Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Unpopular Opinions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭El Inho

I understand there have been horror stories, but i guess what I want to do it publicise the better stuff. Me and my girlfriend of over two years couldnt be only for ryanair fly to every single place we need to be to see each other (were long distance).

When people complain over not printing their boarding pass, or give the attendants crap over their handbag not being a bag which it is, and i owe ryanair so much, it infuriates me.

I understand they obviously do have a few situations they've let people down but being honest, againt when weighed up against the shear volume of passengers they carry...some of the crap they get is totally unjustified...like have you seen the websites and books against them...its farcical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 584 ✭✭✭dizzywizlw

Their baggage policy is an utter piss take, end of.

Mrs Browns Boys is for retards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

dizzywizlw wrote: »
    Their baggage policy is an utter piss take, end of. pretty much the same as everyone else's by this stage.

Agreed on both counts.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

All costs, incl hotel stays and taxi transfers were borne by the customers because they didn't pay for ryanair insurance. We were lucky enough to have holiday insurance which we claimed some of the expenses back

So you didn't buy insurance but Ryanair should pay anyway? If they started paying for this stuff people would take the piss. They should be forced to give each passenger a maximum of 50-60 euro per night, after that you're on your own. The people that moan about this are usually the types that will spend the night in a 5 star hotel after getting a taxi, when there's probably very good public transport, and try charge it all to the airline. Wasn't Ryanair's fault a volcano in Iceland went off, why should they be fleeced because of it?

Their baggage policy is an utter piss take, end of.

I'm begging you to elaborate.

Brother in law said it very well lately...

you wanna get from A to B in comfort and even a little help with your bags, you get a taxi and pay for it.

you wanna get from A to B on a shoe string, you take the bus.

Competitors vs Ryanair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Not picking on you dizzy, but I really wish people would stop saying 'retard'.
    It's a horrible offensive term.

Rasheed wrote: »
    Not picking on you dizzy, but I really wish people would stop saying 'retard'.
    It's a horrible offensive term.

i was going to second that until i realised i couldnt go a day without saying it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Words are only offensive if you decide to take offense to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Nonsense.

First of all, offense is a feeling. Unless you're feigning it for some reason, you don't choose to feel it.

Second, the extreme post-structuralist approach some users take to words, that they have no inherent meaning, and each individual applies their own meaning to words, is a bit ridiculous, and I strongly suspect it's only adopted to excuse acting the d*ck.
    The meanings of words are flexible of course, but most meanings are agreed upon over long periods of time, and certain words accrue negative meanings a person can't fail to know.
    It's therefore very easy to almost always choose a less-offensive term, particularly given the huge vocabulary of English.

Why don't you go to an area with lots of black residents and start throwing around the word "ni**ger?" I'm sure people will stop being upset once you explain to them that they're only choosing to be offended by a perfectly innocuous word.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

2 and a half men is absolutely brutal. Not a bit funny.
    The only time Brendan Grace was ever funny was in Fr. Ted. He has been doing the same stupid 'jokes' for the last 30 years.
    The Irish version of Family Fortunes is the most cringey show I've ever seen.
    That Westlife fella on The Voice has a head that id never get tired of punching. How is he a credible artist? He's a backing singer in cover version group who makes the tea and buys the biscuits when the group are on tour.
    Hardcore Apple v Android fans need to cop on and get a life. Come on lads, it's a phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

MJ23 wrote: »

Hardcore Apple v Android fans need to cop on and get a life. Come on lads, it's a phone.
    Android is not actually a phone, just sayin

Bollox. It you said any other 'offensive' word e.g. N*gg*r or knacker, when referring to travellers, you'd be ate alive here. And there are about five more words pertaining to race or sections of society that would have you banned if you dare type them. Or fūcked from a height by many posters.

But people can say retard, spastic, handicap all they like. And it drives me fūcking crazy. They are offensive and most people know that. If you don't, and someone gives you a gentle reminder and you still use them, you're pure ignorant. I know they weren't seen as a big issue in times gone by, but they are now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,365 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Madam_X wrote: »
    Hating the current government involves little to no thought, it's just a "Durrrr... they're in power, we must be hostile to them" kinda thing. All these calls for a decent government (by people not doing an iota themselves) - no matter who's in government, there'll be the same hostility to them. Rebellious teenager mindset. And if you challenge this lack of thought, you're automatically a FG supporter. Well I'm not, and never have been. What do the naysayers suggest? Nothing. Because they always expect other people to suggest alternatives. They moan about "the Irish" being apathetic, oblivious to the irony of them being part of that very group they decry.

The current government was handed a basketcase (much of it caused by ordinary people), the problems stem from before they entered government, but it's so easy just to whinge...

I think it has something to do with the fact that people on between 100 and 200 k are finding new ways to tax people on low and middle incomes.

If they showed example and cut their own wages then people would be more willing to put their shoulder to the wheel and get us all out of this mess we are in.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

It's a Linux-based operating system designed primarily for touchscreen mobile devices such as smartphones and tablet computers

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8 Streng Verboten

Nonsense.

First of all, offense is a feeling. Unless you're feigning it for some reason, you don't choose to feel it.

Second, the extreme post-structuralist approach some users take to words, that they have no inherent meaning, and each individual applies their own meaning to words, is a bit ridiculous, and I strongly suspect it's only adopted to excuse acting the d*ck.
    The meanings of words are flexible of course, but most meanings are agreed upon over long periods of time, and certain words accrue negative meanings a person can't fail to know.
    It's therefore very easy to almost always choose a less-offensive term, particularly given the huge vocabulary of English.

Why don't you go to an area with lots of black residents and start throwing around the word "ni**ger?" I'm sure people will stop being upset once you explain to them that they're only choosing to be offended by a perfectly innocuous word.

Offense is caused by your ego. When something is done or said which contradicts your sense of self or your ego you feel offense. When in a state of mindfulness you cannot be offended.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

And Apple make more than phones but I think it's easy enough to follow what he was trying to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Offense is caused by your ego. When something is done or said which contradicts your sense of self or your ego you feel offense. When in a state of mindfulness you cannot be offended.
    Check out that ego

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭LiamMc

Bollox. It you said any other 'offensive' word e.g. N*gg*r or knacker, when referring to travellers, you'd be ate alive here. And there are about five more words pertaining to race or sections of society that would have you banned if you dare type them. Or fūcked from a height by many posters.

But people can say retard, spastic, handicap all they like. And it drives me fūcking crazy. They are offensive and most people know that. If you don't, and someone gives you a gentle reminder and you still use them, you're pure ignorant. I know they weren't seen as a big issue in times gone by, but they are now.

Your are right and then you use misuse a term referring to Mental Illness.
    At the minute in my Society, in general, taboo words refer to Race and Gender. Derogatory words referring to Mental Illness, Age, Sexuality are still tolerated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

The Onion's tweet was hilarious :pac:

LiamMc wrote: »
    Your are right and then you use misuse a term referring to Mental Illness.
    At the minute in my Society, in general, taboo words refer to Race and Gender. Derogatory words referring to Mental Illness, Age, Sexuality are still tolerated.

Ah come out of the fog, Nobody was ever diagnosed 'crazy'. You could say the same about 'mad', as in "I was mad about that dress". You're clutching at straws there.

But retard, spastic and handicap all refer to someone with an intellectual or physical disability. And it's hurtful.

And that's bollox about race and genders. What makes them so special? What's makes them immune to a 'pisstake'? Why are they taboo Liam? Who decided that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭LiamMc

Ah come out of the fog, Nobody was ever diagnosed 'crazy'. You could say the same about 'mad', as in "I was mad about that dress". You're clutching at straws there.

But retard, spastic and handicap all refer to someone with an intellectual or physical disability. And it's hurtful.

And that's bollox about race and genders. What makes them so special? What's makes them immune to a 'pisstake'? Why are they taboo Liam? Who decided that?

Everything is 'bollix' to you.

LiamMc wrote: »
    Everything is 'bollix' to you.

Well if it's bollix, I'll call it bollix. Anything else to add Liam?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

Yes they were. Maybe not in your life time (Dunno how old you are), but crazy, mental, idiot, mad, so on, were all clinical words. Language changes.

Yes it does. N*gg*r, golliwog, knacker, chink were all acceptable at one stage. Not they're not and people will tell you fairly lively that they're not.

But cripple, handicap, spastic, retard are unacceptable now but not as many people will shout about the unjustness of those words.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Star Wars is badly dated, overrated shite

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

Yes it does. N*gg*r, golliwog, knacker, chink were all acceptable at one stage. Not they're not and people will tell you fairly lively that they're not.

But cripple, handicap, spastic, retard are unacceptable now but not as many people will shout about the unjustness of those words.

You're the silent majority.

and the words you mentioned were never acceptable and were always derogatory apart from golliwog which was only assumed to be offensive in the past few years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

The problem is that the first set of words were always insults, whether socially accepted or not, the second set were all words used in the past (and not that long ago) for medical diagnosis. Just conjecture here but maybe that's why they are taking longer to be really become unacceptable.

Ah I understand that the likes of retard etc are very common words to use to insult someone but it is hurtful to some people.

I also understand that people find it hard to change their vocabulary when they're used to saying something. But do people not understand they are not just words to throw around?

I just think it's horrid in this day and age, where equality is being pushed at every corner, with children that have mental/ physical or intellectual disabilities now going to mainstream schools, that these archaic words are still being flippantly thrown around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭gutteruu

Ah I understand that the likes of retard etc are very common words to use to insult someone but it is hurtful to some people.

I also understand that people find it hard to change their vocabulary when they're used to saying something. But do people not understand they are not just words to throw around?

I just think it's horrid in this day and age, where equality is being pushed at every corner, with children that have mental/ physical or intellectual disabilities now going to mainstream schools, that these archaic words are still being flippantly thrown around.

Handicapped and retarded are the normal words used in the US. Its just a word. The problem lies where people take offence to it. You shouldn't be automatically offended unless there was malice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I think everything you like is overrated.