People's decency

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

I used to think so then Dunnes banned all animal charities collecting in their stores. So many rescues depended on that money. People protested lots of people signed a petition and also contacted Dunnes to express their upset about the ban. Dunnes response has been to 'Not Respond', at all. They've ignored the whole thing.

But not to worry somebody collecting for a holiday of a lifetime,sorry sponsored walk of Great wall of china etc is welcome:mad:

I don't see how this disproves that most people are decent though. Dunnes Stores are a business, not the general public.

The Irish are the second most charitable country in the world after the States. I think the Irish are really decent in this respect. You have to give credit where credit is due sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭youtube!

Might sound controversial to some but the old saying of "Charity begins at home" needs to be followed a lot more these days. What is the point of giving so much overseas aid to countries when we need it here first ? Also we can't even be certain that any of it gets to the charity it's suppose to represent ! Just look at the Uganda scandal in 2012. Money given to charity can often disappear down a black hole but when it's at a local level it's a lot less likely for that to happen

I give to a charity by dd and I give to the SVDP at Christmas, because I am lucky to have the life I have and because it is the right thing to do...I always give to any Charity collectors that are not chuggers, most of the time its just a bit of change from my purse not a lot of money I do it because I respect the fact that people give of their time. The People giving out about the bag pack for a sports team or scouts trip are very mean spirited IMO.

I love the fact the we give a lot of foreign aid relative to the size of our country or the fact that we give so much to charities ( I do not like chuggers and will not support any charity that use them).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 683 ✭✭✭starlings

token101 wrote: »
    I think you'll find the bible has a couple of things that are, at best, debatable. Guy gets some free PR, kids or whoever get some free money? What's wrong with it? He wants to advertise, so isn't it better the money goes to a good cause rather to pay inflated salaries in RTE? He did it for a payback, it's better than doing just to secure a plushier seat in 'heaven'.

As I said, I don't have ash on my forehead and I find the bible mostly tedious. i don't care about the heaven bit of the quote, just the bit that says showing off your good works is not the point of doing good. The farmer giving his bull to raise money for the school is roughly quid pro quo in aid:advertising and fair play to him, but it's a charitable sponsorship. What I was getting at was that decency is not the same as showing off your fundraising, it's kindness you do without fanfare, like helping someone get a buggy up steps, offering a lift when it's raining etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Gotta remember though that Dunnes banned animal charities cause some guy was threatening to hold protests outside everytime a particular galway rescue wanted to bag pack and so they had to keep cancelling on that particular rescue as the guy kept contacting head office etc.
    It really does suck for the animal charities, but at the end of the day, Dunnes is a business and their main goal is to make money - I'm sure more people would avoid going in if they had to walk through a protest to get their than if they banned animal charities from collecting.
    Used to work in Dunnes and afaik my particular one no longer allows kids sports teams to collect either.
    I remember that, as far as I recall he was a member of a fairly prominent Galway business family. For whatever reason that charity and other Galway animal charities felt he wasn't suitable to adopt and they wouldn't give him a cat. There was a huge to do about it and he set out to try to destroy the charity out of spite and malice. His own family washed their hands of the whole thing as he was trying to use their clout to further his cause.

I don't accept that he was the reason that Dunnes banned animal charities collecting, they must get their fair share of nut jobs phoning to complain about something. I think that only registered charities, where 100% of the profits raised and that go straight into local charities should be allowed to bag pack. It would significantly reduce the numbers collecting and people would know that their money was being spent to benefit their community. It bugs the hell out of me to see people collecting for say a football club in different town. They can feck right off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

I think we've become more decent in regards to money all round, not just when it comes to charity. Not so long ago a guy followed me from the shop to my car to give me back a €20 note that i'd dropped at the till. Honest, decent, salt of the earth chap. He really made my day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,730 ✭✭✭✭corktina

i do get a bit pee'd off by collections for local sports clubs. I don't go looking for others to sponsor my hobbies, why do they seem to think that people should for theirs?

And don't get me started about the FAKE charities collecting outside supermarkets etc...