FF the biggest party in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

Not really =p

What do we have now? A load of 'centrist' parties all playing musical chairs and a couple of loons who don't understand what the game's about!

I think Ireland could be doing with a more right-wing party. Doesn't mean I'd vote for them, but it'd absorb a lot of bull**** from everyone else.

Think McCreevy, Harney, and a lot of other undesirable loons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭IceFjoem

Think McCreevy, Harney, and a lot of other undesirable loons.

Not to forget the lovable Michael McDowell!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

Armelodie wrote: »
    HASF?

How about the shinners..

Too much of a whiff of cordite about them. Before you say that FF and FG started in warfare and bloodshed, that's true but that's a long time ago and no one involved now is tainted.

SF, on the other hand, is very much tainted. Their leader refuses to acknowledge his part in an organisation that carried out illegal acts in this jurisdiction as well as in the North.

You might as well let the Dundons run the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

FG is the anti- FF. they are engaging in a "revolution" by not molly coddling an electorate which wants low income tax, no property tax but the best public service in the World.

People angry with the present government have always been FF. for a while on loan to SF but now back where they feel most comfortable.

I voted for FG but I feel I got FF Mk2. Same policies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭LETS BE AVN IT

SF only 5% behind FG thats unreal a great chance they do well in next elections.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭jjbrien

Theres one seems like this all over again. Maybe play that enough it will put people off voting FF

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

A crowd of economic terrorists and actual terrorists are rising in the polls?

This country deserves everything it gets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭hames

Not really =p

What do we have now? A load of 'centrist' parties all playing musical chairs and a couple of loons who don't understand what the game's about!

I think Ireland could be doing with a more right-wing party. Doesn't mean I'd vote for them, but it'd absorb a lot of bull**** from everyone else.

The country is too small for any ideological politics, it just doesn't work on this island. The PDs were not even particularly right wing, public spending ballooned under them and the frustrated PD, McCreevy. The inverse is true for the Labour Party in Government, and indeed when it was in opposition.

The fact is the PDs were as unpopular for their arrogance as much as their supposed political position, which was frighteningly identical to Fianna Fails.

Every party that will ever come to power will be centrist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Aenaes

hames wrote: »
    The fact is the PDs were as unpopular for their arrogance as much as their supposed political position, which was frighteningly identical to Fianna Fails.

Because the members who formed the PDs were ex-FF? Of course they were the first party FF would turn to when looking for a coalition partner.

Does anyone else remember Dermot Ahern saying something like "this might not be a bad one to lose" just prior to the General Election?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭BrianBoru00

I genuinely don t get how anyone with even a rudimentary understanding of Irish society is (a) surprised at the fact (b) critical of people who would vote Fianna Fail

As far as I can see, the difference between FF & FG is negligible.
    The top tier of "public servants" & the Unions are basically running the country and always will.

"People" didn't vote Fianna Fail in. "People" voted the local politician(s) they liked the best in . I would bet my mortgage that if Bertie had run for office the last election he would have again topped the polls.

The only (tiny, minute) possibility of seeing a real change would be if a labour/Sinn Fein / Independent coalition got in... Of course once their socialist policies took hold, most people would realise that actually, we re capitalists and then we're back to square one again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

zenno wrote: »
    We need to get this Scofflaw feller into government quick. I'm sure he would do a good job in all aspects of government.

FF biggest party in Ireland, I always said it was the fluoride in the water that's making People thick.

Vote independent.
    Just no. No. NO. NO. NO. It'd be like having Eamon Ryan as Taoiseach. Cordially, Pottler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭alphabeat

Morons be moron-ing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭hames

Bertie might pop out of a Presidential cupboard yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

hames wrote: »
    Bertie might pop out of a Presidential cupboard yet.
    Bertie's busy making real money. He now owns all our trees. Who knew..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,114 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

give us the meteor
    give russia this shower

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

bluewolf wrote: »
    Not sure who the alternatives are (not that I'd ever vote for FF or FG)
    Feck it, I'll have to go set up a Lib party

I'll vote for you if you can sort out planning permission for an extension I'm looking to build.

mackg wrote: »
    I'll vote for you if you can sort out planning permission for an extension I'm looking to build.

Vanilla envelope's are all the rage now, brown ones are so gone, after the bald one fooked up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

I am telling you now that this country will never see unemployment of less than 10% unless someone capable gets voted in.

and who would that be by the way?

question only for the OP ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

dvpower wrote: »
    FF mess up the place. FG come along and tidy up. FF mess up the place again. FG clean up again....

'tis the natural order.[/Quote

Fg tidy up, are you serious?? They have done nothing but lie and spin since they got elected..fg and labour are more self serving than ff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

Fianna fail gave us the celtic tiger and **** me I loved it.
    All FG / Labour have given us is cuts and attacks on the vulnerable.

Bring back FF i say.

through a process of inflating a property bubble and sustaining it by lowering stamp duty level and so making it cheaper to purchase a house.

the FACTS are, they were fueling their budgets with unsustainable debt.
    digging deeper and deeeper and deeper into it till the housing market went bust, and the house of cards came falling down, and they were shown for the shower of incompetent ***** that they are.

anyone can make a country work and sustainable, but you need a never ending supply of money to do it, and that is never going to happen, you just spend money you dont have and keep taxes low like FF did.

unfortunately you cant run a country sustainably like that though :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭robertxxx

When are we going back under British rule? The quicker the better.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

IM0 wrote: »
    and who would that be by the way?

question only for the OP ;)

I have to say that I honestly don't know. I'd have a central European government, but all they're obsessed about is hyper-inflated regulation and taxes.
    Benevolent dictator perhaps?
    Maybe the old saying is right, anyone who wants to rule should never be allowed to do so.
    I'm sorry I don't have a fix for it, but we shouldn't go for what we know doesn't work.:(

robertxxx wrote: »
    When are we going back under British rule? The quicker the better.

We are better off the way we are, getting tied up with the old empire when she is sinking slowly is not on.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Maybe we need a monarchy?
    Ming the Merciless for king?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

the c--ts would have disbanded if they had any conscience or decency, mind you if you look at their members at their conferences it gives you an inkling of their intellectual capacities, full of leprechaun faced, middle aged Paddy's and Breege's from Parish Pump land, a demographic sadly too large in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,402 ✭✭✭O.A.P

http://www.http://www.rte.ie/news/player/2012/0322/3235898-padraig-flynn-1999-interview-on-the-late-late-show/youtube.com/watch?v=4-bSKsVDr_M http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/charvet-shirts-neither-sinister-nor-important-26087963.html http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPICQwHnhOs
    That took me 5 minutes to find and it is all under a Fianna Fall government and I remember it all.
    No country on Earth would even dream of letting that lot have any power.
    I left out the big one on purpose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭storker

People angry with the present government have always been FF. for a while on loan to SF but now back where they feel most comfortable.

I've never voted FF and I'm angry with this government.

The poll results are an indicator of a few things:

1. The stupidity of a large proportion of the Irish electorate that could even consider FF to be electable.

2. The sheer, utter, mind-boggling incompetence of the current government, which was elected with more political goodwill behind it than probably any elected government in the history of the state...and immediately set about giving the two fingers to the people who voted it in. The national appetite for drastic change was never more apparent that in early 2011, and FG promised that change, then got into power and got straight down to business as usual. That this poll indicates such strong support for FF is an indictment of the FG/LAB approach to government. Such is the revulsion of the public for this arrogant, remote, pampered, contemptuous shower, that they kid themselves that FF might really be better, like someone returning to an abusive spouse, "this time it'll be different..."

3. The dire, desperate, urgent need for a new, no make that two new political parties in Ireland. Currently, despite the democratic smoke and mirrors, we have a one-party state - run by the Gombeen Party (GOP). The GOP has two wings, the FG wing and the FF wing, and they swap power every so often to as to maintain the illusion that the electorate has a choice.

Revolution? I doubt Inda could spell it, never mind provide it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

I'm still praying Norway invade us soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,402 ✭✭✭O.A.P

storker wrote: »

1. The stupidity of a large proportion of the Irish electorate that could even consider FF to be electable.

2. The sheer, utter, mind-boggling incompetence of the current government, which was elected with more political goodwill behind it than probably any elected government in the history of the state...and immediately set about giving the two fingers to the people who voted it in. The national appetite for drastic change was never more apparent that in early 2011, and FG promised that change, then got into power and got straight down to business as usual. That this poll indicates such strong support for FF is an indictment of the FG/LAB approach to government. Such is the revulsion of the public for this arrogant, remote, pampered, contemptuous shower, that they kid themselves that FF might really be better, like someone returning to an abusive spouse, "this time it'll be different..."

3. The dire, desperate, urgent need for a new, no make that two new political parties in Ireland. Currently, despite the democratic smoke and mirrors, we have a one-party state - run by the Gombeen Party (GOP). The GOP has two wings, the FG wing and the FF wing, and they swap power every so often to as to maintain the illusion that the electorate has a choice.

That's what I wanted to say but you have done it better.:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

storker wrote: »

Given we had a deficit of 30B a year what were you expecting when you voted for this government? And what would you expect them to have done.

FG has been far from Gombeen. It's been adult. The Gombeens are whine about necessary cuts. The Gombeens would prefer we didn't increase taxes, kept social welfare the same, and also cleared the deficit. By Gombeen magic. I didn't vote for this government but it is precisely because they have acted like adults that I will vote for them next time.