Three less scumbags roaming tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭HTML5!

Well done on your part though OP. You did the right thing. Part of me wishes these knackers got a serious beating though.

Pity they'll be let out tomorrow, a court appearance in a couple of months, off on a suspended 4 hour sentence and allowed break the law while possibly terrorising innocent elderly people another 20 times before they get any sort of punishment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭space_man

personally i think i'ld lose it if i caught some little scumbag in those circumstances.

"I'll be back on the street in 24 hours!"
    "We'll try to make it 12."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,823 ✭✭✭Horsefumbler

They're not gonna get locked up for that. You should have called the cops. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,203 ✭✭✭Mech1

one "bad guy" shot in meath today, four arrested, all goes well we are 5 "bad guys" less on the streets, keep it up, i'm loving it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭islanderre

Cheers Galwayrush,
    That explains the Garda presence in the area this afternoon..... was at the sisters house when I heard and seen the unmarked squad car speed up the side road across from the wood factory place @ annagh hill..

Well done in any case....... hope they accidentally received a few slaps by accident.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

why can't the Galway Gardai do that good a job during Rag Week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,168 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Fair play to ya Rush, would love to have been in that position myself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭mathepac

galwayrush wrote: »
    Lackaghmore to be exact, it's between Lackagh and Turloughmore village....
    I know it well.

I'm proud to say we hunted down a few ne'er-do-wells in a van a few years ago just beyond Cashla and introduced them to the business ends of the camogie team's hurleys ("Sure they were in the boot Guard, the young wans have a match tomorrow").

Well done OP, community policing at its very best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Joy1

Well done! You and your neighbours have officially begun restoring my faith in humanity. My neighbours are more concerned with dog poop on the sidewalks than forming a neighbourhood crime watch. Would you and your neighbours consider exchanging jobs and homes with my family? Just for a decade or so? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

Well OP !!!! I would have given them a few sly kicks and punches .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

Am I the only one who actually liked the fact that the OP didn't mention any kind of violence?
    I get that we all have the idea of giving a few punches to some scumbag but I like the way it happened with the OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

islanderre wrote: »
    Did this happen in the corofin / turloughmore area???????? noticed a high speed unmarked Garda car speeding through the area about half one this afternoon....
    islanderre wrote: »
    Cheers Galwayrush,
    That explains the Garda presence in the area this afternoon..... was at the sisters house when I heard and seen the unmarked squad car speed up the side road across from the wood factory place @ annagh hill..

mm..2 near the scene of the crime

Out already lads, Who's yer friend? :pac:

Boombastic wrote: »
    mm..2 near the scene of the crime

Out already lads, Who's yer friend? :pac:

So much for the OP "directing the guards". OP is probably in on the whole thing, leading the gardaí away from the two scummers in the tread. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭FoxyVixen

Why can't positive news like this be reported on RTE instead of informing us of all the negatives in the world!! Amount of terrible deaths on earlier was depressing. This kinda thing would actually help re-store the faith in people if only for a few minutes before carrying on with their daily lives.

Well done OP and to the community effort put in. Gardai did well getting there so quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,673 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

Well done Op. Just thinking. Is the station at LoughGeorge still manned? Would explain their speedy arrival at the scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

FoxyVixen wrote: »
    Why can't positive news like this be reported on RTE instead of informing us of all the negatives in the world!! Amount of terrible deaths on earlier was depressing. This kinda thing would actually help re-store the faith in people if only for a few minutes before carrying on with their daily lives.

Well done OP and to the community effort put in. Gardai did well getting there so quick.

They can't because it encourages vigilante action.
    You only hear that people take on criminality and protect their communities when there has been violence used and even then they don't mention the exact crime and circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Am I the only one who actually liked the fact that the OP didn't mention any kind of violence?
    I get that we all have the idea of giving a few punches to some scumbag but I like the way it happened with the OP.
    Ah come on now, you dont seriously believe that these lads werent bate around a bit by the townsfolk, do ye?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

In other news my spidey senses were tingling earlier and I noticed a burning building in the distance so I put on the suit and was off
    120 people , 7 dogs , 13 cats and a pot bellied pig named potsy all saved because of me
    Bit tired now after all that so off to me web

Ah come on now, you dont seriously believe that these lads werent bate around a bit by the townsfolk, do ye?

Well he didn't say it so I assume nothing happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

It would have been proper justice to force them into the back of a van and make them give directions to their own homes, where a group of your mates could have ransacked and stole all of their valuables.
    Still, fair to you OP, good to see folk like yourself fight back against scum like that roaming our country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,103 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

why can't the Galway Gardai do that good a job during Rag Week?

Yeah, and if they weren't catching real criminals you'd give out about them hassling students ffs.

Nice one Galwayrush, good job to you and all involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

They can't because it encourages vigilante action.

Perhaps, but the 'Guards' aren't able to cope.

How much is that Garda Commissioner who is responsible for the general direction, management and control of An Garda Síochána getting paid?

We have laws & orders in abundance but little or no enforcement.

What the OP reported is commoner than muck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,064 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Well done Op. Just thinking. Is the station at LoughGeorge still manned? Would explain their speedy arrival at the scene.

Or,on the other hand, maybe they weren't sitting on their arses in the station and therefore were out and about and able to respond more quickly.

Either way, good work by the community and hopefully these guys get meaningful sentences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

Chinasea wrote: »

Perhaps, but the 'Guards' aren't able to cope.

How much is that Garda Commissioner who is responsible for the general direction, management and control of An Garda Síochána getting paid?

We have laws & orders in abundance but little or no enforcement.

What the OP reported is commoner than muck.

Go to any district court in the country and its packed to the rafters with scumbags on charges, the prisions are overcrowding, but ya it's commoner than muck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

mosstin wrote: »
    Hard to reconcile this claim from what you've told in your story there. Surely the credit goes to you and your mates. Other than escort them away, sounds like they did bugger all.

Well I read this point as follows

Garda; How did the scumbag get a broken nose lads,
    OP; We kicked the ****e out of him Garda
    Garda; Not to worry, it won't be going in our report

OP; The Gardai were great ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,886 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

Kudos to neighbourhood watch systems. They'll think twice about B&E if they think they're being watched by everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Dwork

Are you saying that's what actually happened or something?
    Smug, but a tad slow. That's what the lad who got arrested will say. You can't really lock someone up for climbing over a wall. It's a grand story, but the scumbags will have been laughing about it over pints that evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,203 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Fair play, tip of the hat on that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,765 ✭✭✭flutered

well done op. well done.

, but doubt they'll be back your way!!

i doubt it, they are big into self preservasion.