Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is multiculturalism wanted??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

why not he's prompting the imposed reduction of the human race due to his warped mindset if he believes his nonsense he should show us all the power of his convictions and start the reduction with himself like any good forword thinking trailblazer.

Though this will go very off topic and ill never agree with any such mindset so might as well leave it at that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

So you are promoting suicide now............................

By Allah, how sad is that!

Drive into at tryrellstown in dublin 15 when the schools are getting off...............................the plains of africa
    Very mixed....would you say its a harmonious environment ???? No way no how.......................this will be a major ghetto in about 5 years
    African Irish...........................Nigerian Irish ?????
    Attenborough says humans are a plague on earth .................... generally there is too much breeding going on in the world......................... I personally believe that the multi cultured society will be the eventual snuffing and breeding out of the white skinned human
    Just because you disagree with multiculturalism doesn't make you a racist you absolute bafoon, anytime you disagree with anything, social welfare tourism, nigerians fleeing from war torn countries and generally things that involve you bending over and taking it up the whole from another country you are a racist ............................I have you take note that most of the immigrants and migrants stick to their own and actually aren't a fan of the mixing too..........................your just one of those everybody into the jacuzzi types...................

The eloquence of those posts is matched only by the ignorance and intolerance of their content.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 495 ✭✭bootybouncer

The eloquence of those posts is matched only by the ignorance and intolerance of their content.

I hope that one day you are made redundant from a job along with your colleagues only to see that next week the company now operate with a majority eastern European and Nigerian workforce..................................Dublin Port shipping company, ships loaded and unloaded for years by irish men.........................and now ????? the ideals on the european union and the john lennon types such as yourself

I'm self employed redunancy doesn't apply.:p

ah found out......taxi driver...................................a know it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

What's a 'John Lennon type'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

ah found out......taxi driver...................................a know it all

OH Holy God....This means WAR !! ...of all the things to call a Coyote,wiley or otherwise....your booties are surely gonna bounce now !!!! :D

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

AlekSmart wrote: »
    OH Holy God....This means WAR !! ...of all the things to call a Coyote,wiley or otherwise....your booties are surely gonna bounce now !!!! :D
    No Alek, I will not lower myself to the posters level, I shall remain dignified and staid.:)

The feckin neck on the bollix, I'll give hime feckin taxi driver!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

9959 wrote: »

Good question....probably like an Old Hippy who spends their day Nodin off under the shade of an ole oak tree........:o

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

ScumLord wrote: »
    Multiculturalism, which is really just an influx on people from other countries. Has always been the best thing that can happen to a state. Rome allowed other cultures to join them not long after they were the largest Empire the world had ever seen.

I dont think the romans had other cultures applying for membership of their empire, they were a bit more evangelistic than that

anywhoo, si fueris Rōmae Rōmānō vīvitō mōre - si fueris alibī, vīvitō sicut ibi

AlekSmart wrote: »
    Good question....probably like an Old Hippy who spends their day Nodin off under the shade of an ole oak tree........:o
    I'd Imagine they are just the types who want to give peace a chance:D

No Alek, I will not lower myself to the posters level, I shall remain dignified and staid.:)

The feckin neck on the bollix, I'll give hime feckin taxi driver!:D

Any jobs ???? ;)

and for the record I luvs the black lads http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aWACCWBzAmc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

9959 wrote: »

Nasty misogynist who hates one of his kids?

AnonoBoy wrote: »

hmmmmmmmmm getting there champ, all shall be revealed soon :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

There seems to be a lot of white flight from Detroit, Baltimore and Philadelphia. Why is that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

hmmmmmmmmm getting there champ, all shall be revealed soon :D

I asked you a question earlier...if you'd be good enough to answer...
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=83411356&postcount=675

</body>
    woodoo wrote: »
    There seems to be a lot of white flight from Detroit, Baltimore and Philadelphia. Why is that?

A lot of complex reasons I woulkd suggest you read "Urban Outcasts: A Comparative Sociology of Advanced Marginality" by French Sociologist Loic Wacquant for a good explanation of the ghettoization of Blacks in cities in the USA and his comparision with the Banlieues of Paris and other French cities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭Push Pop

woodoo wrote: »

For very obvious and uncomfortable reasons that the PC Left tend to ignore. Its happening in many more cities than that too. California is over run with Hispanics and it's being dragged down to their third world level of crime, drugs, gangs and corruption.
    In Ireland's case, I doubt we will see any white flight though.

mod:

banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Push Pop wrote: »
    For very obvious and uncomfortable reasons that the PC Left tend to ignore. Its happening in many more cities than that too. California is over run with Hispanics and it's being dragged down to their third world level of crime, drugs, gangs and corruption.
    In Ireland's case, I doubt we will see any white flight though.

Dear me....

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,319 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Bambi wrote: »
    I dont think the romans had other cultures applying for membership of their empire, they were a bit more evangelistic than that
    True dat, though they also had people wanting to plug into that culture and it's opportunities. Trade makes multiculturalism run smoother. On a few levels.
    si fueris Rōmae Rōmānō vīvitō mōre - si fueris alibī, vīvitō sicut ibi
    +1000*
    AnonoBoy wrote:
    More a complex chap, brought up in a post war narrow enough old fashioned culture with a lot of isms attached who got caught up with and influenced the new thoughts of the 60's and reformed and in doing so went overboard at times. But yea contradictions ahoy.

I really don't see Ireland suffering much in the way of "white flight". Very different dynamics in places where this happened. For a start the immigrant/ethnic populations here are very small by comparison and they're spread out and they're more diverse. Plus it might have happened in our "boom" when more money appeared to be around, but in most cases the opposite happened. Take say the South Circular Road area of Dublin. Lots of different folks from all over the world moved in over the last 15 years. The Mosque attracted Muslim folks, lots of rented places attracted others, but many Irish born people moved in there from the burbs around the same time. Today if you took a population census in the area the vast majority would still be white Irish.

*flash way of saying "when in Rome..." Kudos:)

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

mod:
    Bootybouncer banned.

For a start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

i can't see why interculturalism (multiculturalism where cultures are viewed as equal) is a bad thing. We have to view society as one community though not many communities living together if we want to avoid segregation in society. its a dead duck in Ireland where we have segregated travelers for years we don't like inclusion it seems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

ohh and the idea of race is considered laughable by modern science there is one race the human race

a red rose and a white rose are still roses
    a white person and a black person are still people

ohh and the idea of race is considered laughable by modern science there is one race the human race

True but the idea of culture is very important and very real the believe that all are compatibly isnt true imho and if you try to force them together all you get is resentment and possible serious problems for yourself in the future even if it is only a radical segment of the introduced peoples they(the radicals)should be removed from the country unless they "do as the romans do".

Or else i guess educated properly on whats expected and allowed then shown the door if they dont get it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,319 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

i can't see why interculturalism (multiculturalism where cultures are viewed as equal) is a bad thing.
    I would see people as equals as a given but wouldn't see cultures as so. As I wrote earlier; Personally I think that equality of human beings is a carved in stone given, but that the equality of cultures is a far greyer area, but in the admirable drive for a modern liberal society we wrongly conflate the two. Cultures can't be equal. To say they are also says cultures can't develop and progress, which is a nonsense.

OK so let's say all cultures are equal. Would you then see a culture where women are second class citizens as equal? There are quite the number of them. What about cultures who don't share the idea that democracy is the way forward? What about cultures that don't share the idea of religious freedom? How are they equal? How are they progressive?

Oh certainly. The 19th century notion of "race" has been proven utterly bogus. It's more correct to describe genetic populations of modern humans. That said I don't particular like the "oh we're all the same" either. That lessens our amazing human story for me. Yes we're all modern humans, but different populations have a far less simplistic and a far more interesting journey going on to get to today. We're a wonderful mishmash of a small band of modern humans from Africa and previous human cousins from around the world(inc Africa) we bumped into and bumped uglies with :) along the way. We're more diverse and more interesting than the idea of a homogenous and "pure" bunch. That's just on the genetic front, the cultural history front adds even more interest and diversity to the mix.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

wibbs posts the more coherent better spelled version of what i ment in my head.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

Same thing happened in the dock yards in Cork City.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

So you're problem really is not with multiculturalism but with mechanisation?

Yes, I can see how it would be easy to confuse those two concepts...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

Agreed, but careful, or you'll be accused of being a 'John Lennon type'.

I'm generalising now, but it seems to me that you'll encounter arguments from two distinct subsets on this thread.

One grouping is prone to eristical flights of fancy, looping the loop with their Latin quotations and philosophical conundrums, and giving cover - however inadvertently - to the other grouping, which consists of a ragbag of Islamophobes, reactionaries, latent racists and xenophobic rabble-rousers.

By the way, it's alleged that a variant of "When in Rome", was uttered by a hospital worker to Savita Halappanavar in her hour of need, sometimes even the apparently perfectly non-sexist, totally democratic, culture of the 'host' country can do with some improvement, with or without the influence of those from 'inferior' places, or indeed Rome.

I believe that the injunction 'Don't Feed The Trolls' is strongly recommended on this forum.
    May I suggest another to the more erudite among you.

DON'T FEED THE RACISTS!