If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Tell us about your cycle Yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Did almost a similar route from Rush but headed into Dublin after Clontarf and back out via the R132 totaling 83kms. Tough going on the coast road out of Malahide. I was intending to do a lap of Howth Head but my front deraileur seems to have stuck so I aborted. Didn't fancy trying it on the big ring!

(Did a little diversion near Raheny to try to bag a KOM but only managed 2nd :))

Yep. It was a bit of a slog past Malahide. Could only average 25km per hour during that stretch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,134 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

billyhead wrote: »
    Yep. It was a bit of a slog past Malahide. Could only average 25km per hour during that stretch
    I doubt if I averaged much over 20 for the first few kms after The Grand - it's where I felt I had to drop to the small ring (and then discovered it was jammed).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭denbatt

Visiting my folks down on the Beara peninsula so had hoped to do the full ring. Went out this morning at half eight and was quickly demoralized by the wind, it was horrific! Took me over an hour to go from my parents house to the turn off for the healy pass 26k and feck all climbing, up the pass I went with no major hassle from the wind except on the fue switchbacks! Crested the top and on the descent the wind was actually scary, I couldn't even get the bike over 20k on a section where I would normally be hitting between 50 or 60k. Back down to the main road and just took it home deciding not to bother going around by Allihies, disappointed tbh but still got 60k in and over 700m climbed. Better than nothing I guess. Cant wait to get back down when the weather is a bit better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

denbatt wrote: »
    Visiting my folks down on the Beara peninsula so had hoped to do the full ring. Went out this morning at half eight and was quickly demoralized by the wind, it was horrific! Took me over an hour to go from my parents house to the turn off for the healy pass 26k and feck all climbing, up the pass I went with no major hassle from the wind except on the fue switchbacks! Crested the top and on the descent the wind was actually scary, I couldn't even get the bike over 20k on a section where I would normally be hitting between 50 or 60k. Back down to the main road and just took it home deciding not to bother going around by Allihies, disappointed tbh but still got 60k in and over 700m climbed. Better than nothing I guess. Cant wait to get back down when the weather is a bit better.
    done it last summer stunning part of the country tough enough auld cycling fair play o you i stayed in me bed.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭triggermortis

http://app.strava.com/activities/44119927

Out for a spin today and felt like turning back after 10K or so as my left hamstring felt quite sore and I seemed to be cycling through syrup. Plodded on a bit as I wasn't sure where to go, or how I'd do and ended up doing 50K and getting a couple of PR's on strava segments along the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭shaka

Do the pass a fair bit in summer myself will have to keep an eye out for you. Cracking cycling country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭on_the_nickel

Took a spin out to Kinsale and was flying along, so extended it out to the Old Head.

Reflected on what a disgrace it is that the head is inaccessible to the general public and then grovelled the 30 odd kilometres home into a b*stard head wind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭route66

Took a spin out to Kinsale and was flying along, so extended it out to the Old Head.

Reflected on what a disgrace it is that the head is inaccessible to the general public and then grovelled the 30 odd kilometres home into a b*stard head wind.

Indeed. I wonder how they manged that when - surely - there would have been a well-established public right of way in place for many years. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭on_the_nickel

route66 wrote: »
    Indeed. I wonder how they manged that when - surely - there would have been a well-established public right of way in place for many years. :mad:

I've only been in Cork for a few years, but it really boils my p*ss. (Even more so when some f*cker in a pink polo shirt and Pringle jumper tries to overtake you in his Beemer on the way back down.)

As with everything in this country, money talks.

shaka wrote: »

Do the pass a fair bit in summer myself will have to keep an eye out for you. Cracking cycling country

Yeah. I don't get down half often enough cuz of work every second weekend:-(. I always seem to favor going up the cork side for some reason, I'm 'The Toecutter' on strava if yer looking ;-)

Not on strava as of yet. Usually head up from lauragh simply because its closer start, you can't miss me I'm all gut and no go :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,209 ✭✭✭buffalo

I am slowly re-gaining my right to be King of Howth. Raaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaam!!

(As long as Mr Grieves stays away.)

Finished my night shift this morning @ 9am, when i seen the sunshine i could not get home quick enough, knowing that i was off work tonight and tomorrow, my wife working til 8;30pm and my daughter having a play date after school and not needing collecting til 5pm their was only one thing to do, stuff my face as quick as i could and wait a while before heading out on the bike :) sleep? Who needs it? it's dry and sunny, Woo hoo! So while digesting i decided to clean the bike after my spin sunday it was a bit dirty and had got pretty wet so the chain was manky, cleaned it up checked my tires for pressure filled my bottles and did a fue stretches n stuff, pockets loaded with bananas and strava turned on and off i went, after about 4 or 5 k i started a 7.5k 150m odd climb i have to admit before i got to the top of it i was starting to doubt how long a spin i was actually able for. But on i went soaking up the sun and peace and quiet on the country roads and a fine healthy smell of cow sh!t, "aah life is good" i thought. So winded my way down to kinsale where i stopped and took a couple of snaps messing around with the panoramic function on the phone, ended up taking a route i hadn't tried before down towards Oysterhaven then cutting across to Carrigaline, by the time i reached Douglas my speedo was reading 88km so i said i may as well wind down and try and make it the ton while i'm at it, So great day on the bike 106km covered and over 1100m of climbing, but i cannot even begin to describe how wrecked i am now, up sense 7:30pm Tuesday!! Just got my little one to bed, Good night folks!!

http://app.strava.com/activities/44258412

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,270 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

It was a cold but bright morning this moring. Got a nice spin out and a new PB (and moved up to 4th overall on strava) on a segment I have been trying to crack for months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭KingIsabella

Only back on the bike veery recently, exercise mostly!

Dunno if this is enough really but its a start anyway until I start building back up the tolerance!! For the time being this is a route...works out roughly 9 kilometers...gonna go out and do it now..bump if up as needs be!!

From Crumlin Hospital...out crumlin road...up dolhpin road...back in davitt road..follow the naas road in as far as the garage and back in the long mile road back to the hospital!
    (couldnt embed map!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭MB Lacey

Only back on the bike veery recently, exercise mostly!

Dunno if this is enough really but its a start anyway until I start building back up the tolerance!! For the time being this is a route...works out roughly 9 kilometers...gonna go out and do it now..bump if up as needs be!!

From Crumlin Hospital...out crumlin road...up dolhpin road...back in davitt road..follow the naas road in as far as the garage and back in the long mile road back to the hospital!
    (couldnt embed map!)

Good going, take a record of your lap time now and in a few months you'll notice a difference in how long it takes you to do that lap.
    Also that's a fairly blustery lap you're doing, bit bumpy at that LMR section too - hope you've got thickish wheels :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭KingIsabella

Unfortunately not, ideally id like to get a MTB but for the time being I had a hybrid handy, a Jupiter Tuscan but itll do the job for now!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭EdRedbird

On My High nelly with my new Schwalbe Puncture proof rear tire (waiting for the front)

Name: Moore Street - Balbriggan
    Activity type: Cycling
    Description: With Fruit ;)
    Total distance: 30.66 km (19.0 mi)
    Total time: 1:44:44
    Moving time: 1:32:50
    Average speed: 17.56 km/h (10.9 mi/h)
    Average moving speed: 19.81 km/h (12.3 mi/h)
    Max speed: 39.18 km/h (24.3 mi/h)
    Average pace: 3.42 min/km (5.5 min/mi)
    Average moving pace: 3.03 min/km (4.9 min/mi)
    Fastest pace: 1.53 min/km (2.5 min/mile)
    Max elevation: 122 m (401 ft)
    Min elevation: 46 m (151 ft)
    Elevation gain: 303 m (994 ft)
    Max grade: 15 %
    Min grade: -18 %
    Recorded: 15/03/2013 15:09

https://maps.google.com/maps/ms?msa=0&msid=212296725042751420096.0004d7fa6d8639f90b88c

But i cant help wondering how many of these will see the 1st of April:
    734113_218885868254488_1226898387_n.jpg

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,270 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Up at 5:30 for a cycle on a Saturday. Madness

got a call an hour in to say little lad was sick. got 40km done. great morning for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭Felloffmebike

Lovely morning in Meath. 42k from Navan to Trim, Bective, Garlow X, Kentstown and home. Lot of bikes out this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Carpenter

First cycle after my broken pelvis crash :mad: 40k over the Wicklow hills 2.20 mins and it started spitting hail stones just my luck but enjoyed it more than xmas .

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 16,132 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Carpenter wrote: »
    First cycle after my broken pelvis crash :mad: 40k over the Wicklow hills 2.20 mins and it started spitting hail stones just my luck but enjoyed it more than xmas .

Congrats on your return to the saddle. Caught some of those hailstones myself just past Johnnie Foxes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Robxxx7

Pretty new to cycling but got out early this morning and did 45km. My longest distance so far :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Surveyor11

After half a bottle of red last night, I hadn't planned going for a cycle this morning, but seeing the sun shining got me up on the bike pronto. A quick 50 k spin around Meath was the plan, got a puncture half way then was late for the child minding for herself's beauty appointment . Might all sound bad you say, but got my first ever top 10 KOM place, which I've decided to keep to myself for diplomatic reasons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭t'bear

only 2.3km/h away from number 1 spot,.... secure indeed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭hiDEhi

First 145km today from Boyle with Curlieu Wheelers CC. Lovely day for it. Small turnout. It was definitely worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭daragh_

Short spin in North Yorkshire with a go up Rosedale Chimney.

It's horrific. Stalled after the second steep corner. Managed to get back on by zig zagging a bit while sheep looked on in utter disdain. Struggled on to the top but my feet had touched the ground, :-( Next time I'm bringing a triple.

Lovely part of the world to cycle in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,098 ✭✭✭NamelessPhil

daragh_ wrote: »
    Short spin in North Yorkshire with a go up Rosedale Chimney.

It's horrific. Stalled after the second steep corner. Managed to get back on by zig zagging a bit while sheep looked on in utter disdain. Struggled on to the top but my feet had touched the ground, :-( Next time I'm bringing a triple.

Lovely part of the world to cycle in.

Now I have visions of you trying to do what Sagan was doing on Monday in Tirreno-Adriatico.:pac:

Did two hours mountain biking , no idea of distance. Took dog with me trying to tire him out , didn't work - fecker was waiting for me at the top of the hills- well at least he waited for me.:)

Half thinking of heading out on road with club in morning