Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Keep Calm And Discuss Retro Generally!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

deathrider wrote: »

Ah, so it's all cards? I was hoping it would be some kind of tournaments with the video games

No you can still play the games and collect points as well. It's mainly focused on the cards though.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,184 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dr Bob

Dont know if anyone mentioned this but theres
    a King of Kong style mocumentary to promote the US dvd release of Wreck it Ralph.Surprisingly good and about 30 mins long.

Having a few beers while watching die hard. Cannot think of a better Saturday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,435 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Woohoo!! Thanks for the heads up, watching it now myself.

No beer, do have a bottle of Sangria though. And Indian on the way!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,314 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Watching Puella Magi Madoka Magica, the evangelion of magical girl anime. So fucking good.

o1s1n wrote: »
    Woohoo!! Thanks for the heads up, watching it now myself.

No beer, do have a bottle of Sangria though. And Indian on the way!

Welcome to the party pal!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Studying a Raiden superplay and making 4 pages worth of notes and diagrams on lvl2 boss and lvl3. :o

Master of the Universe

Fair play man!

I'm crazy into Garegga at the moment, but would quite like to go back to Raiden soon. Actually I think I'll give it a lash now.

Fair play man!

I'm crazy into Garegga at the moment, but would quite like to go back to Raiden soon. Actually I think I'll give it a lash now.

Was trying to practice some Raiden with Mame on the PC - was using a Hori EX2 stick - jesus it's muck for shmups. Like wading through quicksand compared to the LS56. Rubbish session on the cab too, although I'm using the superplay method of killing lvl2 boss now which works well.

Andrew76 wrote: »
    Was trying to practice some Raiden with Mame on the PC - was using a Hori EX2 stick - jesus it's muck for shmups. Like wading through quicksand compared to the LS56. Rubbish session on the cab too, although I'm using the superplay method of killing lvl2 boss now which works well.

Desperate stick, i modded mine with authentic parts a while ago, pretty handy do, found a guide online somewhere.

Master of the Universe

I opened up my Saturn Virtual Stick yesterday just to see what was in there and was delighted to find an LS56. :)

It's amazing how you just get used to using great sticks. Really don't notice until you happen to go back to a muck one and the crapness stands out instantly.

Got rid of my Hori EX2, didn't like it at all.

Desperate stick, i modded mine with authentic parts a while ago, pretty handy do, found a guide online somewhere.

Was there any soldering involved can you remember? Must open mine up and have a look. Have spare LS56 and 58s I could use instead. Have that sfiv te stick which is much better than the hori but too lazy to dig it out of storage. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭Sparks43

I give up i really do

Tried multiple Discs of Dominion wars in virtualbox with xp 2000 and 98

None worked

Then tried said discs in real life xp and 2000 machines

Still didnt work

Then tried said discs in said machines with 4 differant graphics cards

Can you guess?

Nothing worked

Stupid buggy useless fecking programmers with their stupid lazy crappy code

Apparently its the same for the real copies of the game you need a special set of things to go right to get it to work and even then it goes bang

Why do i bother :mad:

Rant over

Btw anyone else get this working if so how?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,754 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Hey!
    Sparks showed up!
    And no one had to mention Repton Boulder Dash!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭CosmicSmash

Sparks43 wrote: »
    I give up i really do

Tried multiple Discs of Dominion wars in virtualbox with xp 2000 and 98

None worked

Then tried said discs in real life xp and 2000 machines

Still didnt work

Then tried said discs in said machines with 4 differant graphics cards

Can you guess?

Nothing worked

Stupid buggy useless fecking programmers with their stupid lazy crappy code

Apparently its the same for the real copies of the game you need a special set of things to go right to get it to work and even then it goes bang

Why do i bother :mad:

Rant over

Btw anyone else get this working if so how?

You should have just stuck with Boulder Dash.

@Sparks: Anything in this link help? If you haven't come across it before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

Finally had some time to get stuck into Tombraider again this afternoon. It's really good... Get that same feeling off it that I got playing Resident Evil 4 for the first time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

DinoRex wrote: »
    Finally had some time to get stuck into Tombraider again this afternoon. It's really good... Get that same feeling off it that I got playing Resident Evil 4 for the first time.

nothing I hate more in gaming (and films too) is these "reboots", where the makes are too bloody lazy to come up with a new name, and want people to pretend there were no consoles before the current gen, and that the original game never existed. EA being the worst culprits.

Master of the Universe

nothing I hate more in gaming (and films too) is these "reboots", where the makes are too bloody lazy to come up with a new name, and want people to pretend there were no consoles before the current gen, and that the original game never existed. EA being the worst culprits.

I'm of the same opinion and absolutely hate reboots - however, it's been so long since I enjoyed a Tomb Raider game that I'm quite excited about this.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,314 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I don't mind reboots. In film the majority have been terrible but most have been good for videogames. There's always something like Syndicate that completely misses the point of the original but then there's always something like X-Com to counter it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Touch Fuzzy Get Dizzy

saw this flash game on DA, looks fantastic
    fear_less____demo_version_of_the_game_by_atpalicis-d5x51ea.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

I'm of the same opinion and absolutely hate reboots - however, it's been so long since I enjoyed a Tomb Raider game that I'm quite excited about this.

The last 3 Tomb Raider games were quite good.

But this new one really does for the series what RE4 did for Resident Evil, hopefully they don't do an RE5 and RE6 on it now.

Although I can't help feeling the game would have been better if it was a new IP but I doubt they'd have gotten the budget to make something as epic as this without a big franchise attached.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Touch Fuzzy Get Dizzy

That game has always looked more interesting than good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Especially if the reboot then gets a sequel, so will it Tomb Raider 2? can't call it that so it'll be Tomb Raider: Something Something Golden Thingy. the TR reboot is excellent though, its a mishmash of everything from Uncharted (ironically the TR clone that stole the action adventure crown from Lara herself) to Dead Space (those deaths!) but it works well, pretty looking, plays solidly, best one since the PS1 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭Nerdkiller1991

Am I the one guy who didn't see what the big deal was with The Avengers? I thought it was okay at best.

Yep. :pac:

I thought it was cool, plenty of special effects, bit of comedy and Scarlett Johansson in rubber!!

Granted I'm not a comic book fanboy nutjob so my expectations were probably lower than that crowd. They probably wouldn't appreciate things like SJ in rubber either. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

They probably wouldn't appreciate things like SJ in rubber either. :D

Well they'd have to be allowed to watch the film in the first place by she who must be obeyed

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,609 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

The Avengers was disappointing primarily because Joss Whedon is capable of so much better.

I turned twenty minutes of it on the other day as I was waiting for another film to start on TV, and the special effects work doesn't really translate well to the small screen! Actually in general I tend to find effects heavy recent blockbusters make the transition to HDTV quite poorly - really exaggerates their 'fakeness' or something. All seems too glossy and artificial. Which always seems odd to me as you'd think the big screen would be less kind to that sort of thing (and was in the case of 48FPS The Hobbit!). Ah for the days of good old film grain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,622 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

EnterNow wrote: »
    Well they'd have to be allowed to watch the film in the first place by she who must be obeyed

If she who must be obeyed had her way we would watch nothing but the likes of Avengers, expendables etc.
    we were watching that new Oz yoke, its crap, and there's a bit where its explained the people of Oz are forbidden to kill and my partner was like '****e!'.
    Loved Dredd seen it twice, fell asleep for the hobbit.