Most annoying mispronunciation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 56,721 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Heard an woman talking about getting new du-vets for the beds. She pronounced the "t" every time she said the word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭kingtiger

people saying

"That game is very addictable"

its not addictable

its addictive FFS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Mayo Gurl wrote: »
    Eugh, drives me MAD when people talk about the craic they had in Chic-CARGO.

This.

Times A ZILLION.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭Brian2208

people who say flavourful instead of flavoursome annoy me. Especially when the likes of Jamie Oliver say it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭Jon_459

Crulety instead of cruelty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

Check the dictionary for accepted pronunciations of the word.

Eugh! I can't believe it's a real pronunciation. It sounds disgusting, especially since the root word definitely isn't 'hy-jee-enn'.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,397 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Vojera wrote: »
    Eugh! I can't believe it's a real pronunciation. It sounds disgusting, especially since the root word definitely isn't 'hy-jee-enn'.

The French and Greek roots have three syllables.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

No hypocrisy here then. Arland? What the actual ****?

How do you pronounce it then? The American's pronounce it i-er-land, it is a two syllable word not three.

And as for Kirsten, it is my sister's name. It is German, we were told by a German how to pronounce it. What people find annoying is a personal thing, what irks me may not irk you and vice versa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

dedocdude wrote: »
    Matt Cooper of Today FM (when hes not nasal-whistling into the mic) tends to say - "Sa-her-day"

Add to that 'Thought' (instead of taught) and Taught instead of thought! Trow in Boat (instead of throw & both) > trueout the day 'wit'
    a large dollop of the CH sound from the back of his troath, and you get the 'Noos' (instead of news) from Thigh-land on a Sa-her-day :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

I'm teaching over in Wales at the moment and I got a bit of slagging over not being able to pronounce 'th' correctly. The same people that were slagging me were also unable to pronounce it correctly - they said 'fat' or 'vat' instead of 'that'.

Some of the children say 'fat' and 'fem' so much that, when writing, they put in an 'f' instead of a 'th' in almost all of their words.

ViveLaVie wrote: »
    Well the word 'regardless' is constructed quite logically and to use 'irregardless' is illogical on the part of the user rather than the language! :confused: I don't accept that it's used for emphasis either. I've only ever heard it used in the place of 'regardless' when the person doesn't actually know the correct word is 'regardless'. It's hanging on because people don't realise it's wrong but it is definitely not right!

"Irregardless" is awful. If it were a word, it would mean "regarding".

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

LordSutch wrote: »
    Add to that 'Thought' (instead of taught) and Taught instead of thought! Trow in Boat (instead of throw & both) > trueout the day 'wit'
    a large dollop of the CH sound from the back of his troath, and you get the 'Noos' (instead of news) from Thigh-land on a Sa-her-day :))
    And the one that Matt says which makes me want to run over to Golden Lane and strangle him;

Tee-ay-ter

Two syllables, Matt! It's "Thea-ter"! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭homemadecider

I'm still trying to get my head around how anyone could pronounce 'flour' with only one syllable. Honestly I can't figure it out! Same goes for 'hour' - it has two syllables.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

I'm still trying to get my head around how anyone could pronounce 'flour' with only one syllable. Honestly I can't figure it out! Same goes for 'hour' - it has two syllables.

Yes. What I've learned from this discussion is that a lot of people don't know what a syllable is.

Edit: why is that annoying little smilie there? Keeps happening when posting from my phone.

Edit:thankfully he's gone.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 65 ✭✭LindowMan

A lot of Irish people can't seem to be able to pronounce their voiced and unvoiced dental fricatives. I don't know why.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

Mayo Gurl wrote: »
    Eugh, drives me MAD when people talk about the craic they had in Chic-CARGO.

That and Cali-FAAWNYA.
    IrishExpat wrote: »
    I despise this way of extending / changing vowels on:

meat = mayt
    eat = ayt

"Have you ayten your mayt?"

And the ridiculously sounding:

me, for my.

"I can't find me phone."

Last one:

How "do you know what I mean?" (six syllables) can turn into a 2 syllable groan of "no-meen".

Ahh that's just bogger accent. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 56,721 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Rachel Allen in her cookery programme --

"You pet the piece of better into the pat and melt it".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Rachel Allen in her cookery programme --

"You pet the piece of better into the pat and melt it".

Ugh. She has said in the past that she's "part Swedish, hence my accent".
    That's a load of bullpoo; she's putting on that faux posh accent.

She probably has the flattest Dublin accent in real life.

"Ya put the buttah into yizzer mixing bowwal and den battah the fcuk ourra it, lash into de oven and in farty minutes, ya have yizzer spunj cake, ri'?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

I hate plebs who can't pronounce my name, the idiots!!

Lord Mainwaring Menzies Featherstonhaugh Beauchamp Cholmondley-Cockburn, Earl of Buccleuch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 835 ✭✭✭kingcobra

I had a teacher once that for vinegar she used to say "vi-ni**er" with a very distinct pronunciation on the ni**ger, it didn't help that there was a black guy in the class :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭Vizzy

Lord Mainwaring Menzies Featherstonhaugh Beauchamp Cholmondley-Cockburn, Earl of Buccleuch.

Or "Boss" as all the lads on the site call you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

wolfpawnat wrote: »
    They are Irish surnames so the way they are pronounced here is the correct way. Same as the way Irish people pronounce Lukasz (Polish and the u is more of a woo I have been told) as Lucas, it's wrong because the original pronunciation in the home country is the correct one. When the Irish landed in America over the last few centuries and were processed on arrival, many Irish surnames were written incorrectly and misspelled, meaning their pronunciation was on many occasion due to the new spelling, but if it is spelled the same then there is really no excuse.

You do realise that those 'Irish' names have been anglicised and so, really, you're mispronouncing them regardless? Also, surnames change their pronunciations, it happens over time, especially if you have two surnames that find themselves removed from the other. Which, in your opinion, is the correct pronunciation? My surname has at least three different pronunciations. And that's even before we go into the different (proper) Irish versions.

I would be very surprised if the pronunciation of 'Lukasz' in Polish was completely uniform. I take it there are dialects in Polish?
    wolfpawnat wrote: »
    And as for Kirsten, it is my sister's name. It is German, we were told by a German how to pronounce it.

This is the same Germany that has so many dialects that people from the north sometimes have difficulty understanding those from the south? As for Lukasz, I am sure different Germans will pronounce your sister's name differently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Rastadoyle

loike!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 612 ✭✭✭smurfs5

Why can't some Irish people say Olly Murs's name properly? It annoys me so much.
    They say it like "Olly Moooooooooooors". They sound like a distressed cow. It's "u" FFS!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭123 LC

anyone notice the way ellen degeneres says hilarious? like 'hil-arr-ious'. It annoys me (love her though!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

I started pronouncing definitely like defi-night-ly in an ironic way a while back and now I can't stop :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭Aspiring

I'm not sure if I'm wrong here and missed something but did anyone else notice the way when talking about Nelson Mandela the RTE presenters say apartheid as a-par-thayed whereas I thought it's supposed to be a-par-thide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭miralize

A guy I knew from childhood used to pronounce bounce as bongse...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭MrCreosote

T-shock instead of Taoiseach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭sfbonner

Digital DIJIKAL