Northern Irish Accent

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

I have to say I like the northern Irish accent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭westies4ever

A nothern irish person would never say 'i'll pick you up', they'd say 'i'll lift you'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Dicky Pride

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Slight digression, but what is the correct response to the Norniron question "Hows about ye?"?

I have often wondered that. Is it:

a) Yes it is
    b) Good
    d) And the same to you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Hero777

Ah halve tey let ye out here lad, headin back tey Cumer, i'll lift ye on mah way baack sure.

Derry (north county country accent)

Also added in a few words that i would always add to the end of a sentence lad and sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭juicyduckie

Sky King wrote: »
    Slight digression, but what is the correct response to the Norniron question "Hows about ye?"?

a) Yes it is
    b) Good
    d) And the same to you

c) ach hows about ye norra bother awn me hi, any craic wit ye?

a) Yes it is
    b) Good
    d) And the same to you

D in my opinion. You would actually say it but wouldn't care how the other person is. I think thats the same north or south lol!

a) Yes it is
    b) Good
    d) And the same to you

the reply would be any variety of 'im fine thanks, how are you'? you could try 'hows she cuttin?' (another obscure 'how are you?' term)
    Hero777 wrote: »
    Ah halve tey let ye out here lad, headin back tey Cumer, i'll lift ye on mah way baack sure.

Derry (north county country accent)

Also added in a few words that i would always add to the end of a sentence lad and sure.

thats not too far off it! But we'd never say lad or sure. The person would probably be referred to as 'sir' in north derry - or boss or even horse.

• Administrators Posts: 56,576 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

a) Yes it is
    b) Good
    d) And the same to you

"Nat too bad mate".

It's not "hows about ye" either, it's usually "whaddaboutye?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭Lingua Franca

a) Yes it is
    b) Good
    d) And the same to you

Awrite! Bout ye?

the reply would be any variety of 'im fine thanks, how are you'? you could try 'hows she cuttin?' (another obscure 'how are you?' term)

thats not too far off it! But we'd never say lad or sure. The person would probably be referred to as 'sir' in north derry.

Good point on the Sir, Horse is also a main contender there......

I've been to long livin in Mexico so you will have to forgive the rest. :(

"How's she cuttin'" must be how they reply down the country. I have never heard that in my life. :pac:

Hero777 wrote: »
    Good point on the Sir, Horse is also a main contender there......

I've been to long livin in Mexico so you will have to forgive the rest. :(

'lad' sounds more south derry/tyrone but i could be wrong! :P

awec wrote: »
    "How's she cuttin'" must be how they reply down the country. I have never heard that in my life. :pac:

south derry. as a female, im also often referred to as 'blade'. my brothers call me 'our blade'.

One that always make me laugh is how the Belfasties say everything twice. example - ' i went to the shop so i did.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭juicyduckie

I'm guilty of that so I am!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

We do that up here too so we do.

south derry. as a female, im also often referred to as 'blade'. my brothers call me 'our blade'.
    Aye down the country then. :P

Am a gyerrlll frum Derrraaayyy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

One that always make me laugh is how the Belfasties say everything twice. example - ' i went to the shop so i did.'

Certain bits of North Tipp do that too so they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Aye,thats wile cute...

Few cjans hi, be grand.

oh and 'wee' must be inserted to every sentence. I get laughed at when I answer the phone at work and ask the person to 'hang on a wee second'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭tightropetom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

They do though don't they

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,852 ✭✭✭homer simpson

Rasheed wrote: »
    Would you not go on to YouTube and listen to Daniel say a few words? You'd get the gist then.

Geography not your strong point no?

Daniel (assume Daniel O'Donnell) is from Donegal, which is not in Northern Ireland. Lots of people seem to think it is and TBH it get on me tits!:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Geography not your strong point no?

Daniel (assume Daniel O'Donnell) is from Donegal, which is not in Northern Ireland. Lots of people seem to think it is and TBH it get on me tits!:o
    Northern Ireland accent though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭GastroBoy

"I have to let you out here; I have to go back to Comer. I'll pick you up on my way back."

durka durka durka whataboutye.......sorted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭up for anything

MACHEAD wrote: »
    What part of 'The Wee North' are you supposed to be from?

There isn't a one size fits all northern accent. From Ballymena to Cork there's a different accent every 10 miles along the road.

The easiest to spell phonetically would probably be Belfast. But even then the pedants would ask "whasch party Bealfost arr ye fraam"

It doesn't really matter which NI accent - but it has to be soft - like someone from down South who has been living up there a few years. I can't change the text unfortunately.

awec wrote: »

That was a greeting from back in the 70s used in most parts outside the pale. I used to use it myself but haven't heard it said aloud in donkeys' years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

To digress slightly, a Scottish friend of mine says that a harsh Belfast accent is the best and scariest in the world for swearing. He has a point.