Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off-Topic Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

besides the giant gorilla man?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Squeaky the Squirrel

Tea_Bag wrote: »
    besides the giant gorilla man?
    Yeaaee, gold star 4200819308_bccd250406_m.jpg

83 Percent of Radiologists Didn’t Spot the Gorilla Hiding in This CT Scan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭BobbyPropane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Trying to unify usernames a bit but man is it difficult to come up with something thats free in at least a few places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

ED E wrote: »
    Trying to unify usernames a bit but man is it difficult to come up with something thats free in at least a few places.
    how about EDE?

theyre unified just fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

It should be ED-E but boards wouldnt allow that. And people think my name is Ed...:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭Gumbi

That's obviously bull. :)

Obviously?

I wouldn't necessarily think so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Oh feck lads. Last night my ps3 and Xbox pissed me off beyond believe!!! I am thinking of putting them in to the box and throw in to attick so I can discover it in 10 years.

I love to burn movies on to one DVD, so I then don't need to fecking swap the damn things. Plus I don't fleet stupid DVD intros and menus. Just bang click watch.

So last night me and misses decided to watch a movie on ps3. 20 minutes in it went gob****e on me and turned off sound. Gave a warning as it is suspected to be pirated movie. **** you ps3. Threw in same DVD in to Xbox and it did not let me do a thing with it... Fine.
    For so pissed off! Just went and took my old tower from dinning room, hooked up the bad boy to TV. Threw in DVD. Copy paste. Watch movie like a boss.

I swear the ****, these consoles just pissed me off and now the only reason to own them is gone. I haven't played on them for the last half year. You got to pay for Xbox love to watch Netflix on Xbox!

Looks like my good old dell is going full time to telly position and consoles going in to attick.
    Anyone got their steam accounts on several pcs? I remember it was a pain in a hole to log in from different pcs, because it always asked for a new code to go in. Is it easier now?

With new consoles going for 600$, which means its 600eu for us, I wount even go near one and I am a huge gadget whore! Most likely I will just build myself a new valve box for telly instead...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭FlyingIrishMan

Anyone got their steam accounts on several pcs? I remember it was a pain in a hole to log in from different pcs, because it always asked for a new code to go in. Is it easier now?

As far as I know it still requires a code every time you log in from a new computer. I defragged my hard drive one day and after that it asked me for a code when I tried to log in.

I don't know if I should be happy that its secure, or annoyed that its such a pain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭Monotype

You can switch off that layer of security if you want.

Monotype wrote: »
    You can switch off that layer of security if you want.

Will it remember that there are 2 pcs constantly in use by same account? Or every single time when I log in from any of those two pcs it will ask for that code emailed to me?

I am thinking to wipe out completely my old dell. Thing is it has raid hdds. Can I break it up and just throw windows on ions hdd? Then add second one from windows it self? Or will I need some sort for format ?

You can have
    1) Asking for the code. In this case it'll ask you for the code once on each PC except if you do certain stuff that upsets it. I notice that clearing cache asks for it again. Under normal use, it shouldn't ask you more than once in a long while.
    2) Disabling it altogether. It won't ask for the code and your account is just secured by a password.

You can't log onto both PCs at the same time either way, unless one is in offline mode.

Do you want RAID on the new system? Is there a RAID card or is it using onboard RAID or software RAID, do you know?

Monotype wrote: »
    You can have
    1) Asking for the code. In this case it'll ask you for the code once on each PC except if you do certain stuff that upsets it. I notice that clearing cache asks for it again. Under normal use, it shouldn't ask you more than once in a long while.
    2) Disabling it altogether. It won't ask for the code and your account is just secured by a password.

You can't log onto both PCs at the same time either way, unless one is in offline mode.

Aye, I don't need them on at the same time, I just want to be able to switch between them. For example play some cod on the living room PC then go back to my main PC and play other stuff. I wonder is it remembering settings specifically to PC or account?

What about raid? Can I just break it up and slap windows on top? Or need some format?

What do you mean by settings? As in keybinds and stuff? That depends on the game itself.

Yeah, you can just break up the raid and install windows on an individual disk. You can do a quick format or whatever's needed in the windows install menu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,922 ✭✭✭Wossack

the old raided disks will need to be formatted alright - they'll most likely be illegible split out on their own

Well just deleted raid and now installing windows. Looks like everything is grand so far.

Well, windows installed. 2 separate hdds. Did updates and now downloading gpu drivers, spotify and other essentials. Cheers Mono! ;)

Hmmm loos like my Xbox controller does not like steam big picture... All buttons are mess-mapped. Any ideas?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Hmmm loos like my Xbox controller does not like steam big picture... All buttons are mess-mapped. Any ideas?

Do spill more details. I often get an unresponsive controller after exiting certain games. My guess is bad controller mapping on my games are screwing up the big picture menu when they're closing.

well. It is completely mesed up in steam big mode, but when i go in to game it is all fine. Really weird. I played Bastion on 42inch 1080p and it looked freaking amazing. I cant now go back to 720p on 42inch at all. fecking consoles going in to the storage now. ( not that i used the mfor playing in the last few years... )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

well. It is completely mesed up in steam big mode, but when i go in to game it is all fine. Really weird. I played Bastion on 42inch 1080p and it looked freaking amazing. I cant now go back to 720p on 42inch at all. fecking consoles going in to the storage now. ( not that i used the mfor playing in the last few years... )

I've had no problems with BP other than it hanging from time to time. I just played CS:GO with a xbox controller :pac: and quit out and my controller works fine (i use a wireless controller)

ya i cant deal with anything under 1080p gaming wise now either. Its torture atm because i have carrier pigeon so i cant watch anything over 360p if im lucky meaning any sc2/lol streams are unwatchable

Hey guys,

I could do with a new printer over the next while as the old one has been giving degrading results.

What's the models/brands/features to go for nowadays? I don't need a laser printer, as a compact inkjet for light use is fine.

Even a direction to look in is fine for now as I don't need one right away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,181 ✭✭✭Serephucus

I use a V313W from Dell. If you don't need network then a V313 might be fine.

The next time I need a new printer it will be laser though. Not getting a lot out of this printer, and a set of cartridges is €75.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

not exactly off-topic, but i'd imagine a few people hjere would find this useful

http://dexpot.de/

linux style virtual desktops in windows with this free program. it's awesome. this is one feature i've always wished windows had and now... nyom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭N64

I take it just about everybody knows the dangers of cheapo desktop power supplies by now? Well what about knock off laptop chargers you get off the likes of ebay?

Its not pretty :eek:

http://www.electricstuff.co.uk/acadapter.html

"Opening it up reveals a rather smaller PSU board than expected, plus a bundle of metal strips whose sole purpose is to add weight. Without these the unit feels very light and 'cheap'..." :D :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,181 ✭✭✭Serephucus

133° with 105-rated caps... nice. Charge your laptop once, and boom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Can someone recommend a good case?
    The components I got recently had to be sortof stuffed into my tiny old case. I want to start overclocking now but things are running too hot.

100€ budget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭deejer

Gbear wrote: »
    Can someone recommend a good case?
    The components I got recently had to be sortof stuffed into my tiny old case. I want to start overclocking now but things are running too hot.

100€ budget.

Corsair have the 500R
    Fractel have the R4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

500R looks like the business.

Anything wrong with this SSD mount?
    http://lb.hardwareversand.de/articledetail.jsp?adp=0&aid=67457&agid=869&apop=1
    I presume they're all pretty much the same.