If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Not Quite Four Laps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,531 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Saturday

6.5 miles @ 7m33s/mile

Easy morning run to loosen out before the race tomorrow. Legs felt a bit leaden but that's often the case on an easy run before a race. Good week this one so I'm feeling reasonably optimistic about the Half.
    Best of luck tomorrow. Give it socks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

Sunday

1.5 w/u, Bohermeen Half (76.13), 0.5 w/d

Well, there was no excuses today. The conditions were perfect for a half marathon, with little wind and a cool temperature. I had looked at the course profile yesterday evening and it was going to be the flattest race I'd ever ran, 3k on the track aside. Still, even when the uncontrollables are in your favour, you still have to do the one thing that's in your control and run as fast as you possibly can over the distance.

I got a lift down to Bohermeen with a coach from the club so it was good to pick his brains on running matters for the trip there and back. We were in plenty of time so I had a nice, relaxed chat with a few fellow Crusaders and a gentle warm up down towards the start line. A few strides down a side road and I was good to go. A bit of waiting around as people made there way towards the start and we were off.

The pace seemed easy going off but I checked with another runner and we were going at 5.50 pace so I settled in. I progressed through the field a little but found a good group quite quickly and settled in. The first three miles were bang on 5.52 as we went by the mile markers. My legs were feeling quite tired at this stage and I only then realised how tense I was. I may as well have been producing poor quality diamonds in my fists they were clenched that tight. I loosened up and immediately felt better.

I stuck with this group all the way to 11 miles. I was constantly losing concentration and dropping off, then coming to my senses and reeling them in. I was determined to win this mini-race. After the 11 mile marker, the whole group fell apart within a few seconds. I was now second in the group and we were strung out with a good gap between us all. We were catching a few of the people up ahead and overtook one runner. At 12 miles, it was only the runner from our group and another runner in purple up ahead that I had a chance of catching.

I upped the pace with a mile to go or at least I think I did. Still the gap was increasing. I was constantly looking at my watch and time had slowed down to a ridiculous rate. Again I had tensed up massively and only a shout from the crowd to relax my hands brought me to my senses. I just brought it home from there. I kept a good pace all the way but my race from a positional sense was over. Gutted when I crossed the line to find I was in eleventh place. A top ten finish would have been brilliant. I say gutted but really I was absolutely delighted with my time and I was buzzing after the race. Couldn't have even contemplated that I would dip into the 76's before the race. Our mens team came first as well so my first competitive medal in any sport since I was 16. Really topped off a great day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

Great running/result there KU!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭TRR

super run well done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Super run Kiely consistent hard work is really paying off and plenty more Pbsto come

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭smmoore79

Bloody h@ll, thats a great result! Some improvement in such a short period, well done. Might see ya down the track tomorrow

Monday

Lunch: 5 miles easy
    Evening 6 miles easy

Too really easy runs today, probably 8+ min/mile. Ran the most of it on grass as well to give my legs a break. Toughest part was running with a bag of spuds in hand for the last half mile this evening. Might even have called the evening run junk miles if I wasn't being so God damn practical.

Tuesday

30 minutes easy

Went down to the club but was persuaded that an easy grass run would be the best thing for me. Joined a few others that had raced at the weekend and took it easy. Probably a good idea

Wednesday

13 miles @ 7m47s

This runmute definitely sucks the enjoyment out of running. I'm enjoying it less and less each week. Going to try an alternative, probably longer route down the coast next week, If I never see the N11 again, I'll be a happy man.

Thursday

1 hour steady

I was down in Athlone for the evening with work so I had to cancel the planned marathon paced session. I ran for 45 minutes at a steady pace around the town. Then I went back to the hotel and was going to try out the treadmill in their leisure centre. I've never used a treadmill before so naturally I cranked it straight up to 5m45s pace with the idea of doing this for 15 minutes. I must have looked like an awful eejit altogether. I was slipping and sliding on it just hammering the stop button until it slowed down. Next, I just set it going and gradually cranked up the speed, which seemed to work. After 15 minutes of mind numbing boredom where I had the choice of looking at my virtual self slowly make my way around a track or stare blankly at the wall, I picked up my stuff and left. I can see why they they get such bad press on Boards now.

Friday

8 miles @ 6m49s/mile

Got back late enough from Athlone so popped straight out for a steady run around Drumcondra and Raheny. Was hoping to hit a better pace than what I achieved but I suppose I was comfortable enough during the run even if my legs were a little tired.

Saturday

Rest

Have had a few minor aches and pains while running lately so I though a rest day might be no harm. Have a tough marathon paced run with Krusty_Clown planned for tomorrow so I'll want to be fresh for that in any case.

Sunday

2 mile w/u, 15 miles @ 6m11s/mile, 2 mile w/d

Woke this morning to the sound of the letterbox flapping manically in the wind and just thought 'No'. I'm almost certain I would have downgraded today's session to a bog standard long slow run if I hadn't arranged to meet up with Krusty in Phoenix Park. I knew he wouldn't back out so I just had to grin and bare it as well.

I cycled down to the park and we got going pretty quickly thereafter. It wasn't a day for standing around. After the warm up, we were straight into the wind on the North Road and it was tough going. We were a few seconds off pace but we both accepted that we were never going to hit the planned pace today. The effort was marathon pace and then some.

After getting out of the wind, we crossed Chesterfield Avenue and tackled the hills on the far side of the Park. These were tougher than usual with the early effort tiring me and possibly both of us quite a bit. After five or six miles, I was seriously tired and might have packed it in if not for the stigma that would have been attached with that. We went back to the car park at seven miles for a drink and to shed some layers and I had regained my composure a bit by this stage.

The second loop was a lot easier. Krusty had the great idea of taking turns in the wind and this helped a lot. We made a second or two back on the average pace as well so this was a confidence boost at the end of the run. Great to have such exalted company on this run as it probably would have went by the wayside if I hadn't. Good end to a mediocre enough week.

Monday 12th March

5 miles @ easy pace

After the tough session from the day before with Krusty, I went for an easy lunch time run round Shanganagh Park. Shin started off sore and only got worse as the run went on so I made the decision that I would take a few days off. Issue had been present for a week or two but didn't think it was anything to worry about until today

Tuesday/Wednesday

Rest

Shin problem seeming serious. Constant dull ache and walking with a limp

Thursday

0.5 mile @ Easy hobble

Tested out the shin today but only got a small bit down the road and had to turn back. It was in bad shape. Hobbling back to the office in my running gear, I was offered a lift by a lady who saw that I was in a bit of distress. This act of kindness perked me up a small bit but I was still very, very annoyed

Friday - Friday

Rest

Gave the leg a complete rest. Tried to cycle anywhere I had to go as much as possible and stretched out the calf when sitting down to try and build up a bit of strength. Not much improvement over the week though and the constant dull ache in the shin remained. The pain when walking lessened so I decided to give it another test run at the weekend

Saturday

6 miles @ easy pace

Went for this run with the intention that I would turn back if the pain in the shin got anywhere near a worrying level. I fully expected to be back at the house within ten minutes. I was presently surprised when the ache remained at a constant level and gradually dissipated as the run went on. Ran mostly on the grass down by Clontarf seafront and finished up the run delighted with myself

Sunday

21.2 miles @ 6m57s/mile

There was no after effects from the run yesterday and the leg felt better than ever this morning. Decided to take a bit of a risk and get straight back to business with a long run. I don't have too much opportunity left for these at this stage unfortunately. The run was basically out the Royal Canal, two complete loops of Phoenix Park and then back along the canal. The wind was a bit of a pain at times, especially for the last 4 miles on the canal but I was just delighted to be back to some proper running. The shin was a bit sore for the first 7 or 8 miles but non existent after that. Lovely stuff.

Plan now is to get back to some serious training for the next 3 weeks. I'm going to put in an extra long run on the weekend before London but largely stick to the original plan other than that. A one and a half week break at this stage isn't ideal but everything's not lost yet I hope. Felt good on the run today so I'm taking a lot of positives from that.

Sorry to hear that KU. I hope it wasn't the Pheonix park run that did the damage. Definitely worth keeping an eye on it, and making the sacrifice of going to the physio if it crops up again.

Don't suppose I can tempt you into another 15 mile pmp run in the park next week?! :)

Sorry to hear that KU. I hope it wasn't the Pheonix park run that did the damage. Definitely worth keeping an eye on it, and making the sacrifice of going to the physio if it crops up again.

Don't suppose I can tempt you into another 15 mile pmp run in the park next week?! :)

It was lingering there for a week or two and one tough session was going to tip the scales at some stage. I felt grand during the run and that evening so I was surprised it was as bad as it was on the Monday.

I'm back home next weekend so I'm planning on a hilly 24 miler back in Tipp. Your 15 mile PMP run does sound very tempting though. I still have very fond memories from that glorious Sunday in Phoenix Park only two weeks gone now. It will possibly be etched in my memory until the day that I die in that way that really painful experiences tend to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

. I still have very fond memories from that glorious Sunday in Phoenix Park only two weeks gone now. It will possibly be etched in my memory until the day that I die in that way that really painful experiences tend to be.

Are we still talking about running here??!

Gavlor wrote: »
    Are we still talking about running here??!

In the most basic manner, but running with Krusty is a transcendental experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭ronnie085

I wouldn't be worrying about missing a few days, good to see your back on your feet. Just wondering would you be better off just sticking to your original plan, there wont be many benifits in a long run the week before the race, could do more harm than good really

ronnie085 wrote: »
    I wouldn't be worrying about missing a few days, good to see your back on your feet. Just wondering would you be better off just sticking to your original plan, there wont be many benifits in a long run the week before the race, could do more harm than good really

You're probably right Ronnie. When I think about if further, I have only missed one long run so that side of my training isn't a big issue really. I had originally planned a 13 mile run with 5 at MP on the Sunday before London. I might stick to that. The work will have been put in during the preceding months (and years:eek:), so whatever I do on the final week probably won't have any great impact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

+1 on not doing a tough long run the week before the marathon. 13 would be enough no doubt.

In the most basic manner, but running with Krusty is a transcendental experience.
    If you strip-away all of my super-powers, I'm just a man. :p

I'd agree with the lads. If you really strongly feel the need to get a training stimulus the week before London, then do something that will not tax the body too greatly, like a reduced 'tergat sessions', e.g. 4@pmp + 3@pmp + 2@pmp (w/5 mins easy) with a couple of miles either side to bring it to 12 or 13 miles.

+1 By doing a long run the week before goal marathon you will gain nothing and possibly lose everything!

ronnie085 wrote: »
    +1 on not doing a tough long run the week before the marathon. 13 would be enough no doubt.
    If you strip-away all of my super-powers, I'm just a man. :p

TRR wrote: »
    +1 By doing a long run the week before goal marathon you will gain nothing and possibly lose everything!

Fair enough, no long run. I looked at my plan from Dublin last year and I had a lot of marathon paced stuff in the last few weeks. I think I'll stick to that. I remember RFR advising a 10 mile MP run a little over a week from the marathon. That worked out well so no reason not to go for something similar this time. I'm sure Krusty's suggested Tergat run would have the same kind of benefits. I was contemplating doing that exact session last year but opted for the straight 10 mile instead. Just from the simple logic that there's no break on the day of the race.

Monday

5 miles @ 7m12s/mile
    6 miles @ 6m49s/mile

Cold lunch time run, cold evening run.

Tuesday

Rest

Couldn't force myself out the door after a freezing cold cycle home from work. Not great form but I just really, really didn't fancy it.

Wednesday

1.5 w/u, 12.2 @ 6m02s/mile, 1.5 w/d

I worked out the time my marathon pace would give over a 0.98k route in Shanganagh Park, printed out a pace band, sellotaped it together and was on my merry way after work today. This was much more enjoyable than the last time I did this. I was a bit too quick on the first loop and ended up about 10 seconds ahead of pace. I relaxed the pace a little and managed to keep this 10 second buffer until the second last lap where I upped the tempo. I was tired at this stage but I responded surprisingly well to the turn of pace with the last lap being much quicker than I could have reasonably anticipated. Ran today in my new Adidas Adizero Boston runners (la dee da) and they felt really nice when I upped the pace at the end. Probably will wear these in London.

Super session. What's the target time for London? Based on splits above I can make a guess but just wondering were they ahead of target or bang on.

The marathon pace from today's session is there or thereabouts. I'm aiming for sub 2.40 so 6.05/mile or less is the aim. Hopefully one or two more sessions like this in the coming weeks will leave me in reasonable shape.

Savage stuff KU. I remember when you first started your thread that was the sort of pace you were doing on your 5 mile training sessions. Around a year later, and its looking good for hitting that pace for a whole marathon distance. Very impressive stuff.

I'm actually surprised that I was able to run that kind of pace in training a year ago. Having said that, I used to be battered after those training runs. I would have probably run myself in to ground and given it up all together if not for some sage advice from yourself and a few others.

How did you get on in the DUNE Half? Didn't sound like ideal conditions, it being a point to point race, in to the wind and largely uphill.

Yeah, the half actually went better than I'd expected. Ended up running a PB of 82:50 for 10th place. I haven't been doing a massive amount of training, and thought that 1:25 would be realistic, but managed to keep within sight of 1:24 til 10 miles, then pretty much ran 5k race pace til the end so was delighted.

I've huge respect for all of you training for Spring marathons this year with the weather we're having, in the past few weeks, my training has more or less ground to a halt. Definitely happy enough to sit out marathon season this Spring. London should be absolutely awesome this year, unbelievable quality field, if there's anything like decent conditions, could well be a WR. Hope your injury lay off didn't set you back much, certainly doesn't look like it.

Yeah, the half actually went better than I'd expected. Ended up running a PB of 82:50 for 10th place. I haven't been doing a massive amount of training, and thought that 1:25 would be realistic, but managed to keep within sight of 1:24 til 10 miles, then pretty much ran 5k race pace til the end so was delighted.

I've huge respect for all of you training for Spring marathons this year with the weather we're having, in the past few weeks, my training has more or less ground to a halt. Definitely happy enough to sit out marathon season this Spring. London should be absolutely awesome this year, unbelievable quality field, if there's anything like decent conditions, could well be a WR. Hope your injury lay off didn't set you back much, certainly doesn't look like it.

While I was out injured, half of me was jealously eyeing the runners as I bussed home from work. The other half was quietly happy that I didn't have to face into the freezing cold weather myself when I got home. As you know yourself though, it's never as bad as you think when you get out in to it and there's nothing worse than runner's guilt.

Thursday

5 miles @ 7m09s/mile
    8 miles @ 7m36s/mile

Two easy runs to recover from the marathon paced session yesterday and build up a little mileage

Friday

5 miles @ 6m52s/mile
    8 miles @ 7m46s/mile

My lack of imagination and forward planning produced two almost identical days in a row. Two different routes from yesterday and I fairly attacked Bray Head on the lunch time run but just easy running besides that.

Saturday

8 miles @ Easy pace

Went round the usual hilly route back home in Tipp. It was tough going. Might be due to the week of relatively high mileage.

Sunday

24 miles @ 7m31s/mile

Some horrific weather and tough hills made this a difficult one. One hill after mile six (see link) almost broke me. I was working really hard going up it, when I turned the corner and the climb was almost vertical. I took a 30 second break here and another one near the top. Will have to tackle this again when not part of a long run and see how I get on.

Beyond this, the hills were tough but paled in comparison. It was a real slog in to the snow and driving winds in parts but the primary goal of a non stop three hour run was achieved