Any evidence of cannibalism during Irish Famine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

If it did happen, it probably wasn't reported to the newpapers of the time so we wouldn't have a recorded incident.

Reporters. Mmmm Yummy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Hannibal O'Lecter.:(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 388 ✭✭Truncheon Rouge

So a African American man can't say "We were enslaved"? Answer - NO And in talking about them as 3rd parties we must say. African Americans of that time but not now were enslaved Answer - Yes....

If you weren't involved in something you don't get to claim a part in it.
    You don't get to claim other peoples suffering or victory.
    If some random person in Ireland has a child today you're not going out for a pint are you
    If I convert to judaism tomorrow I won't be saying people killed US in concentration camps.

YOU didn't suffer famine YOU didn't fight as a rebel.
    YOU weren't there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Wompa1 wrote: »
    How could you eat meat like that without have some potatoes to go with it.
    You can't. That's why we all starved. It was a potato famine not a food shortage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

If some random person in Ireland has a child today you're not going out for a pint are you
    If I convert to judaism tomorrow I won't be saying people killed US in concentration camps.

YOU weren't there.

I see, but these are your rules aren't they, as I said? You can have those rules, and the rest of the world will use "we" or "us" to describe stuff which happened to our ancestors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

There were thousands of reports of Irish mothers atein the holes of their sons. But I don't think any solid evidence was ever discovered.

I see, but these are your rules aren't they, as I said? You can have those rules, and the rest of the world will use "we" or "us" to describe stuff which happened to our ancestors.

What was it like during those days ?? How did you ever get by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,035 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

I was say it 100% definitely happened during the famine.

Of course it mightn't be the first time such a thing has happened here. According to the ancient greek geographer Strabo, this is what he knew about the irish:
    [Ireland's] inhabitants are more savage than the Britons, since they are man-eaters as well as heavy eaters, and since, further, they count it an honourable thing, when their fathers die, to devour them, and openly to have intercourse, not only with the other women, but also with their mothers and sisters.

He doesn't sell the place well I have to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Of course it mightn't be the first time such a thing has happened here. According to the ancient greek geographer Strabo, this is what he knew about the irish:

Of course they probably said the same about any of the barbarians on the edge of their world.

It's hard to know what Ireland would have truly been like. I watched a BBC documentary "How the Celts saved Britain" and while it was very complimentary to Christian Ireland it dismissed Pre Christian Ireland as a completely backwater (for the time) and "had no roads to speak of" when Ireland did have it's own version of roads. They may not have been as technologically advanced as Roman roads of the time but they were more than just a trail worn in the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭fatknacker

MadsL wrote: »
    Didn't they make a film about this a few years back.

Walking Ned.

Rhyme wrote: »
    Night of the Living Ned.

Oh. Oh. I got one:

Ned Flanders is such a............

feck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,035 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

ScumLord wrote: »
    Of course they probably said the same about any of the barbarians on the edge of their world.

It's hard to know what Ireland would have truly been like. I watched a BBC documentary "How the Celts saved Britain" and while it was very complimentary to Christian Ireland it dismissed Pre Christian Ireland as a completely backwater (for the time) and "had no roads to speak of" when Ireland did have it's own version of roads. They may not have been as technologically advanced as Roman roads of the time but they were more than just a trail worn in the ground.

Indeed! I was in a small museum recently and they had fragments of wooden bog roads (I'm not sure of the correct term) that went for miles and miles, over bogland no less, and they were dated at at least 5,000 years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Not really, no.
    'We' infers you were there during the event.

'we' won the battle.
    'we' invented this product.

'we' were born in the late 20th/ early 21st century and have never known medieval times, hand to hand battle, famine.

when was the last time 'we' didn't have access to a mcdonalds.

YOU weren't there.

Ok, I've got ye now.

We didn't evolve on earth, it was human beings/ our ancestors/apes?

Oh look, there's a white swan that's actually black :rolleyes:

SamHall wrote: »
    Ok, I've got ye now.

We didn't evolve on earth, it was human beings/ our ancestors/apes?

Oh look, there's a white swan that's actually black :rolleyes:

YOU didn't evolve on earth. YOU happen to be a human being.

Human beings evolved. It doesn't mean you actually personally grew oppose-able thumbs.

I'm a European - it doesn't mean I took part in shaping western civilization or have responsibility for slave trading. take your :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭greenflash

Do cannibals prefer ketchup, brown sauce or Ballymaloe relish?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Dwork

I have it on good authority that old Megs granny, the "Older" Meg, who was alive at the time of the famine, attempted to eat a part of Billy "Small pockets" McLoughlins great grandfather due to "the hunger". Well, the story was that she was caught in the hay-reeks "gobblin" the mickey off him, if that qualifies. Not sure if that's close enough to class as "cannabalism", but I for one was shocked. Caused quite a stir at the time as well. Apparently there was a wedding soon after. Lead to the term "shotgun marriage" by all local accounts. So now. "Older"Megs dad said Billys great-grandfather was a corpse if he didn't go through with the nuptials, so in a way..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

how do you mean? sounds great craic to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Reread my post.

never once said I evolved on earth, I implied we (as humans) did.

Your analogy seems to be, that unless any one of us, as an individual lived through or personally experienced an event, then it didn't happen to us.

Which quite frankly is a ludicrous suggestion/idea.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,561 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

"Tomás and Peig O Catháin were living here around 1850 when a storm cut the island off for six weeks. Tomás died and his body putrified, but his wife was too weak to remove the corpse. There was no other shelter on the island, so she dismembered the body and removed the pieces.

When neighbours from Great Blasket could finally visit, the “woman was alone, nearly dead from hunger, and a maniac”, wrote archaeologist George Du Noyer."

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/travel/2012/0929/1224324489471.html
    I remember being told that some pieces were missing,according to a few local historians.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

greenflash wrote: »
    Do cannibals prefer ketchup, brown sauce or Ballymaloe relish?
    Pal O'mine Lotion

SamHall wrote: »
    Reread my post.

never once said I evolved on earth, I implied we (as humans) did.

Your analogy seems to be, that unless any one of us, as an individual lived through or personally experienced an event, then it didn't happen to us.

Which quite frankly is a ludicrous suggestion/idea.

Right, so you dont actually need to have something happen in your life... in order for it to have happened to you.

I think it's fair to say that we, the keyboard warriors of Boards.ie, all know exactly what it was like in the 'nam. For real.

Dwork wrote: »
    I think it's fair to say that we, the keyboard warriors of Boards.ie, all know exactly what it was like in the 'nam. For real.

Well some of them have fought the Brits for 800 years.

(which means I have too)

Well some of them have fought the Brits for 800 years.

(which means I have too)
    Chucky are law. man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

We are all evolving on Earth, albeit very slowly.

Don't you think people aren't still evolving?

Not on AH. It's like suspended animation, but without the excitement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,043 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Normally man would have adapted/evolved to cope with their environment, but we have now reached a stage in which man has the ability to adapt it's environment to suit its needs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=doN2ZcE7ov4&feature=player_detailpage#t=232s

Not to make light of it, I'd be surprised if it wasn't a fairly regular enough occurrence. It was desperate times after all.

JJayoo wrote: »
    Normally man would have adapted/evolved to cope with their environment, but we have now reached a stage in which man has the ability to adapt it's environment to suit its needs.
    You've been to Offaly, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Why does everything strange and different food wise get compared to chicken?
    What does that human foot taste like? Tastes like chicken. Same with kangaroos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Why does everything strange and different food wise get compared to chicken?
    What does that human foot taste like? Tastes like chicken. Same with kangaroos.

Because the machines didn't know what certain foods taste like so they made them taste like chicken