Door is open for Ireland to join Nato, says military alliance's chief

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭DipStick McSwindler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

If I want to be a soldier (always have and always will) and cannot get into the DF because they have the power(and rightly so) to be extremely picky in who they take, I WILL join another army.

The reasoning for this? PEOPLE LIKE YOU would rather I sit at home, dreaming about becoming a soldier and go on the dole than "Join those murdering Bastards"

So I am informing you I am adding you to my blocked list, I have made my point

Basically a reiteration of the braindead reasoning behind someone wanting to go off on a war they can't even rationalise.

Gas man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Join the Mobile Infantry - service guarantees citizenship !

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,901 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

DazMarz wrote: »
    For a small nation such as ours with no true military strength or colonial/military past, it is in our very best interests to remain neutral. It hasn't harmed places like Switzerland or Sweden really.

The difference is that places like Switzerland and Sweden have true military strength and a military past. They can enforce their neutrality, they are well armed, and incursions into their territory are not decisions to be made lightly. Irish neutrality (insofar as it exists) is basically on the level of saying to the bad man 'please leave me alone' which historically hasn't proven to be a very successful course of action, as some of Ireland's friends in the EU can attest to.

In the meantime, countries which cannot enforce their own neutrality, like Luxembourg or Iceland, have firm commitments to their own defence by being members of the alliance, without having to spend much money on their own militaries. Iceland doesn't even have a military. (Though they do have an armed coast guard and an air radar network)

It is instructive to note that the only time the NATO mutual defence clause has ever been implemented has been as a result of the actions of a non-State actor. When NATO was first devised, I think countries were more worried about the 8th Guards Shock Tank Army charging through the Fulda Gap in Germany. Of all the countries that NATO would have been considering as a future opponent, I strongly doubt that a group of lads in Afghanistan was anywhere near the top of the list. So yes, while the chances of the Russian Federation capturing Shannon are pretty low on the probability scale, Ireland's biggest threat the last few years has been non-state actors, a very similar enemy to that NATO's defence clause has been used for.
    I dont think Ireland has any need to join NATO. We work perfectly fine as part of UN mandated missions.

Well, that's because by and large Ireland's UN participation is pretty low-key. A NATO mission has one serious advantage over a UN mission for both the safety of the troops and the effectiveness of the mission: Unified and unitary chain of command. Ireland suffered a lesson in this in 1961, when 160 Irish troops were besieged. Nobody was under any obligation to help them, and the UN 'chain of command' was reduced basically to begging to see if anyone might be willing to lend a hand. Eventually someone donated a single helicopter, and that turned out to be useless. The Irish troops became hostages.

Similarly, UNPROFOR suffered a like lesson in 1991. With the various UN forces responding with great deference to national preference and without a solid military structure to support them, Dutch forces were basically left to themselves. Rather than a suicidal last stand, they capitulated, and 8,000 people were executed.

Compare that to a NATO mission, such as ISAF today. Being fully integrated into the command structure and used to working together, the Portuguese infantry battalion in Qalat, say, if it needs help, is pretty much guaranteed that it will arrive. It's not like Srebenicze where Dutch forces asked for help from French forces please, it's ISAF forces requesting support from ISAF forces and confident that someone on the other end of the radio is tasked with supporting them.

Ireland's UN missions in the past since Congo have generally been fairly low-key, and the need for such co-operation really hasn't been driven in for the last half-century. I am curious to know what the actual chain of command and accountability is for an Irish presence in the PfP.
    During the Falklands war the UK flew Harriers off container ships , it took 10 days in the dockyard to setup the ship

In fairness, those were not combat vessels, they were used as transports. As Atlantic Conveyor showed, such vessels are totally unsuited to be in the firing line.
    You do realize that as a member of NATO Irish soldiers would be required to fight and die and suffer horrific injuries such as multiple amputations, Burns, post traumatic stress disorder, psychological and emotional issues. And you also understand that you the citizens of Ireland will have to pay for everything. Including dealing with psychologically disturbed young soldiers who will be full of anger from their experiences of war. As the newest member of NATO you will also have to show your boss NATO that you have courage. You will have to go to the front lines and fight. I know the reality of NATO I am a Irish-American registered nurse who works at the NATO hospital in Germany taking care of returning troops from various military campaigns. You also understand that by joining NATO you will isolate yourselves from many other countries in the world and become a target of fundamental Islamic organizations.Please be very careful about making this decision as the cost to you will be horrific. Why is being a peaceful neutral country not acceptable?.

It's a fair question, and and it comes down to why Ireland should participate in any overseas missions at all, be it under UN or NATO auspices. Certainly the places which most need involvement are also the places which are most dangerous. There is a reason that soldiers were sent to Timor and Chad and not just Gardai and civil servants. What cost our altruism, verses isolationism? There is a compact in place. Soldiers don't mind the risk, it's sortof inherent in the job description. They do, however, want to make sure that their risk is equalled by the benefits to someone, be it the home nation or even the farmers tending their paddy fields in Asia that they are protecting.

NTM

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

I didn't read all the posts but I would support our entry into NATO.

There are certain freedoms and rights that are only gained by using a stick.

In Ireland we take for granted that USA or Britain or someone will sort out those who threathen our way of life.

In the 21st century being neutral is being chicken really.

We became neutral (a government policy not a part of our constitution I think) to prevent us fighting with the Brits in WW11. This is irrelevant in 2013.

If you believe in our way of life then you should be prepared to fight for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

If you believe in our way of life then you should be prepared to fight for it.

Who's threatening our way of life exactly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Ireland has always taken an a lá carte approach to being a member of the international community.

There is no 'international community'. That's just a bullshit term that's used by western chicken-hawks when nations like Iran don't toe-the-line.

Most of the world is non-aligned anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭LincolnsBeard

DazMarz wrote: »
    Irish neutrality is a very good thing and is nothing to be ashamed of. The most crucial example of this was during World War II. Had we entered the war on either side, it would have been curtains for Ireland pretty quickly; enter on the side of Britain and her allies, and the Nazis would have sent the Luftwaffe to bomb the place back to the Stone Age. Join the side of the Axis, and we'd have found ourselves invaded and re-occupied by Britain for being belligerent and aiding the Nazis.

You conveniently left out the fact that the Nazis almost occupied the whole of Europe and were genociding Jewish people from the face of the Earth.

It's not a good thing that Ireland remained "neutral" in the face of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

The difference is that places like Switzerland and Sweden have true military strength

:D:D:D:D

Yeah, they'd have no bother holding out Liechtenstein, but I doubt France would be worried about their military "strength". :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Zebra3 wrote: »

Yeah, they'd have no bother holding out Liechtenstein, but I doubt France would be worried about their military "strength". :rolleyes:

How many times has Switzerland been invaded?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,901 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Zebra3 wrote: »

Erm... No, Switzerland is basically a fortress.

You know, for example, the French Army has 252 modern main battle tanks, the Swiss Army has 225 modern tanks, and the Swiss military has 220 self-propelled howitzers to France's 350.

Certainly the French military outnumber the Swiss military, 230,000 active personnel to 135,000 active personnel, but the Swiss have more reserves (77,000 to 70,000), not counting pretty much every adult male in the country who got to keep his service rifle when he left the Army. Plus Switzerland is extremely mountainous terrain which is hugely defensible.

The French Navy is substantially larger than the Swiss Navy, I grant you, and the Swiss Air Force's combat inventory (about 80 is only half the size of the French.

Bottom line, if the French really wanted to, they could probably take on the Swiss and win. But it would be extremely expensive to do (normal requirements are 3:1 ratio when attacking), and if already engaged with another country (eg let's say they're fighting Germany), they couldn't do it.

Compare those numbers to Ireland:
    0 tanks.
    0 self propelled artillery
    9,500 military personnel
    5,500 reserve personnel. Few people have their own assault rifle at home.
    0 combat aircraft

The Swiss are serious about their neutrality. Ireland, on the other hand, is not.

NTM

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

It's not like Switzerland has a huge population either. It's not even double ours and less than about 1/8 of France's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,669 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Switzerland also has a few armament manufacturers as well, so it can manafactur it's own weapons too. Just saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

The Swiss would probably sh1t all over the French if they decided to have a punch-up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Nino Brown

ejmaztec wrote: »
    The Swiss would probably sh1t all over the French if they decided to have a punch-up.

Exactly!, the French could have a million soldiers, but it's F all good if they all surrender at the first sign of trouble.

• Administrators Posts: 56,573 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Erm... No, Switzerland is basically a fortress.

You know, for example, the French Army has 252 modern main battle tanks, the Swiss Army has 225 modern tanks, and the Swiss military has 220 self-propelled howitzers to France's 350.

Certainly the French military outnumber the Swiss military, 230,000 active personnel to 135,000 active personnel, but the Swiss have more reserves (77,000 to 70,000), not counting pretty much every adult male in the country who got to keep his service rifle when he left the Army. Plus Switzerland is extremely mountainous terrain which is hugely defensible.

The French Navy is substantially larger than the Swiss Navy, I grant you, and the Swiss Air Force's combat inventory (about 80 is only half the size of the French.

Bottom line, if the French really wanted to, they could probably take on the Swiss and win. But it would be extremely expensive to do (normal requirements are 3:1 ratio when attacking), and if already engaged with another country (eg let's say they're fighting Germany), they couldn't do it.

Compare those numbers to Ireland:
    0 tanks.
    0 self propelled artillery
    9,500 military personnel
    5,500 reserve personnel. Few people have their own assault rifle at home.
    0 combat aircraft

The Swiss are serious about their neutrality. Ireland, on the other hand, is not.

NTM

Not forgetting that it's also landlocked, with no sea for quite some distance in any direction.

Nino Brown wrote: »
    Exactly!, the French could have a million soldiers, but it's F all good if they all surrender at the first sign of trouble.

It's quite some achievement how chicken hawks and their patsies in the corporate media have managed to paint the French as 'surrender monkeys' because, unlike Blair and company in 2003, they didn't dance like obedient little circus dogs to Washington's war-drum.

The truth of course is quite different to the propaganda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Couldn't the French basically bomb the feck out of Switzerland from the air or launch a nuke from the sea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

No. I for one do not want to have any part in the bullshiit. Stay as we are, we are in a very good position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭patwicklow

NATO have a lot of blood on there hands and the suffering they have caused just another stepping stone to NWO!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

patwicklow wrote: »
    NATO have a lot of blood on there hands and the suffering they have caused just another stepping stone to NWO!

They do?

The list of NATO wars is quite short

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category:Wars_involving_NATO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,895 ✭✭✭bizmark

what ever about nato but at the very lest Ireland should have an effective and useful navy with decent anti air capabilities with out that we are completely defenseless am i not wrong in thinking 4-5 ageis equipped destroyers are enough to track and protect the skys in a country the size of south Korea ? not that i expect us to shell out 1.8 billion per destroyer or anything but im sure theres systems available thats suitable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Nino Brown

It's quite some achievement how chicken hawks and their patsies in the corporate media have managed to paint the French as 'surrender monkeys' because, unlike Blair and company in 2003, they didn't dance like obedient little circus dogs to Washington's war-drum.

The french have been called rifle droppers since they rolled over in WW1 and WW2, it has nothing to do with 2003.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

Pretty much everyone is almost entirely ignorant of pre 20th century history. Doesn't require much propaganda.

Italian tanks have 4 reverse gears.

The french a country that conquered most of Europe and created a large empire and the Italians the people who gave us the roman empire how do people say they are cowardly with a straight face

Its After Hours and the Romans are not the Italians (and the Roman Empire peak was about 2000 years ago. so hardly relevant), the French are always up for a fight on their own terms.

Nino Brown wrote: »
    The french have been called rifle droppers

By who?
    since they rolled over in WW1 and WW2

They rolled over in WW1?. As for WW2, well, the French were still recovering from WW1 and no comparable nation (read, Britain) wouldn't have been able to fend off the German Blitzkrieg if they'd been on the continental landmass.
    it has nothing to do with 2003.

It has everything to do with 2003. The fawning corporate media swung in behind the propaganda and conspiracies against Iraq with aplomb.
    The "petulant prima donna of realpolitik" is leading the "axis of weasels", in "a chorus of cowards". It is an unholy alliance of "wimps" and ingrates which includes one country that is little more than a "mini-me minion", another that is in league with Cuba and Libya, with a bunch of "cheese-eating surrender monkeys" at the helm.

Welcome to Europe, as viewed through the eyes of American commentators and newspapers yesterday, as Euro-bashing, and particularly anti-French sentiment, reached new heights. In a barrage of insults and invective which ranged from the basest tabloid rants to the loftiest columnists on the most respected newspapers, European-led resistance to America's war plans in Iraq was portrayed not as a diplomatic position to be negotiated as a genetic weakness in the European mindset which makes them reluctant to fight wars and incapable of winning them.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2003/feb/11/pressandpublishing.usa

mike65 wrote: »
    Its After Hours and the Romans are not the Italians (and the Roman Empire peak was about 2000 years ago. so hardly relevant), the French are always up for a fight on their own terms.

I dont know mike if my capital was rome and one of the most powerful institutions in that city was a left over from the roman empire i would happly still claim them as proto-Italian and think it was very relevant to their national characteristic