First car - Max 1.4 and €2000: Scenic VS Megane?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I see that you don't want to see people driving anything else other than Jap stuff...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,525 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

dgt wrote: »
    I see that you don't want to see people driving anything else other than Jap stuff...
    Why do you say that? I have often suggested none "jap stuff"

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    Why do you say that? I have often suggested none "jap stuff"

But not in this thread ;)

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

What is that, out of curiousity?
    It's the motor that runs the electric windows. If it goes when your windows are down, which is very common, the windows are stuck like that til it's replaced.

I have a Corrolla for about 5 years now and has never let me down. I would recommend them, not the most glamorous of cars, but bulletproof.

But not in this thread ;)
    I have only suggested one car in this thread but yes you are correct it is a Jap brand.

The only reason for me suggesting a Corolla to the op is because I feel it offers the best performance for a 1.4, is economical and cheap to maintain and above all else it's the most reliable car the op is likely to get imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,734 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Stay away from both the Megane & Scenic of that era, piles of junk ! The Megane is also a horrible car to sit in, especially in the back.

The Focus is well worth a look, as is a Corolla, Fiesta or an Astra (though it's not that easy to come across a clean one).

It's your answer that's junk tbh.

I bought 3 of those Scenics, 2 of them new (1.4 petrol, 1 used 1.9 diesel). I would not hesitate to buy them again, and that 16v 95 bhp 1.4 is very good, and miles ahead if any of it's contemporaries. A 1.4 Golf is a sloth by comparison. Its the ones AFTER that Scenic that gave more trouble (post "face lift"). That Scenic went out of production in 05 iirc. Reasonable on petrol.

They are not perfect, no doubt. Like so many other car's of that era (e.g. Opel, VAG), their coil packs could give trouble. But the fix is both easy, cheap and DIY. Less than €100. Models with sunroofs need to keep their drains cleared.

OP - of the two, I'd pick the Scenic over the Megane - infinately more useful, nicer driving position.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

I have only suggested one car in this thread but yes you are correct it is a Jap brand.

The only reason for me suggesting a Corolla to the op is because I feel it offers the best performance for a 1.4, is economical and cheap to maintain and above all else it's the most reliable car the op is likely to get imo.

But what if it doesn't meet the OP's criteria? Maybe just wants to potter about and not care about performance? Maybe the Renaults (yuk) are cheaper to insure due to their safety ratings? Or the OP wants "Renault's famous comfort"? What if the OP likes Renault and not Toyota? Cheap?! :pac:

A good friend of mine had a Corolla 1.4VVTI as his 1st car. A true cracker of a car, one of the very few Toyotas I actually liked. Blew it up in about 35k miles ;)

Now, if I were to suggest a Corolla, I'd suggest something like this, with an NCT of course, if the OP is prepared to settle for an older car and can insure it reasonably :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

galwaytt wrote: »

Funny how you singled out my answer considering numerous of other posters have gave similar opinions. BTW while I do agree but would still probably buy one I never mentioned the Golf and my reply was more focused towards the Megane mk2 ;)

Between coils just randomly failing as well as windows just dropping down out of nowhere (which isn't a nice thing when your car is parked up in some kip of a area) I would call them junk. It was just unfortunate for Renault with those as back when they came out in 02 (?) they had a 5 star NCAP rating and weren't the worst looking either.

Someone also mentioned the Fusion as well, one of them would be perfect for camera equipment. I found them great for carrying luggage when I was driving one although you defiantly do feel the strain on the engine power when fully loaded however if I remember right they kept the older 1.4 Zetec engines in the early models which used HT leads as opposed to coils.

OP here again. Sorry I went missing there for a short while. So from reading the thread it looks like the Focus is the best bet (Civic, Yaris and Corolla's that fall within my budget all look pretty poor in my opinion, and the Focus seems to have more space for carting stuff around in?).

Does anyone know if there's anything in particular I should look for in a Ford Focus, so?

With regards to insurance, Lloyds seem to be the cheapest with Third Party, Fire and Theft, coming in at a (surprisingly low) price of ~€1,300. :eek:

quoteso.jpg

EDIT: That quote was for THIS Ford Focus:
    Make: FORD
    Model: FOCUS
    Description: 1.4 I LX
    Fuel Type: PETROL

I'm not particularly attached to that car, but I just wanted a rough idea on insurance price.

Funny how you singled out my answer considering numerous of other posters have gave similar opinions.

....sorry, wasn't personal: but your junk comment was the clincher ;) Dramatic effect and all that :)

I agree the Focus is a good car. But the OP did ask about 2 Renault' s, and said 1.4 Max. The Focus is not as useful (space wise), and possibly less economical.

How does that make it worth considering then ?

As for falling windows, ever owned a Passat ? ;) I never had window problems on any of my Scenics.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

the OP did ask about 2 Renault' s, and said 1.4 Max

I did ask about the Renault's, but it's not necessarily because I had become attached to those particular cars, more that they were showing up a lot and because I'd been in a Megane (and had no real issue with it) I thought they were a good brand (though people seem to have different views :( )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,755 ✭✭✭Bigus

Try a quote on an old and newer scenic for the Craic pls

But what if it doesn't meet the OP's criteria? Maybe just wants to potter about and not care about performance?

Well I can only suggest a car based on what the op has stated as their ''criteria'' First car - Max 1.4 and 2000 euro ;)

Yes maybe the op doesn't care about performance. I was only trying to suggest the best 1.4 car I could think of tbh, with performance being only one of the reasons why i suggested it.
    Maybe the Renaults (yuk) are cheaper to insure due to their safety ratings?

Maybe but I can't imagine a Renault is going to be much cheaper if any cheaper to insure over a Corolla. Granted the megane is safer than an E11 model Corolla, but the Corolla surprisingly isn't far behind it, and it's not the tin can people think it is:p. It actually done quiet well in the euro ncap gaining three stars and nearly even got a fourth star. http://www.euroncap.com/tests/toyota_corolla_1998/43.aspx

Or the OP wants "Renault's famous comfort"? What if the OP likes Renault and not Toyota? Cheap?! :pac:
    Tbh none of this is stated in the op's requirements, nor do they say that they would rather a renault over a Toyota:pac:. If that was the case I would have never suggested a Corolla.
    A good friend of mine had a Corolla 1.4VVTI as his 1st car. A true cracker of a car, one of the very few Toyotas I actually liked. Blew it up in about 35k miles ;)

Now, if I were to suggest a Corolla, I'd suggest something like this, with an NCT of course, if the OP is prepared to settle for an older car and can insure it reasonably :)

I was actually talking about an older one like the car you linked, with the ever reliable 4e-fe engine:). I should of made that clear in my previous posts.

As for the VVTI, Did your friend really hate it that much that he had to blow it up:pac:. In all seriousness though it's only early 1.4 vvti's that burned a small drop of oil and it's a problem that was greatly exagerrated. Most at this stage have been recalled by Toyota and are fine.

Apart from that they are actually a very reliable engine. For your mate's one to ''blow up'' it must of been seriously abused for those 35k miles and ill maintained.

Well I can only suggest a car based on what the op has stated as their ''criteria'' First car - Max 1.4 and 2000 euro ;)

What about an Astra? It falls into the OP's criteria...
    Maybe but I can't imagine a Renault is going to be much cheaper if any cheaper to insure over a Corolla. Granted the megane is safer than an E11 model Corolla, but the Corolla surprisingly isn't far behind it, and it's not the tin can people think it is:p. It actually done quiet well in the euro ncap gaining three stars and nearly even got a fourth star. http://www.euroncap.com/tests/toyota_corolla_1998/43.aspx

Well I can

Nearly 4 stars is not 4 stars, it's still 3 stars, about average for a late 90s car. Megane is 5 star. Insurers logic (safer cars, less performance orientated, less likely to be modified) would entail cheaper insurance, or am I wrong? ;)
    Tbh none of this is stated in the op's requirements, nor do they say that they would rather a renault over a Toyota:pac:. If that was the case I would have never suggested a Corolla.

Hence why I haven't really suggested much. "Cheap insurance, 1st driver" insurance will still bum people for that! Plus no est mileage, type of driving etc... I'm likely to have missed that though :o
    I was actually talking about an older one like the car you linked, with the ever reliable 4e-fe engine:). I should of made that clear in my previous posts.

As for the VVTI, Did your friend really hate it that much that he had to blow it up:pac:. In all seriousness though it's only early 1.4 vvti's that burned a small drop of oil and it's a problem that was greatly exagerrated. Most at this stage have been recalled by Toyota and are fine.

It was minded, by the end it was mixing oil with petrol like cocktails. Absolute crap and a pity too. Coils went several times, as a direct result the cat went too

Apart from that they are actually a very reliable engine. For your mate's one to ''blow up'' it must of been seriously abused for those 35k miles and ill maintained.

What's the definition of reliable? And it's direct proportion to maintainance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭NobodyImportant

Megane/Scenic werent very reliable when they were new, let alone now. Avoid like plague. See contemporary JD power surveys etc where 3 year old cars were reviewed. Renault did not score highly.

Add in another 5 years+ and poor maintenance and you have a timebomb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭ronaneire

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    I've just got rid of a Megane similar to what you have found. I would never get one again. Prepare to replace coils every few months (about 70 euro at a Renault Dealership)

If the plugs aren't genuine Renault this causes the coil packs to blow.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 18,197 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I bought 3 of those Scenics, 2 of them new (1.4 petrol, 1 used 1.9 diesel). I would not hesitate to buy them again, and that 16v 95 bhp 1.4 is very good, and miles ahead if any of it's contemporaries. A 1.4 Golf is a sloth by comparison. Its the ones AFTER that Scenic that gave more trouble (post "face lift"). That Scenic went out of production in 05 iirc. Reasonable on petrol.

They are not perfect, no doubt. Like so many other car's of that era (e.g. Opel, VAG), their coil packs could give trouble. But the fix is both easy, cheap and DIY. Less than €100. Models with sunroofs need to keep their drains cleared.

OP - of the two, I'd pick the Scenic over the Megane - infinately more useful, nicer driving position.

Bet you'll never win the lotto GTT - you used up a lifetimes good luck on those Renault's I reckon ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭DainBramage

OP

I once owned an 04 megane II and have to go with the trend here and advise you to stay away from them

my experience:
    had an engine warning light on dash which the now defunct renault liffey valley first diagnosed as O2 sensor issue, then some other sensor then when neither of this worked wanted to change out the ECU at a cost of e1000.
    Terrible customer experience with them but thats another rant. was eventually fixed by another mechanic.
    other issues:

keycard never worked properly
    bulbs blowing constantly and a nighmare to replace
    the inevitable window reg. issues

What do ye guys make of these as potential purchases?

Focus, 3 door, 1.4, 01 KE, Black (or blue?)
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4382058

Focus, 5 door, 1.4, 01 DL, Silver
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4602403

Focus, 5 door, 1.6, 01 DL, White
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4592088

I like the idea of a 5 door (though the tinted windows on the 3 door make it tempting for having camera gear in the back that's exposed for when jumping in and out quickly, but the scrapes to the front right and back right make me think it's been poorly kept?).

Are they all much the same? Anything obvious I'm overlooking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

1st is clearly a skangermobile. Wouldn't touch it with a 200ft barge pole.

2nd isn't too horrendously modified bar the front bumper, may be the photo but it looks like you could park an artic on the spoiler.

3rd is the best of the lot, but white...

1st is clearly a skangermobile. Wouldn't touch it with a 200ft barge pole.

Do they not generally opt for Honda Civics and such? I didn't think a Ford Focus was a typical boy racer/knacker car (although I have seen a few ludicrous looking ones).
    2nd isn't too horrendously modified bar the front bumper, may be the photo but it looks like you could park an artic on the spoiler.

3rd is the best of the lot, but white...

I don't mind white. I'd prefer white over silver, if I were honest (looks good on some cars, but most silver Focuses (is the plural Focuses or Focus') tend to look a bit dreary or something (could be just me). White seems a bit crisper looking or something...

Preferred colour would be black but I shalln't complain for the money I'm spending. Be lucky if the car doesn't implode after an hours driving considering my budget.

The white is 1.6, so not sure if that'll have much effect on insurance.. hmmm... must do an online quote and see..

Going from 1.4 to 1.6 seems to add about €100 onto the insurance costs. Also adds to the road tax.. Hmm, not a massive amount on either end though.

32838934.jpg

(That's based on the white Focus)

Could probably haggle the car to €1,500? Try get the insurance to €1,300 (down €90? Though I still think that's a pretty good price to be honest). Could have the car bought, taxed and insured for under €3,500 (ultimately knocking €500 off what I was expecting to spend, and I like the look of the white focus, too).

Tempting...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Do they not generally opt for Honda Civics and such? I didn't think a Ford Focus was a typical boy racer/knacker car (although I have seen a few ludicrous looking ones).
    Ah come on now, a blind man could see that's been ruined...

So would you reckon the third ad (white 5 door Focus) looks alright? Nothing obvious I'm overlooking?

Out of curiousity, does anyone know if there's an easy way of telling if the car has an alarm or immobiliser? The insurance quote asks and I just put alarm (i assume all cars after 1990 have an alarm fitted?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,944 ✭✭✭pete4130

If it's for your business and you don't need the back seats it makes sense to get something like a focus car/van commercial. Cheaper tax and can offset the cost against tax.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭miller50841

Be careful with the DL reg cars usually brought in from the North and do be riddled with rust from salt being used in huge amounts up there.

The 1st two are driven into the ground and really look terrible.
    It's easy to get your window's tinted after you buy the car.

Most cars after 1996 and all cars now have immobiliser fitted but alarms would not tend to be on the years you are looking at.

Would you not get a 1litre 1st and get your years driving and then move up.

Sure they seem dear for 01 I selling 03 for €2300 with 82000miles not trying to sell have up advertised but would recommend keep looking you will find better then what you have found.

pete4130 wrote: »
    If it's for your business and you don't need the back seats it makes sense to get something like a focus car/van commercial. Cheaper tax and can offset the cost against tax.

I was thinking that initially, but overall I think I'd prefer to have the seats and the option of just putting them down flat in the event that I needed to.

I have an Iveco Daily with my logo/name plastered all over it that could be used if I need to cart an unusually large amount of stuff around (though I don't personally drive it myself).

So I think a normal every-day car is the best way to go for a first car.

Be careful with the DL reg cars usually brought in from the North and do be riddled with rust from salt being used in huge amounts up there.

The 1st two are driven into the ground and really look terrible.
    It's easy to get your window's tinted after you buy the car.

Most cars after 1996 and all cars now have immobiliser fitted but alarms would not tend to be on the years you are looking at.

Would you not get a 1litre 1st and get your years driving and then move up.

Sure they seem dear for 01 I selling 03 for €2300 with 82000miles not trying to sell have up advertised but would recommend keep looking you will find better then what you have found.

I've noticed DL appearing a fair bit. Surely if the car has irish plates then it was bought in the Republic, no? Or at least all cars on the border would have similar issues (I live in Louth, so near-ish to the border myself).

I've heard 1ltrs can be hassle due to their small sizes? And not an ideal driving experience? Plus I don't think I can get a 1L Focus? (I've kinda accepted/settled on a Focus at this point in the thread).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

I've noticed DL appearing a fair bit. Surely if the car has irish plates then it was bought in the Republic, no? Or at least all cars on the border would have similar issues (I live in Louth, so near-ish to the border myself).

I've heard 1ltrs can be hassle due to their small sizes? And not an ideal driving experience? Plus I don't think I can get a 1L Focus? (I've kinda accepted/settled on a Focus at this point in the thread).

Lots of people buy cars in the UK and VRT them so they can get irish reg plates.

1ltrs aren't all that bad, there grand for city driving and that.

You could have a 1.0 Focus if you wanted to but I very much doubt you'll be willing to pay over 20k for one :P

Lots of people buy cars in the UK and VRT them so they can get irish reg plates.

What does that mean though (to me)? Is there a hidden charge or cost that I'm not factoring in if that is the case? :confused:

I have my money in my hand now to buy a car so I'm trawling through DoneDeal again. That white Focus linked above is still top of my list. Only real downside is that it's such a distance away from me (3 hours each way).

Another Focus on DoneDeal has taken my attention too, though;

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4313501 - EDIT: Sold now (rang the seller).

A year older, a couple of hundred Euro cheaper, but will have a new NCT (not sure what that means, really? Do I have to wait for them to NCT it? How long will that take? And do I have to view it first and pay a deposit, before they'll NCT it?)

I prefer the white one, but the convenience of the black one has me tempted. Both have similar mileage. With the exception of the white one having a sunroof, i think they're identical really?

Any thoughts on that at all? :o

First, OP, I realise your on a Ford mission, so won't dissuade you from that, but the Renault bashing is nearly good enough for a Pullitzer atmo........hence this post.......... ;)
    Megane/Scenic werent very reliable when they were new, let alone now. Avoid like plague. See contemporary JD power surveys etc where 3 year old cars were reviewed. Renault did not score highly.

Add in another 5 years+ and poor maintenance and you have a timebomb.

Rubbish. See my earlier post. My first one did 88k miles in, and put my first coilpack in it at 80k+. Apart from one set of tyres and brake pads, and the scheduled timing belt, it never required anything beyond regular servicing. Second one I sold to a family member where it went on for years afterwards.
    ronaneire wrote: »
    If the plugs aren't genuine Renault this causes the coil packs to blow.
    Funnily enough, I heard that too. I don't know whether to believer it or not - the first coilpacks were Sagem afaik, and later Hitachi or Denso. Why either would 'prefer' Renault plugs I'm not so sure, unless they had some weird capacitance........Beru make coil packs for them too iirc.
    OP

I once owned an 04 megane II and have to go with the trend here and advise you to stay away from them

my experience:
    had an engine warning light on dash which the now defunct renault liffey valley first diagnosed as O2 sensor issue, then some other sensor then when neither of this worked wanted to change out the ECU at a cost of e1000.
    Terrible customer experience with them but thats another rant. was eventually fixed by another mechanic.
    other issues:

keycard never worked properly
    bulbs blowing constantly and a nighmare to replace
    the inevitable window reg. issues

This post takes the biscuit. The OP asked about Gen 1/Facelift Scenic which predates your car by years. It has no keycard, for example. It is widely acknowledged that the Gen II cars had loads of problems. But that wasn't what was asked, so the relevance of it is moot. Might as well paint all Passats with oilshaft hex drive brush if that's yer logic.......

On a general note, even in the older Scenics, the 1.4 16v was a better engine, lower tax, and more powerful, than the older 1.6 which by that time was a bit of dinosaur.

Ode To The Motorist