Enda Takes Populism To A New Low

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭ManMade

Such a low populist blow by enda.

Lads just vote for me and I'll refund your property tax.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Buzz84 wrote: »
    He's like Alan Partridge. A complete joke figure that has never done anything of note his whole career, yet somehow is the leader of our country.

der's more to Inda, than that

would you like him to lapdance for you? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,565 ✭✭✭amacca

Boombastic wrote: »
    der's more to Inda, than that

would you like him to lapdance for you? :D

whos your sexy daddy?

No I dont want that...........i've been having trouble convincing this girl I like to go out with me....i want him to call around to her place and pressure her into going out with me by offering her a lap dance

if he can get yer one a mortgage.....he can get me a fcukin date!

otherwise I'm voting shinners or independent candidate --ya hear that ends....d'ya hear that ya little bollix!

and i want my road tar macadamed too ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭Maudi

Madam_X wrote: »
    Member of the public backs him into a corner, he, as a PR stunt capitulates - talks to her bank manager as a gesture. As said, no guarantee of a mortgage being approved.
    Pretty naff IMO but I don't think worthy of the outrage either.

If he had waved her off, there could be tabloid stories of how a couple in difficult circumstances were cruelly snubbed by the Taoiseach.
    might have been whats her faces idea.the wife one..wasnt she on Meehalls side dreaming up stunts like before she met etna.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,153 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

Essien wrote: »
    The face on yer one behind the counter, I think she's a little embarrassed by the whole thing.

Star-struck, I think you mean!

He's our JFK... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭Gorilla Rising

Madam_X wrote: »
    Member of the public backs him into a corner, he, as a PR stunt capitulates - talks to her bank manager as a gesture. As said, no guarantee of a mortgage being approved.
    Pretty naff IMO but I don't think worthy of the outrage either.

If he had waved her off, there could be tabloid stories of how a couple in difficult circumstances were cruelly snubbed by the Taoiseach.

The fact that it's the leader of a country capitulating in the face of a woman looking for a mortgage and then decides to have a word with the bank manager instead of being able to come up with a reasonable and even generic political response on the spot is insane.

He's in a job that demands critical and strategic thinking. It's quite worrying.

• Administrators Posts: 56,245 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Would have been a better PR stunt for Enda to tell her to cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭The Gibzilla

He's our JFK... :D

How long will it take to get him to Dallas?
    (And I don't mean the TV show)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 188 ✭✭A fella called fish

Hang on..our leader is demanding that the bank lend a quarter of a million euro to a self employed musician and a volunteer...

I'm a Chartered Engineer and my girlfriend's a full time montessori teacher and we can't get a mortgage of more than €200k. Anyone have Enda's number?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

Hang on..our leader is demanding that the bank lend a quarter of a million euro to a self employed musician and a volunteer...

I'm a Chartered Engineer and my girlfriend's a full time montessori teacher and we can't get a mortgage of more than €200k. Anyone have Enda's number?!

Yes but everyones financial circumstances are different...

Do you have the same level of savings as this couple?

I think if you re read her job position it isn't a volunteer...for that matter do you know how much she earns?

How much do you think a self employed musician makes these days?

Exactly...people here havnt a bloody clue.. Does anyone have the full transcript of their conversation.

The first time a politician physically takes initiative rather than being hurried away by minders and people are taking the high moral ground...

Eaten bread is soon forgotten, I can see half this country crawling back to the voting booths to vote Ff with the knives still in their backs and the piss dribbling down their necks...meanwhile FF will be saying how bad the rain was outside whilst zipping up their trousers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,565 ✭✭✭amacca

Armelodie wrote: »
    Yes but everyones financial circumstances are different...

Do you have the same level of savings as this couple?

I think if you re read her job position it isn't a volunteer...for that matter do you know how much she earns?

How much do you think a self employed musician makes these days?

Exactly...people here havnt a bloody clue.. Does anyone have the full transcript of their conversation.

The first time a politician physically takes initiative rather than being hurried away by minders and people are taking the high moral ground...

Eaten bread is soon forgotten, I can see half this country crawling back to the voting booths to vote Ff with the knives still in their backs and the piss dribbling down their necks...meanwhile FF will be saying how bad the rain was outside whilst zipping up their trousers...

oooooh armelodie and enda up a tree

K . I . S . S . I . N . G

Ah come on I think you just got trapped defending this horsesh1te and now feel you have to stick with it

Do you not think it was a terrible move? do you think it was widely reported by the media because it plays well?

this country is where it is partly as a result of too many people who should'nt probably have had an earthly hope of even getting a loan full stop got way too big a loan...its not that long ago

now when the banks are tightening up (perhaps too tight but I don't think so tbh) the leader of our country in what appears to be a spur of the moment publicity stunt marches into a bank and puts pressure on demanding that this woman gets a mortgage or a meeting for a mortgage that the banks have already declined to give her presumably on the basis that they think she isn't a safe bet when it comes to repayment

if its a meeting that nothing comes of then its contemptible ham fisted hot air and bluster for pr purposes which may backfire

if its a loan that should not be given out and the bank is now somehow pressured into giving out then its worse than above

if its a loan that should be given out then why was it not give out before - is yer one a plant? - is she/her husband a nit-wit that didn't fill the form properly? is the bank hiding something? or is she just a whinge bag that Kenny humoured for publicity purposes in that case ----that btw would be the best case scenario for enda in this one imo...and even at that its not great

I give it a nostalgic meh out of 10

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

Brings "He fixed the roads" populist vote grabbing to a whole new level.

amacca wrote: »
    oooooh armelodie and enda up a tree

K . I . S . S . I . N . G

Ah come on I think you just got trapped defending this horsesh1te and now feel you have to stick with it

Do you not think it was a terrible move? do you think it was widely reported by the media because it plays well?

this country is where it is partly as a result of too many people who should'nt probably have had an earthly hope of even getting a loan full stop got way too big a loan...its not that long ago

now when the banks are tightening up (perhaps too tight but I don't think so tbh) the leader of our country in what appears to be a spur of the moment publicity stunt marches into a bank and puts pressure on demanding that this woman gets a mortgage or a meeting for a mortgage that the banks have already declined to give her presumably on the basis that they think she isn't a safe bet when it comes to repayment

if its a meeting that nothing comes of then its contemptible ham fisted hot air and bluster for pr purposes which may backfire

if its a loan that should not be given out and the bank is now somehow pressured into giving out then its worse than above

if its a loan that should be given out then why was it not give out before - is yer one a plant? - is she/her husband a nit-wit that didn't fill the form properly? is the bank hiding something? or is she just a whinge bag that Kenny humoured for publicity purposes in that case ----that btw would be the best case scenario for enda in this one imo...and even at that its not great

I give it a nostalgic meh out of 10

Ohh playground foightin it is then.....(seeing as its AH and all that)...

the banks and yor ma up a tree..

.S.H. A.G.G.I.N.G

First comes love then comes marriage..

Then comes Amacca in a carraige...

Anyway, I find it funny that a lot if people here are defending the good name of the banks, "oh the banks have very strict lending criteria don't you know" also another poster was giving out about Enda despite the fact they were bemoning not getting a mortgage even though they had two incomes....basically their argument was..to paraphrase"well I can't get a mortgage so why should a musician and his wife “...could you imagine, a musician actually earning money eh?

Has any bank lovers here not read the news (and I'm not talking about the headlines)..banks are refusing to give out mortgages to people who should be getting them...but oh no, lets all jump on the bandwagon and do playground ditties.

As I said, I think enda is a twat, but under those circumstances what would anyone here have done, mumbled to the woman about green shoots in the economy and walked on. Sure it made theheadlines, shur aren't we all taking about it... So by talking and giving out about it yeer actually highlighting how proactive enda is...

Enda or the banks?

Did people vote in the banks...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

http://www.thestar.ie/star/enda-kenny-stuns-bank-staff-with-loan-request-for-mum/

So Enda decides to try bully a bank into giving a sizeable mortgage to a family whose only income is from a self-employed musician (ie. no job security) for about 200k (house costs 250k)?
    Is it not idiotic lending like this that got us into this mess?
    And all just to try garner a few extra votes in an almost meaningless by-election.

I wonder will the spinless little git offer to go personal guaretee, since he is that determined that these people should be given a mortgage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

“if we don’t get a mortgage with the Taoiseach’s approval I don’t know what else we can do."

He has zero power when it comes to any form of mortgage approval process from a bank. If I was the bank manager I'd have told him to f*ck off.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I hate this kind of stuff. The notion that if you've got your local TD (or Taoiseach in this case) behind you, you can get something that you weren't in line for in the first place.

It's politics at its worst.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭blatantrereg

She asked him how to get a mortgage.
    He showed her that the correct procedure is to ask a bank for one.
    What's the problem?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,119 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

eh, never mind I read the article again with due care
    Plucky Kelly (29) took the chance to ask Mr Kenny for his help as he canvassed with Fine Gael candidate Helen McEntee for the Meath East by-election. :pac:
    The bank employee's face says it all :Dhttp://www.thestar.ie/star/enda-kenny-stuns-bank-staff-with-loan-request-for-mum/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,225 ✭✭✭Yitzhak Rabin

Well done Enda Kenny!

Whether he's down interacting with the people or over playing hardball in Frankfurt he performs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,376 ✭✭✭golfball37

I would always have been critical of kenny and his stage managed persona but reading things like that show me he has a human side.

I say fair play to him. He has made a persons day, made them extremely happy and made them feel important. I wish more politicians could achieve that and then we might see Politics being shown a good light in this place.

Just goes to show when he kicks off the handlers there's a person in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Some naysayers are are making a lot of assumptions here...

She said she had been saving like mad.. she didn't say how much she had saved .. they might have saved up 100k for a 250k mortgage.. not that much really to pay 150k over 20 odd years ( a good bit less than a grand a month no!).

So what, husband is a self employed musician, if he's in the game long enough it shows he can make a living out of it. Sure, if he gets sick he's probably goosed but then again isn;t that the case for anyone else in the private sector who's self employed.

Would Brian Cowen or bertie have done the same.. like fnck they would..

I do believe Enda is a bit of a bell end but if he gets a positive outcome for someone then he's done his job to the tee...

Booom...

Assumptions are fair.
    €100K savings you say???? - easy get a mortgage for say another €100K over 30 years for a nice house in Ashbourne. Very affordable and the bank should jump at such equity (50%) at current market values. We can assume then that she doesn't.

Good living by the husband? He will have accounts to show this and again the banks would be convinced. We can assume then that he doesn't.

Yes Bertie and Brian would do same. People who are angry at this stunt are not seeking a change of government so much as a change in behaviour by whoever is in government. Petty clientelism is not the way forward for Irish politics, certainly not at Taoiseach level.

People getting a mortgage that is beyond their means is NOT a good outcome for any party (no pun intended).
    He's in a job that demands critical and strategic thinking. It's quite worrying.

Strategy is to get re-elected. Publicity stunts are a proven tactic, forming part of that strategy. Not a fool our Enda. A disgrace maybe.

She asked him how to get a mortgage.
    He showed her that the correct procedure is to ask a bank for one.
    What's the problem?

I think it's the green eyed irish monster blatantrereg, people here are jealous because...

1. A public representative made a public representation.
    2. A woman tried to better her families situation.
    3. A woman works for a charity organisation but gets paid.
    4. A politician gets his name in the headlines for doing something.
    5. A musician actually might have an income more than theirs.

Funny the way most if the people here are siding with what olivia o leary called a ' protestant institution' .... Still tugging the old forelock to our colonial forefathers I see

I think it's the green eyed irish monster blatantrereg, people here are jealous because...

Does not compute... why would anyone be jealous of any of these made up 'reasons' you mentioned?

Funny the way most if the people here are siding with what olivia o leary called a ' protestant institution' .... Still tugging the old forelock to our colonial forefathers I see

If it's all so hunky dory, why does she need a public representative to fight her case in the bank?

Why is she looking at a €250,000 mortgage, when they is cheaper properties available in the area and herself and the husband are sharing the bed with their child?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,119 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

If it's all so hunky dory, why does she need a public representative to fight her case in the bank?

Why is she looking at a €250,000 mortgage, when they is cheaper properties available in the area and herself and the husband are sharing the bed with their child?
    Dunno.
    Write to her
    Plucky, Her parents house, Ashbourne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭alphabeat

Pity Benda Kenny couldn't take the Troika by the hand and show them the door ,

instead of taking it up the ass and us with him.

She rents a tiny inadequate space to raise a child and we're to believe she has a decent sized deposit and can afford the mortgage now?

smash wrote: »
    She rents a tiny inadequate space to raise a child and we're to believe she has a decent sized deposit and can afford the mortgage now?

I'd say rent is minimal. They're living in a double bed (I presume, it could turn out to be a single bed) in mammys house. How much rent does a bed demand these days? nothing like at the heights of the celtic tiger, that's for sure :D

I'd say rent is minimal. They're living in a double bed (I presume, it could turn out to be a single bed) in mammys house.

With a 5yr old too, not like it's a baby.

"after being refused a mortgage last year" - get over it, rent and stop looking to buy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭Andersonisgod

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Sure if he walked right past her we'd be having a moan about how he doesnt care about the people.

Cant win.

I'm sure there's a happy medium that doesn't involve the leader of the country dragging random people off the street into banks and demanding that they be given loans that they can't afford to pay back.