Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Protest at Tower Hotel

• 29-03-2013 3:10pm
    Registered Users Posts: 511 ✭✭✭

I would defend anyone and everyone's right to protest, but was yesterday's protest at the jobs announcement/opening of the museum really appropriate or beneficial to the people of waterford?

and then today you have some idiots calling for a boycott of the hotel, because they hosted the jobs announcement!!! JESUS WEPT!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

boycott of the hotel? seriously?

So the idiots suggesting this want to solve unemployment in Waterford by trying to cause even further unemployment?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,063 ✭✭✭Miaireland

Boycott the hotel, to create jobs?????? I love people's logic.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

What were they actually protesting against?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

DeanAustin wrote: »

Property Tax & Water Tax.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

DeanAustin wrote: »

I saw a video where most of them were shouting "shame" and a few others were shouting abuse so to me anyway its actually unclear what they were protesting.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,081 Mod ✭✭✭✭ziedth

I'd love to hear their logic behind this,

Calling for a boycott on the tower is actually the stupidest thing I have ever heard.

• Registered Users Posts: 226 ✭✭Up2NoGood

Name and shame lads....

Who are these idiots ?

What group(s) do they represent?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭Green Hornet

I work in Wexford and people are talking about the protest today. They saw it on the news. It cast a bad impression and people are coupling it with the glass news item of a couple of years ago. Not a good impression at all....

Had a quick look to see what i could find, only one fool asking for boycott in the comments on this video

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=306584002804009&comment_id=1401879&offset=0&total_comments=97&notif_t=video_reply

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Dicky Pride

"Fcuk out of Waterford Kenny you fcuking cnut" was one chant (about 8 feet away from The Taoiseach).

These people cannot be reason with. They are anarchists who would still protest if the government decided to ignore the rest of the country and just focus on Waterford from now on.

The people on the facebook page calling for a boycott of the tower hotel shows you the level of intelligence that we're dealing with here.

All the local politicans were named e.g. "Gary Wyse we know you, you're another blueshirt too" followed by cries of shame shame. Certain politicans in this county work tirelessly to do good for this city and they'll always be tarred with this brush, just because they're politicians.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Forgive them- for they know not what they do

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Up2NoGood wrote: »
    Name and shame lads....

Who are these idiots ?

Socialists are one of the groups there, if not the only group. They are running the local campaign (or part of it) against Property Tax / Water Charges / Household tax / everything.

The same crew turned up to the protests against the alleged plan to downgrade the hospital with banners and leaflets.

Your man (the young chap / kid) Tadgh Williams who spoke at the last protest commented on WLRfm Facebook having another go;
    Yes it's great news, but it still doesn't do justice to the fact that 800 jobs will still be lost in WRH thanks to the Higgins report.

800 jobs to go in WRH? News to me. I asked and was told it was the figure he kept hearing.

More speculation and jumping on the bandwagon from those with their own agendas. Do they ever give up trying to pull the city down?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,064 ✭✭✭Finnbar01

These socialists tend to be stuck in permanent teenage angst.

They made an absolute show of themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

What a bunch of cretins. The internet really has been a boom for the worst type of "(little) big man on a bar stool" commentary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Am Chile

I would defend anyone and everyone's right to protest, but was yesterday's protest at the jobs announcement/opening of the museum really appropriate or beneficial to the people of waterford?

and then today you have some idiots calling for a boycott of the hotel, because they hosted the jobs announcement!!! JESUS WEPT!

Some people it seems have a problem with anyone who dares to air a dissenting view-protests arent unique to waterford-enda kenny was met with a large number of protesters in galway a good while ago protesting over turf cutting restrictions and protests in donegal when he went there and phil hogan met by protesters in wicklow-different groups have a gripe with the government over different issues-looking at the the comments under the video only one person called for a boycott of the hotel not the whole group as you try to portray-judging from a recent survey last weekend with over two thirds surveyed opposed a property tax a lot more people oppose a property tax not just the people who turn up to protest.
    I work in Wexford and people are talking about the protest today. They saw it on the news. It cast a bad impression and people are coupling it with the glass news item of a couple of years ago. Not a good impression at all....

Most of the workers who worked in waterford crystal paid money into their pension for years-the plant closes the workers get shafted and somehow you think they were wrong to protest?

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/kenny-surrounded-by-200-bog-protesters-28902562.html

http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/poll-shows-slight-rise-in-labour-support-fg-steady-588966.html

Am Chile wrote: »
    Some people it seems have a problem with anyone who dares to air a dissenting view-protests arent unique to waterford-enda kenny was met with a large number of protesters in galway a good while ago protesting over turf cutting restrictions and protests in donegal when he went there and phil hogan met by protesters in wicklow-different groups have a gripe with the government over different issues-looking at the the comments under the video only one person called for a boycott of the hotel not the whole group as you try to portray-judging from a recent survey last weekend with over two thirds surveyed opposed a property tax a lot more people oppose a property tax not just the people who turn up to protest.

Most of the workers who worked in waterford crystal paid money into their pension for years-the plant closes the workers get shafted and somehow you think they were wrong to protest?

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/kenny-surrounded-by-200-bog-protesters-28902562.html

http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/poll-shows-slight-rise-in-labour-support-fg-steady-588966.html

It wasn't the fact that they were protesting, it was the way they went about it that has annoyed people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Am Chile

Finnbar01 wrote: »
    It wasn't the fact that they were protesting, it was the way they went about it that has annoyed people.

Having watched the video of yesterdays protest with them shouting shame I consider it a small protest compared to protests in greece and cyprus-if a politican was visiting a venue over there in the present climate protesters would do a lot more then just shout shame.

Am Chile wrote: »
    Having watched the video of yesterdays protest with them shouting shame I consider it a small protest compared to protests in greece and cyprus-if a politican was visiting a venue over there in the present climate protesters would do a lot more then just shout shame.

To be fair, the situation in Cyprus is far far worse than Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,793 ✭✭✭Hijpo

Sully wrote: »
    To be fair, the situation in Cyprus is far far worse than Ireland.

For now, doesnt the government still have a few billion to cut and find?

Hijpo wrote: »

The situation has been improving, not getting worse. Yes there are still savings that will need to be made but seeing as we have been able to meet them so far without much hassle, I can't see there being any problems down the road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭O Riain

The situation has been improving, not getting worse. Yes there are still savings that will need to be made but seeing as we have been able to meet them so far without much hassle, I can't see there being any problems down the road.

Without much hassle???? Are you actually joking me! Every man woman and child I know in this country is struggling at the moment. Dont gloss over the harsh reality of what is life in current day Ireland at the moment.

And also im further infuriated by your statement "the situation has been improving" how is it improving for the ordinary Irish person? How!

They sure do. I think it's anywhere between 8 to 10 billion in extra tax increases and cuts. Baring in mind, that's if the European and World economies don't get any much worse.

By the time those taxes and cuts are put in place, Fine Gael and Labour will get wiped out in the next general election and Fianna Fail will romp in with a large majority.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,793 ✭✭✭Hijpo

O Riain wrote: »
    Without much hassle???? Are you actually joking me! Every man woman and child I know in this country is struggling at the moment. Dont gloss over the harsh reality of what is life in current day Ireland at the moment.

And also im further infuriated by your statement "the situation has been improving" how is it improving for the ordinary Irish person? How!

Some people are reluctant to agree that the country is on its knees and refuse to acknowledge peoples disposable income being reduced which effects the economy negatively. They figure its still all rosey because there net income has only been reduced by a fiver. Just because the goverment havent come out and said "we are taxing your savings" like the Cypriots doesnt mean that they are not touching your savings.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭7upfree

O Riain wrote: »

Wasting your breath and fingers I'm afraid. There is an element in this country who fail to see the irreparable damage being done to our reputation, our economy, and - above all - our people by dimwits who were elected on what now has been shown to be a pack of lies.

But their brainwashed party drones and trolls would love you to believe otherwise. But the game is well and truly up. Thankfully.

Some people are reluctant to agree that the country is on its knees and refuse to acknowledge peoples disposable income being reduced which effects the economy negatively. They figure its still all rosey because there net income has only been reduced by a fiver. Just because the goverment havent come out and said "we are taxing your savings" like the Cypriots doesnt mean that they are not touching your savings.

Hijpo - they're already "touching" them. The unauthorised raiding of bank accounts and salary by these people is testament to that.

• Registered Users Posts: 628 ✭✭✭albert kidd

Name and shame lads....

Who are these idiots ?

i was there.

if ya want my name and address feel free to pm me up2nogood..im no idiot either by the way;)

So you're an economist as well now Sully?:D

Ah well, butty. You just keep telling yourself that. The reality is very different.
    Mass repossessions loom, the Gardai under the cosh from Government, people who can't feed their children and pay for the basics.

But hey - you go right ahead and believe otherwise.

Right, I have managed to open a can of worms and resulted in the thread being derailed so ill bow out. Feel free to create a discussion in the Politics forum if you want to further engage on the topic.

But just to clarify - O Riain. When I said "not much hassle" and "improving" I was talking about the overall state of our economic affairs. I am fully aware of the hassle many people are facing on a daily basis and I am fully aware that many people are not yet seeing the benefits on the ground of our slow economic recovery as we look to be the first to exit the bailout agreement and rejoin the markets at the end of the year.

• Registered Users Posts: 226 ✭✭Up2NoGood

i was there.

if ya want my name and address feel free to pm me up2nogood..im no idiot either by the way;)

You have taken my comment wrong, You are probably not an idiot... but your

actions may have been idiotic...unless you were one of the protesters using

reason and not making personal attacks.

Were you?

• Registered Users Posts: 628 ✭✭✭albert kidd

You have taken my comment wrong, You are probably not an idiot... but your

actions may have been idiotic...unless you were one of the protesters using

reason and not making personal attacks.

Were you?

you asked for folk who were there to be named and shamed..why do you want the peoples names splattered all over the internet?

my reason was a personal one..im not part of any group.