Wheelchair user refused entry to Dublin Nightclub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,727 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

starlings wrote: »
    and they could give Madison a potential case against Bolger for slander and intimidation, since he "published" them on his page...

lik dis if u cryed etc.
    Here is some sample responses on their Facebook page.

Bouncers are pricks I font think people should feel sorry for this man just because he's in wheel chair..i'm sure he don't wanna be felt sorry for..main thing is this club should have wheel chair accessibility its 2013 for God sake...those **** turn away whom ever they want whether your Irish or not or in wheel chair ..but expecting him to be carried down stairs is joke..licence for these venues should come with the fact they need wheel chair access to.

I bet if Elton John or Barack Obama came in a wheelchair you'd let them in. You people are disgrace.

Its only a matter off Apoligizing cause use where caught Use pricks,and if its the case Yous should make sure you'r door staff and all door staff should be Trained how to Treat people,and dis-abled Rightusting.

This is disgraceful to read in 2013 that a bar can do this to a person. Lets hope you are taking to court and end up paying out a hard amount of money! Only then will this kind of behaviour stop... Disgraceful!

Dogs, only sayin sorry coz he's got proof and its gone viral..what was the manager doing for 45 mins while he was outside? There was no one else there? Only one sub-contractor..hope ya's have to cough up 100 grand

I think there are ****ed up people on this page thay need to fink this man has been mugged off this post aint good anuff and its not just this club every ****ing bouncer in dublin fink there the **** full of stroids trying to prove something knocking any 1 out thay get a chance . i hope every club cop on from this PLACE SHOULD BE BURNT TO THE GROUND

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

darced wrote: »

Now you're talking. Let it out!

If it ever comes to it mate, I look after myself. But thanks for the concern.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭I Luv Crysis

Something similar happened in Ireland in the 80's at some night club in North Dublin

Yep The Stardust Nightclub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

Jaysus, cripples were to blame for Stardust as well?! It wasn't that the fire escape doors were padlocked, it was a raspberry ripple what done it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 683 ✭✭✭starlings

Stardust was a shocking case. I don't really see what it has to do with wheelchair access and egress, since some fire doors were locked on that terrible night. If anything, it led to better awareness of safety regulations in nightclubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭I Luv Crysis

Yep The Stardust Nightclub.

That's the one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

Those wheelchair people should stay at home with their bitterness. I don't want my night ruined having to look at them and feel sorry for them.

Who does he think he is anyway? And the cheek of him wanting to go where others go, the very cheek.
    I don't think that's fair. If people said the above, they'd be (rightly) banned. All people are saying is that the picture being painted is one of a bouncer bluntly saying "No wheelchairs" as if he's telling someone that trainers aren't allowed because they don't suit the look of the place etc; a shallow reason like that.
    The truth is that the nightclub wasn't able to facilitate him and the bouncer was merely carrying out its will. I cannot believe a bouncer, in this day and age, would just throw out "No wheelchairs" just to be a discriminatory asshole, as if saying e.g. "No gays". Even if he were a prejudiced tool at heart, he'd be trained not to say such things because of all the trouble it would lead to. He's bound to have explained why he couldn't admit the guy; is it really that feasible that he wouldn't have done so? I'd say bouncers hate having to refuse those in wheelchairs access - not necessarily out of the good of their heart, but because of the sh1t-storm that could ensue.

Some people do think "Suck it up" in relation to wheelchair users not being facilitated by establishments - I don't think it's meant as you say: "Those wheelchair people should stay at home with their bitterness. I don't want my night ruined having to look at them and feel sorry for them. Who does he think he is anyway? And the cheek of him wanting to go where others go, the very cheek", I think it's meant more as "It's crap, but it's just one of those things" - seems fairly indifferent and cold and kinda selfish too I agree, but I doubt that's always the intention behind it; just people who need to be a bit more empathetic but aren't necessarily cruel *****. I do think places should make provisions for wheelchair users, but isn't there legislation enforcing this? Perhaps places genuinely aren't always able to do so either though, e.g. planning, listed building, that kinda stuff.

What's pissing people off is the attitude towards the bouncer and the misrepresentation - as if this was an act of wanton cruelty and nothing else, when there was a lot more to the story. If the guy is ok with that, then he's being a douche - something not confined to people who aren't in wheelchairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 AlanD5734

Ok... Didn't spend the time reading all the comments but here is my pennies worth.

Firstly to all you complaining about being refused entry because of drunkeness, shoes etc etc. A public house/ night club/ hotel/ restaurant basically any premises that has an intoxicating liquor licence can refuse entry WITHOUT reason. It's as simple as that. Think it was in 2006 that that law was changed.

Secondly I do feel its hard to justify a comment in relation to the matter at hand but seeing as the nightclub has apologised publicly then we are to believe that they accept blame. So 2 things should happen (as they also need to protect the jobs of their employees). 1, the manager needs to be dismissed. It is part of his duty to ensure that all his customers enjoy a safe/ clean/ respectful environment and to ensure that none of his/ her customers come to any harm. This includes discrimination etc. 2, the security officer should also be dismissed. Again the club has accepted responsibility so we assume they have investigated the reason of refusal before apologising. The security firm with which this bouncer was hired with then needs to provide training to their personal in how to deal with and handle (but not limited to) people with a disability.

That's all I gotta say :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭Magenta

Stardust was a shocking case. I don't really see what it has to do with wheelchair access and egress, since some fire doors were locked on that terrible night. If anything, it led to better awareness of safety regulations in nightclubs.

It's related if you're talking about physical obstructions to people leaving a burning nightclub.

Yeah I know about the stardust tragedy but the rhode Island one is caught on camera and you can see about 20 people jammed in the doorway 12 inches from safety unable to move,they all burned to death in that doorway,no one would be carrying anyone out of there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭kidneyfan

Magenta wrote: »
    It's related if you're talking about physical obstructions to people leaving a burning nightclub.
    So the yong man in a wheelchair is not a human being but just a potential obstuction?:(

kidneyfan wrote: »
    So the yong man in a wheelchair is not a human being but just a potential obstuction?:(

If his wheelchair is obstructing others from leaving a burning building then what else would you call it? Leave the offended-for-the-sake-of-being-offended to the Facebook mob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

In a lot of cases like this information should always be provided.

For example, a bouncer turns someone away for not having the right 'look' for a venue. Just tell the punter, it might suck for the punter but they've been told why the bouncer won't let them in.

Similarly for a venue that can't cater for people in wheelchairs, just tell them that the venue can't cater for them and that's why they can't enter.

Should cut down on a lot of the aggro caused at doors around the country

P_1 wrote: »
    In a lot of cases like this information should always be provided.

For example, a bouncer turns someone away for not having the right 'look' for a venue. Just tell the punter, it might suck for the punter but they've been told why the bouncer won't let them in.

Similarly for a venue that can't cater for people in wheelchairs, just tell them that the venue can't cater for them and that's why they can't enter.

Should cut down on a lot of the aggro caused at doors around the country

Sometimes people can't take no for an answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

That is sadly true. I may have been overestimating a lot of people's capacity to understand logic and common sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 AlanD5734

Well it's the people who are wrong. They are not required to supply a reason for refusal. :) .
    People should know the law but unfortunately ignorance is bliss :)

P_1 wrote: »
    That is sadly true. I may have been overestimating a lot of people's capacity to understand logic and common sense.
    Waiting outside Madison for 45 minutes is his way of not taking no for an answer.

in a panicked "stampede" situation, knocked-over chairs, stools, and every other person in the room is an obstruction. :(

No furniture can be left in front of a fire exit. If an able-bodied person took a stool or chair over in front of one, they'd be politely asked to move. As would a person in a wheelchair. When it comes to an evacuation in the case of a fire, we can only hope that people move calmly to the nearest exit and that staff will guide them. If the exits aren't blocked, and if people don't panic or run back to get their belongings, a person in a wheelchair, like anyone else, can be easily moved to safety.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Sometimes they shouldn't. I didn't, the jerk is gone, the club apologized and I'm still a regular there now sometimes. Haven't had a single problem since that guy's gone, and I know from other people that I wasn't the only one who used to have problems with him.

If he had just explained why he was refusing I wouldn't have cared. He told me I'd been involved in an "incident" the previous week (when I hadn't in fact been in the country) and then refused to elaborate.

Some people are just bad tempered jerks and shouldn't be working in jobs in which they deal directly with customers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Don't agree with sacking the bouncer he done absolutely nothing wrong ,as previously stated the club reacted to the lynch mob ,there was no wheel chair access to the club he wasn't in my opinion discriminated against by the club or door man ,yes the club apologized and had the door man moved on or sacked according to some ,door staff aren't trained to lift people down stairs or upstairs to use toilets or what ever, I doubt insurance premiums would cover the door staff if they tripped and fell carrying disabled persons down or up stairs and if one or both parties got injured ,then what who's to blame when the employee or patron are suing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

AlanD5734 wrote: »
    Well it's the people who are wrong. They are not required to supply a reason for refusal. :) .
    People should know the law but unfortunately ignorance is bliss :)

Just because it's not the law doesn't mean it's not something you should do. If you don't want to then fine, but be prepared to deal with a potential social media storm.
    A little politeness goes a long way, and if "mob justice" can cause these people to get some feckin' manners then I for one am all for it.

If the exits aren't blocked, and if people don't panic or run back to get their belongings, a person in a wheelchair, like anyone else, can be easily moved to safety.

But people DO panic. Especially drunk people in a dark nightclub that's up in flames.
    You're talking about a pie-in-the-sky ideal situation which is unlikely to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

kidneyfan wrote: »

Haha, how are you still posting on this thread? King of Wind-ups

You're a Declan Kidney fan too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭The Road Runner

Fcuk. That's one of the worst things i've ever seen. My hands are shaking here :(:(:(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Retrovertigo

Waiting outside Madison for 45 minutes is his way of not taking no for an answer.

I'd love to see the CCTV footage of what happened and and why it was necessary to wait 45 minutes outside after being refused.

But people DO panic. Especially drunk people in a dark nightclub that's up in flames.
    You're talking about a pie-in-the-sky ideal situation which is unlikely to happen.

and when they do panic, there are staff in charge of guiding them, and in the ensuing panic, a wheelchair is not going to cause any more trouble than a barstool.

(I'm assuming here that our hypothetical person in the wheelchair has been taken out and helped to safety by a friend or stranger. Or am I being too idealistic?)

The issue here, imho, isn't what would happen to Graham Bolger if Madison had caught fire, but how he was going to get down and back up the stairs safely to do non-fire-related nightclub stuff.

I'd love to see the CCTV footage of what happened and and why it was necessary to wait 45 minutes outside after being refused.
    Who said he waited maybe he did not want to leave and it would be harder to make a wheelchair user leave as it would look bad to passersby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,849 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

I have not read the full thread yet but I would like to tell of my own experience. I am in a wheelchair and live in Limerick. There is a particular nightclub that has 2 a ground level and upstairs. Sometimes when I am out I might decide to go to the nightclub. Sometimes however only 1 floor maybe open which is normally the top floor and the bouncers will say not to night. Not because they are discriminating but because of health and safety not just of them but also of the person on the chair.

Imagine if they are half way up and slip the chair. I have fallen of a wheelchair going up 2 steps never mind a whole flight and that is bad enough. We have to get away from this notion that if somebody stops a wheelchair or anybody disabled of going somewhere it may because of safety. They may not say it as they might think the person might know. So ask if they don't.

Also they may stop a person due to a large crowd and they are afraid the person in the wheelchair might be crushed or knocked out of the chair.

I hope the person in the OP was stopped entry because of one of these and not been discriminating. I am now going to read the thread