If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Has anything genuinely creepy or unnerving ever happened to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭Lingua Franca

I really do apologise for this truly crappy update: I cannot convince my partner to call the cops and follow up on the creepy camera car. :( Sorry guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭pitythefool

I really do apologise for this truly crappy update: I cannot convince my partner to call the cops and follow up on the creepy camera car. :( Sorry guys.

call them yourself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Why can't you call them yourself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

When I was 9/10 years old i was giving a key to let meself into the house as my mother was working and older sisters didnt finish school til late. I let myself in one day after school and done my normal routine of knocking off the radio, check each room so that im comfortable. I had just checked upstairs and was coming down when i heard a massive bang come from under the stairs, i froze in the spot and eventually tried to ignore it thinking it was the hoover falling or something. I put the telly on and heard another load bang, at this point i was freaked, i decided to check it out edging slowly towards the door i went to open it when the door shot open and two people ran out of it, well I nearly **** meself and ran out the front door. Tears and screams,

It turned out to be my older sisters thinking it would be hilarious to freak me out, ive never felt comfortable in a house on my own since :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭.Henry Sellers.

I heart Internet's story reminds me of when I was in the Scout's years ago, This story is true I promise, only we weren't the people on the receiving end of been scared sh1tless.

We were all staying in a Scout house on a beach for the weekend, got there on Friday evening and were going home on Sunday.After dinner on Friday the Leader round us all up and we went for a midnight walk down the beach. The Leader's where showing us different types of stars in the sky like the big Dipper and what they meant.
    So we are getting close to the end of the beach where there is a car park and a well known dogging spot.We didn't know this at the time as we were all kids.

Being in the Scouts we all think we are in the Army and do the whole Commando thing in the dark.We set our sights on a target, a steamed up old Ford fiesta. Everybody has a flash lamp and with all lights turned off we crawl on our bellies and surround the car.
    A quick 3 2 1 and all lights come on shining in the windows and everyone playfully banging on the windows. Cue a big sweaty arse rubbing against the window in pure panic, the cars starts up and burns rubber trying to get out of there, I'd love to know what they thought was going on, we went back up the next night and there was a huge fire burning and people jumping around it to what sounded like drums, the Leader's kept us away that night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭Lingua Franca

Why can't you call them yourself?

Because I don't speak Dutch, I don't know what number he called, what branch he called or who he spoke to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭Cunning Stunt

we had a priest in our village who my friends and I thought was great. All the kids used to call to his house in big groups because he would bring them to the cinema or to MacDonalds etc. Everyone thought he was really great at identifying with the youth in the village.

One day a group of us tagged along with him on his usual evening walk.
    We walked all through the forest chatting and laughing with him and then he started to tell us a story about an old house that was built in the forest and how the people in the house used to ''molest the maids'' in his words. It was just a really odd story for a priest to tell 11/12 yr olds and it stuck in my mind. I think now that he was probably checking to see if we all actually knew what molesting was...

Another time there were 5 or 6 of us in his house and he approached me and put one hand on my stomach and the other hand on my back and told me that I was a 'very thin girl'. It wasn't a crime I suppose, but I just got such a weird vibe from him. I told my mother and she wasn't sure what to think of it, but she made me promise not to go near his house anymore.

After his death it emerged that he had abused over 100 kids. It makes me shudder when I think that he had his disgusting hands on me. I am glad there was a group of us there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

After his death it emerged that he had abused over 100 kids. It makes me shudder when I think that he had his disgusting hands on me. I am glad there was a group of us there!
    Jesus. Lucky that you and your mother had some sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,983 ✭✭✭Raminahobbin

When I was a kid, I lived with my family overseas in the Middle East for a year while my dad did a stint with the UN (he's in the army). There was a Rec (recreational) House in the area where all the UN peoples could meet up, so it's where we spent a lot of time. I'm pretty sure it was for UN members only, but the gate wasn't manned or anything and there wasn't anything stopping local people coming into the garden at least- they just didn't. As kids, one of the things we plagued our parents for frequently was the money for stuff from the shop.

Imagine our delight when this old dirty looking man in a trench coat (in the tremendous heat) started hanging out with us just inside the gates and buying us Boomy Icepops (remember them? The fruit shaped yolks). He had really bad English, but he was always asking us where our parents were and trying to get us to leave the grounds and come see something 'really cool' down on the beach. We never thought to mention it, until one day my dad wouldn't fork out for an icepop for me, so I said something along the lines of 'well then I'll just wait until the Boomy guy gets here!' and he got me to promise to pretend to need to use the bathroom the next time the guy showed up, but tell him instead.

All I remember was my dad arriving outside with a bunch of other Army lads, all the kids going inside, and then never seeing Boomy guy again :P

Another MUCH more frightening experience was on the same year overseas in a bordering country to the one we lived in. My family and I were passing through a bus station when a couple of buses unloaded their passengers at the same time so it got manic busy for a few minutes. We walked through a crowd of people coming the other way, and suddenly my mam lost hold of my little brother's hand, who would have been around 3/4 years old. We searched for a couple of seconds before seeing him across the room (him being the only blonde child in the building) being lead off by two middle eastern men. My Dad let a roar and managed to catch up and grab him back thankfully!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 anon_0403

imurdaddy wrote: »
    Five years ago i was living with my friend in a house in irish city i wont name, About a week before christmas i came home from work and went to head up the stairs to drop off my laptop and other stuff in my room. As i glanced up the stairs i could see him hanging from the attic hatch on the ceiling. It felt like hours but was only seconds i stood there looking at him in compleat shock and horror!

I ran back down the few steps i had taken to the kitchen grabed a kitchen knife, went back up and cut him down which was not easy due to the thickness of the rope and panic. I eventually got him down he was not breathing no pulse. i called 999 then as i kneled over him and tried cpr but i didnt know how to right just kept trying. about 15mins later ambulance and garda got to the house. Its a bit of blur after that i guess the shock took over just remember sitting in the kitchen with a gard asking me questions.

He didnt survive, no idea why he did it. seemed to have everything he wanted from life and was a good person.

I still think if i had called the ambulance before i tried to cut him down and try cpr would it have made a diffrence? That day will allways be burnt into my mind and will never forget.

This unfortunate story has reminded me of something that happened to me a few years ago. It isn't creepy, but it is certainly unnerving in retrospect, especially one image. I am a registered user, but I'm going anonymous for this, for reasons that will become apparent.

I'm in my late 20s and I've been suffering from depression for most of the last 10 years. It comes in waves and thankfully I haven't had a serious episode for a few years (although I did break down in tears on the bus home a few days ago :( ).

My last serious incident was about 3 years ago, on a Saturday. I woke up, things were fine, went across to the shop and then it just suddenly hit me like a sniper's bullet, without any warning. The best way I can describe it is that I stopped functioning as a human being and I had an overwhelming desire to end my life. I did have the forethought of not wanting to put my flatmate through the horror of finding my body so I flagged down a taxi and went to a nearby hotel. On the way, I stopped at a hardware shop to purchase a Stanley knife which I was going to use to cut my wrists. I checked in to the hotel barely able to hold back the tears. I had just closed the door of my room when I simply collapsed to the ground in an all powerful attack of depression. All I remember was the sound of my heavy breath as a cried and cried and cried. I had no strength to stand up. I didn't even have the ability to climb into the bed, though I tried. I just lay on the ground crying and breathing heavily, unable to move. The scary thing is that I had no concept of time at all during that episode. When it eventually ended, it was dusk. I left my house to go to the shop around noon, so I would have arrived at the hotel at about 1pm. That means I was in that state for about 7 hours.

So I went to the desk in the room, wrote on the stationary something like: "Warning, hotel workers: I have killed myself. Do not enter. There will be a lot of blood in here. Call the police. Do not enter". I put that on the bathroom door, closed it and lay down in the bath. I started cutting but not too deeply. It was bleeding but I didn't hit anything serious yet. Obviously, I was crying a lot again, and I kept thinking of all the things I would no longer get to do. I don't know if it was the sight of the blood or something else, but I just couldn't do it. So I went out of the bath, and looked in the mirror, and I just couldn't recognize myself. My face was a red swollen mess from crying all day. I looked like a boxer after a tough fight. I looked at myself and started smiling, but because I was happy to still be alive, not because I was in any way content because I was still very depressed. I smiled because I wanted to see what a "happy" version of me would look like. I'll take that image with me to the grave - my red swollen face with a fake creepy smile. I ceased to be me for that day.

Thankfully, I've never suffered such a debilitating episode since then mostly due to medication. It's truly terrifying how mental illness can turn a perfectly ordinary day into a living nightmare.

So, that image of "me" in the mirror certainly counts as unnerving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Roisy7

Jeepers Anon, fair play to you for writing such an affecting and moving post. It's scary how our own minds can torture us, indeed that probably is the creepiest thing of all.

I hope you have found some peace and happiness now and for the future.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

When I was about 18 I was trying to find a penpal, and I signed up to this website I came across the internet. So you just left your email address on it and people would then email you if they wanted to write to you.

I got a message from this guy, who was in his 50s it seemed and living in Canada. He was saying he was a really nice guy and he was into all these things and how people come and visit him all the time, and then he had these two pictures attached with the email, he said they were of a French lad who visited him and had a great time and the other of his gaff in some huge apartment block. Everything in the email said paedo****ingphile. His face in the pictures screamed paedophile. He sent me the exact same message about 4 months later so I took my email off the website.

Perhaps he was a genuine person but what kind of genuine person tries to get lads from other countries to visit him?

Apart from maybe Cathal O'Searcaigh. Who isn't a genuine person in my book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭MarkY91

on a busy road in ballyfermot when i was about 8. me and my friend were beside traffic lights sitting on some electricity box. a man stopped at the lights asking us to come over and that he would give us money. we refused and he got persistant cos he knew the lights were about to change...8 years old.

MarkY91 wrote: »
    on a busy road in ballyfermot when i was about 8. me and my friend were beside traffic lights sitting on some electricity box. a man stopped at the lights asking us to come over and that he would give us money. we refused and he got persistant cos he knew the lights were about to change...8 years old.

Ugh, creepy. The worst I had was in Ballyfermot too, when I was 11. I was walking to a friend's house in broad daylight when, on the Ballyfermot Road near the roundabout at the traffic lights, I accidentally brushed off someone while walking past him. He started following me, across Kylemore Road as far as Ballyfermot Avenue. My friend's mother happened to be out with her baby son in the buggy and saw what was going on, he then ran off. Scares me to think what would have happened if he had caught up with me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

anon_0403 wrote: »
    This unfortunate story has reminded me of something that happened to me a few years ago. It isn't creepy, but it is certainly unnerving in retrospect, especially one image. I am a registered user, but I'm going anonymous for this, for reasons that will become apparent.

I'm in my late 20s and I've been suffering from depression for most of the last 10 years. It comes in waves and thankfully I haven't had a serious episode for a few years (although I did break down in tears on the bus home a few days ago :( ).

My last serious incident was about 3 years ago, on a Saturday. I woke up, things were fine, went across to the shop and then it just suddenly hit me like a sniper's bullet, without any warning. The best way I can describe it is that I stopped functioning as a human being and I had an overwhelming desire to end my life. I did have the forethought of not wanting to put my flatmate through the horror of finding my body so I flagged down a taxi and went to a nearby hotel. On the way, I stopped at a hardware shop to purchase a Stanley knife which I was going to use to cut my wrists. I checked in to the hotel barely able to hold back the tears. I had just closed the door of my room when I simply collapsed to the ground in an all powerful attack of depression. All I remember was the sound of my heavy breath as a cried and cried and cried. I had no strength to stand up. I didn't even have the ability to climb into the bed, though I tried. I just lay on the ground crying and breathing heavily, unable to move. The scary thing is that I had no concept of time at all during that episode. When it eventually ended, it was dusk. I left my house to go to the shop around noon, so I would have arrived at the hotel at about 1pm. That means I was in that state for about 7 hours.

So I went to the desk in the room, wrote on the stationary something like: "Warning, hotel workers: I have killed myself. Do not enter. There will be a lot of blood in here. Call the police. Do not enter". I put that on the bathroom door, closed it and lay down in the bath. I started cutting but not too deeply. It was bleeding but I didn't hit anything serious yet. Obviously, I was crying a lot again, and I kept thinking of all the things I would no longer get to do. I don't know if it was the sight of the blood or something else, but I just couldn't do it. So I went out of the bath, and looked in the mirror, and I just couldn't recognize myself. My face was a red swollen mess from crying all day. I looked like a boxer after a tough fight. I looked at myself and started smiling, but because I was happy to still be alive, not because I was in any way content because I was still very depressed. I smiled because I wanted to see what a "happy" version of me would look like. I'll take that image with me to the grave - my red swollen face with a fake creepy smile. I ceased to be me for that day.

Thankfully, I've never suffered such a debilitating episode since then mostly due to medication. It's truly terrifying how mental illness can turn a perfectly ordinary day into a living nightmare.

So, that image of "me" in the mirror certainly counts as unnerving.

Wow, great post. Mental illness can really be so scary. :(

Hope you're holding up well since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭MarkY91

Karsini wrote: »
    Ugh, creepy. The worst I had was in Ballyfermot too, when I was 11. I was walking to a friend's house in broad daylight when, on the Ballyfermot Road near the roundabout at the traffic lights, I accidentally brushed off someone while walking past him. He started following me, across Kylemore Road as far as Ballyfermot Avenue. My friend's mother happened to be out with her baby son in the buggy and saw what was going on, he then ran off. Scares me to think what would have happened if he had caught up with me.

thats creepy also!

i didnt think much of it at the time. but years later i thought of it and realised how weird it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

If it helps you sleep, maybe it was not crutches after all but hooves. ;)
    You're a bollix..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭willmunny1990

Had a very weird and scary experience tonight, only a few hours ago really.

I was on my back listening to the sound of the T.V when i fell asleep. Anyway i started dreaming but this was different to most dreams I have (I have vivid dreams a lot, most nights)

I was on my back and i could see the ceiling and the sides of the room through the corner of my eyes, but the thing was i couldn't move. I also had this heavy feeling, like something was holding me down to the bed preventing me from moving. I tried to call out but i just couldn't, I was physically aware of the fact I was trying to call out which was scary, but the thing was no sound would come out no matter how hard I tried call out, which was very scary.

I was so aware of my surroundings that I saw the cat jump up on the bed beside me, he was looking down at me and then just walked across the bed, I still couldn't move.

I also had a feeling that I was going to see something scary, I don't know why but I just had this feeling.

Then all of a sudden it was over and i was awake and able to move again.

I got up and went out to the toilet thinking did this really happen but it defiantly did and it was scary. I have had nightmares before but this was worse because it didn't seem like a dream at all, it felt like i was awake in reality but completely immobile and stuck to the one spot with this heavy feeling all over my body. So strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭positron

You experienced sleep paralysis, a good few similar stories here, scariest thing I've ever experienced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭debabyjesus

^^

I used to get this quite a lot a few years ago. It stopped when i stopped taking ecstasy every weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭willmunny1990

positron wrote: »
    You experienced sleep paralysis, a good few similar stories here, scariest thing I've ever experienced.

Totally agree.

I did a bit of research on it and what happened to me seems mild enough, i read something about some people seeing an old lady/hag. I imagine that would be terrifying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

Old Lady/Hag, and in more recent years Aliens.

Sleep Paralysis can explain away a lot of close encounters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭Squaredude

Totally agree.

I did a bit of research on it and what happened to me seems mild enough, i read something about some people seeing an old lady/hag. I imagine that would be terrifying.
    First time it happens is absolutely terrifying ,count yourself lucky you didn't have a "crutches" type experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Have experienced the sleep paralysis thing and it was very scary and unnerving even if nothing else happened except I was awake but couldn't move. Trying to scream, screaming in my head but nothing coming out!

Have also expereinced someone else waking up out of one and claiming that there was someone in the room with us....surprisingly, I didn't poo myself, remained calm and told them everything was fine and go back to sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Have also expereinced someone else waking up out of one and claiming that there was someone in the room with us....surprisingly, I didn't poo myself, remained calm and told them everything was fine and go back to sleep.

My last 2 boyfriends both experienced it- the former worst of all. He'd constantly wake up telling me someone was in the room. Became so blasé about it that even if there had been someone I wouldn't have believed him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭illicit007

I was living in a house once with four other people. One of them had 2 of their friends over (guy and a a girl couple) visiting from over seas. They'd been sessioning a lot over the few days and were staying in the living room sleeping on the floor in sleeping bags etc.

I'd recently got a new dog, it was an Old English Mastiff (aka a really BIG dog), which was sleeping downstairs too. I was sleeping upstairs.

Then that night I woke up to the sound of a man screaming. Like horror scream. I freaked as you would, I thought okay either someone is being murdered down there or my dog has mistaked them for an intruder and is currently mauling one of them.

So I grabbed my trusty bat and went downstairs ready to see some type of horror scene. The screaming had stopped as I got downstairs.

I pushed open the living room door and it was dark, I could only make out someone kinda kneeling or sitting and someone lying on the ground. My dog was still in his cage, so I breathed a tiny sigh of relier when I realised it wasn't my dogs doing.

I turn on the light and your man was sitting there topless sweating. He didn't turn around and look at me he just sat there. His girl friend was lying on the ground infront of him motionless.

I thought WTF...

A few seconds past and I assessed the scene and worked out his girlfriend definitely did look alive and moving ever so slightly, she was asleep. He looked like he'd probably just woken up from a horrible nightmare or something. I was surprised his girlfriend wasn't awake! It was a little bizarre, but I went up to this fella I didn't know and patted his sweaty back and talked to him soothingly explaining everything okay and he's just had a bad dream and all that. Then I went back up stairs and went to bed :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

My last 2 boyfriends both experienced it- the former worst of all. He'd constantly wake up telling me someone was in the room. Became so blasé about it that even if there had been someone I wouldn't have believed him.

Was it the same room?? If so, maybe it's not your boyfriend's that are haunted, it's your room!! :eek: (To mangle the tagline of the film Insidious)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭HerrScheisse

I went running last night and darkness had just fallen and I noticed all these strange black lumps on the path I was on. I stopped to have a look and they were hordes of big fat juicy frogs. Just sitting about silently staring at each other, it must be mating season as they were in pairs, and would not budge even if I stamped my feet hard right next to them.

Then one frog turned to look at me, and stretched and stood vertically up on all four legs and walked away like a dog would. It was the damnedest thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭.Henry Sellers.

I went running last night and darkness had just fallen and I noticed all these strange black lumps on the path I was on. I stopped to have a look and they were hordes of big fat juicy frogs. Just sitting about silently staring at each other, it must be mating season as they were in pairs, and would not budge even if I stamped my feet hard right next to them.

Then one frog turned to look at me, and stretched and stood vertically up on all four legs and walked away like a dog would. It was the damnedest thing.

Would of been scary if the frog barked at you, Woof!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Was it the same room?? If so, maybe it's not your boyfriend's that are haunted, it's your room!! :eek: (To mangle the tagline of the film Insidious)

Haha, no!! It was different places over the space of about 5 years. The second bf was more a sleepwalker, he rarely freaked out. But the first guy, jeez he was awful. First time he did it I swear I thought I'd have a heart attack he scared me so much!