and he confessed he would ponder hiring ex-Celt and self-confessed fascist Paolo Di Canio just as Sunderland have.

Di Canio received a one-match ban in Italy in 2005 for giving his fans at Lazio a Nazi salute and had previously described himself as ‘a fascist, but not a racist’.

Green does not see what all the fuss is about.

He said: “I don’t know the facts about Paolo Di Canio’s fascist comments but what have your political beliefs got to do with how you do your job?

“If I’m hiring, I don’t care what religion they are, I don’t care what colour they are, I don’t care what their political beliefs are, or their social etiquette.

“What I think is wrong is to force someone to accept your view so I encourage with my children their right to express their view.

“Even to the extent of recent press speculation that we were going to sign Jon Daly and people are suggesting it may be a challenge because he’s a Catholic from Southern Ireland.

“Well, that’s not a challenge at all. Listen, I’m quite happy to go on record and say that the only challenge that there is ever going to be is on what wages someone wants and how I’m going to pay them.

“Can they do the job and are they going to respect the badge that’s on the shirt? That’s all the matters for me.”

Green insists he hates the growing political correctness that is creeping into society and revealed he still refers to Rangers business partner Imran Ahmad as ‘my Paki friend’.

Prince Harry famously found himself caught up in a storm when tapes emerged of him referring to an Asian soldier as ‘our little Paki friend’.

Green sighed: “The sectarian element of the Old Firm has been a hard thing to get used to.

“That is something that I’ve found truly amazing and hugely surprising to find this divide in Scotland. It is a completely new concept to me.

“I was brought up in a mining community where whether someone was black, white, Catholic, Salvation Army, Protestant, made no difference.

“When I played at Worksop Town, the other striker was ‘Darkie’ Johnson. Now if I say that today I could go to jail.

“You know, Imran will come into the office regularly and I’ll say ‘How’s my Paki friend?’.

“Of course, you have all the do-gooders and puritanical people now saying you can’t say that. Prince Harry got into so much trouble for that.”

Green is lurching from one controversy to the next right now but insists the good Gers have done on their travels in Scottish football’s basement keeps him going.

He stressed: “Going to places like Annan and Elgin, the whole town has been welcoming — not just the football clubs. The shopkeepers, the pastie shop owners, the bar guys.

“The local economies are booming thanks to Rangers.

“So it’s not just the clubs are getting capacity attendances and breaking new club records at every ground.

“I’ve had chairmen come to me and say: ‘Mr Green, my local pub came and gave the club a cheque for £1,000 because when Rangers turned up he had record takings. More than on Christmas Eve’.

“What we’ve got is a real legacy now that we can be proud of that shows how this giant of a club, that had been humbled so publicly, has stood proud, walked with its head held high and earned a lot of respect.

“Look, I wasn’t a Rangers fan when I came — but I am becoming one very quickly.

“This club becomes a part of you and you become a part of it. That’s been something that I never expected would happen.”

Murray may have destroyed the old club but Green is by far and away my favourite guy to get involved at Ibrox. Sheer hilarity every time he speaks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Murray may have destroyed the old club but Green is by far and away my favourite guy to get involved at Ibrox. Sheer hilarity every time he speaks.

He's 'better' than Whyte and thats all that seems to matter! :pac:

1-4 win, makes you wonder why they can play so good now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,898 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

So its a media conspiracy and everyone is out to get you?

Why would the BBC and The SUN make things up? :rolleyes:

We all know that paper in bold make things up

And for those that want to focus on the football (Celtic fans need not apply in this thread :p ):

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/22057653

Cammy Bell has apparently agreed terms with Rangers.

Ah come on lads of course theres not a culture of intolerence.. green is simply an isolated incident like all the other isol ated incidents over the years..

And who has made excuses for Green's comments here?
    They were wrong and out of order.

Now **** off.

Is he wrong about Whyte as well?

About being a crook ?

I'd say so.

Stifle debate all you want. this Whyte thing won't go away.

He will sue Green and probably win, looking at the evidence he has.

So the bears don't believe Whyte was part of Greens take over? Interesting. Its the same sub servient mind set that allowed their oldco to die.

The newco could go the same way if they don't wake up and smell the coffee.

Keep throwing your money at Green lads. Sevco is in good hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

Stifle debate all you want. this Whyte thing won't go away.

He will sue Green and probably win, looking at the evidence he has.

What exactly is going on?

The old owner got a bribe for selling to the new one?

Fuhrer wrote: »

Apt username :pac:

Fuhrer wrote: »

Green scammed Whyte out of the club, that about sums it up.

Jelle1880 wrote: »
    Green scammed Whyte out of the club, that about sums it up.
    I think that's all there is to it as well. Whyte is throwing his Hail Mary (bad choice of words :P) and won't win a penny.

However the concern for ye, and the entertainment for everyone else, is that Green is saying he's told this idiot whatever lies he wanted to hear so he could get money off him, which is exactly what it appears he's been doing to all of you guys since day 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

I think that's all there is to it as well. Whyte is throwing his Hail Mary (bad choice of words :P) and won't win a penny.

However the concern for ye, and the entertainment for everyone else, is that Green is saying he's told this idiot whatever lies he wanted to hear so he could get money off him, which is exactly what it appears he's been doing to all of you guys since day 1.

I think the difference there though, is that to actually make money from Rangers, he needs to turn them into a sellable asset.
    Not something he can do without at least starting the job of ensuring that the club are on a steady footing both on and off the pitch.

I think the difference there though, is that to actually make money from Rangers, he needs to turn them into a sellable asset.
    Not something he can do without at least starting the job of ensuring that the club are on a steady footing both on and off the pitch.
    He is making a salary from his position is he not? And surely after recent turmoil you want someone there for the long term who wants the club to actually do well for the right reasons?

Even Murray had Rangers' best interests closer to heart than Green does, and look where that got you. Even there it could be argued that in spite of it leading to the club's demise it still brought you success (untainted in your eyes I expect). Green could well lead you to the same end but without any (proper) trophies.