Transgender child banned from girl's bathroom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

This is not true.

Well it's in the OP. which is my only source of the story. What's yours?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭clairefontaine

This is, for adults too, a big issue. I was working in a progressive Californian company - one where an internal survey showed recently that 95% voted for Obama - where a pre-OP guy wanted to use the female toilet. Later, post Op there wasn't an issue, but when he looked like a male the female employees were united in saying No. ( Call it CIS-Gender privilege).

If we take sexual dysphoria seriously then any male, unsatisfied with his sex, could get a note from a compliant shrink, and legally change gender but not sex. Allowing him into the female changing rooms swinging his big old member, and bemoaning cis-gender privilege and sex-body-fetishisation of the aghast females within.

I think we can see why old school feminists are not totally on board with this.

He was probably seen as some perv who wanted to peruse the female toilets or a potential sex offender or something like that. Or what about changing rooms in department stores?

I can see the problem and I can't say I blame them, except for being hypocritical liberals.

In New York State you can change the sex on your birth cert if you are post op.

However, grown adults getting invalidation from strangers is a totally different scale to a child getting regular negation from his or her parents, it is the root of many a desperate mental illness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,235 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

awec wrote: »
    Er, ok? And?

Her parents had decided from 18 months!

Stop muddying the waters and distorting the facts here.

The parents of an 18 month baby deduced that their child was displaying indications of being a transsexual. If that doesn't sound absolutely moronic to you then I despair.

Oh ffs

Go back and read the whole story. They did not decide anything from the age of 18 months

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

Gender and Sex are actually different

Nope.

• Administrators Posts: 56,308 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Oh ffs

Go back and read the whole story. They did not decide anything from the age of 18 months
    "but has presented as a female since she was 18-months-old, her mother Kathryn Mathis told talk show host Katie Couric. "

They decided at 18 months that their baby had presented as a female.

18 months.

That doesn't sound ridiculous to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Does nobody find it creepy that the story is about the sexual identity of a 4 year old child. Does the child even know what is going on? Would have not been better parents to wait until the child is at an age where he has some understanding of gender issues and allow the child to make his own decision and be supportive of what decision he makes. Has anyone heard of a single good story about a child being raised the opposite sex then what they were born because all the cases that I read the child in question has had major issues in young adulthood.

Well it's in the OP. which is my only source of the story. What's yours?

The original post which you seem to have misinterpreted

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

"but has presented as a female since she was 18-months-old, her mother Kathryn Mathis told talk show host Katie Couric. "

18 months.

That doesn't sound ridiculous to you?

You seem to have difficulty understanding

"but has presented as a female since she was 18-months-old, her mother
    Kathryn Mathis told talk show host Katie Couric. "

DOES NOT EQUAL

Terry Pratchet

You seem to have difficulty understanding

"but has presented as a female since she was 18-months-old, her mother

DOES NOT EQUAL

Oh ffs wise up.

The article says "but has presented as a female since she was 18-months-old,
    her mother

The mother said she presented as a female since she was 18. Are you saying that the mother was saying their baby had presented as female at 18 months but the mother decided that their baby hadn't presented as female at 18 months? Cause you know, that sounds really stupid. :)

Oh ffs wise up.

The article says "but has presented as a female since she was 18-months-old,
    her mother

The mother said she presented as a female since she was 18. Are you saying that the mother was saying their baby had presented as female at 18 months but the mother decided that their baby hadn't presented as female at 18 months? Cause you know, that sounds really stupid. :)

No

My understanding from it is this

At 18 months she showed female traits; they didn't think much of this and thought it might be just a phase. They still dressed her in male clothes etc etc. Eventually after about another 2 years of this they bought her to a psychologist.

Terry Pratchet

No

My understanding from it is this

At 18 months she showed female traits; they didn't think much of this and thought it might be just a phase. They still dressed her in male clothes etc etc. Eventually after about another 2 years of this they bought her to a psychologist.

They didn't say female traits.

They said "presented as female".

"Female traits"

DOES NOT EQUAL

"presented as female".

And you know it doesn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

At 18 months she showed female traits;

What qualifies as a female trait at the age of 18 months?

Seachmall wrote: »

I dunno - I'd guess playing with dolls mainly

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Links234 wrote: »

The only thing that disturbs me about the story is that the school made an issue in the first place.

All evidence we have on what causes transsexualism is that it is something that happens in utero, before the person is born. If you read the personal accounts of transgender people the world over, a vast majority of them will tell you they knew from a very early age.

If we understand that this is something that is an inborn trait, just like we understand sexuality now, and know that it is something that does not go away, then letting the girl just be herself is the right course of action. Attempting to force her to be something she is not would be cruel and abusive, and you could no more try to force her to not be transgender than those evangelical christians can force kids who display traits of homosexuality and are shipped off to pray away the gay camps to not be gay.

This is not a new phenomenon either, we have scores of children who are allowed to be themselves from all over the world. Her parents are standing on the shoulders of giants so to speak, because this is not something new what so ever. Here's someone else who was allowed to be themselves since childhood:

Links I think you have to be understanding of the fact that to most people, the mother comes off as a bit unhinged because of her enthusiastic propensity to use the child as a means to garner attention and validation for herself.

Nobody has an issue with the child and whether they may or may not be trans, it's the mother that has stunted the child's world view while at the same time shoving them up on the world stage to be paraded as some sort of new messiah and isn't she great for bringing him into the world, at the cost of giving her attention to her four other children, who will no doubt feel like they have missed out in competing for her affection and validation.

As you say yourself, transgenderism is nothing new, but it's still enough of a niche media story and even as I'm typing this I'm watching "Loose Women" on ITV talking to an actress from "Waterloo Road" who is due to play the role of a trans person. The panel had a good giggle about it first before they try to come off as "all open minded understanding and shìt", but the point is their first reaction- one of ridicule and derision, and that's all the world media care about- the more unusual the story, the more sticky eyeballs they'll get, nothing to do whatsoever with raising awareness of the issue, but just using an issue that is a reality for a lot of people, to get viewing figures up, because people love a good gossipy chin wag, without thinking about the deeper and more wide ranging spectrum of underlying issues involved.

It's all fine and well saying "let the child be a child, let them do what they want", but that outlook has to be tempered by instilling in the child a sense of responsibility and awareness that not everyone is going to agree with their world view that has been confined by their parents merely to focus on their gender identity. You have a responsibility as a parent / guardian / adult to understand how your attitude and opinions can influence / shape / contort / confine a child's world view, and it is your responsibility to ensure the child has the maturity and is given the tools to extrapolate their own world view, not just based on your world view, but from as many influences as possible, so they can understand better the world around them and understand the possible consequences of their decisions, and the influence THEY can have on other people around them.

In this particular case, the mother is enabling the child's miniaturised and closed off world view by making the child believe they are at it's centre, and the world will revolve around them and adapt itself accordingly to accommodate them.

This leads in later life to the child who has by now grown into an adult not having the basic tools to enable them to tolerate those who disagree with their skewed and confined world view that was instilled in them in childhood. The adult can find this very hard to deal with, having been accommodated and "understood" their whole life, and now suddenly they are thrust into a world where they feel nobody understands them, and for them it increases exponentially feelings of intimidation and isolation, to the point where some people feel they can't cope, because they lack the coping mechanisms that should have been instilled in them in childhood.

That, to me, is a far more cruel thing to do to a child, than telling them go back in and take off their mothers dress.

I'm ok with the child pìssing and moaning for a whole five minutes than cripple them emotionally for the rest of their lives by enabling and approving of their attention seeking behaviour before they're even mature enough to fully grasp the concept that their decisions have consequences that not everyone they meet is going to agree with them for.

Transgenderism is just ONE issue in which an adult's world view can influence children, there are a whole multitude of others, and one shouldn't become the primary focus at the cost of another if we want children to grow up with a truly well rounded and open minded view of the world they create, sans not just transphobia, but also free of all types of discrimination- homophobia, xenophobia, racism, sexism, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

playing with dolls mainly

I played with dolls as a child. I was never transgender.

They didn't say female traits.

They said "presented as female".

"Female traits"

DOES NOT EQUAL

"presented as female".

And you know it doesn't.

I think you are misinterpreting the article and obstinately digging your heels in with semantics. It's very clear to me they did not decide their childs gender identity at 18 months.

Terry Pratchet

I dunno - I'd guess playing with dolls mainly

I'm sure that at a young age I was playing with my sisters barbies at some point.

Thank fcuk my parents had an ounce of wit and were more forward thinking than the parents in the OP and didn't suddenly decide that I had presented as female.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭rgmmg

starlings wrote: »
    but girls' toilets don't have urinals so how is this child going to bother other users with her genitals? :confused:

If "he" is anything like the rest of the men on the planet, by pissing all over the seat probably

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

I'm pretty sure up to the age of 8-9 I believed that kids and grown-ups were completely separate species and that girls came from their mothers and boys their fathers.

Wonder what a psychologist would have made of a (mute at the time as it happens) 4yo me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

You know what, The Who have a song, aptly called I'm a Boy

"The song was originally intended to be a part of a rock opera called 'Quads' which was to be set in the future where parents can choose the sex of their children."

Life imitating art

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Kev_2012 wrote: »
    The Life of Brian reference was a joke! Jesus like.

It would make me sick, physically and psychologically sick if I was duped (don't take offence now you here!) into relations with a transgender woman. This is why I don't want to have relations with one.

I never said you had to have a relationship with a transgender woman, did I?
    Like someone else said, there's not a load of transgender women out there secretly waiting to spring a crying game on you and turn you gay. I think you can relax on that score. It's understandable that it might not be a bridge you could cross but rather than telling a person they make you want to puke, you can handle it with a bit more maturity. Maybe that's asking a bit much.
    The way you're going on it's as though you want me to go shift the face off a trans woman to show that I've no problem with it! I've a problem with attitudes like yours.

Which attitude? The one where I said 'try having a bit of consideration and don't be an asshat'? Yeah, that attitude stinks. I bet I'm one of those pinko, liberal, pc brigade arseholes that hangs around boards. Fück those guys.
    I don't care what they do as long as it doesn't affect me or my friends/family negatively. I think it's these ultra sensitive attitudes of effectively making minorities stand out by taking offence on their behalf that causes more problems.

Here, let's break this sh¡t down again. I mean why would anyone be offended by you saying you'd be pissed off and disgusted and physically sick at the thoughts of being with a transgender woman? Anyone that get offended with that attitude's just being an oversensitive little ass.
    Next you'll be telling me that I hate black people because I've only dated white girls. :rolleyes:

No, next you'll be trying to find even more imaginary ways to feel like you're being stifled by virtue of the fact that you're a white male.
    Do you want to translate that into a 21st century PC version?

Yeah, it's called 'don't be an asshole when talking about people'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭sink

This thread is full of an awful lot of conjecture and very little fact. We don't know the particulars of this child's upbringing, some people feel it's fine to just fill in the blanks with whatever they imagine. I for one have not formed an opinion let alone dug a trench; because I don't have enough information. This child may be suffering from negligent parenting but then again he/she may not, you can paint it either way if you let your imagination fill in the blanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

I think you are misinterpreting the article and obstinately digging your heels in with semantics. It's very clear to me they did not decide their childs gender identity at 18 months.

That depends entirely on which journalist's article you take to be fact. When I saw one story I thought it was just nutjob parents who couldn't accept that they had a boy. The line that at age 4 the child thought there was something wrong with their body stood out as an exception so possibly there is something more to it but I certainly wouldn't say its clear that the parents didn't decide the identity at 18 months (unless you have more info that I have seen).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,679 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

I played with dolls as a child. I was never transgender.

Action Man is not a doll...as I so often protested in my youth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Action Man is not a doll...as I so often protested in my youth.
    Was it anatomically correct?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Kev_2012

starlings wrote: »
    Easy there now Kev!

It's OTT to go on about disgust and feeling sick, when it's not very likely that you'll ever end up in a Crying Game situation. I'd hope that if a trans woman ever tells you about her past and says she's interested in you, that you could be a gentleman about it and decline politely.

I've had a few encounters that didn't do it for me at all, and one that still embarrasses me to remember, though I thought going into them that they'd be good. But the last thing I'd do is go into the details with someone who turned me off, or describe it to anyone else. How would you feel if a girl went screeching to her friends about how disgusting she found you?

Of course I'll decline politely! I wouldn't freak out and start wrecking the place, I just probably would if I wasn't told that info before something happened. You get me?

Ah but you see that is different, they would know I am a man before anything happened. I was talking about if I found out afterwards. Sure there is no harm done if I know about it! I would just avoid that person sexually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,679 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    Was it anatomically correct?

some of them came with blue underwear to cover their shame, others were eunuchs sanded to a smooth curve

• Closed Accounts Posts: 683 ✭✭✭starlings

Of course I'll decline politely! I wouldn't freak out and start wrecking the place, I just probably would if I wasn't told that info before something happened. You get me?

Ah but you see that is different, they would know I am a man before anything happened. I was talking about if I found out afterwards. Sure there is no harm done if I know about it! I would just avoid that person sexually.

I would imagine - maybe people from the LGBT forum could help here? - that transgender men and women let their potential partners know about their transition before getting to the Crying Game stage. Otherwise there's a far greater risk of rejection and hurt, surely?

What I meant by going into detail about being turned off was that it's unnecessary. If someone doesn't do it for me, that's my business, not theirs, so it'd be cruel to criticise them, either to their face or behind their back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭Chris Martin

Actually in college at the moment and have a module on "Gender: Sociological Perspectives" and covered quite a bit on transgenders, definitions and concepts of gender and the like...
    I have my own opinions on the matter,
    Which are similar to those of others...
    However, I think I'll keep most of them to myself,
    As I really don't think I'd be able to keep up with the constant ranting back and forth,
    I also feel most of what I'd say would fall on deaf ears...

So I'll state briefly what side I'm on..
    Personally I don't think it's right,
    Be it 18 months, 4 years or 8 years,
    I think that forcing their son to adapt to become a girl is wrong.
    They could try and say that's what the child wants,
    At that age, they don't know what they want,
    But that doesn't give you the right to choose for them.
    There was a comment earlier about the law intervening,
    Personally I think that they'd do a better job than the parents.
    When that child becomes of sexual age,
    Have the parents even thought about it?
    They're doing chat shows as well now displaying this poor child,
    And it'll say exactly what the parents tell it to say.
    I think the whole concept of "discrimination" has a lot to answer for.
    We'll keep categorizing people until we'll all have our own group.
    You're not allowing him/her to do such a such a thing because you're racist...
    No, it's because we had rules in place before you even arrived that deny them to do so...
    I'm not a fan of the American ways of doing things,
    I feel they can be overly strict and outlandish,
    But I admire how they hold on to their principles.
    They'd be waiting many a day expecting an apology off me for enforcing my rules.

I do feel sorry for the child though,
    And of course it's not his fault.
    Imagining how difficult his life is going to be in the future,
    A 21 year old transgender, Bobby,
    Going through elementary, high school, college...
    Hoping he gets in with a girl crowd because at that age,
    The majority of lads will steer clear..

I hope really that either they come to their senses and let the child choose what he wants to be when he comes of such an age to do so,
    Or that when he gets to a certain age, he realizes himself this isn't right, and rectifies it.

Nothing in the world against transgenders,
    Haven't, knowingly, met one,
    But I'm sure they're just like you and me.
    I just don't think this young lad knows he is one yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Do you know how much damage you can do if you as a parent invalidate your child's perceptions for years on end?
    It is not necessary to invalidate anyone's perceptions. All that is needed is for the parents to say 'You want to wear dresses? Grand. You want to play with dolls? No problem. However you currently have a penis and therefore you use the toilet designed for people with penises.' And to leave any further discussion of trans-gender issues until the child is old enough to be able to understand the issues and communicate their own, informed, wishes.
    psinno wrote: »
    Here is a quote from the mum.

"I am a mom of 4 amazing, wonderful, awesome children (and one on the way!). Dakota is 5 1/2 years old and has Autism. Coy, Max, and Lily are 3 1/2 year old triplets. Coy is our special little neuro-typical child. Max is also on the Autism spectrum. Lily had a very bad brain injury as a 4 month old and is about like having a 1-2 month old baby, but is so much fun (and feisty!)."

That seems somewhat unlikely to me.
    That would make me wonder if, for want of a better word, 'losing' her daughter may have caused her to project her desire for a girl, and Coy picked up on it, consciously or subconsciously.