Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Enda Takes Populism To A New Low

• 26-03-2013 11:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.thestar.ie/star/enda-kenny-stuns-bank-staff-with-loan-request-for-mum/
    young mum who Enda Kenny has vowed to help get a mortgage told The Star she has been sharing a single bedroom with her husband and child for the past year. The Taoiseach stunned Bank of Ireland staff in Ashbourne, Co Meath, yesterday when he marched Kelly Petit up to the bank’s manager and demanded that she be given a mortgage.
    Plucky Kelly (29) took the chance to ask Mr Kenny for his help as he canvassed with Fine Gael candidate Helen McEntee for the Meath East by-election.
    Kelly last night told The Star she and husband Joe have been saving like mad after being refused a mortgage last year.
    The couple have moved into her parents’ home in Ashbourne as they save for a dream four-bed €250,000 home in the town.
    Kelly, a regional volunteer organiser for the ISPCC, and Joe, a self-employed musician, have been sharing a bed with five-year-old daughter Saian.
    “I was actually waiting out-side the bank for Joe to arrive when I clocked Enda canvassing and I thought I’d take my chances by asking him how I could get a mortgage,” she said.
    “As soon as I mentioned it he took me by the hand and brought me into the bank and asked to see the manager.
    “The staff in the bank were totally gobsmacked to see the Taoiseach coming in with a customer and especially when he asked the manager ‘Can you give this lady a mortgage?’
    “The poor manager said she was busy as she had a mortgage meeting coming up — but that was with myself and Joe.”
    The determined Taoiseach told Kelly that he would follow up on his mortgage request with the bank for her.
    “He even gave me his card with his contact details on it and told me to keep in touch,” she said.
    “The bank said they will do their best for us — but if we don’t get a mortgage with the Taoiseach’s approval I don’t know what else we can do.
    “I know it was all a bit of a stunt but if it helps us get the house we want then great.”

So Enda decides to try bully a bank into giving a sizeable mortgage to a family whose only income is from a self-employed musician (ie. no job security) for about 200k (house costs 250k)?
    Is it not idiotic lending like this that got us into this mess?
    And all just to try garner a few extra votes in an almost meaningless by-election.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

What could possible go wrong? Sure it would be an investment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Dwork

"can you give this lady a mortgage?"

Thanks for the help Enda, I'd say that'd be a real deal clincher right there. Go you. Tool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

http://www.thestar.ie/star/enda-kenny-stuns-bank-staff-with-loan-request-for-mum/

So Enda decides to try bully a bank into giving a sizeable mortgage to a family whose only income is from a self-employed musician (ie. job security) for about 200k (house costs 250k)?
    And all just to try garner a few extra votes in an almost meaningless by-election.

He got them a meeting, they haven't a hope of getting a mortgage. No story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭smallerthanyou

Saian? Jaysus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭Maudi

So Enda decides to try bully a bank into giving a sizeable mortgage to a family whose only income is from a self-employed musician (ie. job security) for about 200k (house costs 250k)?
    good old bellenda what a gob****e!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

If she wants a home then she should set her sights a little lower than a 250,000 euro property.

Jesus women you cant have everything!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Sure if he walked right past her we'd be having a moan about how he doesnt care about the people.

Cant win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

A mortgage for €250,000 as if she hadn't enough problems with her self employed musician husband, unless he's Johnny Logan, he's from Ashbourne

Plenty of cheaper houses in Ashbourne

http://www.daft.ie/searchsale.daft?s%5Bcc_id%5D=c2&s%5Ba_id%5D=2821&s%5Bmnp%5D=&s%5Bmxp%5D=&s%5Bmnb%5D=&s%5Bmxb%5D=&s%5Bmna%5D=&s%5Bmxa%5D=&s%5Bpt_id%5D=&search=1&s%5Bsearch_type%5D=sale&s%5Brefreshmap%5D=1&search_type=sale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭jazz101

Hardly a big deal. Politician in simple voter appeal shocker. I was impressed that he debated the Garda yesterday though, rather than have him sent away.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Jesus Enda fair play you have my vote...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Systemic Risk

I would imagine they have two incomes. She is a regional volunterr organiser for ispcc. I would read this as she is paid to organise ispcc volunteers in her region.

Bit of a stunt on kennys part alright though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Dwork

jazz101 wrote: »
    Hardly a big deal. Politician in simple voter appeal shocker. I was impressed that he debated the Garda yesterday though, rather than have him sent away.
    "Hello Commissioner, Enda here. I want to enquire into vacancies for a Gard in the 4rse-hole of nowhere, I have someone I met earlier in mind.... Mayo you say? Sound good to me Commissioner.".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

The face on yer one behind the counter, I think she's a little embarrassed by the whole thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭aramush

Nauseating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Had this happened in 2005 they wouldn't have needed Enda, the bank manager would have just tossed the money out the door at them, and thrown in a bit extra for an Audi and a world cruise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

They don't need a €250,000 four bedroom home. They could get a two bedroom apartment for a lot less than that and upscale in a few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,201 ✭✭✭amacca

aramush wrote: »
    Nauseating.

Indeed...and my sick bucket overfloweth at the moment just to add to my woes

heres hoping no more vomit inducing moments from now till good friday so some evaporation may make some more room

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

Some naysayers are are making a lot of assumptions here...

She said she had been saving like mad.. she didn't say how much she had saved .. they might have saved up 100k for a 250k mortgage.. not that much really to pay 150k over 20 odd years ( a good bit less than a grand a month no!).

So what, husband is a self employed musician, if he's in the game long enough it shows he can make a living out of it. Sure, if he gets sick he's probably goosed but then again isn;t that the case for anyone else in the private sector who's self employed.

Would Brian Cowen or bertie have done the same.. like fnck they would..

I do believe Enda is a bit of a bell end but if he gets a positive outcome for someone then he's done his job to the tee...

Booom...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭Steve O

Well look at that, a photographer with a high resolution camera just happened to be there?!

What a humourous quinky dink.

Is her name really Plucky?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

Sorry but how can anyone defend the leader of our country enter a bank and demand that the bank give a mortgage to someone? Seriously. The country is ****ed and he is trying to sort out one persons issue. This should be left to local representatives and the banks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

Boombastic wrote: »
    Is her name really Plucky?

eh, never mind I read the article again with due care

Plucky Kelly (29) took the chance to ask Mr Kenny for his help as he canvassed with Fine Gael candidate Helen McEntee for the Meath East by-election. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭Hunchback

Armelodie wrote: »
    Some naysayers are are making a lot of assumptions here...

She said she had been saving like mad.. she didn't say how much she had saved .. they might have saved up 100k for a 250k mortgage.. not that much really to pay 150k over 20 odd years ( a good bit less than a grand a month no!).

So what, husband is a self employed musician, if he's in the game long enough it shows he can make a living out of it. Sure, if he gets sick he's probably goosed but then again isn;t that the case for anyone else in the private sector who's self employed.

I do believe Enda is a bit of a bell end but if he gets a positive outcome for someone then he's done his job to the tee...

Booom...

If they had 110k saved they wouldn't be sharing a bed with their five year old daughter

Booom...

and if he hasn't? i.e.: lets say he gets them the mortgage and it turns out they cant afford it....will Inda foot the bill seeing as he is vouching for her or will the taxpayer end up footing it?......I have no issue with it if he goes guarantor and puts up his own property as collateral should the whole thing go south

if he does then hes a grad fella altogether

if it was simply grandstanding to get them a meeting in which he and possibly they are sure they dont have a snowballs then he remains a bell end imo

oh the ironing.....wasn't part of the problem that these two helped create/perpetuate a system where loads of people who shouldn't have got loans for amounts they shouldn't have - not just one couple - I'd say Inda has a lot of catching up to do tbh

ps: oh yeah sorry forgot to add infacteh BOOM!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

So he's appealing to voters by using his position to get an acquaintance of his a mortgage she may not be entitled to.

I hope the irony isn't lost on the utter gombeen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭Buzz84

He's like Alan Partridge. A complete joke figure that has never done anything of note his whole career, yet somehow is the leader of our country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

Member of the public backs him into a corner, he, as a PR stunt capitulates - talks to her bank manager as a gesture. As said, no guarantee of a mortgage being approved.
    Pretty naff IMO but I don't think worthy of the outrage either.

If he had waved her off, there could be tabloid stories of how a couple in difficult circumstances were cruelly snubbed by the Taoiseach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Retrovertigo

There's no way in hell unless her savings are huge that she will get a mortgage and she knows as much.

I love this part of the article:
    “I know it was all a bit of a stunt but if it helps us get the house we want then great.”

But Kelly is still not sure she’ll vote for Fine Gael, saying she will “wait and see”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,282 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Wonder does old Edna K know he has a doppelgänger screwing around with the banks, Oh wait!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭ManMade

Such a low populist blow by enda.

Lads just vote for me and I'll refund your property tax.

Buzz84 wrote: »
    He's like Alan Partridge. A complete joke figure that has never done anything of note his whole career, yet somehow is the leader of our country.

der's more to Inda, than that

would you like him to lapdance for you? :D

der's more to Inda, than that

would you like him to lapdance for you? :D

whos your sexy daddy?

No I dont want that...........i've been having trouble convincing this girl I like to go out with me....i want him to call around to her place and pressure her into going out with me by offering her a lap dance

if he can get yer one a mortgage.....he can get me a fcukin date!

otherwise I'm voting shinners or independent candidate --ya hear that ends....d'ya hear that ya little bollix!

and i want my road tar macadamed too ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭Maudi

Madam_X wrote: »
    Member of the public backs him into a corner, he, as a PR stunt capitulates - talks to her bank manager as a gesture. As said, no guarantee of a mortgage being approved.

If he had waved her off, there could be tabloid stories of how a couple in difficult circumstances were cruelly snubbed by the Taoiseach.
    might have been whats her faces idea.the wife one..wasnt she on Meehalls side dreaming up stunts like before she met etna.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

Essien wrote: »
    The face on yer one behind the counter, I think she's a little embarrassed by the whole thing.

Star-struck, I think you mean!

He's our JFK... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭Gorilla Rising

Madam_X wrote: »

The fact that it's the leader of a country capitulating in the face of a woman looking for a mortgage and then decides to have a word with the bank manager instead of being able to come up with a reasonable and even generic political response on the spot is insane.

He's in a job that demands critical and strategic thinking. It's quite worrying.

• Administrators Posts: 54,421 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Would have been a better PR stunt for Enda to tell her to cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭The Gibzilla

He's our JFK... :D

How long will it take to get him to Dallas?
    (And I don't mean the TV show)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 188 ✭✭A fella called fish

Hang on..our leader is demanding that the bank lend a quarter of a million euro to a self employed musician and a volunteer...

I'm a Chartered Engineer and my girlfriend's a full time montessori teacher and we can't get a mortgage of more than €200k. Anyone have Enda's number?!

Hang on..our leader is demanding that the bank lend a quarter of a million euro to a self employed musician and a volunteer...

I'm a Chartered Engineer and my girlfriend's a full time montessori teacher and we can't get a mortgage of more than €200k. Anyone have Enda's number?!

Yes but everyones financial circumstances are different...

Do you have the same level of savings as this couple?

I think if you re read her job position it isn't a volunteer...for that matter do you know how much she earns?

How much do you think a self employed musician makes these days?

Exactly...people here havnt a bloody clue.. Does anyone have the full transcript of their conversation.

The first time a politician physically takes initiative rather than being hurried away by minders and people are taking the high moral ground...

Eaten bread is soon forgotten, I can see half this country crawling back to the voting booths to vote Ff with the knives still in their backs and the piss dribbling down their necks...meanwhile FF will be saying how bad the rain was outside whilst zipping up their trousers...

Yes but everyones financial circumstances are different...

Do you have the same level of savings as this couple?

I think if you re read her job position it isn't a volunteer...for that matter do you know how much she earns?

How much do you think a self employed musician makes these days?

Exactly...people here havnt a bloody clue.. Does anyone have the full transcript of their conversation.

The first time a politician physically takes initiative rather than being hurried away by minders and people are taking the high moral ground...

Eaten bread is soon forgotten, I can see half this country crawling back to the voting booths to vote Ff with the knives still in their backs and the piss dribbling down their necks...meanwhile FF will be saying how bad the rain was outside whilst zipping up their trousers...

oooooh armelodie and enda up a tree

K . I . S . S . I . N . G

Ah come on I think you just got trapped defending this horsesh1te and now feel you have to stick with it

Do you not think it was a terrible move? do you think it was widely reported by the media because it plays well?

this country is where it is partly as a result of too many people who should'nt probably have had an earthly hope of even getting a loan full stop got way too big a loan...its not that long ago

now when the banks are tightening up (perhaps too tight but I don't think so tbh) the leader of our country in what appears to be a spur of the moment publicity stunt marches into a bank and puts pressure on demanding that this woman gets a mortgage or a meeting for a mortgage that the banks have already declined to give her presumably on the basis that they think she isn't a safe bet when it comes to repayment

if its a meeting that nothing comes of then its contemptible ham fisted hot air and bluster for pr purposes which may backfire

if its a loan that should not be given out and the bank is now somehow pressured into giving out then its worse than above

if its a loan that should be given out then why was it not give out before - is yer one a plant? - is she/her husband a nit-wit that didn't fill the form properly? is the bank hiding something? or is she just a whinge bag that Kenny humoured for publicity purposes in that case ----that btw would be the best case scenario for enda in this one imo...and even at that its not great

I give it a nostalgic meh out of 10

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

Brings "He fixed the roads" populist vote grabbing to a whole new level.

amacca wrote: »
    oooooh armelodie and enda up a tree

K . I . S . S . I . N . G

Ah come on I think you just got trapped defending this horsesh1te and now feel you have to stick with it

Do you not think it was a terrible move? do you think it was widely reported by the media because it plays well?

this country is where it is partly as a result of too many people who should'nt probably have had an earthly hope of even getting a loan full stop got way too big a loan...its not that long ago

now when the banks are tightening up (perhaps too tight but I don't think so tbh) the leader of our country in what appears to be a spur of the moment publicity stunt marches into a bank and puts pressure on demanding that this woman gets a mortgage or a meeting for a mortgage that the banks have already declined to give her presumably on the basis that they think she isn't a safe bet when it comes to repayment

if its a meeting that nothing comes of then its contemptible ham fisted hot air and bluster for pr purposes which may backfire

if its a loan that should not be given out and the bank is now somehow pressured into giving out then its worse than above

if its a loan that should be given out then why was it not give out before - is yer one a plant? - is she/her husband a nit-wit that didn't fill the form properly? is the bank hiding something? or is she just a whinge bag that Kenny humoured for publicity purposes in that case ----that btw would be the best case scenario for enda in this one imo...and even at that its not great

I give it a nostalgic meh out of 10

Ohh playground foightin it is then.....(seeing as its AH and all that)...

the banks and yor ma up a tree..

.S.H. A.G.G.I.N.G

First comes love then comes marriage..

Then comes Amacca in a carraige...

Anyway, I find it funny that a lot if people here are defending the good name of the banks, "oh the banks have very strict lending criteria don't you know" also another poster was giving out about Enda despite the fact they were bemoning not getting a mortgage even though they had two incomes....basically their argument was..to paraphrase"well I can't get a mortgage so why should a musician and his wife “...could you imagine, a musician actually earning money eh?

Has any bank lovers here not read the news (and I'm not talking about the headlines)..banks are refusing to give out mortgages to people who should be getting them...but oh no, lets all jump on the bandwagon and do playground ditties.

As I said, I think enda is a twat, but under those circumstances what would anyone here have done, mumbled to the woman about green shoots in the economy and walked on. Sure it made theheadlines, shur aren't we all taking about it... So by talking and giving out about it yeer actually highlighting how proactive enda is...

Enda or the banks?

Did people vote in the banks...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

So Enda decides to try bully a bank into giving a sizeable mortgage to a family whose only income is from a self-employed musician (ie. no job security) for about 200k (house costs 250k)?

I wonder will the spinless little git offer to go personal guaretee, since he is that determined that these people should be given a mortgage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

“if we don’t get a mortgage with the Taoiseach’s approval I don’t know what else we can do."

He has zero power when it comes to any form of mortgage approval process from a bank. If I was the bank manager I'd have told him to f*ck off.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I hate this kind of stuff. The notion that if you've got your local TD (or Taoiseach in this case) behind you, you can get something that you weren't in line for in the first place.

It's politics at its worst.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭blatantrereg

She asked him how to get a mortgage.
    He showed her that the correct procedure is to ask a bank for one.
    What's the problem?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

eh, never mind I read the article again with due care
    Plucky Kelly (29) took the chance to ask Mr Kenny for his help as he canvassed with Fine Gael candidate Helen McEntee for the Meath East by-election. :pac:
    The bank employee's face says it all :Dhttp://www.thestar.ie/star/enda-kenny-stuns-bank-staff-with-loan-request-for-mum/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,225 ✭✭✭Yitzhak Rabin

Well done Enda Kenny!

Whether he's down interacting with the people or over playing hardball in Frankfurt he performs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,813 ✭✭✭golfball37

I would always have been critical of kenny and his stage managed persona but reading things like that show me he has a human side.

I say fair play to him. He has made a persons day, made them extremely happy and made them feel important. I wish more politicians could achieve that and then we might see Politics being shown a good light in this place.

Just goes to show when he kicks off the handlers there's a person in there.