Hinds found guilty of murder

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭space_man

You don't actually know that, and the facts wouldn't support such a supposition.
    That said he appears to be a very cold and self obsessed character, certainly got off lightly with the sentence.

http://www.mcafee.cc/Bin/sb.html

that or he'll start up his own happy-clappy church when he gets back to Memphis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

woodoo wrote: »
    The liklihood is he will be out in 5 years. That is a shockingly weak sentence for a murder conviction, especially since he lied through his teeth and cast aspersions on Nicola Furlong's character. I would have expected more from Japan.

The one consolation from it all is that there is a good chance he'll be a broken man when he gets out. If there's one thing Japan is notorious for, it's mental torture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,273 ✭✭✭Hoop66

Horrible thing to happen to a young woman away from home.

What needs to come from this is that young lads need to be educated that having sex with a comatose young woman, expecially if you drugged her, doesn't make you a "playa". It makes you a creepy rapist cunt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

If there's one thing Japan is notorious for, it's mental torture.

Care to elaborate?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 48 moon_man

Hoop66 wrote: »

What needs to come from this is that young lads need to be educated that having sex with a comatose young woman, expecially if you drugged her, doesn't make you a "playa". It makes you a creepy rapist cunt.

that and how young white women shouldnt be so trusting with strange rappers while in a foreign country

moon_man wrote: »
    that and how young white women shouldnt be so trusting with strange rappers while in a foreign country

sure, blame the victim.

space_man wrote: »
    sure, blame the victim.

no , just replying within the context of the previous post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,484 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Hoop66 wrote: »

What kind of horrible culture and upbringing would you have to be told that is wrong?

Red Pepper wrote: »
    Care to elaborate?

Japanese prisons are apparently notorious for their conditions - complete silence at all times unless permission is given, no foreign languages allowed, a lot of solitary confinement, extremely strict visitation rights, supervised labour where you are not allowed to take your eyes off the work at any moment or you get thrown in solitary confinement. It's very tough going, by all accounts, and it's all mental, not physical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,273 ✭✭✭Hoop66

I disagree. If the first part is successful - "don't rape women" - then there's no need for women to be suspicious/scared of people they meet; be they rappers, fiddle-players or just good honest racists.

Ush1 wrote: »
    What kind of horrible culture and upbringing would you have to be told that is wrong?

none , its just commonplace theese days to try and imply that men are universally deviant

i think it's called Rap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

One where the macho stereotypes are continually reinforced.

This case had me thinking about the football "stars" rape video which has also been talked about a lot recently. In some groups, this kind of misogynistic machismo is encouraged and lauded by peers. It's an attitude which paints women as little more than trophies to be won, and belittles any woman who might attempt to assert herself as an equal.

This can be seen by the attitudes which paint the men as victims of "boys will be boys" getting a little out of hand, excusing straight-up sexual assault and rape as if it's not that big a deal and something that happens to everyone at some point.

This exists everywhere, this isn't an American issue or a rural issue. Culturally and socially it's been mostly eradicated from the public eye, but strip away the politically-correct language and the watchful eyes of the opposite sex, stick a group of macho-minded friends into a room with some beer and you'll see a lot of scummy language come out, uncorrected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭KetchupKid

Traces of lidocaine (which is widely used as a date rape drug) were found in her system. Defense lawyers argued that it was due to the fact that a tracheal tube had been inserted by paramedics, but prosecutors and a forensic expert witness maintain that because she was already dead at that time, it would have been impossible for it to make its way through her blood stream.

OK, but I assume Nicola's friend didn't get a tracheal tube, was she ever tested for traces of lidocaine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭mccarthy37

As a father to three daughters I found Hinds defense hard to read. I don't know how the family of Nicola sat in court as this disgusting individual told lie after lie and done his best to blacken this poor girl's name. He may have received a very light sentence but for the rest of his life he is a murderer and a rapist. Sadly this sort of crime is not something that happen's in far of shore's as this country has had its fair share of truly shocking crimes that have brought shame on us all. For her family I'M afraid it will be a life of torment wondering if she had never met this evil little Pr*ck.

seamus wrote: »

This case had me thinking about the football "stars" rape video which has also been talked about a lot recently. In some groups, this kind of misogynistic machismo is encouraged and lauded by peers. It's an attitude which paints women as little more than trophies to be won, and belittles any woman who might attempt to assert herself as an equal.

This can be seen by the attitudes which paint the men as victims of "boys will be boys" getting a little out of hand, excusing straight-up sexual assault and rape as if it's not that big a deal and something that happens to everyone at some point.

This exists everywhere, this isn't an American issue or a rural issue. Culturally and socially it's been mostly eradicated from the public eye, but strip away the politically-correct language and the watchful eyes of the opposite sex, stick a group of macho-minded friends into a room with some beer and you'll see a lot of scummy language come out, uncorrected.

this is the kind of ( vincent browne like ) stuff i keep hearing lately , men are pathalogically inclinced to engage in negative acts of destruction , we are by nature a problem which needs fixing by enlightened liberals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

KetchupKid wrote: »
    OK, but I assume Nicola's friend didn't get a tracheal tube, was she ever tested for traces of lidocaine?

Yes, she was, and no drugs besides alcohol were found.

According to the testimony of Nicola's friend, they brought vodka with them and started drinking on the train to Tokyo. They also drank at the concert. It sounds like the bulk of the drinking they did took place before they even met the Americans.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

You must have no kids of your own.

And that justifies the thinly veiled racism and calls for rape, murder and torture here? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

men are pathalogically inclinced to engage in negative acts of destruction
    Wow, there's a massive leap if ever I saw one.
    I don't believe I said anything remotely like that.

Wow, there's a massive leap if ever I saw one.
    I don't believe I said anything remotely like that.

you called for re-education of men who engage in off colour crude language

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

The one consolation from it all is that there is a good chance he'll be a broken man when he gets out. If there's one thing Japan is notorious for, it's mental torture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

The most infuriating part of all this is that under Japanese law he is still a "minor" until the age of 20. And he was only tried as such. In pretty much every other country in the world, once you're over 18, you're an adult.

Had this crime taken place in Ireland/UK/France/Germany/Spain/any-European-country, he'd have gotten 10-15 years at a minimum, if not life for murder with malice aforethought and rape. Had this crime taken place in certain states in the USA, he'd be on Death Row for the crime. Had this crime taken place in certain countries in Africa/Asia, he'd also be on Death Row.

I'm firmly anti-death penalty. I don't believe that it is right for anyone to take a life, no matter what the circumstances. What I was just highlighting above is how he would have fared in other jurisdictions had the case been brought to trial there. Nobody deserves to be killed by another person, even if that person is doing so under the guidance and protection of the State (ie. capital punishment).

The sentence he received (5 years min, 10 years max) is totally out of proportion for the crime he committed (murder and rape; dress it up however you would like, that is what he did). He ended another human being's life and he forced sexual intercourse on her. Her state of mind or her level of intoxication should have no bearing upon this.

He knew what he was doing, he knew it was wrong and he then proceeded to slander his victim in court in a vain attempt to get off the hook. The girl's family had to sit in court and watch and listen as her reputation and life were dragged through the gutter. They had already lost their child; now, they had to watch her memory tarnished and spat on by the man who took their child.

There are no words to describe what a purely repugnant and vile individual he is. I certainly hope that the labour and prison sentence he serves is hard. I would not wish violence upon him, but I certainly hope that he is sewing mail-bags, making licence plates, etc. for the next decade and that somewhere along the way, he may learn remorse and realise what an awful act he perpetrated (I somehow doubt he will, though).

this is the kind of ( vincent browne like ) stuff i keep hearing lately , men are pathalogically inclinced to engage in negative acts of destruction , we are by nature a problem which needs fixing by enlightened liberals

unfortunately the vast majority of rapes & murders are committed by men, but not all men are rapists and murderers. that's just nonsense.
    there are many decent, honourable men, here and everywhere else.
    i think seamus needs to have a good honest look at his buddies if that's the type they readily revert to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

I think there's a lot of knee-jerk reaction to this case and sentence.

From my following of the case

- the victim wasn't drugged (she was hopelessly drunk and enourmously vulnerable, a state that Hinds was willing to take advantage of)
    - no one has ever claimed that Hinds set out with the intention of strangling his victim to death. He was a horny perv who got his kicks from the idea of strangling. But he had no motive to strangle to death a woman in his own hotel room.

So he took advantage of a woman who was not in a position to give her consent. A very grave, awful crime. But I seriously doubt he set out with the intention to murder her.

I agree with some comments here though that it would have made more sense (IMO) if he got the full 10 years....as opposed to 5-10.

The victim's sister has asked for the death penalty but the parents have not been calling for that. Likewise, the sister has said she's disgusted with the sentence but (I think, am open to correction) the parents have said they understand that, if he serves the 10 years, that's the most he could have gotten.

Some people wishing rape and death on him (Hinds) would want to take a look at themselves.

Started reading the report on the japanese prison
    I had 1 kilo of hashish in my possession and I was convicted for violating the cannabis control laws of Japan. For my crime I was sentenced to 5 years forced labor and sent to Fuchu prison in Tokyo.

Carry hash OR rape & murder...
    jayz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,484 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

I agree and when we are so shocked about the cases like what has happened in India recently, but there is a similar disconnect in many places around the world where certain groups(in these cases women) are treated as not even human.

Empathy seems totally abandoned even in stories you hear in America about frat houses/football teams raping women and laughing about it.

It's not like these people don't have mothers and sisters either.

old hippy wrote: »

I mean in the case of prison systems. Goes way back to their treatment of POWs. Their prison conditions are harsh on the mind, rather than the body.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

old hippy wrote: »
    And that justifies the thinly veiled racism and calls for rape, murder and torture here? :rolleyes:
    This is a public message board and people are entitled to vent their spleen at what they feel is a very unjust sentence which was handed down to the scumball Hinds. As for your "thinly veiled" racism remake to the best of my knowledge there has only been one real poster showing out and out racism to which he has received a red card from the moderation team on the site. You seem to lack the basic empathy and understanding why so many people are upset which was why i asked the question have you kids of your own. But than again as a long time lurker on here before i jumped into the water i have observed you have an agenda of your own.