Can't afford a night out? You're poor!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

gimmick wrote: »
    I hate people who go out drinking tap water. It is just stingey beyond belief.

Dafuq? Maybe they're driving? Maybe that's all they want? Lots of people don't drink and don't like soft drinks for instance. And ultimately, how does what anyone else is drinking affect you in any way?

Mod

awec, back off, you are being needlessly aggressive.

Calm down, or don't post.

• Administrators Posts: 56,573 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

bedrock#1 wrote: »
    How can I answer a terrible question that doesn't make any sense within the context of the discussion?
    Course it does.

You are saying that not being able to afford a weekly roast dinner is poverty.

I can't afford a weekly roast dinner, but I have a nice apartment, a nice car and I eat 3 meals a day 7 days a week.

Am I living in relative poverty?

Through your reasoning, I am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

awec wrote: »
    Absolutely.

Being able to afford a roast dinner and go to the pub are luxuries.

The implication on this thread has been that a roast dinner is the low end of feeding yourself properly and anything less than a roast dinner is not proper food. Which is laughable.

Nobody implied that roast dinners are the only dinners which is proper food. Going to the pub, cinema, zoo, etc etc, can help in other areas such as mental health. It's not a luxury.
    So I'll say it again.

I have a nice apartment and a nice, pretty new car. I eat 3 meals a day 7 days a week but I can't afford a weekly roast dinner.

Am I poor?

Obviously not if you have an apartment and a new car, you chose to spend your money differently. Your taking the article out of context.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

bedrock#1 wrote: »
    Really?
    Yes, really. There are many ways to socialize that don't involve getting moldy at the pub. I know it's an alien concept in Ireland, but not in the rest of the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

So I'll say it again.

I have a nice apartment and a nice, pretty new car. I eat 3 meals a day 7 days a week but I can't afford a weekly roast dinner.

Am I poor?

By the parameters of this study, yes.
    Also, if I had to stringently budget and could not afford one roast, which in real terms is only a few euro extra than any other meal, then I would consider myself poor.

The fact that you chose to have the car and apartment may mean that realistically you could exit this relative poverty quite easily, but that makes you an exception.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

pubs are dead and gone, and why this was in the papers today is because it's just the publicans crawling back and trying to make us feel like we SHOULD be in the pub.

the pub is dead. (unless they meet off-licence prices)

i give it ten years

The pub is already for the past 5 years, the place that a good many people love to hate, just like another famous airline, WITHOUT HAVING TO MEET off licence prices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

It's getting to the point where people in here will only be satisfied by poor quality of life meaning that you live in a rat-infested basement with no food or running water.

If you consider a lifetime of not hardly being able to meet up with people and not ever be able to afford a few moderate drinks or minor treats like a CD or a magazine or any of the small things that most of us take for granted to be a life of Reilly, that's fine but quit fucking polluting the forum with your tedious bile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Dafuq? Maybe they're driving? Maybe that's all they want? Lots of people don't drink and don't like soft drinks for instance. And ultimately, how does what anyone else is drinking affect you in any way?

If you are going to the pub, using the pubs facilities, taking up a seat, watching their TV/enjoying their music have the decency to have at least a coke or a bottled water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

pmcmahon wrote: »
    A butcher in finglas does the same,i tend to pop in before heading home once a week.The majority of the time he throws in a few sausages and rashers too.Anyone who say's there's no value to be found in a butchers is living in a bubble.

who says there is no value to be found in a butcher.??

again, people misreading and changing stories to suit themselves.

what was actually said that butchers meat is not CHEAP. Thats different to "value" is a completely different word to Cheap. you are taking for granted that you can just pop in to get what you think is good VALUE - once a week as well. spare a thought for people who can't - not because its not good VALUE - because they cannot afford it - see the difference??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,849 ✭✭✭professore

Did anyone put a gun to your head and told you: you have to have kids, huge stupid mortgage which makes no sence? NO! You wanted kids? Then think in advance how you will pay for that pleasure. You took stupid mortgage? Well your own foult for being idiot. I live here 8 years and I was here when boom went off. I did had money to buy the house. Did I? Nope, because it was fecking madness.

20k eu per year is a fantastic wage.

Lots of Irish on here agree with you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

hardCopy wrote: »
    It seems newspapers will just reprint any press release they receive these days.

The poverty of journalism :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

Isn't this what the government want? They are constantly putting extra tax on alcohol to discourage people from drinking (same with smoking) and to make it unaffordable. Then when people can't afford it, we're poor?

The fact people can't afford a night out is a reflection of how expensive it is to go out in Ireland, not a reflection of how poor somebody is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭Kinski

I'm an FF-G cup, so the only places that sell bras that size are high end department stores at around €40 a pop. You can get them for a fraction of that price on ebay. There's no way I could afford 40 bloomin' euros on a bra!

I wish Penneys, Tesco and Dunnes would cop on that women's boobs don't stop at an E cup - but that's a whole other thread!!

Well, I guess the consolation is even if large bras are too expensive, at least no man is going to complain that his partner's boobs are just too damn big.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

Such surveys are satirical and only make it worse for people who are in genuine poverty.

Roast dinner is not the only nutritious meal, the pub is not the only way to socialise - they are lifestyle choices, not necessities. To compare them to people who genuinely have no money for food or basic bills is insulting.

Who comes up with such nonsensical criteria and why?

20k eu per year is a fantastic wage.

If you live with your auld one maybe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I can't afford a weekly roast dinner.

I live in a nice apartment in a nice area of Dublin, I own a pretty new car. I eat a nutritious meal every night of the week.

Am I living in poverty?

How can you not afford a roast dinner?

you can get a chicken from Aldi for 3-5 euro.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭summerskin

anncoates wrote: »
    If you live with your auld one maybe.

agreed. anyone who thinks 20k is a good wage can only be either single and living at home, or deluded.

a family of 4 needs at least 45k, preferably 50k+ p.a. to have a reasonable standard of living.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭bedrock#1

Course it does.

You are saying that not being able to afford a weekly roast dinner is poverty.

I can't afford a weekly roast dinner, but I have a nice apartment, a nice car and I eat 3 meals a day 7 days a week.

Am I living in relative poverty?

Through your reasoning, I am.

My reasoning? I'm referring to the study. You have problems discerning reality from what goes on in your head?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭bedrock#1

Yes, really. There are many ways to socialize that don't involve getting moldy at the pub. I know it's an alien concept in Ireland, but not in the rest of the world.

what about going to the pictures on a friday night? Night out, no drink, what's your fixation on alcohol?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭jank

Lads if you are arguing about the affordability and portions of meat we are not talking about 'poverty' any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

gimmick wrote: »
    If you are going to the pub, using the pubs facilities, taking up a seat, watching their TV/enjoying their music have the decency to have at least a coke or a bottled water.

Um, no. I go out little enough as is, almost always driving, and mostly prefer to stay in. However, I'm certainly not placing any excess demand on a pub's services on my own (How many pubs do you see packed to capacity?) so don't pretend that by not buying anything, I'm costing them money. That's equivalent to complaining about people who walk past the door of a shop without going in or come in and browse without buying something. In either case, the individual isn't costing the seller any money, even if they're not contributing. The idea is we're free to engage in commerce, not under any obligation to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Orim

summerskin wrote: »
    1kg mince= 2meals
    5 chicken breasts = 1meal
    5 chops = 1meal
    2 steaks = half a meal.

so, 4.5 days worth of meat. how the feck do you think that could last for weeks? do you just look at it instead of eating it?

5 chicken breasts would get you one meal?

I'd use 2. And no it's not doormice, it's 4 people. But having thought about a touch I was including days when something else would be done or on, I'll downgrade my estimate to 2 weeks (give or take) With the caveat that I am buying other things such as veg and what nots.

The point is that a lot of what's being bandied around as poverty is poor money management or ridiculous expectations.

Poverty is an extreme word and should be kept for extreme situations.

Change the roast dinner question to "Can you afford to eat everyday and pay your bills?"
    Change the going out question to something "Can you afford return bus fare from your house?" (Extreme example but I can't think of a better one off the top of my head. I recognise that people need to socialise but this just going question is far too loose and open to spurious definetions. I wouldn't say I've gone out for a couple of weeks now because I would consider "going out" going on the lash and spending 100 to 150 quid but I've been to a couple of friends houses in the last few weeks and been to the pub for the rugby.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭Kinski

dub_skav wrote: »
    By the parameters of this study, yes.
    Also, if I had to stringently budget and could not afford one roast, which in real terms is only a few euro extra than any other meal, then I would consider myself poor.

It isn't poverty even according to the anti-poverty group; you'd have to be unable to afford a weekly roast and at least one of the other things listed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

We don't have enough money to get home!
    We don't have enough money to eat!
    We don't have enough money... TO SLEEP!!

Did anyone put a gun to your head and told you: you have to have kids, huge stupid mortgage which makes no sence? NO! You wanted kids?

I'll try and explain this simply.

See, sometimes people work hard but lose their jobs through no fault of their own, especially during in a recession. Or they split up. Or somebody passes away. Whatever.

So unless somebody signs a guarantee that you have a job on x income for the rest of your life, having kids requires a certain leap of faith otherwise only about a tiny proportion of the population would actually reproduce and we'd be further up shit creek down the line.

Having kids = creating future citizens: tax-payers, students, scientists, bus drivers and so on at huge personal expense and stress, It's not an indulgent lifestyle choice like buying a fucking Ferrari.

I'm not sure if you understand this? I can do a pie-chart perhaps.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

mhge wrote: »
    Who comes up with such nonsensical criteria and why?

I always wonder about these findings/research.
    Their raw data is difficult to obtain to actually examine the results.
    i.e. they ask someone can you afford a roast dinner once per week
    That person says no, so they are added.
    But do they ask them if they smoke 40cigs a week instead?

Not saying that the person isn't in a difficult situation and may very well be in poverty, but these studies aren't always very clear. The CSO seem to be more headline that substance.

I've never been approached by any study/research group in my 34yrs, and it's something that I've asked work colleagues in the different jobs I've had, and I've yet to find someone that has.
    That's why I always have a skeptical view of most surveys, particularly when you don't have access to the data itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

summerskin wrote: »
    agreed. anyone who thinks 20k is a good wage can only be either single and living at home, or deluded.

a family of 4 needs at least 45k, preferably 50k+ p.a. to have a reasonable standard of living.

yes but according to the person on here who thinks 20K is fabulous, he/she also thinks that people are idiots for having kids - says it all really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

yes but according to the person on here who thinks 20K is fabulous, he/she also thinks that people are idiots for having kids - says it all really.

That's not what they said.