Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Computer games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭TO_ARTHUR!

Playing Final Fantasy XVIII after I picked it up since someone said it was good. Its the prettiest and most imaginative game I have ever played

There's a Final Fantasy XVIII:eek:!!??

I've completed both VII and VIII. I have to say that I love them both, really cool games. When I'm in Ireland, I'm generally trying to complete VII another time but Ruby Weapon is proving an obstacle. The story line in VIII was incredible.

I've played XII and XIII and although they have better graphics and all that when compared to the other two, I just felt that there was something lacking in them. The scenery in XIII is absolutely stunning!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭ewan whose army

TO_ARTHUR! wrote: »

I've completed both VII and VIII. I have to say that I love them both, really cool games. When I'm in Ireland, I'm generally trying to complete VII another time but Ruby Weapon is proving an obstacle. The story line in VIII was incredible.

I've played XII and XIII and although they have better graphics and all that when compared to the other two, I just felt that there was something lacking in them. The scenery in XIII is absolutely stunning!

Oops sorry I am an idiot its XIII (13) . I don't know where I got XVIII from

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 7,189 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

Started playing Sleeping Dogs on my PS3. Looks interesting after the first couple of hours. It will probably keep me for a while, as I am a rather slow player.

2025 gigs: Selofan, Alison Moyet, Wardruna, Gavin Friday, Orla Gartland, The Courettes, Nine Inch Nails, Rhiannon Giddens, New Purple Celebration, Nova Twins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Xevkin

There is a lack of love for XII which makes me a little bit sad...sure , the characters aren't that interesting (out a party of six, maybe three of interesting personalities and back stories? I mean, Penelo isn't exactly vital for the story), but god damn that gameplay was fantastic. The environments are better than those in XIII, less flashy but more organic and convincing. XIII utterly lacked charm or reasons to love it.

Don't know has this been mentionned, but have people played the earlier ones, IV -VI? Or Kingdom Hearts? Those games consumed my childhood, and there are really fantastic games in the series (Birth by Sleep for example) that I don't here talked about often.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

Xevkin wrote: »
    Don't know has this been mentionned, but have people played the earlier ones, IV -VI? Or Kingdom Hearts? Those games consumed my childhood, and there are really fantastic games in the series (Birth by Sleep for example) that I don't here talked about often.

I've played KH1 and 2. I loved them! I plan on starting the ones on DS soon. The mix of Disney and FF is great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Ash885

All this talk on FF and KH makes me want to go play them all again! They were/are my life! Too many nights spent on ebay buying random memorabilia, and Comic Con is just a disaster for my bank account...

The problems with XII was the characters. They had no substance, and Vaan...that voice...ugh...if I ever hear him say "Basch von rosenberg" ever again, it'd be too soon...But as for Fran...:eek: An antrobunny Legolas-esque Ice-queen. She could turn a man!

FF XIII was a step better. It was just too linear for my liking...currently going through XIII - 2 and nice to see they've let you have a bit more freedom. I had to laugh when someone earlier commented on the obvious loving going on between Fang and Vanille. I thought it was just me! Lesbihonest not subtle at all Square :eek::rolleyes:

Back to my FF crypt...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,260 ✭✭✭Meesared

In fairness FF hasn't had great characters in years, starting with Tidus, my god i don't think there has been as irritating main character before or since him.

There is a lack of love for XII which makes me a little bit sad...sure , the characters aren't that interesting (out a party of six, maybe three of interesting personalities and back stories? I mean, Penelo isn't exactly vital for the story), but god damn that gameplay was fantastic. The environments are better than those in XIII, less flashy but more organic and convincing. XIII utterly lacked charm or reasons to love it.

Don't know has this been mentionned, but have people played the earlier ones, IV -VI?

I never imagined the final fantasy characters (except Barret aka Mr T, of course) speaking in american accents. The gameplay in XII was quite good though. I liked a change from the random battle starts, instead you could see your enemies coming and just avoid them. Both XII and XIII are good for the gameplay and graphics though.

I played IV, I think, a while back. Good game, it kinda reminded me of Zelda on the snes.
    Ash885 wrote: »
    FF XIII was a step better. It was just too linear for my liking...currently going through XIII - 2 and nice to see they've let you have a bit more freedom. I had to laugh when someone earlier commented on the obvious loving going on between Fang and Vanille. I thought it was just me! Lesbihonest not subtle at all Square :eek::rolleyes:

Back to my FF crypt...

I think that all the FF games I've played have had a subtle or not, little love story going on at the side. In VII it was Cloud, Tifa and Aeris. With VIII it was between Squall, Rinoa and Quistis as well as it being generally hinted at that Laguna was Squall's father. All good stories have to have a love element:P
    Meesared wrote: »
    In fairness FF hasn't had great characters in years, starting with Tidus, my god i don't think there has been as irritating main character before or since him.

As good as all the games are, I believe we should agree that VII was the best. Some crazy psychological stuff going on in it at times. The way the game visits Cloud's past and how it eventually turns the present on it's head. Between Nibelheim burning down and him freaking out, it's a mental story. Did we ever find out who the voice in his head was?:confused: Who or what on earth was Sephiroth?:eek: Every character has a great story in this game. FF VII wins hands down over all the others

As hood as all the games are, I believe we should agree that VII was the best. Some crazy psychological stuff going on in it at times. The way the game visits Cloud's past and how it eventually turns the present on it's head. Between Nibelheim burning down and him freaking out, it's a mental story. Did we ever find out who the voice in his head was?:confused: Who or what on earth was Sephiroth?:eek: Every character has a great story in this game. FF VII wins hands down over all the others
    You've got to read this thread! There's a bit of bitchiness, which is a pity, but it'll make your heart burst with nostalgia! It's a log written by a guy who persuaded his gf to play FF7 and her impressions of it.

The problems with XII was the characters. They had no substance, and Vaan...that voice...ugh...if I ever hear him say "Basch von rosenberg" ever again, it'd be too soon...But as for Fran...:eek: An antrobunny Legolas-esque Ice-queen. She could turn a man!

I would have said that Ashe, Balthier and Basch were decent characters, but that's about it. I wouldn't agree with you about Fran though, rarely have I been LESS attracted to women then when she was on the screen...

Tidus wasn't a necessarily bad character IMO, but that may be my nostalgia talking. but that laugh...compulsory http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H47ow4_Cmk0

Never did finish VII or VIII . .. . I'm very tempted to play IX soon on my Vita tho.

I would have said that Ashe, Balthier and Basch were decent characters, but that's about it. I wouldn't agree with you about Fran though, rarely have I been LESS attracted to women then when she was on the screen...

Tidus wasn't a necessarily bad character IMO, but that may be my nostalgia talking. but that laugh...compulsory http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H47ow4_Cmk0

Never did finish VII or VIII . .. . I'm very tempted to play IX soon on my Vita tho.

Why did you link me that video haha...such HORRID memories of that scene...Yuna and himself doing that "laugh"...

About Fran, all to their own ;) But I thought she was the most interesting out of a pack of duds. All that "rejecting the wood" stuff and her partnership with Balthier was the only thing bearable for that game's story.

I loved FVII (possibly too much) but I think everyone overlooks IX as being equally as epic; possibly because it was the last line on the PS1 and when it finally came out, everyone was too busy thinking what FFX would bring. If you look at the story, the leveling system, the humour. Some of it might seem cliche, but I just thought it brought the fantasy to the series more so than any of the others. It just seemed to be a lot more enjoyable all-round than the otherwise epic FVII.

I wouldn't bother with FFVIII. I thought it was horrible! :eek:

For anyone lost/mad at the FF hijacking going on, or want the game summarised in a humerous paragraph: http://lemurfemur.tumblr.com/post/38247840842/final-fantasy-for-those-who-have-never-played

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

I was playing far cry 3 there last night and there's a side mission where a woman asks you to eavesdrop on her husband for fear he may be cheating on her with another woman.

You go about that and eavesdrop on him only to find out he is cheating, but with another man.

You tell her, she pays you and then calmly says she'll cut off his dick.

There's a actually a heap of gay references and examples in that game, most of them rape, but sure, it's something LGBT orientated eh? :P

Far Cry 3 was awesome! Just felt like a bad ass at the end with a bow and arrow and silenced sniper rifle :3

Squall was a bit of a dick lol

I've played some of the game, and found the draw system (or what ever it was called) surprisingly tedious. Angst-ridden protagonists are not something I want to experience again either.

I've noticed some LBGT reverences in other games too recently. IIRC in Dishonoured, there is a letter you can find from a guy to his guardman lover. I think the guard had to beat up or insult the guy in front of his fellow guardsmen when they were caught alone together. It was a nice touch, but I wish a game had some more liathroidi and actually had a gay character/protagonist . I believe there is one in Persona 4, but he's a little bit controversal. I have played the Mass Effect and Dragon Age, so I know that Bioware are pretty good for putting LGB (not exactly T tho...) options in...it's a start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭readyletsgo

Guys! Can we give it a rest on FF please? Pretty over rated and is all you guys are talking about, there are other rpgs out there ya know:P
    Far Cry 3 was awesome! Just felt like a bad ass at the end with a bow and arrow and silenced sniper rifle :3

Whats FC3 like? Never played the first one, had the second one on 360, didnt get into it at all, is the 3rd one more of the same or different?

Finished Dead Space 3 last week, good, but, meh, selling it on, not arsed with the DLC coming this month.

Moved onto Darksiders 2 on the WiiU last week, jaysus, love it! Cant stop playing it for 5hrs straight each night. It looks so good and plays amazingly on the Gamepad too, if there is one reason to get a WiiU its teh gamepad for sure!
    Got the game from a mate, dont want to give it back though lol. But he wants it as when you finish it you can start a game+ game which looks like it will be brilliant!

Decided I am not buying anymore games until I finish at least a good chunk of my backlog of games, so next up for me after Darksiders2 is Beyond Good & Evil HD, hear so much about that game, bought it but never started it and with word that BG&E2 might be in the works with Ubisoft this year, I totally wanna get this one done too.

On FVIII I found the draw system annoying myself as well. Very counter productive. And it was riddled with emos. Only one I've not finished so might begrudgingly give it another try...
    Guys! Can we give it a rest on FF please? Pretty over rated and is all you guys are talking about, there are other rpgs out there ya knowtongue.png

....eek.png Off with your head!!! But you have a point, sometimes they get some undeserved credit.

The new Sim City is out today! Woop!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

The new Sim City is out today! Woop!

I'd hold off for a bit. The American servers are getting crushed by demand. And because you have to be connected to the servers to even play there's a huge amount of problems.

Got playstation plus, not without my share of fuk ups. Bought a UK code which doesn't work with an Irish PSN account so I had to set up a new one.

It's unreal. Got offered over €250 worth of games instantly with loads more being added monthly. I only paid €35 for it and I've already made it back!

Xbox is such a waste of money in comparison!

Played god of war last night and my hand hurts. I'm not used to this button smashing at all.
    For someone who's out of that whole game phase it's a great way to get them back into it!

Yeah Its good value alright, theres a pretty major "but" involved though.

You only have access to the games while you have Plus

I got Plus during Christmas when it was on sale. I don't game as much as I used to, but it's still been worth it. Finished Gravity Rush, which was enjoyable if a throwaway, and just started Bioshock 2. Heard it's nowhere near the classic that is the first Bioshock, but good things have been said about Minerva's Den, so I'll go along with it.
    At the very least, I'll get to do horrible things to splicers with plasmids again :D

Never could get into God of War. Got to the final boss in one of PSP iterations, and ran into a brick wall. Love action games though, even if I'm not the best at them. Bayonetta was a fantastic game, completely ridiculous, and I'm tempted to get a WiiU just to play the sequel. Have to get around to playing Revengence and DMC as well before the exams. . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,250 ✭✭✭Daith

Can't bloody wait for Thief 4 or Thief or whatever it will end up being called.

And lads and lasses you're making me feel so old. I stopped playing FF after 8!

Yeah Its good value alright, theres a pretty major "but" involved though.

You only have access to the games while you have Plus
    Doesn't bother me in the slightest. I've a years subscription and I usually just play the game, finish it and leave it there anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭Davyhal

4 and a half years of Xbox ownership, and only now have I bothered to set up Xbox Live!

Vojera wrote: »
    You've got to read this thread! There's a bit of bitchiness, which is a pity, but it'll make your heart burst with nostalgia! It's a log written by a guy who persuaded his gf to play FF7 and her impressions of it.

Thanks for recommending this thread to me, Vojera. It took me a while to read through it but it was worth it! It reminded me of the first time I played it, all those years ago:pac: It makes me want to play the game again (or at least finish the game i'm on:rolleyes: after Ruby and Ultima Weapons) when I get home in the summer. A great bit of reading and even the bitchiness has some some value in it:)(Some people take criticisms of the games a bit too seriously:mad:) Thanks again man:)
    Davyhal wrote: »
    4 and a half years of Xbox ownership, and only now have I bothered to set up Xbox Live!

What took ye?:pac:

You should play GTA IV online. It's pretty good. That and any FIFA game:)

Anyone else play Vanquished? Just started it today, has fun in a pulpy, arcadey kind of way. No danger of it being my favourite platnium game tho.

Thanks for recommending this thread to me, Vojera. It took me a while to read through it but it was worth it! It reminded me of the first time I played it, all those years ago:pac: It makes me want to play the game again (or at least finish the game i'm on:rolleyes: after Ruby and Ultima Weapons) when I get home in the summer. A great bit of reading and even the bitchiness has some some value in it:)(Some people take criticisms of the games a bit too seriously:mad:) Thanks again man:)
    You're welcome :D Tensions do run high in parts, but I think it's because for a lot of people FF7 was their first experience of an rpg of that length and genre. Your first is always special ;) I know when I picked it up on the back of the manual there was an ad for playstation memory cards with the tagline "Try beating Final Fantasy without it". Considering I was coming from playing the mega drive, where all the games were done with either password access or all in one sitting (pausing when your mammy called you for dinner :P), I remember thinking "How long could FF really be?" Little did I know it would be fourteen YEARS before I finally got that last cut scene! (Shocking, I know!)

I'm playing the Tomb Raider reboot on PC now. I'm just past her first kill. I don't have an xbox controller and aiming is a little tricky with the controller I have (I'm using xpadder), so I'll have to twiddle with the settings a bit, but I'm enjoying it so far. It's definitely a departure, but the world is really nice. It feels like a real location, not one conveniently square enough for Lara to climb around, if you know what I mean.

Tomb Raider....God gives me the creeps running around as Lara in her house with that God damn butler wheezing behind me....locking him in the freezer didn't give me the reassurance it probably should have.

...and he was saved too many times by that tea tray:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Phareon

I got a gameboy color emulator for the phone and I've playing Pokemon Red like a mad yoke for the past few days. Really starting to dislike that Gary fella:mad:

Aw, but Gary Oak's so hot though. Maybe it's all the PalletShipping slashfiction I've been reading . . .