Are We Brainwashed to the Point that we don't live our own lives?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Aquarius34

Wibbs wrote: »
    Good fcuk, something we agree on!! :eek::D

Great you have a spark in you after all :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

......fairly unfunny Big Bang Theory......

You're being fairly generous with your criticism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Aquarius34 wrote: »

You're a slave too, so get over it and stop trying to think you're not. You're a consumer. If you don't work, you will be left to live on scraps and live on a state income that barely supports the life of rat. Yet the reality is, the majority of the human race live as a race of worker ants to keep the 0.1percent rich, wealthy and living luxurious lives.

To make the most out of life, is to wake up out of this run around mad matrix of living like ants....

To thine own self be true, eh? Oh wait- I CHOOSE to do these things because I want a better quality of life for myself and my family. You on the other hand are a selfish, pontificating pratt who thinks they are oppressed in a B rate movie. You have the same choices I do and you exercise your choices. You are as much a consumer as any of the rest of us, you just consume less. Don't be so bitter at everybody else because you choose to live your life like a martyr.

Well tbf, I work part time and had done so for many years. I am not a consumer by the standards you'd call it. I am not materialistic. I don't own a car. I don't own a house. I don't have land. I don't sign rules pr follow rules. I don't sign papers. I don't drink. I don't smoke. I don't live the same way most people live. I live on a very small income and that is just to keep a roof over my head and food on the table.

But I will say in my job, I fight them all. I fight with my bosses. I fight with everyone and I do the same on this forum. I am a fighting slave. I have lived through what you call "been asleep" but I changed because of taking steps to take control of my life. I can choose to not work and live off the dole, but I know from a spiritual perspective I have to fight the system and face people everyday as I go about my lfie. I am realistic so I know what I have to do. I know I have to do thing's I don't like but as long as I'm still alive, I will keep fighting for what I feel I must fight for.

I plant seeds. I push the boundaries, I provoke people. I push people's buttons. I get people to think and question. It's not really what you say, it's what you do and how you go about it, that makes the effective change you are trying to bring about.

I meant what I said, the dude who said I was hypocritical doesn't know me to make such a judgment. I also don't need to share my whole life story or tell everyone on here as to what I do or don't do with my life.

What matters, is I do what I have to do, to live in the matrix and work against it. I follow the princples of nature and of what you would call been connected to the spirit. To me the spirit is been connected to who you really are and been intune with yourself. When you find you come to that point, you will find that everything on this world will fight against you because man has created an illusion around himself because he has become disconnected from himself. Man is now completely blinded by the illusion to the point that he cannot live without it and he will do anything to keep that "state of living" alive. Therefore people who are living the illusion will fight anyone who is rebelling it. This is a hopeless reality. It's a prison here. It's slavery. It's hell.

For example, the police fighting the public. Or the American military killing innocent people in the Middle east. People who are awake and aware are fighting this system everyday. Most of which is unseen by the masses.

Bang of weed off this post is almost stifling me. Cop on would you, nobody cares about your perceived oppression in a first world society. You choose to live like a martyr who is bitter at the world, I choose not to live like a bitter martyr. It's that simple.

In the same way as you say I know fùckall about you, you know fannyadams about me. I've met plenty like you though hanging out in occupy tents etc, a professional protester I think I referred to this guy as when he was introducing himself and he mentioned "I've been doing this for ten years...", I thought "hang on a sec, this occupy thing is new, does not compute!". When I questioned him on his credentials, he told me that he was also protesting at the shell to sea something protests and he also attends protests over in England like the ban on fox hunting protests. I was shocked at how he could make a career from protesting and asked him how does he finance himself. It turns out he's a part time gardener. I think more there was more weed IN that garden than the weeds he was pulling out of it!

I do not want to live the life of a professional protester, it might work for the likes of him and yourself, but to me, in a word- it's shìt. I want better for myself than that, I refuse to live the life of a crusty when I don't need to, when I know I can do better. It's important to have goals and aspirations in life, or I suppose you can choose to always be just a martyrous blow hard hypocrite. I can choose not to be held back by your prehistoric way of thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Ever watch them "comedies" on youtube without the laugh track

Friends is definitely on there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

A thought occurred tonight as I was watching the fairly unfunny Big Bang Theory bloopers. I ended up zoning out of the scenes and started listening to the laughter track, listening to it loop over and over with minor differences in each track. The laugh tracks are there to tell us when to laugh. They manipulate us, and in some ways they make us laugh at situations that aren't even funny.

For the past 150 years we have been living our lives, walking down streets, reading newspapers, browsing the internet, looking at ads. Whether some of you choose to believe it or not, they force us down a road with little or no choice. Even back in the dark ages, religious oppression and prophets gave us 2 options; follow your orders or die in a ditch.

I guess at the end of the day, we're just brainwashed zombies in a corrupt system and it will always be the case.

Thoughts?

That laugh track was recorded in the 1950's.
    I hope you enjoyed zoning out of the scenes and listening to the laughter track...... listening to it loop over and over .......... the laughter of dead people.........

Ps.........
    Smoke weed every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

:rolleyes: - you've clearly never watched it....its the best sitcom in the last 20 years!

*Ahem* seinfeld? :confused:

The final episode had 76 million viewers in the states alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I'm not content with your hypocrcisy. If you don't like the modern world get off the Internet ( built by "drones") Grow your own food. Build your own accommodation. Make your own clothing. That's what being anti-consumerist means. It doesnt, or shouldnt, mean ranting about consumerism while consuming. I already gave an example of Charles Ingals. The Amish do it in groups. You don't have to. Find some cheap land and live off the grid. The world won't care.

I think you're getting the division of labour confused with capitalism. The division of labour is not unique to capitalism (inasmuch as capitalism exists at all). Labour is divided in North Korea.

Czarcasm wrote: »
    To thine own self be true, eh? Oh wait- I CHOOSE to do these things because I want a better quality of life for myself and my family. You on the other hand are a selfish, pontificating pratt who thinks they are oppressed in a B rate movie. You have the same choices I do and you exercise your choices. You are as much a consumer as any of the rest of us, you just consume less. Don't be so bitter at everybody else because you choose to live your life like a martyr.

You have severe personal issues. As for me bitter, take your own judgment. You have bitterness seething out of you.

Well you can't live without money and because of that you have fcuk all choices without money. The monetary system is in place and work's only as a system as long as slavery exists in the minds of man .

Bang of weed off this post is almost stifling me. Cop on would you, nobody cares about your perceived oppression in a first world society. You choose to live like a martyr who is bitter at the world, I choose not to live like a bitter martyr. It's that simple.

Oh boy, you're angry. Sort it out angry hatter.

In the same way as you say I know fùckall about you, you know fannyadams about me. I've met plenty like you though hanging out in occupy tents etc, a professional protester I think I referred to this guy as when he was introducing himself and he mentioned "I've been doing this for ten years...", I thought "hang on a sec, this occupy thing is new, does not compute!". When I questioned him on his credentials, he told me that he was also protesting at the shell to sea something protests and he also attends protests over in England like the ban on fox hunting protests. I was shocked at how he could make a career from protesting and asked him how does he finance himself. It turns out he's a part time gardener. I think more there was more weed IN that garden than the weeds he was pulling out of it!

No matter what you say, you're still a slave to the system. I know the truth hurts. But the truth has to hit us all sooner or later. Most of that paragraph went right over my head.
    I do not want to live the life of a professional protester, it might work for the likes of him and yourself, but to me, in a word- it's shìt. I want better for myself than that, I refuse to live the life of a crusty when I don't need to, when I know I can do better. It's important to have goals and aspirations in life, or I suppose you can choose to always be just a martyrous blow hard hypocrite. I can choose not to be held back by your prehistoric way of thinking.

lol.... Good luck on waking up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 831 ✭✭✭achtungbarry

Aquarius34, I am very curious about your point of view. On the A & A forum, you say that you are not actually from earth and this is why you do not think like us humans. Unlike us, you are more 'aware' of what is actually going on around us.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=83165662&postcount=138
    On my home world, we look a lot like you in our physical forms. We are taller and more Nordic looking. I look different, but I'm not sharing that at this time. Why, because I don't need too.

In our physical form, we eat food, but we don't need it as often as you do because we can get our energy from light and higher frequencies. Since we are not as bombarded by negative frequencies like we get here, our energy levels don't deplete like here on Earth. This is also means we live much longer in physical bodies than you do. You age, not because it's natural, you age because your bodies are bombarded by low frequencies and negative energies. Not only that the elite, create diseases and suppress human beings of knowledge so that they don't have a chance to break free from the mind prison they have created on this world.

Just wondering Aquarius34, are you a scientologist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

Thoughts?

I think you need to stop smoking that funny stuff 0.o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭AngryHippie

Well you can't live without money and because of that you have fcuk all choices without money. The monetary system is in place and work's only as a system as long as slavery exists in the minds of man .

Oh boy, you're angry. Sort it out angry hatter.

No matter what you say, you're still a slave to the system. I know the truth hurts. But the truth has to hit us all sooner or later. Most of that paragraph went right over my head.

Are you of the opinion that an honest days work for an honest days pay is slavery?
    Have you thought that without a monetary system it would be nigh on impossible to get an honest days pay ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Aquarius34, I am very curious about your point of view. On the A & A forum, you say that you are not actually from earth and this is why you do not think like us humans. Unlike us, you are more 'aware' of what is actually going on around us.

This song occurred to me on seeing the username last night, but it's even more appropriate given the information contained in the post above-

It was also featured in the film "The 40 Year Old Virgin" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

:rolleyes: - you've clearly never watched it....its the best sitcom in the last 20 years!

what?

Arrested Development, Curb, Seinfeld, Extras, Office, Peep Show, IT Crowd, Father Ted...I could go on and on

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

The whole living in capitalism hating capitalism is as old as capitalism.

If you want to be anti-capitalist then live like Charles Ingalls (Laura's father). In the 1st book - little house in the forest - we join the family when Charles had

1) cleared part of the forest for the house
    2) cleared part of the forest for the farm.
    3) built the house from the cut wood.
    4) built the furniture.
    5) brought in the food (farmed or hunted) every day

The wife made most of the the clothing and bed clothes from the skin of the animals they hunted. The fuel was chopped firewood. Toys were whittled from wood. What surplus they had from deer hide sales went on seed and some minor luxuries - the odd dress, a violin. That's not that long ago in human generations.

There is nothing stopping you living like that - the Amish are close enough. Otherwise can the whining.

This might come as a shock to the somewhat sheltered, naive, urban population of Boards, but thats how most Irish people live! (Apart from clearing the forest!). The majority of people in Ireland live outside of dublin in a rural setting. We have our own wells and septic tanks, we grow some of our own food (the main things like potatoes and veg), we farm, we fix things ourselves, going to Tesco is a once-a-week thing as opposed to a daily nescessity, if you have no bills to pay you can generally choose what you want to do with your life. Its a freedom I wouldn't trade for anything.

But the term "brainwashed" as the OP is using it is totally out of context. Brainwashing means being tied to a chair with matchsticks propping your eyelids open, while watching "Enda Kenny is my leader" flashing on a tele screen for hours on end. You dont have to go to Tesco or Aldi. Why dont you chance a couple of drills of spuds yourself? There's nothing stopping you, its cheaper than buying them, and you'll get the satisfaction of eating your own homegrown produce. Or if you're sick of reality TV and sh1te like The Voice on all the time, make up your own music! Try learning an instrument from listening, engage your brain and become a producer, not a consumer. THEN come back and tell us if you still feel brainwashed!

I cant believe the amount of yes votes:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hooradiation

Are you of the opinion that an honest days work for an honest days pay is slavery?
    Have you thought that without a monetary system it would be nigh on impossible to get an honest days pay ?

Unsurprisingly, he's an utter hypocrite.

He'll freely engage with the system he claims to despise and yet berate people for doing the exact same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Chorcai

What springs to mind for me is Plato allegory of the cave, but also the power of the "image" (movie/still).

Plato lets Socrates describe a group of people who have lived chained to the wall of a cave all of their lives, facing a blank wall. The people watch shadows projected on the wall by things passing in front of a fire behind them, and begin to ascribe forms to these shadows. According to Plato's Socrates, the shadows are as close as the prisoners get to viewing reality. He then explains how the philosopher is like a prisoner who is freed from the cave and comes to understand that the shadows on the wall do not make up reality at all, as he can perceive the true form of reality rather than the mere shadows seen by the prisoners.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Allegory_of_the_Cave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

They've done a number of studies into the psychology of the laugh track.

Actors hate them. Directors hate them and writers hate them but network execs will always push for them in a sit com because they work. People are more likely to laugh with a laugh track for whatever reason. Like your mates giggling when you tell a joke. But when you see something funny on the silent Internet you'll just exhale some air instead of actually laughing out loud.

Thanks.
    Your post made me laugh out loud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

I guess at the end of the day, we're just brainwashed zombies in a corrupt system and it will always be the case.

Thoughts?

You tell me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭kingtubby

As you see here the Big Bang theory minus the laughing track is still quality comedy of the highest calibre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

I think that was his last public speech. Which is kind of Ironic to say the least. But he was right on it with that clip. I miss that man like crazy. We don't have enough people like him on that planet and It really depresses me.
    Good fcuk, something we agree on!! :eek::D

When an American comedian delivers a witty and acerbic analysis of the capitalist system, he's lauded for his searing insight, and laughed at for his caustic commentary. :D

When a politician, such as Joe Higgins, delivers an unfunny speech about the obvious inequities of the capitalist system, he's laughed at, and called a left-wing looney.:eek:

Help me here.:D:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭ferike1

You clearly dont watch much comedy then. Arrested development, its always sunny in Philly' Black books, Spaced...thats just for starters

Add community and archer to that list too.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

For the past 150 years we have been living our lives, walking down streets, reading newspapers, browsing the internet, looking at ads. Whether some of you choose to believe it or not, they force us down a road with little or no choice. Even back in the dark ages, religious oppression and prophets gave us 2 options; follow your orders or die in a ditch.
    Thinking more on this, I reckon you couldn't be more wrong. In the western world we've never had so much choice, or avenues to explore those choices. You want to be fat cat CEO? Work away. You want to sit on a mountain going OHHHHHMMMMM? Work away. We have a freedom and range of choices today that even our great grandparents would have trouble getting their heads around. Actually I reckon that can be the problem, we see too many choices and that freaks many people out.
    9959 wrote: »
    Jim Corr has made some very challenging observations on this topic, curiously I can't recall any of them.
    I must be 'brainwashed'.
    :) Yea people like Jim Corr remind me of John Lennon singing "imagine there's no possessions" while sitting in front of his expensive piano in his Surrey mansion with extensive grounds. I like your stuff but to be fair Johnny GTFO. The crappier end of rap music bangin on about how bling they are is actually more honest.
    Czarcasm wrote: »
    You are as much a consumer as any of the rest of us, you just consume less.
    Or he consumes differently? I've zero issue with folks who chose to consume less. It's better for the planet on a few levels. And trust me I'm no hippie. Can't abide the hippie type TBH. Still I can see the value in not slaving away just to accrue more and more stuff. For some that does become a kind of consumer "slavery". With "stuff" value can be a funny thing with people. Watched an antiques roadshow a while back(and this kinda thing happens a lot on that show) where this woman had an original Albrecht Durer engraving. Rare as rocking horse poo. A bona fide renaissance master. 18-20 grand valuation. Cue ooohs and aaahs from the audience. Yet most of same probably spent same and more on the Ford focus etc in their driveways.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

9959 wrote: »
    When an American comedian delivers a witty and acerbic analysis of the capitalist system, he's lauded for his searing insight, and laughed at for his caustic commentary. :D

When a politician, such as Joe Higgins, delivers an unfunny speech about the obvious inequities of the capitalist system, he's laughed at, and called a left-wing looney.:eek:

Help me here.:D:eek:
    One is funny and not coming up with unworkable solutions to the system, the other isn't and is? While I would agree with a lot of what Carlin had to say and like how he put it, I'd not agree with some of it. I mentioned John Lennon's imagine in my last post. Before he disappeared entirely up his own hole he wrote a song with the Beatles entitled Revolution, where he agreed that we might need one, but he wanted to see the plan. What are we gonna replace the system with when the dust settled? That's the issue. Problems are easy to point out, solutions not so much.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

I'm not a Scientologist . I don't follow cult's or anything like such.

Yes, you live on a planet and you work for an elite to live. That's it. You don't know who you are, you cannot remember who you were before this life time, you don't even know if you had a previous life, you don't know your origins or how you got here and why you are here.

You have a birth cert.
    You have a name.
    You have a PPS number.
    You are a statistic
    You pay your taxes
    You are an employee.
    and so on......

All you know is your name and what you have done on Earth so far. Everything you do is monitored. You follow the rules here and you do not break the rules.

If you stopped to think about life, you will realise this. But the elite who control this place don't want a population capable of thinking for it's self. That's not good for them. They need obedient workers. They need a docile race of workers. They need your time. They need your blood. They need your taxes.

That's how humanity has been treated for the last few thousands of years. Now it's time to wake up out of that "prison" and open the mind, free the mind, reconnect to who we are and take back control of our own lives again. We are here to remember who we are.

We have DNA within us that needs to be activated, it's activating in you all right now. This will be the test of "survival of the fittest". You will have to fight and figure this all out yourself. You have to awaken yourself.

There is a Universe teeming with life and it's time we realise this Universal truth and reconnect to the truth that we are not alone and we were never alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

You are in no position to tell me anything. I certainly won't take a lecture from a slave who is enslaved by this system. I fight the system everyday. I stand by my values and by my reasons to do so.

Built that computer from hemp then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 831 ✭✭✭achtungbarry

I'm not a Scientologist . I don't follow cult's or anything like such.

Thanks for that.

Could you elaborate a little on the post I linked to where you mention that you are from another world? It would seem to be quite relevant to this discussion.

On my home world, we look a lot like you in our physical forms. We are taller and more Nordic looking. I look different, but I'm not sharing that at this time. Why, because I don't need too.

In our physical form, we eat food, but we don't need it as often as you do because we can get our energy from light and higher frequencies. Since we are not as bombarded by negative frequencies like we get here, our energy levels don't deplete like here on Earth. This is also means we live much longer in physical bodies than you do. You age, not because it's natural, you age because your bodies are bombarded by low frequencies and negative energies. Not only that the elite, create diseases and suppress human beings of knowledge so that they don't have a chance to break free from the mind prison they have created on this world.

On your home world, I am assuming that people are far more self aware than us here on earth.

Also, how did you end up on earth?

One is funny and not coming up with unworkable solutions to the system, the other isn't and is? While I would agree with a lot of what Carlin had to say and like how he put it, I'd not agree with some of it. I mentioned John Lennon's imagine in my last post. Before he disappeared entirely up his own hole he wrote a song with the Beatles entitled Revolution, where he agreed that we might need one, but he wanted to see the plan. What are we gonna replace the system with when the dust settled? That's the issue. Problems are easy to point out, solutions not so much.

Well the first step is, as a race is we have to wake up from this slumber. We have to start becoming aware of ourselves and the world around us. It's through awareness that we understand and can utilize our free will. If we are not aware then how can we know what is really going on or know if we are truly in control of our own lives? It's easy to lead a blind man down the wrong path. A man with a clear open mind and full sight will not be an easy one to control or deceive. This is how it goes.

So far humanity is literally chasing after this system to no cause, meaning, purpose or end. Infact it's "we" who are the ones who are keeping the system in place, not the elite. The elite designed it and we followed it and haven't stopped worshiping it since they had created it.

They create the problems and want us to come up with solution's to fix it. We keep voting thinking change will come. We keep putting our faith in rigged elections. We keep putting our faith in money. We keep putting our faith in our leaders and "educated" phonies.

The elite keep creating the problems. We keep reacting and thus keep trying to solve them.
    • Problem - reaction - solution.
    • Divide and conquer

Examples, "economic downturns, wars, famine, poverty, corruption, global warming etc"

The idea is to not solve it.
    The idea is to stop trying to save the system and let it go.

Do we remain in the past or do we move on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

A thought occurred tonight as I was watching the fairly unfunny Big Bang Theory bloopers. I ended up zoning out of the scenes and started listening to the laughter track, listening to it loop over and over with minor differences in each track. The laugh tracks are there to tell us when to laugh. They manipulate us, and in some ways they make us laugh at situations that aren't even funny.

Thoughts?

Who is "they"? :confused:

Re: laughter tracks. They never in themselves make me laugh. If a comedy is good, you don't notice the laughter track and they can add punctuation, as Graham Linehan once astutely pointed out.

Yes, you live on a planet and you work for an elite to live.
    I know a chap, comes from a average, even mundane background and now he's worth a fortune, has created a fair few jobs, travels the world doing his thing. Maybe he's one of these "elites"?

You have a birth cert.
    That for some odd clerical error has my birthdate wrong.
    You have a name.
    We all do. Tends to be handy.
    You have a PPS number.
    Actually I didn't have one until my mid 30's. Long story.
    You are a statistic
    Given how I fill out forms looking for info my statistic says I'm a 16 year old girl with no education, worth millions.
    You pay your taxes
    And avoid paying them where and when I can within legality.
    You are an employee.
    Nope. Indeed I've been an employer. I must be one of these elites then.
    You follow the rules here and you do not break the rules.
    On BOards? Thank fuq, otherwise we'd be snowed under 4chanfacebook daftness.
    If you stopped to think about life, you will realise this. But the elite who control this place don't want a population capable of thinking for it's self. That's not good for them. They need obedient workers. They need a docile race of workers. They need your time. They need your blood. They need your taxes.
    Yet with the exception of taxes we've never had a more educated or long lived society with people who have more choices on how they live their lives.