But its cold outside

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Delighted with that run considering we have you a little undercooked in terms of training coming into this. Bodes well for London

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

Well done Anne! Great to see you again.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Great running Anne. Congrats on the PB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,156 ✭✭✭jcsmum

Fantastic running Anne and well done on the PB! Well deserved!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭RubyK

Congrats on a great run Anne and pb!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭Aimman

Well done on the PB, you ran a great race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭DigiJem

Congrats on the PB Anne. Sets you up well for London

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭Lizzy C

Anne well done on a super race. London will be no bother to you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭madon

Was great to see you before hand, delighted you have found that not only are you where you should be but beyond it! Well done. Loved the little cheerleading squad that you brought with you, very proud to be walking with their supermam at the end!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Week 12 - Plan
    |Mon | Tue | Wed | Thur | Fri | Sat | Sun
    |Pilates/Rest| 4m easy | 6m Easy|1m easy, 3m @ MP, 2M @ HMP, 1m @ 10k, 1m easy| 20 min Rec|7m Easy| 1h 45m Easy|

I might switch Sat & Sun around as i'm heading to the "Big Smoke" for night out:cool: on Sat so don't know how the body will handle the run on Sunday, i'll just wait and see as the session is a day later this week to allow for recovery from Bohermeen!!

Pilates on Monday night was very tough:eek:, my quads were in bits, which i put down to having to go from a sprint finish to stopping and standing in queue after the race on Sunday. I felt the legs seizing up straight away, a bit of a cool down and stretch doesn't seem to have done its job...usually after the first run they are fine again but no still tight today!!

Week 12, Run 1 Tuesday 5th March
    No break in work yesterday, collecting kids from childminders & school bus and i contemplated going to the football pitch for my run, while kids played but it just didn't work out as kids were starving and Kung Fu was on later so i had to settle for the treadmill while the match was on last night.
    I did the first mile at 5 mph which is 12 min mile and have to say that after about half a mile the legs loosened out, so i upped the pace as i went along to finish at 6.2, so happy enough that the legs were getting a good run out., unfortunately today they are still tight and heres hoping that they'll be looser after today runs
    Total 4.25m in 45.00 @10.35 avg

My u10 & u12 girls football teams are resuming training tonight so i'm going to have to find a few more hrs in the days somewhere and delegate the training;)

I have dropped another 3lbs so thats my weight back to 168.08 lbs, the Post DCM & Christmas 10 lb is just about gone, now to try for another few

Totalsbiggrin.png
    WTD: 4.25m
    MTD: 21.96m
    YTD: 274.83m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭run44

Well done on the new PB Anne! Fantastic stuff

Week 12, Run 2 - Wednesday 6th March

I had to fit this on on the treadmill, between everything thats was going on but legs were still sore so i didn't mind too much.
    I started off nice and slow and did the first mile in 10.27, upped the speed bit by bit and the next few miles flew by and the legs felt great,
    9.30, 9.21, 9.13, 9.21, then slowed it down a tad for the final mile, 9.40..
    Total 6m in 57.32

Week 12, Run 3 - Thursday 7th March

Plan was 1m easy, 3m @ MP(8.45), 2m @ HMP(8.15), 1m @ 10K(7.51), 1m easy….
    Legs were thankfully much improved after yesterdays run and so I was looking forward to this, but it was one of the toughest runs I’ve done in ages!!!
    I did the warm up nice and handy, headed off over Wellington Rd and before the first mile was finished I was puffing my way up the hill at Military Rd which didn’t bode well for increasing the pace to MP, so I decided not to stress too much about it and going down the S-bends pace picked up and I was flowing along…until Upper Glen road and this long, sloping incline put paid to MP and I was finding the pace slowing:eek:…down through the Furry Glen and I was struggling at this stage….i got to Knockmaroon Gate and I had to stop for a minute as my breathing was all over the place and I was struggling both physically & mentally:o….so at 3.25m I took the one min break, got the breathing under control covered the watch and just decided to follow the format of the run(ie getting a bit fast each set), and not worry about the pace, so when I heard the watch beep for the miles I would just go a bit faster until I had finished. Now i had a new plan i was away!!:p

Once I decided on this and covered the pace, I relaxed more (mentally more than physically) IYKWIM and just ran. The pace was much more comfortable and I just keep ticking along, up KnockMaroon Hill, Ordnance Survey Rd., into Farmleigh, one lap of the carpark and back out and then up Chesterfield Ave towards the zoo. The horrible misty ran started while i was on Ordnance Survery rd so this was just great:mad: This was now my 10k pace mile and although I felt like I wasn’t at 10k pace I just ploughed on and counted in my head to get there.

The last mile was nice an slow and although I hated this run while I was doing it, now that im showered and fed and sitting down it wasn’t that bad...:rolleyes: and now having looked at the paces it was ok, just a small bit off each one!!
    And i know its tough runs like this that will stand to me in the weeks to come.....

So paces were

Wu - 9.49,
    3 x MP - 8.55, 8.51, 8.45 (avg = 8.50)
    2 x HMP – 8.27, 8.11 (avg = 8.19)
    1 x 10k 7.55
    Cd 9.45

Total 8.21m @ 8.51 in 1:12:42

Totalsbiggrin.png
    WTD: 18.46m
    MTD: 36.17m
    YTD: 289.04m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭neilc

Excellent stuff going on here!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Solobally8

Just popped over to see how ye are doing over here. Flying it I see :D Well done on the PB. Your progress is inspiring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭pgmcpq

Congrats on the pb. Looking good for London.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭claralara

Great to see you at the weekend Anne and well done again on the PB. The hard work and dedication is really paying off :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

That was a super session today so soon after Bohermeen. Looks like you're peaking at just the right time :D

Week 12, Run 4 - Friday 8th March
    plan: 20 min recovery - I was absolutely wrecked all day Friday, sick child up most of the night and 3 5am starts had me wanting my bed at 8pm....I keep putting this off, but eventually at 10.30 last night i hopped on the treadmill and just about managed to stay upright to do 2m in 21.21 and not a step more!!!

Total 2m in 21.21

Week 12, Run 5 -Saturday 9th
    Plan: 7M Easy - I had to hop on the treadie for this due to childcare issues. Popped it to 1% and off i went nice and easy for the first mile, upped the pace and zoned onto auto pilot for this...the treadmill shuts down after 60mins and then resets itself so at 60 mins i had 6.43 m done.
    While it was resetting i got a drink of water and changed my gear as i was absolutely sweating:o.. back up and i dropped the speed a touch and decided that i would do the 1hr 45m thats on the plan for tomorrow as i didn't fancy facing this tomorrow in a "ropey" condition!! This way i can meet some randon strangers friends and enjoy my night out;)

so found i was getting tired at mile 10 but just keep going,...

9.45, 9.25, 9.19, 9.14, 9.13, 9.10, 9.20, 9.07, 9.13, 9.21, 8.57, 4.48(.53)
    Total 11.53 in 1hr 46.52 mins @ 9.16

Totalsbiggrin.png
    WTD: 31.99m

MTD: 49.70m
    YTD: 302.59m

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

Good stuff Anne. Have a good night :D

Week 12, Run 6 - Sunday 10th March.

Switched around yesterdays & todays run so 7m was the plan

treadmill again for this as it ws lashing snow and hailstones and i jus didn't fancy it, so changed into my shorts and onto the treadmill. :o

Body was in good shape with no after effects from my great night out and i enjoyed this run, but the fac tthat my dinner was being cooked by the kids and near it would be waiting for me proably helped.
    Whent he treadmill stopped after the 60min i had 6.43 miles done( thats exaclty the same as yesterdays) , and i nearly didnt start it again, but on checking i had time , i popped back on and did another mile.
    9.31, 9.25, 9.21, 9.21, 9.15, 9.09, 9.17, (.50)4.37
    Total 7.50m in 69.56 @ 9.19 avg

Totalsbiggrin.png
    WTD: 39.49m
    MTD: 57.20m

YTD: 310.09m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

Younganne wrote: »
    treadmill again for this as it ws lashing snow and hailstones and i jus didn't fancy it, so changed into my shorts and onto the treadmill. :o

Great to have that option!! Embrace the weather!! ;)

I'm sure the kids had a great dinner ready after your run! I on the other hand wouldn't be trusted with that responsibility!:)

blockic wrote: »
    Great to have that option!! Embrace the weather!! ;)

I'm sure the kids had a great dinner ready after your run! I on the other hand wouldn't be trusted with that responsibility!:)

the dinner was delish!!;) as for embracing the weather, an auld wan like me would take too long to warm up after so took the easy option!!!!:D it wa s the treamill or the fire & the sofa!!!!

Week 13 - Plan
    |Mon | Tue | Wed | Thur | Fri | Sat | Sun
    |Rest| 6m Easy|1m easy, 1m @ 10k wit 4min rec x 4, 1m easy|4m Easy| 20 min Rec|7m Easy| 2hr Easy(last 2m x MP)|

I had to tweek the plan the Boss gave me as i won't fit my session in on Thursday so hope this is ok!!!

Pilates class was cancelled last night!!

Week 13, Run 1 - Tuesday 12th March
    This was a treadmill run today as my little one is home sick and i have no free time this evening so got it done earlier
    Legs and body feels rested so pace was on the upper end of the "easy Range"

9.42, 9.18, 9.13, 9.07, 9.01, 9.02, (.52)4.32(9.00 pace)..(seems that it turned into a semi progression run!!)

Total 6.52 in 59.55 @ 9.11

Totalsbiggrin.png
    WTD: 6.52m
    MTD: 63.72m
    YTD: 316.61m

Week 13, Run 2 - Wednesday 13th March

plan: 1m easy, 1m @ 10k(7.50) wit 4min rec x 4, 1m easy

I headed out into the sunshine just before 5.30 this evening, but i could see the rainbow down the road so knew it wasn't going to last...within 1 mile the hailstones started and lasted for about 15 mins...they were coming straight into my face and ouch they hurt...:eek:, then the sun came back out,:) but boy was it cold!!!

i enjoyed this session and i managed to keep control and keep the pace to the assigned 10k pace( well almost:o). the 3rd rep was the toughest as i started off too fast and when i discover i was going at 6.30 i slowed it down but then it was too slow and i battled to get it back to the required pace.
    I ran the 4min recoveries except for about 20 sec of the recovery after the 3rd one.

got home at 7.6m so rounded it up to the 8m:D

w.u 9.02,
    7.38, 9.51
    7.36, 10.56,
    7.43, 11.27,
    7.35, 10.18,
    c.d 9.10, 8.55(.48)

Total 8.00 @ 8.39 in 1:09:06

Totalsbiggrin.png
    WTD: 14.52m
    MTD: 71.72m
    YTD: 324.61m

Quick Update for last week

Week 13, Run 3 - Thursday 14th March

9.21, 9.14, 9.09, 9.15, 9.20(.50)

Total 4.5m @ 9.15 in 41.39

Week 13, Run 4 - Friday 15th March
    14m with 3m @ MP

9.46, 9.32, 9.30, 9.20, 9.20, 9.18, 9.13, 9.23, 9.21, 9.22, 9.13,
    8.28, 8.34, 8.27

Total 14.05 @ 9.13 in 2.09.36

Week 13, Run 5 - Sunday 17th March

cold wet icy morning in Sligo:eek:.....sun came out in the evening..typical!!!!

9.18, 8.59, 9.07, 8.59, 9.09, 9.08, 9.02, 9.09(.20)

Total 7.2m @ 9.06 in 1.05.33

Totalsbiggrin.png
    WTD: 40.27m

MTD: 97.47m
    YTD: 350.36m

Week 14 - update
    Ticking along nicely thankfully with no niggles or complaints.

I didn't manage to get our for a run on Tuesday with one thing and another so I have been chopping and changing but here's the update so far this week:

Week 14, Run 1 - Wednesday 20th March
    plan 6m easy
    Loved this run, felt good and rested:rolleyes: that extra days rest helped!!

9.10, 9.04, 8.59, 9.14, 9.03, 8.54, 9.11(.20)
    Total 6.3m in 56.13 @ 9.04

Week 14, Run 2 - Thursday 21st March
    Plan 4m easy
    treadmill - evening run, as I put off the session as I didn't want to do it on the treadmill and I didn't have time to get it done earlier in the day!!

9.23,9.04, 8.55, 8.51, 9.10(.51)
    Total 4.51 in 40.30 @ 8.59

Week 14, Run 3 - Friday 22nd March
    AM: well it wasn't quite AM, it was 5pm:eek: I had to work through lunch but I didn't mind too much as I looked out and listened to the wind and rain beating against the window:o....but I knew that if I went home the run would get lost in family things so I went to my Mams on the way home and ran around Navan!!!
    Plan 1m easy, 4m @ HMP, 1m easy...
    the 2nd and 4th HMP miles were in to the wind and up hills and the 3rd was in a lovely sheltered area with a long down hill. I enjoyed this and was delight ed to get it done outdoors. The rain even lightened to a misty drizzle until I got finished:D

8.59, 8.11, 8.06, 7.55, 7.59, 8.53, 8.31(.11)

Total 6.11 in 51.01 @ 8.21

Week 14, Run 4 - Friday 22nd March
    PM: Plan 20 mins recovery

11pm tonight I hopped on the treadmill, nice slow and easy...legs fine!!

10.39, 10.21, 10.20(.50)

Total 2.5m in 26.10 @ 10.28

Totalsbiggrin.png
    WTD: 19.32m
    MTD: 116.79m

YTD: 369.68m

Week 14, Run 5 - Saturday 23rd March
    Plan: 7m steady

Ok so I just noticed the Steady bit on the Plan on Friday night and I remember asking the Boss previously what Steady meant but do you think I could remember...:o anyway I came to the conclusion that it was faster than "easy" and slower than MP, so I had a target of 8.45 ...roughly

So I headed out the door after I got back from my NCT(stupid indicator light went on the way over, typical, so not passed yet:mad:) anyway out into the Baltic weather and I was wishing I had a Balaclava:eek:

So with starting on a downhill and trying to warm up i was off at 8min pace:eek::eek:, pulled the reigns in but for some reason I just couldn't slow it down any more that 8.26, it felt like my normal easy pace...so like all "sensible" women, I just went with the flow...result 7.50 m @ 8.22 pace.....oops but I was feeling FANTASTIC. I love running!!:D:D

8.21, 8.26, 8.26, 8.19, 8.25, 8.18, 8.18, 8.26(.50)

Total 7.5m in 62.45 @ 8.22

Week 14, Run 6 - Sunday 24th March
    Plan: 2.15hr Easy

So I had the idea that I want to do 16m and go over the planned time by the few minutes, well I have been doing that for the past few weeks anyway so....:D
    First mile was a bit on the fast side, mile 2 felt like I had 12 miles already done and I was dreading the rest of the run.....the cold and wind didn't help matters or the fact that I've been having stomach issues since the run on Friday night...so the plan was to run in Navan where I had access to toilets if needed:eek:. My mother was giving out to me for going out running in the cold....
    anyway by mile 3, I was feeling much better and things settled down, I ran on feel then and only glanced at the pace now and again...during mile 8 I ate a small bag of Starmix jellies and by mile 10 I gave in and bought a bottle of water and as I was feeling tired I took the one gel I had with me as I didn't want to struggle through the rest of the run...mile 13, I got a shock when I saw the pace was down to near 9.40 so I managed to pick it up for the final 3 miles. Happy overall but could definitely feel the rest of the weeks running in the legs....
    9.13, 9.23, 9.20, 9.29, 9.12, 9.27, 9.31, 9.26, 9.26, 9.31, 9.24, 9.17, 9.38, 9.21, 9.12, 9.10

Total 16.01m in 2.30.01 @ 9.22

Totalsbiggrin.png
    WTD: 42.83m
    MTD: 140.30m
    YTD: 393.19m

Plan for the week...Week 15/18:eek:

Mon | Tue | Wed| Thur| Fri| Sat| sun|
    Rest| 6m easy| 2m easy, 5 x MP, with 2min rec, 2m easy| 4m easy| 20min Rec| 2.15hrs Progression Run (ending at HMP) | 6m easy|

missed my Pilates again as i have one of my headaches for the last couple of days thats not going away and not getting any worse... oh and i'm still having my tummy bug/issues!!
    Week 15 run 1 - Tuesday 26th March
    Wasn't feeling up to running so when i was too busy to take my break i was a bit relieved to be honest yesterday, but it meant that i had to run last night. I had to work late, collect kids, and got home at 7.45. Did a few bits and pieces and at 9.15 decided i would just do 3/4m at recovery as legs were a bit tight...but once i got going it was fine, kept it easy and i ran until the treadmill stopped at 59.59:D, did the last few mins at MP as i wanted to stretch out the legs
    9.45, 9.33, 9.23, 9.16, 9.19, 8.39(.32)

Total 6.32m in 59.59 @9.29

I have 2 new pairs of runners that i have being using for the past few weeks and its really helped with very little problems in legs. Just a little in quads and calves but the stick is in full use!!!;)
    My weight is staying constant for the past week or so, need to see if i can drop a few lb int he next wek or so...:eek: but its Easter and i love chocolate!!!!

Totalsbiggrin.png
    WTD: 6.32m
    MTD: 146.62m
    YTD: 399.51m

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭RunningKing

Great monthly mileage. Your flying these days!

There will be a rapid decrease from next month;) for a while!!!