FF the biggest party in Ireland

• 16-02-2013 08:59PM
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Yes, when I heard it, I too though I had traveled back to 2006. But I wasn't hearing things, though I wish I was.
    Well, what can I say?
    I always believed that, contrary to everything I saw and heard in this country over the last 20 years, most of the Irish where intelligent and politically aware. That voting FF was just some kind of freak occurrence like the magic roads, the moving statues, a blind spot for good food or beer, a universal desire to build crappy, cold, drafty houses (that cost E750k to buy and where located in Portlaoise).
    I honestly though Ireland had turned a corner when FF where exposed for the liars, thieves, conmen and psychopaths they where.
    People voted for another party, doesn't matter that they where not all that different, just as long as they did not vote for that other shower of cnuts.
    But now I honestly am lost for an explanation. I simply cannot fathom why.
    Is it like an abused spouse that just goes back again and again and again, knowing that they will get abused and beaten?
    People who vote FF stand for cute hoor politics, backhanders, corruption, "He fixed the road", hypocrisy, keeping the big boys rich, cronyism, getting jobs by pull, making sure only the rich get by and trying to keep the old boys club as exclusive as possible.
    Maybe it's fixed pattern behavior, like migrating birds, trees shedding their leaves, the sun rising, then setting again. Programmed or bate into people's heads, as unchangeable as the seasons and the tides. Default behaviors that will persist despite circumstances or outcome.
    If so far there was every reason for hundreds of thousands of people to flee this country, there is now every reason for twice as many to get out. Because Ireland will never learn from the mistakes of the past 100 years, it cannot learn and is unable to change. This country will always be poor, corrupt, a gombeens paradise and it will never, ever change.
    I am telling you now that this country will never see unemployment of less than 10% unless someone capable gets voted in.
    If that doesn't happen, this country simply deserves what happens to it.

Maybe I'm being too harsh here, though. Maybe there are good reasons to vote FF. Let's examine a few:
    1: You where born yesterday and haven't picked up a newspaper, turned on a TV or had a look at the internet.
    2: You hit you head on the way into the polling booth and are suffering from amnesia
    3: You currently have a gun to your head
    4: You are the FF member trying to get elected
    After that I'm pretty much drawing a blank.

OK, things are difficult, but bear this comparison in mind:

FF is a mugger that beat this country to a pulp and stole it's wallet.
    FG had to act as the paramedic and apply bandages, plasters, amputate and give some pretty horrible medicine.
    Now the patient is complaining that things used to be so much better before, I felt much better and it's all the doctor's fault. You want to go back to the mugger who beat you senseless with an iron bar, because, you know, it wasn't all bad.
    I usually say "this is not personal", but I am now addressing anyone who is now contemplating putting an X beside any FF candidate. Yes, I am talking to you. You and the party you vote for are everything that is wrong with Ireland.
    If FF get back in, I will tell everyone abroad that, yes, everything you have ever heard about this country is true. It is "Begosh and begorrah, top o' the morning, ah shure she'll be grand" inbred thick mickery.
    Because in that case, this country does not deserve a better reputation.
    And I will write to every European politician to kick Ireland out and never give it another cent again. It won't work, but it's worth a try. Maybe the Troika can dissolve FF, we have rolled over for everything else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Pilotdude5

Houses for all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

People are idiots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭bgrizzley

It is "Begosh and begorrah, top o' the morning, ah shure she'll be grand" inbred thick mickery.

im going to vote FF solely because of this sentence...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

A lot of the people FF fucked over have emigrated and can't go against them in a national poll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Was the party mentioned on facebook?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭amacca

biggest party of sleeveens

the fact they are bigger is the only thing that sets them apart from the other sleeveens imo

get used to it OP......the next opposition will become the more popular parties etc.....no political party is going to be popular while its main function is to implement cutbacks

you want to experience a rise in popularity as a political party...try not to get into govt over the next ten years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

People believe FF can "get things done". Looking at/listening to Enda makes me die a little inside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Never forget what FF did Never.

The positive to take from this is that the most popular party is the one which has 26-7% of the poll. Ignoring undecided voters, this means that FF won't have the full controls of any government.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

I don't know whether to laugh or cry. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭yermandan

Who are the alternatives? Its a vicious circle and the wheel keeps turning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

I'll say it now and ye can thank me in 6 years time. Get on the property ladder now, FF will be back in next time around and the gravy train will start again.

Rent is dead money people!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

This poll, is the result of the arrogant and insulting way the present government, has treated it's citizens. Broken promises, harsh unnecessary cut backs in essential services, not taking a decent cut in their own largesse. Finally the sneering attitude in the way they treat the Dail, when questioned by the opposition. With all their expensive advisers, you would think that among them all, someone would have a tiny bit of intelligence, to get them in and see what is happening in the real world. End of rant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Yep they are a pretty heavy set crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,377 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Maybe I'm being too harsh here, though. Maybe there are good reasons to vote FF. Let's examine a few:
    1: You where born yesterday and haven't picked up a newspaper, turned on a TV or had a look at the internet.
    2: You hit you head on the way into the polling booth and are suffering from amnesia
    3: You currently have a gun to your head
    4: You are the FF member trying to get elected
    After that I'm pretty much drawing a blank.

"My daddy voted FF and his daddy voted FF and I've been bred to go to Mass and vote FF when I'm old enough".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭barney 20v

Never ever ever forget

A thread already exists on this topic...
    http://touch.boards.ie/thread/post/83207220

This poll, is the result of the arrogant and insulting way the present government, has treated it's citizens. Broken promises, harsh unnecessary cut backs in essential services, not taking a decent cut in their own largesse. Finally the sneering attitude in the way they treat the Dail, when questioned by the opposition. With all their expensive advisers, you would think that among them all, someone would have a tiny bit of intelligence, to get them in and see what is happening in the real world. End of rant.

That may be true but I can't see why FF should benefit. Why not someone else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭amacca

omahaid wrote: »
    I'll say it now and ye can thank me in 6 years time. Get on the property ladder now, FF will be back in next time around and the gravy train will start again.

Rent is dead money people!!!!

humour...........right?

(if so, good one)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

bgrizzley wrote: »
    im going to vote FF solely because of this sentence...

This wasn't a sentence to describe Ireland in general, I have tried to defend this country to so many foreigners who think "Ah yes that green little island full of sheep and bombs", because they simply don't know any better.
    But if FF do get voted back in again, I give up. This country does not deserve to succeed and should be blockaded by sea.

amacca wrote: »
    humour...........right?

(if so, good one)

Only partially.

Stark wrote: »
    "My daddy voted FF and his daddy voted FF and I've been bred to go to Mass and vote FF when I'm old enough".

He fixed the road!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭sockpuppets

Trying to differentiate irish political parties is a matter of comparing Sh^t and shi^e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭IceFjoem

yermandan wrote: »
    Who are the alternatives? Its a vicious circle and the wheel keeps turning

This seems to be the general consensus among FF voters. It might as well be their slogan ffs!

The people should vote in independent candidates for as long as parties like FF and FG act against the best interests of the people. Apart from putting competent, though independent, candidates in power, it sends the message that what the big parties are doing simply isn't good enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Ah shur lookit, we all partied

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

The naysayers need to go and commit suicide...

mad muffin wrote: »
    The naysayers need to go and commit suicide...

I get the reference and I approve.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

The FF sheep ( highly retarded) never left the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭IceFjoem

True, but what the poll really shows is the epic tunnel vision of the punters. The alternative should not be FF. People don't seem to realise that the Government are there to serve the people. To act against the wishes of the people should be labeled as treason. The punters need to step outside of their box (or tunnel as it may be), stand back and see the extend to which they're being betrayed.

Things are fcuked because we allow them to be fcuked, this poll is clear evidence of that.

(it was genuinely a fine rant though man)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

It's depressing enough all right.